Cameron County, Pennsylvania Genealogy
Guide to Cameron County, Pennsylvania ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The county was named for Senator Simon Cameron. The county is located in the Central section of the state.[2]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Cameron County Courthouse
20 E. Fifth Street
Emporium, PA 15834
Phone: 814-486-2315
Prothonotary/Clerk of Courts: Phone: 814-486-3349 or 814-486-3355,E-mail: protho@cameroncountypa.com
Recorder of Deeds/Register of Wills/ & Clerk of Orphan's Court Phone: 814-486-3349 or 814-486-3355
Cameron County Website
County Clerk has birth and death records 1860-1905, marriage, divorce, probate, court and land records from 1860[3]
Cameron County, Pennsylvania Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1860 | 1860 | 1860 | 1860 | 1860 | 1860 | 1790 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county. |
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]Changes per Pennsylvania Line:[7]
For animated maps illustrating Pennsylvania county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Pennsylvania County Boundary Maps" (1673-1878) may be viewed at the MapofUS.org website. | |
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[8]
| Boroughs | ||
| Census-designated places | ||
| Townships | ||
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Biographies[edit | edit source]
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Additional Cemetery Resources
- ca.1700-ca.1950 Pennsylvania Cemetery Records, ca. 1700-ca. 1950 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- Cemetery Abstracts at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images (incomplete)ySearch] — index and images
- Pennsylvania Genealogy
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Federal Census
- 1850-1880 Pennsylvania Mortality Schedules, 1850-1880 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1870 | 4,273 | — |
| 1880 | 5,159 | 20.7% |
| 1890 | 7,238 | 40.3% |
| 1900 | 7,048 | −2.6% |
| 1910 | 7,644 | 8.5% |
| 1920 | 6,297 | −17.6% |
| 1930 | 5,307 | −15.7% |
| 1940 | 6,852 | 29.1% |
| 1950 | 7,023 | 2.5% |
| 1960 | 7,586 | 8.0% |
| 1970 | 7,096 | −6.5% |
| 1980 | 6,674 | −5.9% |
| 1990 | 5,913 | −11.4% |
| 2000 | 5,974 | 1.0% |
| 2010 | 5,085 | −14.9% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. For members, they may contain: age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage date and maiden name; death/burial date. For general information about Pennsylvania denominations, see Pennsylvania Church Records.
- 1620-1991 Pennsylvania, Historical Society of Pennsylvania, Congregational Records, 1620-1991(*) at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
County-wide Database - Multi-denominational
- 1708-1985 - Pennsylvania, Church and Town Records, 1708-1985 at Historical Society of Pennsylvania – $, free to members of the society; Also available at Ancestry $
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
For information about records kept in the Orphan's court, Prothonotary Court, Court of Common Pleas, and other courts in counties of Pennsylvania, visit the Pennsylvania Court Records Wiki page.
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
For online resources, passenger lists, and specific groups coming to Pennsylvania, see Pennsylvania Emigration and Immigration.
- 1798-1828 Pennsylvania Landing Reports of Aliens, 1798-1828 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; Alphabet index then by numbered entry
- 1900-1923 Pennsylvania, Philadelphia Case Files of Chinese Immigrants, 1900-1923 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; images only (by county)
- 1952-1957 Pennsylvania, Crew Lists arriving at Erie, 1952-1957 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
For groups that came, see People section of the Pennsylvania Emigration page.
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
The Orphan's Court ensures the best interests of those not capable of handling their own affairs: minors, incapacitated persons, decedents' estates, and more.[9]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a specific location and reveal family relationships. Records include: deeds, abstracts, indexes, mortgages, leases, grants, sheriff sales, land patents, maps and more. For more information, see Pennsylvania Land and Property.
Land records in Cameron County began in 1860. These records are filed with the Recorder of Deeds office in Emporium, Pennsylvania.
Land Indexes and Records
- 1860 -1902 Deed books, 1860-1889; Deed Indexes, 1860-1902. FHL film 902015 (first of 6 films) - images only; click on the camera icon to view images
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
- History of the Counties of McKean, Elk, Cameron and Potter, Pennsylvania, with Biographical Selections. 1890. Chicago : J.H. Beers & Co. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, Hathitrust, Internet Archive, Google Books, Ancestry ($); At various libraries (WorldCat).
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
for more resources
Maps
- Maps of Pennsylvania (1673-1878)
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
Civil War
- 1861-1865 Pennsylvania, Register of Military Volunteers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
- 1865-1936 Pennsylvania, Grand Army of the Republic Membership Records, 1865-1936 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
World War II
- 1933-1947 Pennsylvania, Historical Society of Pennsylvania, World War II Casualty Cards, 1933-1947 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Naturalization records can contain information about immigration and nativity. Prior to 1906, it is rare to find the town of origin in naturalization records. For more information, see Pennsylvania Naturalization
Online Naturalization Indexes and Records
- 1795-1931 Pennsylvania, Eastern District Petitions for Naturalization, 1795-1931 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1795-1952 Pennsylvania, Eastern District Naturalization Indexes, 1795-1952 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1862-1906 Naturalization Dockets FHL film 1317479 - images only; click on the camera icon to view images
- 1901-1930 Naturalization Petitions of the U.S. Circuit and District Courts for the Middle District of Pennsylvania, 1906-1930; and 1901-1906 on Fold3.com - ($), indexed, National Archives publication M1622, Middle District court was created in 1901, for earlier dates try the Eastern and Western District court records
- 1901-1930 Middle District, US Circuit and District Courts: Naturalization petitions, 1906-1930 located in U.S. Naturalization Records - Original Documents, 1795-1972 (World Archives Project) database on Ancestry $
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Newspapers may contain obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings. Newspapers are often found in local or university libraries, historical or genealogical societies, or state archives in the area where the newspaper was published. See Pennsylvania Newspapers for more information.
