Bureau County, Illinois Genealogy
Guide to Bureau County, Illinois ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.
|Bureau County, Illinois|
Location in the state of Illinois, United States Genealogy
Location of Illinois in the U.S.
|Founded:||February 28, 1837|
|Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD), Illinois State Archives|
700 S. Main Street
Princeton, Illinois 61356
Bureau County Website
County Organization[edit | edit source]
County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Bureau County are kept, see the Bureau County Courthouse page.
Historical Facts[edit | edit source]
Bureau County is named for Pierre Bureau (Belleau or de Beuro) who established a trading post on the Illinois River.
Description[edit | edit source]
The county was named for either Michel or Pierre Bureau, French Canadian brothers who ran a trading post from 1776 until the 1780s near where Big Bureau Creek joins the Illinois River. The County Seat is Princeton and was founded 1837. It is located in the North-Central area of the state.
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
Prior to County Formation
- 1801-1812 - Bureau part of St. Clair County
- 1812-1821 - Bureau part of Madison County
- 1821-1823 - Bureau part of Pike County
- 1823-1825 - Bureau part of Fulton County
- 1825-1837 - Bureau part of Putnam County
- 1827-1831 - Some of Bureau part of JoDaviess County
County Formation and After
- 1837 - Bureau County created from Putnam County
- 1839 - Bureau gained from Putnam and unorganized area
For more information see Origin and Evolution of Illinois Counties or Bureau County Fact Sheet (Illinois State Archives). For interactive county boundary maps see Illinois County Boundaries, 1790-Present, Illinois Historical Counties, or For animated maps illustrating Illinois county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Illinois County Boundary Maps" (1790-1869) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Records Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Records and Resources[edit | edit source]
Biography[edit | edit source]
Past and present of Bureau County, Illinois, together with biographical sketches Harrington, George B. (Main Author)
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Census[edit | edit source]
Federal[edit | edit source]
State[edit | edit source]
1840 Pensioners[edit | edit source]
- A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. Washington, D.C., 1841. FHL 973 X2pc 1840; FHL 2321; digital version at Google Books. [See Illinois, Bureau County on page 186.]
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Lutheran[edit | edit source]
- 1872-1883 - Dansk Evangelisk Church, Sheffield, Baptism Index 1872-1883 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch C730361 .
- 1872-1883 - Dansk Evangelisk Church, Sheffield, Marriage Index 1872-1883 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch M730361 .
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Original court records are held in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk. See Illinois Court Records for more information about using court records.
The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at Northern Illinois University - search for Bureau County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the NIU IRAD Wiki Page
Directories[edit | edit source]
Ethnic Research[edit | edit source]
African American[edit | edit source]
The following have information concerning African American research.
- African American Genealogy (US) has more information about the kinds of records
- Illinois State Archives pamphlet on African American Research describes what records are at the State Archives with an online method for ordering records.
- African American Resources for Illinois
Genealogy[edit | edit source]
History[edit | edit source]
- The Biographical Record of Bureau, Marshall and Putnam Counties, Illinois. Chicago: S.J. Clarke Pub. Co., 1896. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
- Harrington, George B. Past and Present of Bureau County, Illinois. Chicago: Pioneer Pub. Co., 1906. Digital version at Ancestry ($); Another Ancestry ($) version; Internet Archive.
- A Brief History of Bureau County also contains a list of Museums in Bureau County.
Land and Property[edit | edit source]
Original land records are held in the office of the County Clerk . See Illinois Land and Property for more information about using land records.
The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed online, through the Family History Library or the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Northern Illinois University- search for Bureau County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the NIU Wiki page.
- 1800s-Present - Use the Bureau of Land Management (BLM) Land Patent Index to obtain original federal land transfer records including homestead, military warrants, and cash entry patents. These records help a research establish location and lead to National Archives' records which may include genealogical information. Earlier land transfer records are housed at the National Archives.
- 1800s-Present - Illinois Public Domain Land Tract Sales from Illinois State Archives also provides an index to federal land sales.
