Caribou County, Idaho Genealogy
Guide to Caribou County, Idaho ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Caribou County, Idaho|
Location in the state of Idaho, United States Genealogy
Location of Idaho in the U.S.
|Founded||April 17, 1907|
|County Seat||Soda Springs|
|Address||Caribou County Courthouse <br>602 Caribou<br>159 South Main <br>Soda Springs, Idaho 83276 <br>Phone: (208) 547-4324|
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The county was named for the Caribou Mountains, which in turn are named for Cariboo Fairchild, who had taken part in the gold rush in the Cariboo region of British Columbia in 1860. The County Seat is Soda Springs and was founded February 11, 1919. It is located in the southeast area of the state.
Caribou County, Idaho Record Dates[edit | edit source]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Quick Facts[edit | edit source]
Parent County[edit | edit source]
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
2 Nov. 1948 - Caribou gained from Bannock County. Areas gained were described in two separate acts approved 18 Mar, 1948, became effective through a vote in the general election of 2 Nov. 1948. This annexation involved the residents of Commissioner's District #3 of Bannock County which included all of Gem Valley from Chesterfield to the Devils Hand Canyon, (Bancroft, Grace, and the lower Gem Valley).
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places/Localities[edit | edit source]
The preceding list of places includes incorporated cities and towns, unincorporated towns and communities, and place names that may have been used in family histories. Some have well-organized records and even have web sites. Some are simply social communities with no official records, but which may be referenced in small-town newspapers. The list is provided to help researchers identify localities within the county. As records or histories of these localities are identified, a page will be added for each of these place names.
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit hometownlocator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
Resources[edit | edit source]
The types of records that follow are used for genealogy and family history. Most tell what you may learn and how to locate the records. Links to Internet sites usually go directly to Caribou County, Idaho Genealogy entries with names, images, or information.
|Don't overlook Caribou County, Idaho Genealogy items in the FamilySearch Library Catalog. For other libraries (local and national) or to gain access to items of interest, see Archives and Libraries.|
Many of the older court, land, naturalization, probate, pension, and vital records for Caribou County have been microfilmed and are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City and through their family history centers. They are also available at the Idaho State Archives in Boise. Details of the county records in these respective institutions can be obtained from their online catalogs or listings. Original records which have been microfilmed and more recent records are in the county courthouse in Soda Springs.
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
There are many cemeteries in Caribou County. For a list of those that have been identified, and links to transcriptions and/or photographs of tombstones, go to Caribou County, Idaho Cemetery Records.
For the cemeteries in or immediately adjacent to the cities, please see the city pages for the cities listed above.
Census[edit | edit source]
The 1890 federal census for Idaho was destroyed. However, the Idaho State Historical Society Public Archives and Research Library is creating a list of 1890 Idaho residents by indexing a variety of records, 1885-1894. This reconstructed list will substitute for the destroyed 1890 federal census.
For a summary of census records for the state of Idaho, see Idaho Census Records.
Church[edit | edit source]
The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints (Mormons)[edit | edit source]
- List of Caribou County stakes and wards to about 1948.
- The following are local congregations (wards) which existed in Caribou County, Idaho prior to 1950.
List of Churches and Church Parishes
County Commissioners' Records[edit | edit source]
The minute books of the County Commissioners contain interesting tidbits of history about the county as well as the names of individuals appealing to the County Commissioners for action on issues of concern to them. Minutes of those meetings were recorded from the formation of the county, for most counties. Some counties now post the minutes of current meetings online.
Most of these records have been preserved in the county courthouses of the State of Idaho. Few have been microfilmed. Contact the county clerk for information about years covered and availability.
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Some of the early court records of Caribou County, Idaho have been microfilmed and are available at the Idaho State Archives in Boise, Idaho. The records filmed include civil suits, divorce papers, judgment dockets, etc. Copies of these microfilmed court records are also available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah or at any of the Library's Family History Centers. Additional court records and more recent records are housed at the Caribou County courthouse in Soda Springs, Idaho, and can be accessed by making a visit there.
Some of the records of the courts of Caribou County that have been microfilmed include:
Judgment Books[edit | edit source]
- Judgments, 1891-1933
The Miscellaneous records are found under the Miscellaneous Series
History[edit | edit source]
The book Caribou County Chronology is a brief history, published in 1930.