Newspapers of Cameron County
Online Newspapers
To learn if there are newspapers online for a specific town or city in Pennsylvania, see news.google.com/newspapers and search for the town or the name of a newspaper.
- Chronicling America US Newspaper Directory
- Pennsylvania Newspaper Archive
- Pennsylvania Newspapers
Online Newspaper Abstracts
- PA-Roots Newspaper Articles for Cameron County.
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Obituaries are generally found in local newspapers where the person died or where family members lived. Local libraries or societies may have indexes or other sources.
Online Obituary Abstracts
- 1947-2021 Pennsylvania Obituary and Marriage Collection, 1947-2010 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1977-2010 Pennsylvania Obituaries, 1977-2010 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Probate matters in Cameron County are handled by the Orphans' Court and start when the county was created.
In addition to wills and administrations, the Orphans' Court also handles: audits of accounts of executors, administrators, trustees, and guardians; distribution of estates; appointments of guardians; adoptions; appeals from the Register of Wills; inheritance tax appeals, and various petitions and motions.
Online Probate Index and Records
- 1854-1976 Cameron County Probate Records
- 1683-1993 Pennsylvania Wills and Probate Records 1683-1993 at Ancestry $
- 1683-1994 Pennsylvania, Probate Records, 1683-1994 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; images only (by county)
School Records[edit | edit source]
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital records are handled by the County Orphans' Court. Between the years 1852-1855 Pennsylvania made a failed attempt to record birth, marriage and death events at the county level. County marriage records were kept in earnest in 1885. Births and deaths, at the county level, were begun in 1893 and kept through 1905. For the most complete set of records, contact the County Orphans' Court.
Birth[edit | edit source]
Early births 1893–1905 are located at the County Orphans' Court. For more information, see Pennsylvania Vital Records.
- 1520-1999 Pennsylvania, Historical Society of Pennsylvania, Births and Baptisms, 1520-1999 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1709-1950 Pennsylvania, Births and Christenings, 1709-1950 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
- 1941-1976 Pennsylvania Delayed Birth Records, 1941-1976 at FamilySerch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Marriage[edit | edit source]
Pennsylvania marriages were created by county officials. Contact Cameron County Courthouse
- 1512-1989 Pennsylvania, Historical Society of Pennsylvania, Marriage Records, 1512-1989 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1626-2016 Pennsylvania, United States Marriages at Findmypast ($)
- 1677 -1950 Pennsylvania Civil Marriages, 1677-1950 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1682-1976 Pennsylvania, Church Marriages, 1682-1976 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1700-1821 Pennsylvania Marriage Records Ancestry $
- 1709-1940 Pennsylvania Marriages, 1709-1940 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
- Pre-1810 Pennsylvania Marriages Ancestry $
- 1852-1854 Pennsylvania Marriages Ancestry $
- 1885-1950 Pennsylvania County Marriage, 1885-1950 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1947-2021 Pennsylvania Obituary and Marriage Collection, 1947-2010 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Death[edit | edit source]
Early deaths 1893–1905 are located at the County Orphans' Court. For indexes and records, 1906 and later, see Pennsylvania Vital Records.
- 1720-1999 Pennsylvania Deaths and Burials, 1720-1999 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index, some images
- 1856-1971 Pennsylvania, Historical Society of Pennsylvania, Deaths and Burials, 1856-1971 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Divorce records are available through the office of the Prothonotary, Cameron County Courthouse.
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Greene County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Pennsylvania Archives and Libraries.
National Archives at Philadelphia
14700 Townsend Road
Philadelphia, PA 19154-1096
Phone: 215-305-2044
Fax: 215-305-2052
Website
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
- Brookville Pennsylvania Family History Center
- State College Pennsylvania Family History Center
- Williamsport Pennsylvania Family History Center
- Cameron County Historical Society - an affiliate library.
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Cameron County. For state-wide library facilities, see Pennsylvania Archives and Libraries.
The Barbara Moscato Brown Library
27 West 4th Street
P.O. Box 430
Emporium, PA 15834-0430
Phone: 814-486-8011
Email: brocampl@zitomedia.net
Website
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Cameron County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Pennsylvania Societies.
Cameron County Historical Society
P.O. Box 433
Emporium, PA 15834
Email: Info@thelittlemuseum.org
Website
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Cameron County PA Genealogy
- Linkpendium - Cameron County
- USGenWeb project
- FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Pennsylvania.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cameron_County,_Pennsylvania accessed 2/1/2017
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002) Cameron County, Pennsylvania, p.588
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Cameron County, Pennsylvania. Page 588-593 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 579-581.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Pennsylvania.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Pennsylvania.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Pennsylvania line : a research guide to Pennsylvania genealogy and local history, 1990 ed. (Laughlintown, Pa.: Southwest Pennsylvania Genealogical Services, 1990), [FHL book 974.8 D27p 1990].
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Cameron County, Pennsylvania," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cameron_County,_Pennsylvania, accessed 15 January 2020.
- ↑ The Philadelphia Courts at Common Pleas accessed 10 July 2012
