Buffalo, Erie County, New York Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Buffalo, Erie County, New York ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Resources[edit | edit source]

African American[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For information and tips on using and accessing online census records, see New York Census.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Because the State of New York did not have consistent civil (government) registration of births, marriages, and deaths until 1880, researchers usually turn to church records to find baptisms, marriages, and deaths in the years prior to 1880.

City Historian[edit | edit source]

This position is vacant.

City Records[edit | edit source]

To locate additional published and transcribed records for Buffalo, Erie County, New York Genealogy check:

  • Gordon L. Remington, New York Towns, Villages, and Cities: A Guide to Genealogical Sources (Boston: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2002). American Ancestors online edition; At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974.7 D27r. Alphabetical list including date founded, if a town history exists, church and cemetery sources, and if a Civil War register (TCR) exists. The codes used under Church and Cemetery are defined in the link above the listing of towns, cities and villages.

Online City Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

History[edit | edit source]

Maps and Atlases[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Old Fulton NY Post Cards has the largest online collection of 400 New York 1795-2007 newspapers. The instructions for this quirky site are needed to get the most out of it.

Old Fulton NY Post Cards has the following Buffalo, Erie County, New York Genealogy newspaper images:

  • Blasdell NY Frontier Herald 1956-1966
  • Buffalo NY Daily Courier 1847-1888
  • Buffalo NY Evening Courier and Republic 1862-1884
  • Buffalo NY Polish Weekly Review 1929-1930
  • Buffalo NY Morning Express 1880-1924

Online Newspapers and Guides[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Repositories[edit | edit source]

Archives, Libraries, and Museums[edit | edit source]

Buffalo History Museum
Research Library
1 Museum Court
Buffalo, NY 14216
716-873-9644
Contact | Library Catalog | Digital Projects
Formerly known as the Buffalo and Erie County Historical Society and before that, the Buffalo Historical Society

Genealogical Resources: City directories, church records (many Roman Catholic parishes), cemetery records, censuses, local histories, published genealogies, obituary index to Buffalo newspapers (1811-2001), manuscripts and private papers, list of professional researchers for hire.

Grosvenor Room [Pronounced GROVE-ner]
Buffalo and Erie County Public Library
1 Lafayette Square
Buffalo, NY 14203
716-858-8900
Email form | Blog

Genealogical Resources: Local histories, census records, church and cemetery records, city directories, ethnic and immigration research, African American research, published family histories, maps and atlases, military records and history, vital records, yearbooks and school records. The website includes dozens of guides for topics such as: African-American Genealogy, Canadian Genealogy, German Genealogy, Irish Genealogy, Italian Genealogy, Jewish Genealogy, Native American Genealogy, and Polish Genealogy.
University at Buffalo Archives
420 Capen Hall
Buffalo, NY 14260-1674
716-645-2916
Email: lib-archives@buffalo.edu
Genealogical Resources:
University at Buffalo Polish Room
Room 517
Lockwood Library
Buffalo, NY 14260-2200
Email: library@buffalo.edu
Genealogical Resources: Guides to tracing Polish ancestry, Polish maps, Polish gazetteers, Polish coats of arms, Polish biographies.
Rev. J. Clayton Murray, S.J. Archives & Special Collections
Andrew L. Bouwhuis Library
Canisius College
2001 Main Street
Buffalo, NY 14208-1098
716-888-8406
Email: delaneyk@canisius.edu
Genealogical Resources: Obituaries, student newspapers.

Frank E. Merriweather, Jr. Library
1324 Jefferson Avenue
Buffalo, NY 14208
716-883-4418

Genealogical Resources: William A. Miles Center for African and African-American Studies. This is a a resource center in Western New York for a collection of African American history.

Archives and Special Collections
E.H. Butler Library
Buffalo State College
1300 Elmwood Avenue
Buffalo, NY 14222
Phone: 716-878-6308
library@buffalostate.edu

Genealogical Resources: Records of multiple churches; College archives; Edward H. Butler Family Papers" and the Paul G. Reilly Indian Collection, which includes treaties between various Indian nations and with the United States Government. Some of the documents (photocopies of the original) are as early as 1789.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers (FHCs) are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources for family history research.

The main FHC for Buffalo, Erie County, New York Genealogy is the Buffalo New York Family History Center. For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the FHC directory.

Societies[edit | edit source]

Buffalo Irish Genealogical Society (BIGS)
Buffalo Irish Center
245 Abbott Rd
Buffalo, NY 14220
Phone: 716-627-2417
Email: EPatton@adelphia.net
Genealogical Resources: The GAAA Library Collection, Sons of Erin Indexing Project, Holy Cross Cemetery Records and Index, local history project.
Polish Genealogical Society of New York State
P.O. Box 984
Cheektowaga, NY 14225
Email: information@pgsnys.org
Genealogical Resources: Dziennik Dla Wszystkich Obituary Database, St. Adalbert’s Cemetery Database, Funeral Card Project, Surname Index, 1930 Census Immaculate Heart of Mary Orphan Asylum Inmates, Przewodnik Handlowy Database. Their library collection is housed in the Grosvenor Room of the Buffalo and Erie County Public Library.
Western New York Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 338
Hamburg, N.Y. 14075-0338

Contacts

Genealogical Resources: Surname list, locality list, 1865 Census index, journal, research library. Their library collection is housed in the Grosvenor Room of the Buffalo and Erie County Public Library.

Taxation[edit | edit source]

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Official birth certificates, marriage licenses, and death certificates are issued by the Buffalo City Clerk's office. The earliest Buffalo birth records date back to January 1878. The earliest Buffalo marriage records date back to January 1877. The earliest Buffalo death records date back to January 1852. Genealogy Records and Resources explains how to order Buffalo birth, marriage, and death certificates from the City Clerk. Copies of City of Buffalo vital records dating from 1914 to the present are also available from the New York State Department of Health. For births, marriages, and deaths prior to these dates, researchers usually turn to church records. The New York Vital Records page has additional detail about the evolution of vital record-keeping practices in New York.

Copies of government-issued birth certificates, marriage licenses, and death certificates are not available from non-governmental organizations such as historical or genealogical societies.

Vital Records Links and Guides[edit | edit source]

Births[edit | edit source]

Marriages[edit | edit source]

Deaths[edit | edit source]

Voting Registers[edit | edit source]

Published official lists of registered voters for the City of Buffalo (1919-1961; 1969-1971) are available in the Grosvenor Room at the Buffalo & Erie County Public Library. The listings are arranged by ward--> district --> street address. 

Websites[edit | edit source]

Yearbooks[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

Places[edit | edit source]