- 1796–1907 U.S. General Land Office Records found at Ancestry ($)
- Illinois Public Land Purchase Records This record extract includes over 538,000 land sales from the 19th Century. Each entry includes the purchaser's name, purchase date, number of acres, price per acre, and in some cases the purchaser's sex and residence. Available at www.ancestry.com ($)
- Bureau County Federal Township Plats
Copies of Original Records
- 1816-1900 Deed Index IRAD-NIU; search for Bureau County Records. (Learn more about IRAD.)
- 1856-1878 Swamp Land Record IRAD-NIU
- 1923-1935 Chattel Mortgage Index IRAD-NIU
- 1931-1956 Chattel Mortgage Record IRAD-NIU
- 1949-1959 Chattel Mortgage Entry Books IRAD-NIU
- 1984 Rockford Map Publishers Land Atlas and Plat Book, Bureau County, Illinois, 1984 (Rockford, Illinois:Rockford Map Publishers, c1984) Other Libraries; FHL Book 977.3372 E7b
Maps[edit | edit source]
- Maps of Illinois (1788-1940)
- Federal Township Plats of Illinois (1804-1891)
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
Military Records[edit | edit source]
Civil War[edit | edit source]
- Bureau County, Illinois muster rolls of Civil War volunteers; bounty committee records, etc., ca. 1861-1865
- Bureau County, Illinois Civil War applications for relief, ca. 1861-1865
- Bureau County, Illinois Civil War relief committee vouchers, ca. 1861-1865
- Bureau County, Illinois town Civil War committee records, ca. 1861-1865
Civil War service men from Bureau County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Bureau County.
- - 9th Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, Company K.
- - 12th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies H and I.
- - 12th Regiment, Illinois Infantry (3 months, 1861), Companies H and I.
- - 15th Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, Company L.
- - 27th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company I
- - 33rd Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company E.
- - 52nd Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company B.
- - 57th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies B, F, H and K.
- - 64th Regiment, Illinois Infantry (Yates’ Sharpshooters), Company B.
- - 66th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company C.
- - 88th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company D.
- - 93rd Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies B, C, E, H, I and K.
- - 139th Regiment, Illinois Infantry (100 days, 1864), Companies A, G, and H.
- - 146th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies F and H.
- - 148th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies A, E, and K.
- - 151st Regiment, Illinois Infantry (1 year, 1865), Companies F, G and H.
- - 153rd Regiment, Illinois Infantry (1 year, 1865), Company E.
Naturalization[edit | edit source]
- 1800-1998 Illinois, County Naturalization Records, 1800-1998 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1837-1923 Naturalization Papers IRAD-NIU; search for Bureau County Records. (Learn more about IRAD.)
- 1856-1991 Illinois, U.S., Federal Naturalization Records, 1856-1991 at Ancestry.com - index and images, ($)
Newspapers and Obituaries[edit | edit source]
- 1800s-1999 U.S., Newspapers.com Marriage Index, 1800s-1999 at Ancestry - index ($)
A good collection of obituaries and death notices can be found at Genealogy Trails.
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1772 - 1999 Illinois Wills and Probate Records 1772-1999 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1819 - 1988 Illinois Probate Records 1819-1988 at FamilySearch.org — images
- 1837-1900, 1906-1955 Probate Records IRAD-NIU; search for Bureau County Records. (Learn more about IRAD.)
Repositories[edit | edit source]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Bureau County are kept, see the Bureau County Courthouse page
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
Illinois Regional Archives Depositories (IRAD)[edit | edit source]
The Illinois Regional Archives Depositories (IRAD), managed by the Illinois State Archives, houses the archival records of local Illinois counties, townships, municipalities and school districts. The seven Regional Depositories are housed on state university campuses scattered throughout Illinois.
