Burleigh County, North Dakota Genealogy
Guide to Burleigh County, North Dakota ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
Founded in 1873. The County Seat is Bismarck.[2] The County is located in center area of the state.[3]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Burleigh County Courthouse
514 E Thayer Ave
PO Box 5518
Bismarck, ND 58501-4413
Phone: 701.222.6690
Burleigh County Website
Clerk District Court has marriage and probate records from 1898
Court Records from 1876 and burial records from 1950’s[4]
Burleigh County, North Dakota Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1870 | 1898 | 1880 | 1876 | 1873 | 1898 | 1836 |
Full compliance by 1924.[6] | ||||||
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
|
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[8]
| Cities | ||
|
||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
| Census-designated places | ||
| Townships | ||
|
|
|
See also
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Listed below are resources for Bible records specific to Burleigh County. To find more resources, go to the North Dakota Bible Records page.
Biographies[edit | edit source]
- Burleigh County Biographies (North Dakota Genealogy Trails website) - alphabetical list of early settlers and prominent individuals from county histories
- North Dakota Biography Index at North Dakota State University Archives - Index only; gives references to publications containing information on North Dakotans, living and deceased
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
- 1877-1999 - North Dakota, Cemetery Records, 1877-1999 at FamilySearch — index and images - How to Use this Collection
Census Records[edit | edit source]
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1880 | 3,246 | — |
| 1890 | 4,247 | 30.8% |
| 1900 | 6,081 | 43.2% |
| 1910 | 13,087 | 115.2% |
| 1920 | 15,578 | 19.0% |
| 1930 | 19,769 | 26.9% |
| 1940 | 22,736 | 15.0% |
| 1950 | 25,673 | 12.9% |
| 1960 | 34,016 | 32.5% |
| 1970 | 40,714 | 19.7% |
| 1980 | 54,811 | 34.6% |
| 1990 | 60,131 | 9.7% |
| 2000 | 69,416 | 15.4% |
| 2010 | 81,308 | 17.1% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
- Burleigh County Census Records (USGenWeb Archives)
Before North Dakota was a state in 1889, parts of North Dakota were included in the 1836 Iowa Territory census (also known as Wisconsin Territory), 1840 Iowa Territory census, 1850 Minnesota Territory census, and the 1860-1880 Dakota Territory censuses.[9] See links listed below.
Territory and State Census Records[edit | edit source]
- 1836 - 1836 Wisconsin Territory Census – index only; North Dakota was included in the 1836 Wisconsin Territory Census
- 1840 - United States Census, 1840 at FamilySearch Historical Records — index and images; North Dakota was included in the 1840 Iowa Territory Census - How to Use this Collection
- 1850 - United States Census, 1850 at FamilySearch Historical Records — index and images; North Dakota was included in the 1850 Minnesota Territory Census - How to Use this Collection
- 1860 - United States Census, 1860 at FamilySearch Historical Records — index and images; North Dakota was included in the 1860 Dakota Territory Census - How to Use this Collection
- 1870 - United States Census, 1870 at FamilySearch Historical Records — index and images; North Dakota was included in the 1870 Dakota Territory Census - How to Use this Collection
- 1880 - United States Census, 1880 at FamilySearch Historical Records — index and images; North Dakota was included in the 1880 Dakota Territory Census - How to Use this Collection
- 1885 Dakota Territory 1885 Census Index at NDSU Archives – index only
- 1885, 1915, 1925 North Dakota, Territorial and State Censuses, 1885, 1915, 1925 at Ancestry.com – ($), index and images
- 1915 North Dakota Census, 1915 at FamilySearch Historical Records — index and images - How to Use this Collection
- 1925 North Dakota Census, 1925 at FamilySearch Historical Records — index and images - How to Use this Collection
Federal Census Records[edit | edit source]
Federal Censuses were taken for the state of North Dakota starting in 1890, although no records survived. The 1900 Census is the next Federal Census available. For links to Federal census indexes, see North Dakota Census.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Church records can be found online, kept onsite at the church, or housed in a church archive or library. See North Dakota Church Records for more information on how to locate the records.
