Camden County, North Carolina Genealogy
(Redirected from Camden County, North Carolina Genealogy)
Jump to navigation
Jump to search
Guide to Camden County, North Carolina ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
Camden County is located in the Eastern portion of North Carolina and shares a border with Virginia. It was named for Sir Charles Pratt, Earl of Camden, in gratitude for the support he gave to the colonists[2].
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Camden County Courthouse
Hwy 343 P O Box 190
Camden, NC 27921
Phone: 919-335-4077
Camden County Website
Clerk Superior Court has divorce Court records from 1896
Probate Recordsfrom 1912;[3]
Camden County, North Carolina Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1913 | 1848 | 1913 | 1896 | 1739 | 1912 | 1784 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
Several records destroyed in fire with many others missing. |
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website. |
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]
| Cities | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
| Census-designated places | ||
| Townships | ||
|
|
|
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Camden County was formed in 1777 from the northeastern part of Pasquotank County. It was named for Charles Pratt, 1st Lord Camden, who had opposed the Stamp Act. The county is the site of the southern terminus of the Dismal Swamp Canal and was the location of the Battle of South Mills on April 19, 1862 during the American Civil War which brought a minor victory to the Confederacy.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
- Bible Records at North Carolina Digital Archives - index and images
Biographies[edit | edit source]
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
- North Carolina, Historical Records Survey, Cemetery Inscription Card Index at FamilySearch- How to Use this Collection; index and images Also at: Ancestry ($)
Census Records[edit | edit source]
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1790 | 4,022 | — |
| 1800 | 4,191 | 4.2% |
| 1810 | 5,347 | 27.6% |
| 1820 | 6,347 | 18.7% |
| 1830 | 6,733 | 6.1% |
| 1840 | 5,663 | −15.9% |
| 1850 | 6,049 | 6.8% |
| 1860 | 5,343 | −11.7% |
| 1870 | 5,361 | 0.3% |
| 1880 | 6,274 | 17.0% |
| 1890 | 5,667 | −9.7% |
| 1900 | 5,474 | −3.4% |
| 1910 | 5,640 | 3.0% |
| 1920 | 5,382 | −4.6% |
| 1930 | 5,461 | 1.5% |
| 1940 | 5,440 | −0.4% |
| 1950 | 5,223 | −4.0% |
| 1960 | 5,598 | 7.2% |
| 1970 | 5,453 | −2.6% |
| 1980 | 5,829 | 6.9% |
| 1990 | 5,904 | 1.3% |
| 2000 | 6,885 | 16.6% |
| 2010 | 9,980 | 45.0% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
Church Records[edit | edit source]
- 1700-1970 - North Carolina, Church Records, 1700-1970 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- A listing of Camden County Churches can be found here
- Camden County Church Records
Baptist
- Camden. Constituted 1757.[7]
- Sawyer's Creek. Established by 1790.[7]
- Shiloh, Camden, N.C. Established 1729.[7][8] Formerly located in Pasquotank.
Methodist
- McBride Church. Originally Church of England (since 1733); obtained by Methodists in 1792.[9]
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
- 1862-1870 North Carolina, Freedmen's Bureau Assistant Commissioner Records, 1862-1870 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1863-1872 North Carolina, Freedmen's Bureau Field Office Records, 1863-1872 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; images only
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
- A.C. Robinson & Son Funeral Home, Inc in Elizabeth City
- Adkins Memorial Funeral Home in Elizabeth City
- Beach River Funeral Home in Elizabeth City
- Mitchell Funeral Care and Cremations in Elizabeth City
- Stallings Funeral Homes in Elizabeth City
- Twiford Funeral Homes in Elizabeth City
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
Click a neighboring county
for more resources
for more resources
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
Revolutionary War
- 1778-1833 Delamar Transcripts of Revolutionary War Petitions at North Carolina Genealogical Society - index ($)
- 1779-1782 - North Carolina Revolutionary Pay Vouchers 1779-1782 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Civil War
- 1861-1865 - North Carolina, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch.org - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1861-1865 - North Carolina, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch.org - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry
- 1885-1953 - North Carolina, Confederate Soldiers and Widows Pension Applications, 1885-1953 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1885 and 1901 1885 and 1901 Confederate Pension Applications at North Carolina Digital Collections - index and images
Regiments. Men in Camden County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Camden County:
- - 12th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company M
Civil War Battles
The following Civil War battle was fought in Camden County:
- April 19, 1862 South Mills, also known as Camden[10]
- Map showing Civil War battles in North Carolina.
