Bulloch County, Georgia Genealogy
Guide to Bulloch County, Georgia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named for Archibald Bulloch and is located in the southeast area of the state.[2]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Bulloch County Courthouse
2 N Main St #103
Statesboro, GA 30458
Phone: 912-764-6245
Bulloch County Website
Probate Court has birth, marriage and probate records.
Clerk Superior Court has divorce and court records from 1891 and land records from 1876.[3]
Bulloch County, Georgia Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1919 | 1796 | 1919 | 1891 | 1876 | 1816 | 1820 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
1864 The courthouse at Statesboro was destroyed 5 December; however, most records survived.[5] For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:
|
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website. |
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]
| Cities | ||
|
||
| Towns | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
|
|
|
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
- Bulloch County Bible Records at Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project
Biographies[edit | edit source]
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
- 1949-1969 United States, Cemetery Abstracts, 1949-1969(*) at FamilySearch
US Vol. 5 page 89 - Brannen Cemetery
Cemeteries with photos and headstone transcriptions on BillionGraves:
- Bethlehem Primitive Baptist Church Cemetery
- Brannen Cemetery
- Brannen-Wilson Cemetery
- Donaldson Cemetery
- Eastside Cemetery
- Elmer Cemetery
- Friendship Cemetery
- Langston Cemetery
- Lower Lotts Creek Cemetery
- Middleground Primitive Baptist Church Cemetery
- New Hope Cemetery
- Rigdon Cemetery
- Saint Mary's Cemetery
- Springhill Missionary Baptist Church Cemetery
- Union Cemetery
Census Records[edit | edit source]
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1800 | 1,913 | — |
| 1810 | 2,305 | 20.5% |
| 1820 | 2,578 | 11.8% |
| 1830 | 2,587 | 0.3% |
| 1840 | 3,102 | 19.9% |
| 1850 | 4,300 | 38.6% |
| 1860 | 5,668 | 31.8% |
| 1870 | 5,610 | −1.0% |
| 1880 | 8,053 | 43.5% |
| 1890 | 13,712 | 70.3% |
| 1900 | 21,377 | 55.9% |
| 1910 | 26,464 | 23.8% |
| 1920 | 26,133 | −1.3% |
| 1930 | 26,509 | 1.4% |
| 1940 | 26,010 | −1.9% |
| 1950 | 24,740 | −4.9% |
| 1960 | 24,263 | −1.9% |
| 1970 | 31,585 | 30.2% |
| 1980 | 35,785 | 13.3% |
| 1990 | 43,125 | 20.5% |
| 2000 | 55,983 | 29.8% |
| 2010 | 70,217 | 25.4% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Minutes of Upper Black Creek Church, Brooklet, 1832 members Georgia Pioneers ($)
Court Records[edit | edit source]
- 1806-1912 Superior Court Minutes, 1806-1912(*); Superior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1812-1836 Inferior Court Minutes 1812-1836, Bulloch County, Georgia(*); Inferior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1813-1922 Annual Returns, 1813-1922(*); Court of Ordinary at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1815-1922 Court of Ordinary Minutes, 1815-1922(*); Court of Ordinary at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1866-1905 County Court Minutes, 1866-67, 1895-1905 (Bulloch County, Georgia)(*); County Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1866-1907 Bulloch County Tax Records 1866-1907 (Georgia)(*); Court of Ordinary at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1873-1879 Commissioners' Minutes 1873-1879 and Orders 1878-1879, Bulloch County, Georgia(*); Commissioner Court at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1873-1910 Superior Court Writs, 1873-1910(*); Superior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1878-1924 Twelve Months' Suport of Widows, Bulloch County [Georgia, 1878-1924](*); Court of Ordinary at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1883-1928 County Officer Bonds, 1883-1928 [Bulloch County, Georgia](*); Court of Ordinary at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1891-1919 Corporation Charters 1891-1919, Bulloch County, Georgia(*); Superior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- General Index to Court of Ordinary Proceedings (Minutes, Wills, Bonds, Annual Returns, Marriages, Letters, Twelve Months' support), 19th Cent. [Bulloch County, Georgia](*); Court of Ordinary at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
African-American
- 1888-1892 Bulloch County Marriages, White and Colored, 1888-1892 at FamilySearch
- 1892-1895 Bulloch County Marriages, White and Colored, 1892-1895 at FamilySearch
- 1910-1921 Bulloch County Marriages, White and Colored, 1910-1921 at FamilySearch
- 1912-1925 Bulloch County Marriages, Colored, 1912-1925 at FamilySearch
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
- Craig R. Tremble Funeral Homes, Inc. in Statesboro
- Hill's Mortuary, Inc. in Statesboro
- James R. Barnes Mortuary in Statesboro
- Joiner Anderson Funeral Home and Crematory in Statesboro
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
- 1735-1866 Georgian Colonial and Headright Plat Index, 1735-1866 at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault - alpha index
- 1783-1909 Headright and Bounty Plats, 1783-1909 at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault - images with alpha index
- 1805-1833 District Plats of Survey at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault - images organized by county and district
- Colonial Plats and Warrants at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault - images with alpha index
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Bulloch County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
for more resources
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
