Burt County, Nebraska Genealogy
Guide to Burt County, Nebraska ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
Burt County was named for Francis Burt. It is located in the east central area of the state.[2]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Burt County Courthouse
111 N. 13th Street, Suite 9
Tekamah, NE 68061-1043
Phone: 402-374-2950
Burt County Website
County Clerk has marriage and land records.
County Judge has probate and court records.
Clerk District Court has divorce records. [1]
Burt County, Nebraska Record Dates[edit | edit source]
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1904 | 1864 | 1904 | 1858 | 1857 | 1858 | 1854 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county. |
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
|
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[4]
| Cities | ||
| Villages | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
| Townships | ||
| Ghost towns | ||
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Biographies[edit | edit source]
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Check Cemeteries in Google Maps for Cemetery Location
Census Records[edit | edit source]
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1860 | 388 | — |
| 1870 | 2,847 | 633.8% |
| 1880 | 6,937 | 143.7% |
| 1890 | 11,609 | 67.3% |
| 1900 | 13,040 | 12.3% |
| 1910 | 12,726 | −2.4% |
| 1920 | 12,559 | −1.3% |
| 1930 | 13,062 | 4.0% |
| 1940 | 12,546 | −4.0% |
| 1950 | 11,536 | −8.1% |
| 1960 | 10,192 | −11.7% |
| 1970 | 9,247 | −9.3% |
| 1980 | 8,813 | −4.7% |
| 1990 | 7,868 | −10.7% |
| 2000 | 7,791 | −1.0% |
| 2010 | 6,858 | −12.0% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
In addition to the federal census of 1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, 1930, and 1940 Burt County can also be found in several territorial and state census. For tips on accessing Burt County, Nebraska Genealogy census records online, see: Nebraska Census.
1854 NE Territorial Census, District 6 (Burt & Washington Counties)
1856 NE Territorial Census for Burt County
Burt County Taxes of April 1872
1885 NE State Census for Burt County
Business Directory and Farmer's Listof the Nebraska State Gazetteer: Burt County
Federal Censuses were taken for Nebraska starting in 1860. For links to Federal census indexes, see Nebraska Census.
State Census Records
- 1854 - 1870 - Nebraska, Compiled Census Index, 1854-1870 at Ancestry.com - index ($)
- 1860 - 1885 - Nebraska State Census Collection 1860-1885 at Ancestry.com - index and images ($)
- 1885 - Nebraska State Census 1885 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1885 - Nebraska State Census 1885 at Ancestry.com - index and images ($)
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Nebraska denominations, view the Nebraska Church Records wiki page.
List of Churches and Church Parishes
- 1875-1899 - Nebraska, Church Records, 1875-1899 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
- Pelan Funeral Services in Lyons, Oakland, and Tekamah
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Nebraska Land and Property for additional information about early Nebraska land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.
- Land Patent Search - index to federal patents and homesteads on the Bureau of Land Management website, some images available
- 1796 - 1907 - U.S. General Land Office Records, 1796-1907 at Ancestry - index, info taken from Bureau of Land Management website
- 1863 - 1908 - U.S. Homestead Records 1863-1908 at Ancestry.com - ($), index and images
For more information see Nebraska Land and Property
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Burt County, Nebraska Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Nebraska Local Histories.
History of the State of Nebraska first published in 1882 by The Western Historical Company, A. T. Andreas, Proprietor, Chicago, IL. Includes a detailed chapter on Burt County. Republished on the web by NEGenWeb Project Resource Center On-Line Library. Andreas' History of the State of Nebraska: Burt County Produced by Karen Elliott.) also included are Biographical sketches of Tekamah, Arizona, Riverside, Decatur, Alder Grove, Oakland, Lyons Bancroft. Biographical Sketches
- "Noteworthy Men of Tekamah and Vicinity", by Ott Brothers, 1905. Republished on the web by NEGenWeb Project Resource Center On-Line Library. List of Names
- A history of Burt County, Nebraska: from 1803 to 1929. Wahoo, Neb.: Ludi Print. Co., [1929?] Available online through Heritage Quest (check with your local library through which you may have access already to Heritage Quests databases); FamilySearch Digital Library.
- Story of an old town: with reminiscences of early Nebraska and biographies of pioneers by DeMilt, A. P. Omaha, Neb.: Douglas Print. Co. 1902 [about Decatur, Burt County, NE, chapter 6 is about early Burt County in general with biographical sketches] Available online through Heritage Quest (check with your local library through which you may have access already to Heritage Quests databases).
- Who's Who in Burt County, Nebraska, 1940. by Douglas C. Sutherland. Transcribed by Karen Elliott for NEGenWeb Project.
- A Craig scrapbook: a story of a village in Burt County, Nebraska by Lang, Russell Clark; Baltimore, Maryland: Gateway Press, c2008 Available online by BYU Digital Archives. FamilySearch Digital Library.
- 1884 Atlas of State: Record of County Officials of Burt County, Nebraska 1855 - 1884. Historic Map Works. Can purchase these maps as well ($) as enlarge them and view them.
- "Nebraska... Our Towns" contains short histories of the individual towns in Burt county. "Historical Nebraska" is part of "Virtual Nebraska" by the University of Nebraska, Lincoln.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
for more resources
Burt County website has a group of useful maps including very detailed road, county, and city maps.
Nebraska Department of Roads website lists a number of very detailed historic maps.