- Illinois Regional Archives Depository
c/o Regional History Center
Founders Memorial Library, Room 400
Northern Illinois University
DeKalb, IL 60115
Telephone: (815) 753-1807
Public Libraries[edit | edit source]
Social Groups Online[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
- Bureau County Genealogical Society
PO Box 402
629 S. Main St.
Phone 815-879-3133 or 815-303-7386
- Bureau County Historical Society
109 Park Ave. West
Princeton, Il 61356
- Neponset Historical Society
PO Box 262
113 Commercial Street
Neponset, Ill 61345
- Manlius Historical Society
122 E. Maple Ave
Manlius, Illinois 61338
Phone 815-646-4369, 815-445-4102 or 815-454-2532
- Mineral Pride Society
c/o Dave Nanninga
111 Third Street
Mineral, IL 61344
- Sheffield Historical Society
125 Washington St.
Sheffield, IL 61361
- Tiskilwa Historical Society
PO Box 87
110 E. Main St.
Tiskilwa, IL 61368
- Wyanet Historical Society
320 E. Second St.
Wyanet, IL 61379
Phone 815-699-2559 or 815-699-2419
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
See Illinois Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Illinois.
Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Original birth and death certificates recorded until the year 1916 are kept by the Bureau County Clerk while those recorded after 1916 are kept by the Illinois Department of Public Health with a copy to the County Clerk. Original marriage records are usually kept by the County Clerk from the establishment of the county to the present. Original divorce records are generally in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk.
The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through online databases, the Family History Library and the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Northern Illinois University (NIU) - search for Bureau County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the IRAD Wiki page.
Births[edit | edit source]
Marriages[edit | edit source]
- 1587-1959 Illinois, United States Marriages at Findmypast — index $
- 1805-1985 Illinois, Church Marriages, 1805-1985 at FamilySearch — index
- 1810–1934 Illinois, County Marriages, 1810-1934 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1833-1889 Illinois, Civil Marriages, 1833-1889 at FamilySearch — index
- 1856–1895 Cass, Mrs. Allan W. Marriages of North Prairie area, beginning with the first recorded minister, 1856-1895 Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1977. FHL film 982434 Item 20
- 1837-1854 Illinois Statewide Marriage Index at Illinois State Archives Index
Deaths[edit | edit source]
- 1749-1999 Illinois Deaths and Burials, 1749-1999 at FamilySearch — index, some images
- 1850-1880 Illinois Mortality Schedules, 1850-1880 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1916-1950 Database of Illinois Death Certificates at Illinois State Archives Index
- Bureau County, Illinois Obituary and Death Notices Collection Free from GenealogyBuff.com. From various funeral homes in the Princeton, Hall, Spring Valley, Selby, Arispie, Sheffield, Walnut, Wyanet, Ladd and surrounding area.
- 1916-1950 Illinois Deaths, 1916-1950 at MyHeritage - index, ($)
Additional Resources[edit | edit source]
Additional resources for Bureau County births, marriages and deaths may be found in the Illinois, Bureau – Vital Records, the Illinois, Bureau – Vital Records - Newspaper indexes, and the Illinois, Bureau – Vital Records - newspapers topic pages of the FamilySearch Catalog . Online microfilm are indicated by the camera icon in the catalog entry. Copies of books found in the FamilySearch Catalog may be found in WorldCat catalog and ordered from your local library through interlibrary loan. Explore how to search the FamilySearch Catalog and the WorldCat Online Catalog.
Voter Registration[edit | edit source]
Places and Localities[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
‡This populated place also has portions in an adjacent county or counties
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Bureau County IL Genealogy
- Bureau County, Illinois Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Bureau County, IL History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Bureau County Illinois Ancestors
- Illinois Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.\
References[edit | edit source]
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Bureau County, Illinois. Page 192-199 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 194-197.
- Wikipedia contributors, "Bureau County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bureau_County,_Illinois 4/11/2017.
- Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/1/10/Igiillinoisac.pdf.
- Wikipedia contributors, "Bureau County, Illinois," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bureau_County,_Illinois, Last accessed 14 October 2019.