Online Church Records
Lutheran Church
- 1875-1940 - U.S., Evangelical Lutheran Church of America, Records, 1875-1940 at Ancestry — ($); Index and images; Dates vary for each county
Presbyterian Church
- 1927-1935 - U.S., Presbyterian Records, 1701-1970 at Ancestry — ($); Index and images; Westminster Presbyterian Church of Stewartsdale, 1927-1935
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Directories[edit | edit source]
- 1822-1995 - U.S. City Directories 1822-1995 at Ancestry ($) - collection for the City of Bismark
- 1902 - Bismark Medical Directory, 1902 (USGenWeb Archives)
- 1909 - Burleigh County Attorneys (USGenWeb Archives)
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
- 1800-1953 - North Dakota, Red River Valley Genealogical Society, Pioneer Files, 1880-1953 at FamilySearch — index - How to Use this Collection
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
- Bismarck Funeral Home and Cemetery in Bismarck
- Eastgate Funeral Home and Cremation Service in Bismarck
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
When the United States acquired North Dakota, most of the land became available for homesteading or purchase from the federal government. After land was transferred from the government to private owners, the registrar of deeds in each county recorded the land transactions in the form of deeds and mortgages. For more information, see North Dakota Land and Property.
Online Land Records
- Burleigh County BLM Landowner Records by Name (USGenWeb Archives)
- Land Patent Search - index to federal patents and homesteads on the Bureau of Land Management website, some images available
- 1796-1907 - U.S. General Land Office Records, 1796-1907 at Ancestry - index, info taken from Bureau of Land Management website
- 1863-1908 - U.S. Homestead Records 1863-1908 at Ancestry.com - ($), index and images
For more information see North Dakota Land and Property
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories, including those of the county, are available for Burleigh County. These histories can include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information.
- Burleigh County - Early History (Genealogy Trails)
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
for more resources
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
- Interactive Formation Boundary Map of North Dakota - shows boundary changes for North Dakota Counties
- North Dakota Maps at NDGenWeb -historical maps
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
Civil War Battle
The following Civil War battle was fought in Burleigh County.
- July 28, 1863 = Stony Lake[10]
Online collections[edit | edit source]
These collections are unique to North Dakota. You will find nationwide databases for military records on U.S. Military Online Genealogy Records and North Dakota Military Records.
Civil War
- 1861 -1865 Dakota Territory Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1890 United States Census of Union Veterans and Widows of the Civil War, 1890 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- List of Pensioners on the Rolls as of Jan 1, 1883 (Genealogy Trails)
- Map showing Civil War battles in North Dakota.
World War I
- 1917 - 1918 North Dakota Military Men 1917-1918 at Ancestry ($)
- 1917 - 1918 Roster of the men and women who served in the army or naval service (including the Marine Corps) of the United States or its allies from the state of North Dakota in the World War, 1917-1918, Vols. 1-4 at Ancestry ($)
- World War I Casualties, Burleigh County (Genealogy Trails)
World War II
- World War II Army Casualties, Burleigh County (Genealogy Trails)
- World War II Navy Casualties, Burleigh County (Genealogy Trails)
Korean War
- Korean War Casualties, Burleigh County (Genealogy Trails)
Vietnam War
- Vietnam War Casualties, Burleigh County (Genealogy Trails)
For further information see North Dakota Military Records.
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Please see the North Dakota Naturalization and Citizenship page for state-wide information.
Online Naturalization Indexes and Records
- 1868-1924 - North Dakota, Naturalization Records, 1868-1924 at FamilySearch — index and images - How to Use this Collection
- 1873-1955 Declarations of Intention, 1873-1955(*); District Court at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1877-1955 Final or Second Papers and Petitions, 1877-1955(*); District Court at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1907-1956 Miscellaneous Naturalization Records, 1907-1956(*); District Court at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- North Dakota Naturalization Records Index at NDSU Archives – index only, covers various dates and counties
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
For more information, see North Dakota Newspapers.