- 1740s-? Historic Map File at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault - images
- 1866 - 1935 County Map File at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault - images
- Maps of Georgia (1758-1932)
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
- Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project
Civil War
Online Records
- 1861-1865 Georgia Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index — How to Use this Collection
- 1861-1865 Georgia Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index — How to Use this Collection
- 1861-1865 U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861-1865 U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry— index (free)
- 1861-1865 Confederate Enlistment Oaths and Discharges at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault- images and alphabetical index
- 1861-1865 Confederate Muster Rolls at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault- images; filter by commanding officer, service branch and regiment
- 1861-1865 Confederate Pension Application Supplements - images and alphabetical index; filter by county
- 1864 Militia Enrollment Lists, 1864 - images; filter by county
- 1867-1868 Georgia, Reconstruction Registration Oath Books, 1867-1868 at FamilySearch — index — How to Use this Collection
- 1879-1920 Georgia, Confederate Pension Rolls, 1879-1920 at FamilySearch — index — How to Use this Collection
- 1879-1960 Confederate Pension Applications - images and alphabetical index; filter by county
Regiments. Service men in Bulloch County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Bulloch County:
- - 5th Regiment, Georgia Cavalry (Confederate), Company E (1st Battalion GA Cavalry)
- - 9th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company I
- - 38th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company C
- - 47th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies C and K
- - 61st Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company D
- Daughters of the American Revolution. Archibald Bulloch Chapter (Statesboro, Georgia). 1992. Ancestor histories of members, Archibald Bulloch Chapter, Daughters of the American Revolution, Statesboro, Georgia. Statesboro, Georgia: Daughters of the American Revolution. Archibald Bulloch Chapter. (Civil War see all pages ) 975.8766 C44 also digital version
Spanish-American War
- 1898 Spanish-American War Service Summary Cards - images and alphabetical index; filter by residence, muster location and unit
World War I
- 1914-1918 World War I Casualties Scrapbooks - images and alphabetical index
- 1920-1929 Georgia, World War I, Statement of Service Cards, 1920-1929 at FamilySearch — index and images — How to Use this Collection
World War II
- 1940-1942 Georgia World War II Draft Registration Cards 1940-1942 at findmypast - index ($))
- James D. Bigley, Jr. and Rebecca Ziegler. Bulloch County's World War II roll of honor.Statesboro, Georgia : Bulloch County Historical Society, 1995. FHL975.8766 M2bj
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- 1800s-1999 U.S., Newspapers.com Marriage Index, 1800s-1999 at Ancestry - index ($)
- Georgia Historic Newspapers at Digital Library of Georgia
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Lunacy Records
- 1899-1945 Images. Georgia Pioneers ($)
Voting Records
- 1867-1868 Georgia, Reconstruction Registration Oath Books, 1867-1868 at FamilySearch — index — How to Use this Collection
- 1856-1909 - Georgia, County Voter Registrations, 1856-1909 at FamilySearch — index and images — How to Use this Collection
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Colonial courts kept some early probate records. From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records. The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.
Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1733-1753 Colonial Wills at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault - images with alpha index
- 1742-1990 Georgia Probate Records, 1742-1990(*) at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index & images
- Records for Bulloch County:
- Administration and guardian bonds 1831-1931
Administration bonds 1852-1921
Bonds, inventories and appraisements, letters, marks and brands, marriages, wills 1795-1890 vol A
Guardian bonds 1852-1940
Inventories and appraisements 1874-1927
Letters of Administration 1904-1918
Letters of administration, dismission, guardianship and testamentary 1874-1908
Letters of administration, dismission, guardianship and testamentary 1908-1930
Letters of dismission 1911-1941
Letters of guardianship 1904-1947
Letters of testamentary 1895-1946
Wills and estates 1816-1927
Year's support 1878-1924
- Administration and guardian bonds 1831-1931
- Records for Bulloch County:
- 1742-1992 Georgia Wills and Probate Records 1742-1992 at Ancestry — index and images ($)
- 1754-1776 Colonial Will Books at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault - images with alpha index
- 1795-1900 Index to Inventories and Appraisements Georgia Pioneers ($)
- 1795-1900 Index to Annual Returns Georgia Pioneers ($)
- 1795-1900 Index to Inventories and Appraisements Georgia Pioneers ($)
- 1795-1900 Index to Wills Georgia Pioneers ($)
- 1795-1900 Index to Miscellaneous Estate Records Georgia Pioneers ($)
- 1795-1934 Marriages includes inventories, appraisements, letters, wills, bonds, marks and brands, etc. 1795-1890, and, Marriages 1888-1934(*); Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Bulloch County) at FamilySearch Catalog — partial index and images
- 1812-1836 Images of Inferior Court Minutes 1812-1836 at Georgia Pioneers ($)
- 1816-1927 Bulloch County Georgia list of will book testators SAMPUBCO - Browsable index of testators of wills.
