Bullock County, Alabama Genealogy
Jump to navigation
Jump to search
Guide to Bullock County, Alabama ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named for Colonel E. C. Bullock, of Eufaula.[2]The County is located in the southeast central area of the state.[3]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Bullock County Courthouse
217 North Prairie Street
Union Springs, AL 36089
Phone: 334-738-2280
Bullock County Website
Probate judge has probate and military records.
County Commissioner has divorce and land records.
Clerk Circuit Court has court records. [4]
Bullock County, Alabama Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1908 | 1867 | 1809 | 1867 | 1867 | 1867 | 1816 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county. |
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
|
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in Bullock County:[7]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator.
| Cities | ||
| Towns | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
|
||
| Ghost towns | ||
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
- Bullock County, Alabama Bible Records at Access Genealogy
- Bullock County, Alabama Bible Records at Alabama Genealogy
- Bullock County, Alabama Bible Records at AlGenWeb Project
- Bullock County Bible Records at USGenWeb Archives Project
Biographies[edit | edit source]
- Biographies of many notable residents of Bullock County were published in Memorial Record of Alabama (1893). Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library. Begins on page 514.
- Bullock County Biographies at The USGenWeb Archives Project
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
| |
Census Records[edit | edit source]
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1870 | 24,474 | — |
| 1880 | 29,066 | 18.8% |
| 1890 | 27,063 | −6.9% |
| 1900 | 31,944 | 18.0% |
| 1910 | 30,196 | −5.5% |
| 1920 | 25,333 | −16.1% |
| 1930 | 20,016 | −21.0% |
| 1940 | 19,810 | −1.0% |
| 1950 | 16,054 | −19.0% |
| 1960 | 13,462 | −16.1% |
| 1970 | 11,824 | −12.2% |
| 1980 | 10,596 | −10.4% |
| 1990 | 11,042 | 4.2% |
| 2000 | 11,714 | 6.1% |
| 2010 | 10,914 | −6.8% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
State Census
- 1855 Alabama State Census, 1855 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1866 Alabama State Census, 1866 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1907, 1921, 1927 Alabama, Census of Confederate Veterans, 1907, 1921, 1927 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Alabama denominations, view the Alabama Church Records wiki page.
- 1831-1994 Alabama, Church Records, 1831-1994 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
List of Churches and Church Parishes"
Court Records[edit | edit source]
- 1871-1913 Bullock County, Alabama, Settlement Records, 1871-1913(*); Judge of Probate at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1872-1927 Bullock County, Alabama, Miscellaneous Records, 1872-1927(*); Judge of Probate at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
- 1865-1872 Alabama, Freedmen's Bureau Field Office Records, 1865-1872 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; images only
- 1867-1868, 1874-1882, 1929-1954 Bullock County, Alabama Colored Marriage Books 1-1A, 4, 33-34, 36-38, 40-41 in "Alabama, County Marriages, 1809-1950," at FamilySearch[8] - How to Use this Collection
The following have information concerning African American research.Both should be used:
- African American Genealogy (US) has more information about the kinds of records
- Alabama Cultural Groups has information specific to Alabama African Americans.
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
- Carter Funeral Home in Union Springs
- Gray Funeral Service and Cemetery in Union Springs (Facebook)
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Alabama Land and Property for additional information about early Alabama land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Bullock County. The histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Alabama Local Histories.
- Black, Elizabeth Griswold. History of Bullock County. 1965. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Click a neighboring county
for more resources
for more resources
- Maps of Alabama (1799-1980)
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
- Alabama Maps and Blueprints Collection at Alabama Department of Archives and History – maps can be browsed by location or subject
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
Multiple Wars
- ca.1918-ca.1962 Alabama, Military Discharge Records, ca.1918 - ca.1962 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Civil War
- 1861-1865 Alabama Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index, images at partner site
- 1861-1865 Alabama Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index, images at partner site
- 1861-1865 Civil War Service Database at Alabama Department of Archives and History - index
- 1861-1865 U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry
- 1861-1865 U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry
- 1871-1880 Alabama, Southern Claims Commission Approved Claims, 1871-1880 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1880-1930 Alabama, Confederate Pension Applications, ca. 1880-1930's at FamilySearch] - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1907, 1921, 1927 Alabama, Census of Confederate Veterans, 1907, 1921, 1927 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- Bullard, Karen C. and Annette J. Connor. Census of Confederate Soldiers Residing in Alabama, 1907 in Pike, Bullock and Crenshaw Counties. n.d. Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library
- Alabama Civil War and Reconstruction Newspapers at Alabama Department of Archives and History
World War I
- 1917-1919 Alabama, World War I Service Cards, 1917-1919 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1917-1918 Alabama World War I Service Records at Alabama Department of Archives and History - alpha index by name and images
- 1917-1918 Alabama World War I Gold Star Files at Alabama Department of Archives and History - alpha index by name and images
World War II
- 1940-1945 Alabama, World War II Draft Registration Cards, 1940-1945 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1940-1966 Alabama Active Military Service Reports at Alabama Department of Archives and History - alpha index by name and images
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- Alabama Civil War and Reconstruction Newspapers at Alabama Department of Archives and History
- 1800s-1999 U.S., Newspapers.com Marriage Index, 1800s-1999 at Ancestry - index ($)
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Voter Registration
- 1834-1981 Alabama Voter Registration and Poll Tax Cards, 1834-1981 at FamilySearch - How to use this collection, index and images
Alabama Voting Registers for 1867 are available online at the Alabama Department of Archives and History. Bullock County has two books:
Bullock County Vol 1, Bullock County Vol 2
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1753-1999 Alabama Wills and Probate Records 1753-1999 at Ancestry ($)
- 1809-1985 Alabama Probate Records, 1809-1985(*) at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; images
- 1830-1976 Alabama Estate Files, 1830-1976(*) at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index & images
- 1864-1934 Bullock County, Alabama, Wills, 1864-1934(*); Probate Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1866-1950 Probate Estate Files (Bullock County, Alabama), 1866-1950(*); Probate Court at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1867-1872 Bullock County, Alabama, Conveyance Records, v. A, 1867-1872(*); Judge of Probate at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1867-1950 Bullock County, Alabama, Probate Minutes, (1867-1928; General Index 1867-1950), 1867-1950(*); Judge of Probate at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1870-1926 Bullock County, Alabama, Administrators' Records, 1870-1926(*); Judge of Probate at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1870-1926 Bullock County, Alabama, Appraisement Records, 1870-1926(*); Judge of Probate at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1871-1911 Bullock County, Alabama, Executors' Records, 1871-1911(*); Judge of Probate at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1871-1913 Bullock County, Alabama, Settlement Records, 1871-1913(*); Judge of Probate at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1871-1926 Bullock County, Alabama, Inventory Records, v. A, 1871-1926(*); Judge of Probate at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1872-1927 Bullock County, Alabama, Miscellaneous Records, 1872-1927(*); Judge of Probate at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1893-1898 Bullock County, Alabama, Dower Records, 1893-1898(*); Judge of Probate at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1918-1926 Bullock County, Alabama, Probate Final Records, 1918-1926(*); Judge of Probate at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
School Records[edit | edit source]
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Alabama tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Alabama Taxation.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Alabama State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online $.
