Canada Archives and Libraries

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Canada Wiki Topics
Canada flag.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Canada Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
Moderator
The FamilySearch moderator for Canada is Baird
Western Archives Entrance.JPG

This section describes major repositories of Canada’s genealogical and historical records.

  • Archives collect and preserve original documents created by organizations such as churches or governments. Many archives have Websites.
  • Libraries generally collect published books, maps, microfilms, and other sources.

Archives[edit | edit source]

In Canada, several types of archives have records for genealogical research:

  • Library and Archives Canada (LAC)
  • Provincial archives and county and local museums
  • Municipal local government offices
  • Church archives and parish offices
  • Public and academic libraries
  • Historical and genealogical societies

The FamilySearch Library has digitized or microfilmed records from:

  • the Library and Archives Canada (LAC) (formerly known as the National Archives of Canada (NAC); and earlier known as the Public Archives of Canada (PAC)), *the provincial archives in Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Quebec, and Ontario,
  • vital records and probate records from British Columbia,
  • homestead applications from Saskatchewan,
  • land and property and probate records from Newfoundland, and
  • probate records from Manitoba.

See the catalog under:
CANADA - ARCHIVES AND LIBRARIES
CANADA, [PROVINCE NAME] - ARCHIVES AND LIBRARIES

Library and Archives Canada, formerly the National Library of Canada[edit | edit source]

Library and Archives Canada
395 Wellington Street
Ottawa, ON K1A 0N4
Canada
Telephone: 613-995-9481
Fax: 613-943-1112
Website: Library and Archives Canada
The Canadian government collects records about Canadian history, culture, and people. Their collection includes census, military records, immigration lists, land records, and some church records.

Interlibrary Loans: Copies of many Library and Archives Canada records are available at public or university libraries in the United States through interlibrary loan.

Provincial Archives[edit | edit source]

Each province has its own archives that are separate from those of the national government. These repositories have many records valuable for genealogical research in their particular area.

In eastern Canada, provincial archives have:

  • Some birth, marriage, and death records
  • Some census records
  • Many land records
  • Some probate records
  • Some church records

In western Canada, provincial archives have:

  • Many land records
  • Some probate records
  • Specialized documents about the history of their area

Archives and Libraries by Province or Territory[edit | edit source]

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Collection Gagnon
Bibliothèque de la Ville de Montréal
1210 rue Sherbrooke est
Montreal, QC H2L 1L9
Canada
Telephone: 514-872-5923
Fax: 514-872-1626
Online

  • Marriage indexes, church records, and vital records for French Canadians

Centre d’études acadiennes
Université de Moncton
415 University Ave.
Moncton, NB E1A 3E9
Canada
Telephone: 506-858-4085
E-mail: cea-um@umoncton.ca

  • To promote the reconstitution of Acadian families, the genealogy section contains a large quantity of primary sources such as parish registers and censuses. For example, the Center has copies of all the pre-dispersion registers still available, as well as copies of the registers of Acadian parishes today. To fill in the gaps, when primary sources are lacking, the Center has important secondary sources in the form of books, magazines, brochures, newspaper clippings and valuable genealogical manuscripts such as those of Placide Gaudet.

New England Historic Genealogical Society
101 Newbury Street
Boston, MA 02116-3087
USA
Telephone: 617-536-5740
Fax: 617-536-7307
Website: American Ancestors


The State Historical Society of Wisconsin
Library Division
816 State Street
Madison, WI 53706
USA
Telephone: 608-264-6534
Fax: 608-264-6520
Website: State Historical Society of Wisconsin


Allen County Public Library
900 Webster Street
P. O. Box 2270
Fort Wayne, IN 46801-2270
USA
Telephone: 219-421-1200
Fax: 219-422-9688
Website: Allen County Public Library


Burton Historical Collection
Detroit Public Library
5201 Woodward Avenue
Detroit, MI 48202-4093
USA
Telephone: 313-833-1480
Fax: 313-833-5039
Website: Burton Historical Collection