North Dakota Newspaper Catalogs
- State Historical Society of North Dakota - contains inventory and catalog of all known ND newspapers
- U.S. Newspaper Directory, 1690-Present on Chronicling America - contains a list of all known newspapers and the dates they cover; once you locate a newspaper name, contact the local library to see if they have copies of the newspaper
North Dakota Newspapers Online
- Chronicling America - contains images of some North Dakota newspapers; searching tips
- Elephind - Free; search engine that retrieves newspaper images from other free newspaper websites
- GenealogyBank ($)
- Newspaper Archive ($)
- Papers from the Past at Community History Archives
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
- Burleigh County Obituaries and Death Notices (Genealogy Trails)
- Burleigh County Obituaries (USGenWeb Archives)
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Probate records, including wills and estates, are at the county clerk's office. See also North Dakota Probate Records.
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1800–1985 North Dakota and South Dakota Wills and Probate Records 1800-1985 at Ancestry.com — index and images($)
- 1890-1900 Records of Wills and Marriages from County Judge's Office, Burleigh Co., North Dakota, 1890-1900(*); at FamilySearch Catalog — images
School Records[edit | edit source]
- 1908 - Bismark High School Graduates of1908. Includes biographical information. (Genealogy Trails)
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
County tax records are at the county treasurer's, auditor's or clerk's office in the county courthouse. Some tax records may have been moved to the North Dakota State Archives.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriage, death, and divorce records may be recorded on registers, certificates, or other documents at the county clerk's office. Many records are also being digitized and put online. See North Dakota Vital Records for more information about availability and how to access them.
Birth[edit | edit source]
- Burleigh County Birth Announcements taken from local newspapers. (Genealogy Trails)
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1872-1958 - North Dakota, County Marriages, 1872-1958 at FamilySearch — index and images - How to Use this Collection
- 1872-2017 North Dakota, U.S., Select County Marriage Records, 1872-2017 at Ancestry - index & images ($)
- Burleigh County Marriage Announcements taken from local newspapers. (Genealogy Trails)
Death[edit | edit source]
Online Death Indexes and Records
- 1892-present - NDDH Public Death Index, 1892-present at North Dakota Dept. of Health – index only
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Burleigh County. For state-wide archival repositories, see North Dakota Archives and Libraries.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Burleigh County. For state-wide library facilities, see North Dakota Archives and Libraries.
Bismarck Veterans Memorial Library
515 N 5th St
Bismarck, ND 58501
701-355-1480
Website
Facebook
Museums[edit | edit source]
State Historical Museum
612 East Boulevard Avenue
Bismarck, North Dakota 58505
701-328-2666
Email: history@nd.gov
Website
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Burleigh County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see North Dakota Societies.
Germans From Russia Heritage Society
1125 Turnpike Ave.
Bismarck, ND 58501-8115
701-223-6167
Email: rachel.grhs@midconetwork.com
Website
Facebook
Missouri Valley Historical Society
3805 East Bismarck Expressway
Bismark, ND
North Dakota Foundation State Historical Society
612 East Boulevard Ave
Bismark, ND
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Burleigh County at Cyndi's List — a comprehensive, categorized & cross-referenced list of links that point you to genealogical research sites online
- Burleigh County at Genealogy Trails — volunteer transcriptions of genealogical and historical data
- Burleigh County at North Dakota USGenWeb - free online resources for genealogical research
- Burleigh County at North Dakota USGenWeb Archives - free online data for genealogical research
- Burleigh County, North Dakota at Linkpendium - genealogy and family history
- Burleigh County, North Dakota Genealogy at LDSGenealogy.com - collection of links by state, county, city, and record type
- FamilySearch Catalog The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Burleigh County, North Dakota Genealogy and History (Genealogy Trails)
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Burleigh, North Dakota," in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Burleigh_County,_North_Dakota accessed 8/27/2018
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Burleigh County, North Dakota. Page 522 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Burleigh County, North Dakota. Page 522 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 517.
- ↑ Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Rev. ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 1992), 562; Alice M. Hetzel, U.S. Vital Statistics System: Major Activities and Developments, 1950-95 (Hyattsville, Md.: U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, National Center for Health Statistics, [1997]), 58.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Burleigh County, North Dakota," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia.
- ↑ Alice Eichholz, ‘’Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources,’’ 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 2004), 511. Free online version; FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004; WorldCat entry.
- ↑ Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State
