Caledonia County, Vermont Genealogy
Jump to navigation
Jump to search
Guide to Caledonia County, Vermont ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named for Scotland, in honor of the many settlers who claimed ancestry there. The County is located in the northeast area of the state. [1]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Caledonia County Courthouse
1126 Main Street
Saint Johnsbury, VT 05819
Phone: 802-748-6600
Fax: 802-748-6603
Caledonia County Website
Town Clerks have birth, marriage, death, burial and land records.
County Clerk has divorce and court records from from 1797.
Probate Judge has probate records.
Caledonia County, Vermont Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| at town creation | at town creation | at town creation | 1797 | 1797 | 1796 | 1790 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county. |
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
|
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[5]
| Towns | ||
| Villages | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
| Census-designated places | ||
- Extinct Towns: · Bradleyvale · Hopkinsville[6]
|
Towns Organized Before 1800:
|
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Biographies[edit | edit source]
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1800 | 9,377 | — |
| 1810 | 18,740 | 99.9% |
| 1820 | 16,669 | −11.1% |
| 1830 | 20,967 | 25.8% |
| 1840 | 21,891 | 4.4% |
| 1850 | 23,595 | 7.8% |
| 1860 | 21,708 | −8.0% |
| 1870 | 22,235 | 2.4% |
| 1880 | 23,607 | 6.2% |
| 1890 | 23,436 | −0.7% |
| 1900 | 24,381 | 4.0% |
| 1910 | 26,031 | 6.8% |
| 1920 | 25,762 | −1.0% |
| 1930 | 27,253 | 5.8% |
| 1940 | 24,320 | −10.8% |
| 1950 | 24,049 | −1.1% |
| 1960 | 22,786 | −5.3% |
| 1970 | 22,789 | 0.0% |
| 1980 | 25,808 | 13.2% |
| 1990 | 27,846 | 7.9% |
| 2000 | 29,702 | 6.7% |
| 2010 | 31,227 | 5.1% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
Church Records[edit | edit source]
List of Churches and Church Parishes
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
- Jeffrey, William H. Successful Vermonters; a modern gazetteer of Caledonia, Essex, and Orleans Counties. East Burke, Vermont, The Historical Publishing Company, 1904. Internet Archives.
- Child, Hamilton Gazetteer of Caledonia and Essex Counties, Vt. 1764-1887. Caledonia County, Vermont, Syracuse Journal Company, Printers and Binders, 1887. Google Books.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Click a neighboring county
for more resources
for more resources
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
Civil War
Regiments. Regiments and Companies:
- - 4th Regiment, Vermont Infantry, Companies G and H
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- 1837-1867 The Caledonian (St. Johnsbury, Vermont) 1837-1867, A.G. Chadwick. Dates of publication:1837-1867. Published weekly.
- 1867-1919 St. Johnsbury Caledonian. (St. Johnsbury, Vermont) 1867-1919. C.M. Stone & Co. Dates of publication:1867-1919. Published weekly.
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1749-1999 Vermont Wills and Probate Records 1749-1999 at Ancestry.com — index and images ($)
- 1800-1921 Vermont Probate Files, 1800-1921 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index and images
School Records[edit | edit source]
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch — How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Town Records[edit | edit source]
- 1850-2005 Vermont, Town Records, 1850-2005 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index and images
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Early Vermont vital records were kept on the town level, and beginning dates varied from place to place. Statewide requirements started in 1779. Statewide registration began in 1857, with town clerks sending copies of the previous year’s vital events to the secretary of state. For online indexes, collections, and more information, see Vermont Town Records and Vermont Vital Records.
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1732-2005 Vermont, Town Clerk, Vital and Town Records, 1732-2005 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index and images
- 1760-1954 Vermont Vital Records, 1760-1954 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index and images
- 1760-2008 Vermont Vital Records, 1760-2008 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index and images
- 1765-1908 Vermont Births and Christenings, 1765-1908 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index
- 1850-2005 Vermont, Town Records, 1850-2005 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index and images
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1732-2005 Vermont, Town Clerk, Vital and Town Records, 1732-2005 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index and images
- 1760-1954 Vermont Vital Records, 1760-1954 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index and images
- 1760-2008 Vermont Vital Records, 1760-2008 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index and images
- 1791-1974 Vermont Marriages, 1791-1974 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index
- 1850-2005 Vermont, Town Records, 1850-2005 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index and images
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1732-2005 Vermont, Town Clerk, Vital and Town Records, 1732-2005 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index and images
- 1760-1954 Vermont Vital Records, 1760-1954 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index and images
- 1760-2008 Vermont Vital Records, 1760-2008 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index and images
- 1850-2005 Vermont, Town Records, 1850-2005 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index and images
- 1871-1965 Vermont Deaths and Burials, 1871-1965 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Caledonia County. For state-wide facilities, see Vermont Archives and Libraries.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
- Essex Vermont Family History Center
- Montpelier Vermont Family History Center
- Newport Vermont Family History Center
- Plattsburgh New York Family History Center
- Randolph New Hampshire Family History Center
- Bath Public Library - an affiliate library
- Vermont French-Canadian Genealogical Society - an affiliate library
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Caledonia County. For state-wide library facilities, see Vermont Archives and Libraries.
- Peacham Historical Association
153 Church Street
PO Box 101
Peacham, VT 05862
802-592-3049
E-mail:peachamhistorical@gmail.com
Website - Saint Johnsbury History & Heritage Center
421 Summer Street
St. Johnsbury, VT05819
802-424-1090
E-mail:ppearl47@gmail.com
Website
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Caledonia County. For state-wide genealogical and historical societies, see Vermont Societies.
- Barnet Historical Society
26 Goodwillie Road
Barnet Center, VT
802 Warden Road
Barnet, VT 05821
(802) 633-4436
Facebook - Burke Historical Society
White School House Museum
c/o Burke Mountain Club
PO Box 309
East Burke, VT 05832
802-626-9823 - Danville Historical Society
Choate-Sias Historical House
121 Hill St.
PO Box 274
Danville, VT 05828
802-684-2055
E-mail:info@danvillevthistorical.org
Website - Groton Historical Society
1203 Scott Highway
PO Box 89
Groton, VT 05046
802-584-3417
Email to: grotonvthistory@gmail.com
Website
Facebook - Hardwick Historical Society
Hardwick Depot
PO Box 177
Hardwick, VT 05843
802-472-8555
E-mail:info@hardwickvthistory.org
Website - Lyndon Historical Society
Shores Memorial Museum
202 Center Street
PO Box 85, Lyndon Center
VT 05850
(802) 626-3265
E-mail:ericatparis@gmail.com
Facebook - Ryegate Historical Society
54 Paper Mill Road
3158 N. Bayley Hazen Rd
East Ryegate, VT 05402
802-592-3378
E-mail:doverford@gmail.com or mosquito@fairpoint.net - Sheffield Historical Society
5588 VT Rte 122
Sheffield, VT 05866
802-274-4809
E-mail:normalee43@comcast.net
Website
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Linkpendium
- The Caledonia County VTGenWeb Project, part of The VTGenWeb Project
- USGenWeb Archives
- FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Caledonia, Vermont" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Caledonia_County,_Vermont accessed 5 Dec 2018
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Caledonia County, Vermont . Page 698-699 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 686-687.
- ↑ Caledonia
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Vermont.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Caledonia County, Vermont" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Caledonia_County,_Vermont, accessed 27 June 2022.
- ↑ Michael J. Leclerc, Genealogist's Handbook for New England Research, 5th ed. (Boston, Mass.: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2012), 394. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974 D27g 2012.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Caledonia County, Vermont, 698. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.