The Soda Springs Chamber of Commerce has compiled the Oregon Trail in Caribou County, a self-guided tour of sites documented by diaries and journals of early pioneers and explorers, available online.
A work highlighting the county's mining history is The mountain: Carriboo and other Gold Camps in Idaho available at various libraries nationwide.
Land[edit | edit source]
Land and Property records are generally found in the Clerk's Office of the county in which the transactions took place. They can be accessed by contacting that Caribou County Clerk's office, which in Caribou County is located in Soda Springs, Idaho.
The Idaho State Archives has microfilmed some of the earlier records of Caribou County and these can be accessed by visiting the Archives in Boise, Idaho.
The Family History Library in Salt Lake City has microfilmed the following records found in the Caribou County Clerk's Office: Homestead Records 1889-1964, Deeds 1901-1935, Patent Records 1889-1950. These films are available for viewing in Salt Lake City or in any of the Family History Centers.
Maps[edit | edit source]
- A digital Caribou County Idaho map is available online.
- Map of Caribou County, Idaho is available online.
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
Migration[edit | edit source]
Early migration routes to and from Caribou County, Idaho Genealogy for European and African American settlers included:
Military[edit | edit source]
Because Caribou County was not formed until 1919, those who were of military draft age for World War I were included in the draft registration records of Bannock County, the parent county of Caribou.
Online Records[edit | edit source]
- 1940-1945 Idaho, World War II Draft Registration Cards,1940-1945 at FamilySearch — index and images
Miscellaneous Series[edit | edit source]
Often overlooked by the genealogist, this group of volumes may contain affidavits for citizenship, final disposition of estates, divorce decrees, and many other types of valuable documents. The content varies from county to county, year to year and from clerk to clerk. When the estate case files, civil or criminal files are not available or have been destroyed, you may find key documents recorded here. Most counties will have an index to this series and it is a must search if the information you are seeking is not found elsewhere.
Both the Idaho State Archives in Boise, Idaho, and the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah have copies of the miscellaneous record of Teton County. The originals are held in the Teton County courthouse in Driggs, Idaho and can be accessed by visiting there. Copies in the Idaho State Archives are available for viewing in Boise. Those held by the Family History Library can be viewed either at the Library in Salt Lake City or at any of its Family History Centers.
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
- 1892-1990 Idaho Naturalization Records, 1892-1990 at FamilySearch — index and images
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- 1800s-1999 U.S., Newspapers.com Marriage Index, 1800s-1999 at Ancestry - index ($)
Current[edit | edit source]
Caribou County Sun, published in Soda Springs.
Caribou County Sun
P.O. Box 815
Soda Springs, Idaho 83276
email - firstname.lastname@example.org
Historical[edit | edit source]
The Idaho State Archives has microfilmed copies of early Caribou County newspapers which can be accessed at their facility in Boise:
Bancroft Standard: 1933:1:28:-1934:12:28
Caribou County Sun: 1955:3:31-9999
Caribou County Sun & Soda Springs Sun: 1954:2:11-1955:3:24
Grace Citizen: 1967:11:2-1990:12:26
Grace Herald: 1929:3:21-1966:12:29
Grace Herald: 1941:12:18-1946:9:12
Soda Springs Chieftain: 1906:3:1-1931:3:12
Soda Springs Sun: 1933:5:11-1955:2:4
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
- 1943-2013 Idaho, Southern Counties Obituaries, 1943-2013 at FamilySearch — index and images
Pension Records[edit | edit source]
Mothers' Pensions were provided by the State of Idaho for widows and/or orphans, under certain conditions. Petitions for those pensions were filed with the probate court in each county. The original papers for several counties have been transferred to the Idaho State Archives in Boise and have been indexed. Caribou County Mothers' Pensions are included in that index which is available online.
Microfilmed copies of these Mother's Pension records are also available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, or in any of the Library's Family History Centers. Microfilm of the originals are also found in the Caribou county courthouse at Soda Springs, Idaho.
Probate[edit | edit source]
Online Probate Indexes and Records
Probate records are generally found on the county level and can be accessed by contacting the county courthouse in which the transactions took place. The Caribou County courthouse is located in Soda Springs and the records can be accessed by visiting there.
The Idaho State Archives has microfilmed some of the early Caribou County probate records and these can be accessed by visiting the Archives in Boise, Idaho.
The Catalog/frameset_fhlc.asp Family History Library has filmed Caribou County probate records (1898-1926) and these films are available for viewing at their facility in Salt Lake City or in any of its Family History Centers.
