Burnet County, Texas Genealogy
Guide to Burnet County Texas ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Burnet County, Texas|
Location in the state of Texas, United States Genealogy
Location of Texas in the U.S.
|Founded||February 5, 1852|
|Address||Burnet County Courthouse|
220 S Pierce Street
Burnet, TX 78611-3136
Burnet County Website
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The county was named for David Gouverneur Burnet, the first (provisional) president of the Republic of Texas. The name of the county is pronounced with the emphasis or accent on the first syllable, just as is the case with its namesake. The County is located in the central area of the state.
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
County Clerk has birth and death records from 1903,
marriage, burial, probate and land records from 1852
and court records from 1876; District Clerk has divorce
220 S. Pierce Street
1701 East Polk, Ste. 90
Burnet, Texas 78611-2757
Phone: (512) 756-5450
Burnet County Website
Burnet County, Texas Record Dates[edit | edit source]
History[edit | edit source]
The county is known as "the Versatile County". (1940) In 1981, the county was named Bluebonnet Co-capital of Texas..
More history about the county can be found at:
Parent County[edit | edit source]
- County seat: Burnet 
The county was named for David Gouverneur Burnet (1788-1870). David G. Burnet, speculator, lawyer, and politician, was born on April 14, 1788, in Newark, New Jersey, the fourteenth child of Dr. William Burnet, and the third of his second wife, widow Gertrude Gouverneur Rutgers. David was orphaned at an early age and raised by his older half brothers.
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places / Localities[edit | edit source]
Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
‡This populated place also has portions in an adjacent county or counties
History of Towns and Cities from The Texas Handbook Online:
| Bertram | Bethel | Briggs | Burnet | Cedar Mill | Council Creek | Dobyville | Double Horn | Fairland | Granite Shoals | Hoover's Valley | Joppa | Lake Victor | Mahomet | Mormon Mill Colony | Naruna | Oakalla | Oatmeal | Pleasant Valley | Prairie Point | Providence | Sage | Shady Grove | Shovel Mountain | Smithwick | South Gabriel | Spicewood | Spring Creek | Strickling | Tobey | Watson
Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|FindAGrave||Family History Library||FindAGrave|
|TX Gravestones||WorldCat||Tombstone Project|
|BillionGraves (name)||Cemeteries of TX|
|See Texas Cemeteries for more information.|
Additional Cemetery Sources
- 1852-1982-- Burnet County Cemetery Records, 1852-1982 by Burnet County Historical Commission and Burnet County Heritage Society, Nortex Press, 1988. This book is still available for sale. For details on ordering the book, see TXGenWeb, Reference Books.
Census[edit | edit source]
Church[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death/burial date and place. For general information about Texas denominations, view the Texas Church Records wiki page.
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court[edit | edit source]
Land[edit | edit source]
After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
- 1906 - 1989 Texas, Naturalization Records, 1906-1989 — index and images
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Burnet County, Texas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.
- Burnet County History, Vol I and II , by Darrell Debo, Eakin Press, 1978. For details on ordering the books, see TXGenWeb, Reference Books.
- Stories, biographies, diary entries, letters, Bible pages, etc., shared by descendants of Burnet County pioneer families. From Burnet TXGenWeb. Stories From Our Past
Maps[edit | edit source]
- Texas Counties Map. Click on the county to go to the Texas Genweb site
- Texas Land Survey Maps for Burnet County, Texas Genealogy (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
Military[edit | edit source]
- Links to information on Burnet County citizens who participated in military conflicts from the Civil War through Vietnam. From Burnet County TXGenWeb
- The Military Influence in Burnet County
Mexican-American War[edit | edit source]
- 1845 - 1848 US American Volunteer Soldiers Mexican War 1845-1848 at Ancestry.com — index $
Civil War[edit | edit source]
- 1861 - 1865 Texas, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861 - 1865 Texas, Civil War Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1838 - 1900 Texas Muster Roll Index Cards 1838-1900 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
World War I[edit | edit source]
- 1917 - 1920 Texas, World War I Records, 1917-1920 at FamilySearch — index and images
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Burnet County, Texas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
- TX Newspaper Abstracts (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Texas Digital Newspaper Program at The Portal to Texas History
- Numbered items below from Burnet County TXGenWeb:
- Index of Burnet Bulletin, 1898-1913, newspaper events; alphabetical by surname.
