Camden County, New Jersey Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Camden County, New Jersey ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Camden
Organized: 13 Mar 1844
Parent County(s): Gloucester
Neighboring Counties
Atlantic  • Burlington  • Gloucester  • Philadelphia (PA)
See County Maps
Courthouse
New Jersey, Camden County Courthouse.png
Location Map
Nj-camden.png
Adoption
Adopt-a-wiki page
NJGenWeb.gif This page adopted by:
NJGenWeb and its coordinators
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Camden County is located in the southwest region of the state. It was created in 1844. Camden is the county seat. The county was named for Charles Pratt, 1st Earl Camden, a British judge, civil libertarian, and defender of the American cause.[1]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Camden County Courthouse
101 South 5th Street
Camden, NJ 08103
Phone: 856-650-9100
Camden County Website

County Clerk has court and land records.
County Surrogate has probate records.[2]

Camden County, New Jersey Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[3]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1901 1901 1901 1844 1844 1844 1830
*Statewide registration for births and deaths started 1 May 1848. General compliance by 1920.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • Parent County(s): Created from Gloucester County on 13 March 1844. [4]
  • County Seat: Camden[5]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator.The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]

Cities
Boroughs
Townships


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

1623: The Dutch of New Netherland Genealogy intermittently occupied Fort Nassau (now Brooklawn, Camden, New Jersey) starting in 1623.[7][8] 1664: As part of the Second Anglo-Dutch War New Netherland Genealogy including West Jersey was surrendered to the English.[9] 1673-1674: A new war broke out and the Dutch sent a large armada to retake New Netherland for a few months. But as the war ended the colony was ceded to England for the last time.[10]

  • 1902, part of Waterford twp. to Burlington County
  • 1926, part of Washington twp., Gloucester County added to Gloucester twp. of Camden County
  • 1938, boundary with Atlantic County clarified
  • 1950, part from Gloucester County

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Camden County, New Jersey online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See New Jersey Cemeteries for more information.

 

  • Mt. Peace, Mt. Pisgah, and Mt. Zion cemeteries are located in the town of Lawnside, New Jersey. Lawnside is the first and only town incorporated in the state which is governed by African American. Lawnside is the burial location of over 146 Civil War Soldiers and Sailors.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For tips on accessing census records online, see: New Jersey Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1850 25,422
1860 34,457 35.5%
1870 46,193 34.1%
1880 62,942 36.3%
1890 87,687 39.3%
1900 107,643 22.8%
1910 142,029 31.9%
1920 190,508 34.1%
1930 252,312 32.4%
1940 255,727 1.4%
1950 300,743 17.6%
1960 392,035 30.4%
1970 456,291 16.4%
1980 471,650 3.4%
1990 502,824 6.6%
2000 508,932 1.2%
2010 513,657 0.9%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about denominations, view the New Jersey Church Records wiki page.

Contains the church records of:
  • Audubon: Logan Memorial Presbyterian Church
  • Camden: Bethany Methodist Episcopal Church; Epiphany Evangelist Lutheran Church; Filmore Methodist Episcopal Church; First Methodist Church; First Methodist Episcopal Church; Kaighn Avenue Methodist Episcopal Church; St. Paul's Episcopal Church; St. Wilfrid's Episcopal Church; Tabernacle Methodist Episcopal Church; Third Methodist Episcopal Church; Trinity Episcopal Church; Trinity Evangelical Lutheran Church; Union Methodist Episcopal Church; Wiley Methodist Episcopal Church
  • Haddonfield: Grace Church; Haddonfield Baptist Church and Cemetery; United Methodist Church

Episcopal

  • 1787-1815 Stevenson, J.R. "Records of St. Mary's Church, Colestown, (Old Gloucester Co.) New Jersey," Publications of the Genealogical Society of Pennsylvania, Vol. 3, No. 3 (Jun. 1908):237-240. For free online access, see WeRelate; the Family History Library also has this series in its collection: FHL Book 974.8 B2p. Baptisms 1787-1815, marriages 1795-1796, burials 1794-1795.

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a specific location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See New Jersey Land and Property for information about New Jersey Proprietary land records. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Your relatives may be included in biographies, in church, school and government history, or in military events and lists. For more information, see New Jersey History and scroll to Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Burlington CountyAtlantic CountyGloucester CountyPhiladelphia CountyNJ CAMDEN.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


  • United States Geographic Survey Place Names - GNIS for Camden County(over 900 entries)
    (may not always be present in alphabetic order on first try.)
  • FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

World War I

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

From 1797 or the creation of the county, probate records were held by the Court of Common Pleas and may have earlier records. In 1852, most of those records were transferred to the Camden County Probate Court. For more complete information and for online and other resources, see New Jersey Probate Records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

New Jersey tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information see the wiki page New Jersey Taxation.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. United States Vital Records has additional research guidance on researching and using vital records. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the New Jersey Vital Records State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. Original marriage records are usually held at the county Bureau of Vital Statistics.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Camden County Historical Society
1900 Park Blvd & Euclid Ave.
Camden, NJ 08103-3697
Telephone: 609-964-3333
Website

Fairview Historic Society
3081 Fenwick Rd.
Camden NJ
Website
Historical Society of Haddonfield
343 Kings Hwy E
Haddonfield, NJ 08033
Telephone: 856-429-7375
E-mail:info@haddonfieldhistory.org
E-mail:library@haddonfieldhistory.orgresearch questions
Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Camden County, New Jersey" in Wikipedia : the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Camden_County,_New_Jersey accessed 29 August 2018.
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 11th ed. (Logan, Utah: Everton Pub., 2006), Camden County, New Jersey, page 513. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2006
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Camden County, New Jersey . Page 464-465 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 460.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 181. [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002).At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Camden County, New Jersey," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Camden_County,_New_Jersey, accessed 8 August 2019.
  7. Amandus Johnson, "Detailed Map of New Sweden 1638-1655" in Amandus Johnson's book The Swedes on the Delaware 1638-1664 (Philadelphia: Swedish Colonial Society, 1915), 392.
  8. "Location of Fort Nassau" in Gloucester County, New Jersey History and Genealogy [Internet site] at http://www.nj.searchroots.com/Gloucesterco/fortnassau.htm#Location accessed 8 November 2008).
  9. "New Netherland" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/New_netherland accessed 13 December 2008).
  10. "New Netherland" in Wikipedia.