Buskerud County, Norway Genealogy
|Norway Wiki Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
Guide to Buskerud ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
Buskerud is a county in Norway, bordering Akershus, Oslo, Oppland, Sogn og Fjordane, Hordaland, Telemark, and Vestfold.
The county is conventionally divided into traditional districts. These are Eiker, Ringerike, Numedal and Hallingdal. Hønefoss is the district capital of Ringerike. Its western part is a mountainous plateau with forested valleys and high, grassy pastures; its eastern part contains a lowland basin with many lakes and streams.
Cities, Parishes and Clerical Districts in Buskerud County[edit | edit source]
- Haug (see Eiker)
- Haug i Norderhov
- Krødsherad (Krydsherred)
- Nedre Eiker
- Nes (i Hallingdal)
- Nes (i Ådal)
- Sigdal (Holem)
- Ytre Ådal
- Drammen (Den Katolske Apostoliske Menighet, 1877-1935)
- Drammen and Oslo (Den Katolske Apostoliske Menighet, 1872-1932)
- Drammen Branch, 1854-1952
- Hurum Branch, 1855-1867
- Kongsberg Branch, 1939-1948
The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
Church Records/Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
- These are the most important records you will use, and a majority of your research will be found in them. All civil registration was kept by the church parishes until 2012.
- 1812-1938 Norway, Church Records, 1812-1938 at MyHeritage — index & images, ($)
- 1815-1930 Norway Church Books, 1815-1930 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1815-1938 Norway Church Records, 1815-1938 at MyHeritage — index & images, ($)
- Digitalarkivet: Digitized parish registers of Buskerud
- Norway Indexed parish register transcriptions
- The Family History Library has microfilms for all Buskerud parish registers up to about 1920. These can be viewed at the library or at a Family Histor Center near you.
- By clicking on the parish links above, you may find direct links to all the records for that parish.
- You do not have to be fluent in Norwegian. These records use a very limited, specialized vocabulary that is easy to learn. For help reading and interpreting theses records, see:
- Parish Register Headings for Norway: This pdf gives the translation of headings for the records in different time periods. When a record is written with labeled columns it is much easier to search. Much of the material you read in each column will just be names and dates, since the meaning of those names (child, parents, godparents, minister) only has to be read once, in the column heading.
- For more detail on the contents of these records and how to use them, see Norway Church Records and Norway Civil Registration.
Censuses[edit | edit source]
- Bragernes prosti, Prestemanntall 9, 1664 - 1666
- Valdres prosti, Prestemanntall 8, 1664 - 1666
- Tønsberg prosti, Prestemanntall 10, 1664 - 1666
- 1801 Census
- 1865 Census; also at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1875 Census; also at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1885 Census (cities only)
- 1891 Census partial index, full scan
- 1900 Census
- 1910 Census full index, not scanned
Family History Resources[edit | edit source]
Norwegian American Bygdelagenes Fellesraad
Craftmen in Kongsberg
Farm Books[edit | edit source]
Government Offices and Sites[edit | edit source]
Land Records[edit | edit source]
1886 and 1838 land registers are found at The Norwegian Historical Data Centre. These are Excel files, which can be downloaded. The give the name of the farm, the farm owner, and the amount of tax. Both farms and sub-farms are included.
Military Records[edit | edit source]
Passenger Lists[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
- 1640-1903 Norway, Probate Index Cards, 1640-1903 at FamilySearch- How to Use this Collection; index
- 1679-1819 Probate register for Drammen 1679-1819
- 1705-1801 Probate register for Kongsberg 1705-1801
Probate Jurisdictions[edit | edit source]
- Eiker, Modum og Sigdal
- Hallingdal og Ringerike
- Lier, Røyken og Hurum
- Numedal og Sandsvær
Taxation[edit | edit source]