- Burnet Bulletin 1874-1880, indexed newspaper names and stories; alphabetical by surname.
- Burnet County, Texas Obituary Index -- 1876 - 1910
- Burnet Tidbits found in Austin Statesman newspaper, 1887 and 1888
- Index of historical articles in the Highlander newspaper some Llano County articles; alphabetical by surname.
- Index of newspaper articles; found in library's vertical files; alphabetical by surname.
- News Tidbits, from Marble Falls Messenger and Burnet Bulletin, 1874-1938; transcribed from microfilmed newspapers; arranged by publication date.
- News Tidbits from newspapers outside Burnet County; dates ranging from 1854-1912; arranged by date.
- Pleasant Turner vs. John Lauraine, Texas State Gazette, 1853; notice for Lauraine to appear in court.
[edit | edit source]
- Photo Album of Burnet County people, places, and things. Alphabetical. From Burnet TXGenWeb.
Probate[edit | edit source]
Probate records of Texas, United States Genealogy have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.
See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1800–1990 Texas Probate Records 1800-1990 at FamilySearch — images
- 1800–2000 Texas Wills and Probate Records 1800-2000 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1868-1892 Index to probate records; transcribed from County Courthouse ledger books, dates ranging from 1868 to 1892; alphabetical by name - From Burnet TXGenWeb. Probate Records
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.
- 1846-1910 Texas, County Tax Rolls 1846-1910 at findmypast ($) — index and images
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Certified birth and death certificates or birth and death verifications can be ordered online or by mail at the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health. Copies can also be obtained from the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred and are often less expensive.
See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas.
Birth[edit | edit source]
Online Birth Indexes and Records
- 1840 - 1981 Texas Births and Christenings, 1840-1981 at FamilySearch.org — index - How to Use this Collection
- 1903 - 1935 Texas Birth Certificates, 1903-1935 (images and index) - FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1903 - 1997 Texas Birth Index, 1903-1997 (index only) - FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1926-1995 Texas Births, 1926 - 1995 at MyHeritage ($) — index
Marriage[edit | edit source]
Online Marriage Indexes and Records
- 1802 - 2010 - Texas, United States Marriages at Findmypast — index $
- 1814 - 1909 and 1966 - 2011 Texas Marriage Collection 1814-1909 and 1966-2011 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1837 - 1965 Texas, County Marriage Records, 1837-1965 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1837 - 1973 Texas, Marriages, 1837-1973 at FamilySearch — index
- 1837 - 1977 Texas, County Marriage Index, 1837-1977 at FamilySearch — index - How to Use this Collection
- 1837 - 1977 - Texas Select County Marriage Index 1837-1977 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1966 - 2010 Texas Marriages, 1966-2010 - FamilySearch record collection - How to Use this Collection
- 1966-2016 Texas Marriages and Divorces at MyHeritage ($) — index
Death[edit | edit source]
Online Death Indexes and Records
- 1903 - 1982 Texas Death Certificates 1903-1982 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1903 - 1973 Texas Deaths and Burials, 1903-1973 at FamilySearch.org — index - How to Use this Collection
- 1977 - 1986 Texas Deaths 1977-1986 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1964 - 1998 Texas Death Index, 1964-1998 (no images) - How to Use this Collection
Divorce[edit | edit source]
- 1968 - 2010 Texas Divorce Index 1968-2010 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1968 - 2011 Texas Divorces 1968-2011 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1966-2016 Texas Marriages and Divorces at MyHeritage ($) — index
Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]
Burnet County Genealogical Society
100 E. Washington St.
Family History Centers
[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Burnet County TXGenWeb
- TXGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the county
- Burnet County TXGenWeb Site
- FamilySearch Catalog The catalog is genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) This catalog is different than the indexed Historical Records.
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Burnet County, Texas," in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Burnet_County,_Texas. accessed 07/25/2019
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Burnet County, Texas. Page 660 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Burnet County, Texas . Page 658-677 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 655-665.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Wikipedia contributors, "Burnet County, Texas," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Burnet_County,_Texas, accessed 26 March 2019.