World War I
- 1914-1918 World War I Papers at North Carolina Digital Collections - index and images
- 1917-1919 - North Carolina, World War I Service Cards, 1917-1919 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
World War II
- 1939-1945 World Ward II Papers at North Carolina Digital Collections - index and images
- 1940-1948 - North Carolina, Discharge and Statement of Service Records, 1940-1948 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- North Carolina Newspapers at DigitalNC
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Other Records[edit | edit source]
County Records
- 1816-1902 - North Carolina, County Records, 1833-1970 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; random records; index and images. (incomplete); Also at: Ancestry ($)
Voter Registration
- 1868-1898 - North Carolina, Voter Registration Records, 1868-1898 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1660 -1790 North Carolina Will Abstracts 1660-1790 at Ancestry $
- 1663-1789 Secretary of State Wills at North Carolina Digital Collections - index and images
- 1663-1978 Wills and Estate Papers (Camden County), 1663-1978(*); at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1663-1979 North Carolina Estate Files, 1663-1979 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1665-1998 North Carolina Wills and Probate Records 1665-1998 at Ancestry $
- 1735-1970 North Carolina Probate Records 1735-1970 at FamilySearch.org - How to Use this Collection; images only (by County)
- 1756-1806 Wills and Estate Papers (Edenton District), 1756-1806(*); FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1760-1800 North Carolina Will Abstracts 1760-1800 at Ancestry $
- 1790 Pre-1790 Camden County, North Carolina Genealogy Wills stored at the North Carolina State Archives are online. Website tips.
- 1822-1920 Camden County North Carolina list of will book testators SAMPUBCO -Browsable index of testators of wills. - Free
- 1822-1920 Will Books (1822-1920) - How to Use this Collection; images only (by County)
- 1822-1960 Wills, 1822-1920; Index to Wills, 1822-1960(*); Superior Court and County Court of Pleas and Quarter Sessions at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1853-1916 Administrators' Bonds, 1853-1916(*); Superior Court and County Court of Pleas and Quarter Sessions at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1856-1870 Guardian Accounts, 1858-1869; Guardian Bonds, 1856-1870(*); County Court of Pleas and Quarter Sessions at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1862-1960 Record of Settlements, 1862-1960(*); County Court of Pleas and Quarter Sessions and Superior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1866-1960 Records of Accounts of Estates, 1866-1960(*); Superior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1869-1912 Orders and Decrees, 1869-1912(*); Superior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1871-1918 Guardians Bonds, 1871-1918(*); Superior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1894-1918 Widows' Dowers, 1894-1918(*); Superior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1923-1960 Inheritance Tax Record, 1923-1960(*); Department of Revenue at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- Genealogical Records of Camden County and Pasquotank County. 1960. By Camden County Historical Society (North Carolina). Portsmouth, Virginia : Camden County Historical Society (North Carolina). Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library.
- Images of Wills and Estates 1822-1840. North Carolina Pioneers ($)
- Wills Camden County North Carolina : The Oldest Will Book on File 1755-1854. 1960. By Cahoon, Bertha Burgess. Portsmouth, Virginia : Camden County Historical Society (North Carolina). Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library.
- Wills, Pasquotank and Camden County : The Oldest Will Book on File, 1752-1798. 1960. By Camden County Historical Society (North Carolina). Portsmouth, Virginia : Camden County Historical Society (North Carolina). Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library.