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Any existing tax assessment rolls for Caribou County should be in the courthouse in Soda Springs and would need to be accessed by visiting there.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1800-1987 - Idaho, United States Marriages at Findmypast — index $
- 1861-1911 Idaho, Birth Index, 1861-1911 at FamilySearch — index
- 1883-1929 Idaho County Birth and Death Records 1883-1929 at FamilySearch — index and images
Birth records, 1911 to present, for individuals born in the Caribou County area are included in and recorded at the state level. These records are restricted for a period of one hundred years from the time of the individual's birth but can be obtained by following the guidelines as issued by the State of Idaho. See the [[Idaho_Vital_Records|Vital Records] ]section under the subject Idaho for more details.
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1864-1976 Idaho Church Marriages, 1864-1976 at FamilySearch — index
- 1864-1950 Idaho County Marriages, 1864-1950 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1878-1898; 1903-1942 Idaho Marriages, 1878-1898; 1903-1942 at FamilySearch — index
- 1947-1963 Idaho Marriage Index, 1947-1961 at FamilySearch — index
The Idaho State Archives and the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah have microfilmed copies of Caribou County marriages 1919-1944, the originals of which can be viewed at the Caribou county courthouse in Soda Springs. The filmed copies can be viewed at the Archives in Boise, Idaho or at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, or in any of the Library's Family History Centers.
Divorce[edit | edit source]
- 1947-1963 Idaho Divorce Index, 1947-1963 at FamilySearch — index
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1883 - 1929 Idaho County Birth and Death Records 1883-1929 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1938-1961 Idaho Death Certificates, 1938-1961 at FamilySearch — index
Deaths occurring in Caribou County are included in the state-wide registration program. These records are restricted for a period of fifty years from the time of the individual's death but can be obtained by following the guidelines as mandated by the State of Idaho. See the Vital Records section under Idaho for details.
Copies of death certificates from 1911-1954 are on microfilm and can be used at the Idaho State Archives in Boise, the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, BYU-Idaho University Library in Rexburg and several other locations.
A state-wide index to Idaho Deaths, 1911-1956 is available online. Efforts to expand this index to 1960 are underway. Another version is Idaho Death Index 1911-1956.
Deaths from other sources[edit | edit source]
A significant source of death and related information for eastern Idaho families can be found at the following website Eastern Idaho Death Index.
Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]
Many public libraries provide internet access to sites of value to the family historian. Some have special collections of historical and cultural interest, as well. The following libraries may have some resources of value, but use of some or all of them may require a visit to the library.
- Grace District Library
204 S Main St
Grace, ID 83241
Phone: (208) 425-3695
- Soda Springs Public Library
149 S Main St
Soda Springs, ID 83276
Phone: (208) 547-2606
- Enders Hotel & Museum
76 South Main Street
Soda Springs, ID 83276-1426
- Genealogy Trails Caribou County
- State Historical Society
2205 Old Penitentiary Rd
- Idaho Historical Society Facebook Page Website
- Idaho State Archives Digital Collections - Enter County in Search Bar
- The Idaho Welsh Society -- excellent cultural and historical site
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
Websites[edit | edit source]
- The Caribou County Idaho GenWeb Project, a member of The IDGenWeb Project, an affiliate of The USGenWeb Project
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Caribou County, Idaho Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
References[edit | edit source]
Anderson, Lavina Fielding (ed). Chesterfield: Mormon Outpost in Idaho. Bancroft, Idaho: The Chesterfield Foundation, Inc., 1982. 91 pages.
- Genealogy Trails History Group, “Caribou County, Idaho Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/ida/caribou/
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Caribou County, Idaho. Page 177-180 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 180-181.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Caribou, Idaho page 178, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Wikipedia contributors, "Canyon County, Idaho," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Canyon_County,_Idaho# Communities, accessed 29 May 2019.
- Idaho State Historical Society Reference Series, Number 10, Counties and County Seats, Reissued July, 1991.
- census.gov - Idaho population by county, 1900-90 accessed 2009-05-03
- quickfacts.census.gov - Canyon County accessed 2009-05-03
- Jim Tompkins, "The Oregon Trail 1841-1848 Map IV" in Oregon Trail Landmarks at (accessed 18 July 2011).
- "Oregon California Trails Association" at http://octatrails.micromaps.com/ (accessed 18 July 2011).