For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Alabama.
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1909-1919 Bullock County Marriage Index 1909-1919 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch[9]
- 1881-1930 Alabama Births and Christenings, 1881-1930 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
- 1881-1930 - Alabama, County Birth Registers, 1881-1930 at FamilySearch — index, and some images - How to Use this Collection; index and some images
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1733-2013 Alabama, United States Marriages at Findmypast
- 1800-1969 Alabama, Marriage Collection, 1800-1969 at Ancestry $
- 1809-1920 Alabama Marriages, 1809-1920 (Selected Counties) at Ancestry $
- 1809-1950 Alabama, County Marriages, 1809-1950 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and some images
- 1816-1957 Alabama, Marriages, 1816-1957 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
- 1818-1936 Alabama County Marriages, 1818-1936 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
- To 1825 Index to Marriages at Ancestry ($); Index. contains over 12,000 names. Each entry includes groom, bride, marriage date, county, and state. Every name is indexed so you can search for one name, or two names that are linked.
- 1867-1868 Alabama Marriages, 1809-1920at Ancestry ($); Index. Contains about 150,000 records and the names of nearly 300,000 men and women.
- 1867-1868, 1874-1882, 1929-1954 Bullock County, Alabama Colored Marriage Books 1-1A, 4, 33-34, 36-38, 40-41 in "Alabama, County Marriages, 1809-1950," at FamilySearch[10] - How to Use this Collection
- 1867-1868, 1921, 1936–1969 Alabama, Marriage Collection, 1800-1969 at Ancestry ($); Index.
- 1867-1954 (gaps) Bullock County, Alabama Marriage Books 1, 6, 35, and 39 and Licenses in "Alabama, County Marriages, 1809-1950," at FamilySearch[11]- How to Use this Collection
- 1874-1936 Bullock County Marriage Books 4-32 Index 1874-1936 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1881-1952 Alabama Deaths and Burials, 1881-1952 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
- 1881-1974 Index to Deaths and Burials at Ancestry ($); Index.
- 1908-1959 Index to Deaths recorded by the state of Alabama at Ancestry ($); Index. The index includes name of the deceased, county of death, date of death, and the state certificate number (volume and page).
- 1908-1974 Alabama, Deaths, 1908-1974 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
- 1909-1925 Bullock County Death Index 1909-1925 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
- Alabama Department of Archives and History
P.O. Box 300100
624 Washington Ave
Montgomery, AL 36130
Phone: 334-242-4435
Website
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Bullock County. For state-wide library facilities, see Alabama Archives and Libraries.
- Union Springs Public Library
103 N. Prairie Street
Union Springs, AL 36089-1616
Phone: 334-738-2760
Website
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
- Alabama Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 293921
Samford University
800 Lakeshore Drive
Birmingham, AL 35229
Email: ags@algensoc.org
Website
- Bullock County Historical Society
P.O. Box 563
Union Springs, AL 36089
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Alabama Genealogical and Historical Resources on the Net
- Bullock County ALGenWeb
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- USGenWeb Archives Project ~ contains record transcriptions from Bibles, obituaries, court records and more.
- Bullock County ALGenWeb ~ record transcriptions and information pertinent to the county.
- Bullock County, Alabama Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Web Sites at RootsWeb - Bullock AL
- FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Genealogy Trails History Group, “Bullock County, Alabama Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/ala/bullock/ 05/29/2017.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Bullock, Alabama," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bullock_County,_Alabama 05/29/2017.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Bullock County, Alabama," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bullock_County,_Alabama, accessed 2 October 2018.
- ↑ Coverage Table, "Alabama County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," FamilySearch Research Wiki, https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/Alabama_County_Marriages_(FamilySearch_Historical_Records), accessed 6 August 2012.
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/8/8d/Igialabama.pdf.
- ↑ Coverage Table, "Alabama County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," FamilySearch Research Wiki, https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/Alabama_County_Marriages_(FamilySearch_Historical_Records), accessed 6 August 2012.
- ↑ Coverage Table, "Alabama County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," FamilySearch Research Wiki, https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/Alabama_County_Marriages_(FamilySearch_Historical_Records), accessed 6 August 2012.