School Records[edit | edit source]
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
- 1782 - Tax Lists, Camden County, 1782 (index) in NC Taxpayers vol. 2, online at Ancestry ($)
- 1782 - Tax Lists, Camden County, 1782 (images) online at North Carolina Digital Collections
- 1790 - Tax Lists, Camden County, 1790 (images) online at North Carolina Digital Collections
- 1791 - Tax Lists, Camden County, 1791 (images) online at North Carolina Digital Collections
- 1792 - Tax Lists, Camden County, 1792 (images) online at North Carolina Digital Collections
- 1795 - Tax Lists, Camden County, 1795 (images) online at North Carolina Digital Collections
- 1815 - Tax Lists, Camden County, 1815 (images) online at North Carolina Digital Collections
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
- 1800-2000 - North Carolina, Department of Archives and History, Index to Vital Records, 1800-2000 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1800-2000 - North Carolina Birth Index 1800-2000 at FamilySearch.org - How to Use this Collection; index
- 1866-1964 - North Carolina Births and Christenings 1866-1964 at FamilySearch.org - How to Use this Collection; index
- 1913-1922 - North Carolina, Center for Health Statistics, Vital Records Unit, County Birth Records, 1913-1922 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1741-2004 - North Carolina, United States Marriages at Findmypast
- 1741-2004 - North Carolina Marriage Index 1741-2004 at Ancestry $
- 1759-1979 - North Carolina Marriages 1759-1979 at FamilySearch.org- How to Use this Collection; Index
- 1762-1979 - North Carolina, County Marriages, 1762-1979 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1763-1868 - North Carolina, Civil Marriages, 1763-1868 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1848-1940 - Camden County Marriage Books A1-C1 Index 1848-1940 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch.[11]
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1898-1994 - North Carolina Deaths and Burials, 1898-1994 at FamilySearch.org - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1906-1930 - North Carolina Deaths 1906-1930 at FamilySearch.org - How to Use this Collection;index and images Also at: MyHeritage ($)
- 1908-2004 - North Carolina Death Indexes 1908-2004 at Ancestry $
- 1909-1975 - North Carolina Death Certificates 1909-1975 at Ancestry $
- 1931-1994 - North Carolina Deaths 1931-1994 at FamilySearch.org - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Divorce[edit | edit source]
- 1926-1975 - North Carolina, County Divorce Records, 1926-1975 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1958-2004 - North Carolina Divorce Index 1958-2004 at Ancestry $
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Camden County. For state-wide archival repositories, see North Carolina Archives and Libraries.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Camden County. For state-wide library facilities, see North Carolina Archives and Libraries.
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Camden County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see North Carolina Societies.
- Albemarle Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 2931
Elizabeth City, NC 27906-2931
Website
- Family Research Society of Northeastern NC
410 E Main St. #204
Elizabeth City, NC 27909
(252) 333-1640
Website
Websites[edit | edit source]
- USGenWeb Project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- NCGenWeb Camden County
- Camden County USGenWeb Archives
- Camden County Government Services
- FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ https://www.ncpedia.org/geography/Camden
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Camden County, North Carolina. Page 506-514 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 505-509.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Camden County, North Carolina," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Camden_County,_North_Carolina, accessed 9 February 2020.
- ↑ 7.0 7.1 7.2 George Washington Paschal, History of North Carolina Baptists, 2 vols. (1930; reprint, Gallatin, Tenn.: Church History Research and Archives, 1990), 1:487, 492; 2:562. FHL Book 975.6 K2p 1990.
- ↑ J.R.B. Hathaway, "The Earliest Baptist Congregation Organized in North Carolina," The North Carolina Historical and Genealogical Register, Vol. 1, No. 2 (Apr. 1900):283. Digital version at Internet Archive.
- ↑ "McBride Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com/, accessed 22 October 2012.
- ↑ Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 9 August, 2012)
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/4/4d/Iginorthcarolinaa.pdf.