- Nebraska Gazetteer - database for all known places found in 1890 and 1911 Nebraska gazetteers
- Interactive Formation Boundary Map of Nebraska - shows boundary changes for Nebraska Counties
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
Revolutionary War[edit | edit source]
- 1775 - 1783 - United States Rosters of Revolutionary War Soldiers and Sailors, 1775-1783 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; images only
- For more nationwide Revolutionary War databases, see US Military Online Genealogy Records.
Civil War[edit | edit source]
- 1861 - 1865 - Nebraska Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
- 1861 - 1948 - Nebraska, Grand Army of the Republic, Burial Records, 1861-1948 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
- Military Pensioners, 1 January 1883 transcribed by Alice Miller for USGenWeb Nebraska Archives
- 1891 - Nebraska Resident Military Roster on June 1, 1891 at Ancestry.com - ($), Roster of Soldiers, Sailors, and Marines of the War of 1812, the Mexico War, and the War of the Rebellion, residing in Nebraska June 1, 1891
- 1893 - Roster of Nebraska Veterans - list of veterans in 1893
- For more nationwide Civil War databases, see US Military Online Genealogy Records.
World War I[edit | edit source]
- Burt County WWI Draft Records and Military Personal transcribed by Bill Weaver for USGenWeb Nebraska Archives
- 1917 - 1918 - World War I Drafts 1917-1918 - index only
- For more nationwide World War I databases, see US Military Online Genealogy Records.
World War II[edit | edit source]
- 1940 - 1945 - Nebraska, World War II Draft Registration Cards, 1940-1945 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
- 1855-1989 - Nebraska, Naturalization Records, 1855-1989 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
For information on Nebraska newspapers, see Nebraska Newspapers.
Nebraska Newspapers Online
- Nebraska Newspapers - contains images of newspapers throughout Nebraska
- GenealogyBank - ($), contains images of Nebraska newspapers
- Newspaper Archive - ($), contains images of Nebraska newspapers
- Chronicling America - contains images of some Nebraska newspapers; searching tips
- Elephind - Free; search engine that retrieves newspaper images from other free newspaper websites
Nebraska Newspaper Catalogs
- Nebraska State Historical Society - catalog of known Nebraska newspapers; lists repositories that have the newspapers
- U.S. Newspaper Directory, 1690-Present on Chronicling America - contains a list of all known newspapers and the dates they cover; once you locate a newspaper name, contact the local library to see if they have copies of the newspaper
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Other Records[edit | edit source]
- 1870 - 1990 — Nebraska Prisoner Records 1870-1990 — index only
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
In most counties in Nebraska, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Nebraska - Burt - Probate records.
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1806-1989 Nebraska Wills and Probate Records 1806-1989 at Ancestry.com — index and images ($)
- 1858-1928 Nebraska, Burt County, Probate Case Files, 1858-1928(*); at FamilySearch Catalog — images
School Records[edit | edit source]
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Nebraska tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.
Burt County Taxes of April 1872
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
Birth[edit | edit source]
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1855 - 1995 — Nebraska Marriages, 1855-1995 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index only
- 1856 - 1898 — Nebraska Marriages 1856-1898 at Ancestry.com ($), index only
- 1861 - 1937 - Marriage Records 1861-1937 transcribed by Bill Weaver for USGenWeb Nebraska Archives
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1861 - 1948 - Nebraska, Grand Army of the Republic, Burial Records, 1861-1948 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
- 1904-1955 Reclaim the Records: Nebraska Death Index at Archive.org - images of index
- 1904-1968 Nebraska, U.S., Index to Deaths, 1904-1968 at Ancestry — index, ($)
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Burt County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Nebraska Archives and Libraries.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
- Swedish Heritage Center
301 North Chard Avenue
Oakland, NE 68045
Phone: 402-685-6161 or 402-685-5057
- Swedish Heritage Center
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Burt County. For state-wide library facilities, see Nebraska Archives and Libraries.
- Lyons Public Library
305 Main Street
Lyons, NE 68038-0198
Phone: 402-687-2895 - Oakland Public Library
110 East 3rd Street
Oakland, NE 68045-1356
Phone: 402-685-5113
Email: books@oakland-library.org
Facebook - Tekamah Public Library
204 South 13th Street
Tekamah, NE 68061-1304
Phone: 402-374-2453
- Lyons Public Library
Museums[edit | edit source]
- Burt County Museum
E.C. Houston House
319 North 13th Street
PO Box 125
Tekamah, NE 68061-0125
Phone: 402-374-1505
Email:burtcomuseum@huntel.net
- Burt County Museum
- Decatur Museum Facebook
400 W 8th St
Decatur, NE 68020
Phone: 402-349-5018
Email:janejudt@gmail.com
- Decatur Museum Facebook
- Swedish Heritage Center
301 N. Charde Ave
Oakland, NE 68045
Phone: 402-380-9744
Email:swedishheritagecenter@gmail.com
- Swedish Heritage Center
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Burt County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Nebraska Societies.
- Burt County Historical Society and Museum
PO Box 125
Tekamah, NE 68061-0125
Phone: 402-374-1505
Email:burtcomuseum@abbnebraska.com
Facebook
- Burt County Historical Society and Museum
- Northeastern Nebraska Genealogical Society (NENGS)
PO Box 249
Lyons, NE 68038-0249
- Northeastern Nebraska Genealogical Society (NENGS)
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Burt County NEGenWeb
- Burt County USGenWeb
- Linkpendium: Burt County
- FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 1.2 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Nebraska. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Burt_County,_Nebraska accessed 09/29/2016
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Burt County, Nebraska. Page 428-435 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 417-420.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Burt County, Nebraska," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Burt_County,_Nebraska, accessed 17 January 2019.