- 1816-1927 Wills and miscellaneous estate records, 1816-1927(*); Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Bulloch County) at FamilySearch Catalog — partial index and images
- 1831-1940 Administrator and guardian bonds, 1831-1940(*); Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Bulloch County) at FamilySearch Catalog — partial index and images
- 1854-1861 Wills (abstracts) Georgia Pioneers ($)
- Bulloch County, Georgia Will transcriptions at Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project
- Index to Receipts from the Heirs and Other Principals to the Estates Georgia Pioneers ($)
- 1874-1927 Inventories, appraisements and sales, 1874-1927(*); Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Bulloch County) at FamilySearch Catalog — index and images
- 1874-1947 Letters of administration, guardians, testamentary, and dismission, 1874-1947(*); Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Bulloch County) at FamilySearch Catalog — index and images
- 1878-1924 Twelve months' suport of widows, Bulloch County Georgia, 1878-1924(*); Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Bulloch County) at FamilySearch Catalog — index and images
School Records[edit | edit source]
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information. — How to Use this Collection
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and all slaves up to age 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.
- 1787-1900 Georgia, Tax Digests, 1787-1900 at FamilySearch — How to use this collection, index and images
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.
For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia.
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1870-1960 Georgia, County Delayed Birth and Death Records, 1870-1960 at FamilySearch — index, and some images — How to Use this Collection
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1560-1993 Georgia, United States Marriages at Findmypast — index ($)
- 1699-1944 Georgia Marriages 1699-1944 at Ancestry— index ($)
- 1754-1960 Georgia Church Marriages, 1754-1960 at FamilySearch — index and images — How to Use this Collection
- 1785-1950 Georgia County Marriages 1785-1950 at FamilySearch — index and images — How to Use this Collection
- 1787-1962 Georgia, Church Marriages, 1787-1962 at FamilySearch — index — How to Use this Collection
- 1808-1967 Georgia Marriages 1808-1967 at FamilySearch — index — How to Use this Collection
- 1828-1978 Georgia Marriage Records from Select Counties 1828-1978 at Ancestry — index and images ($)
- 1888-1892 Bulloch County Marriages, White and Colored, 1888-1892 at FamilySearch
- 1892-1895 Bulloch County Marriages, White and Colored, 1892-1895 at FamilySearch
- 1910-1921 Bulloch County Marriages, White and Colored, 1910-1921 at FamilySearch
- 1912-1925 Bulloch County Marriages, Colored, 1912-1925 at FamilySearch
- 1921-1934 Bulloch County Marriages, White, 1921-1934 at FamilySearch
- 1796-1850; Index 1795-1900 Georgia Pioneers ($)
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1870-1960 Georgia, County Delayed Birth and Death Records, 1870-1960 at FamilySearch — index, and some images — How to Use this Collection
- 1914-1927 Georgia Deaths 1914-1927 at FamilySearch — index and images — How to Use this Collection
- 1919-1998 Georgia Deaths 1919-1998 at Ancestry — index ($)
- 1919-1930 Georgia Death Certificates at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault - index and images
- 1928-1930 Georgia Non-Indexed Death Certificates at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault - images
- 1928-1942 Georgia Deaths, 1928-1942 at FamilySearch — index and images — How to Use this Collection
- 1933-1998 Georgia Death Index 1933-1998 at FamilySearch — index — How to Use this Collection
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Voter Records[edit | edit source]
- 1856-1941 Georgia, County Voter Registrations, 1856-1941 at FamilySearch — How to use this collection, index and images
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Bulloch County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Georgia Archives and Libraries.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Bulloch County. For state-wide library facilities, see Georgia Archives and Libraries.
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Bulloch County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Georgia Societies.
Bulloch County Historical Society
P O Box 42
Statesboro, GA 30459-0042
Kemp Mabry
Phone: 912-681-1956
Bulloch County Historical Society
Bulloch County Historical Society Facebook
Bulloch County Library
124 S. Main Street
Statesboro, GA 30458
Phone: 912-764-1341
Bulloch County Library
Center For Irish Research And Teaching
Georgia Southern University
P O Box 8023
Statesboro, GA 30460
Phone: 912-478-2297
Center For Irish Research And Teaching
Georgia Southern University Museum
2142 Southern Dr
Statesboro, GA 30458
Phone: 912-478-5444
Georgia Southern University Museum
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Georgia Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- USGenWeb Bulloch County, Georgia project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county.
- GAGenWeb Archives
- Bulloch County, Georgia Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Bulloch County GenWeb
- FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Bulloch, Georgia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bulloch_County,_Georgia." accessed 31 Oct 2018
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Bulloch County, Georgia. Page 151-163 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 155-160.
- ↑ Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 15-16. At various libraries (WorldCat).
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Bulloch County, Georgia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bulloch_County%2C_Georgia, accessed 31 January 2019.
