Buckingham County, Virginia Genealogy
Guide to Buckingham County, Virginia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
Buckingham County is located in the Central portion of the Commonwealth of Virginia and the origin of its name is unknown. Some surmise it was named for either a person or place in England; it is the only Buckingham County in the United States.
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Buckingham County Courthouse
13061 West James Anderson Hwy.
P.O. Box 107
Buckingham, VA 23921-0107
Buckingham County Website
Clerk Circuit Court has birth and death records from 1896, marriage, divorce and probate records from 1869.
Buckingham County, Virginia Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
General compliance year is unknown.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
The origin of the county's name is disputed. Some argue it was named after the Duke of Buckingham, others point to the English city or county of Buckingham, while others point out that Archibald Cary's estate was named Buckingham.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
For databases and indexes, see Virginia Bible Records.
- Harris-Stinson-Carter-Wood-Branch Bible Record, Buckingham County, Virginia. By Hubert M. Stinson. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 24, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1980):41-43. CD available at: American Ancestors ($).
- 1607-2007 Virginia, Historical Society Papers, 1607-2007 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index & images
- Payne Family Bible, Buckingham County, Virginia, and Micapony, Florida. By Caroline Tiedeman Moore. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 18, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1974):304. CD available at: American Ancestors ($).
Biographies[edit | edit source]
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
- 1800-1986 Virginia, Jewish Cemetery Records Index, ca. 1800-1986 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index & images
- Buckingham Burials: A Survey of Cemeteries in Buckingham County, Virginia. c1997. By Janice J. R. Hull, Historic Buckingham, Inc. Alexandria, VA : Hearthside Press. Vol. 2. At various libraries (WorldCat).
- Cemeteries of Buckingham County. Online at: VAGenWeb.
Census Records[edit | edit source]
For databases, indexes, and information online, see Virginia Census.
Since the 1790 and 1800 Census were burned, tax lists may be used as a substitute. See the "Taxation" section below .
- Census and Related Documents of Buckingham County. Online at: VAGenWeb.
In 1850, census enumerators uncharacteristically recorded both the state and county of birth of residents of half of Buckingham County's population.
1890 Union Veterans
- Virginia's Union Veterans: Eleventh Census of the United States 1890. c1994. By Ronald Ray Turner. Online at: Prince William County Virginia, FHL Collection; At various libraries (WorldCat).
Church Records[edit | edit source]
List of Churches and Church Parishes
- Churches of Buckingham County. Online atVAGenWeb.
Early Baptist churches (with years constituted):
- Materials towards a history of the American Baptists. 1770. By Morgan Edwards. Philadelphia, PA : Joseph Crukshank and Isaac Collins. Online at: Internet Archive (1772), 83.
- 1776 Petition of Baptists (10,000 names!) and sympathizers from all over Virginia, dated 16 October 1776, asking for an end to persecution of Baptists by the established church. After locating your ancestor, view the digital copies.
– Digital copies at Library of Congress; also at Library of Virginia using the code word "000606093"
– Hall, Jean Pickett. "Legislative Petitions: the 10,000 name petition" transcription in the Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vols. 35-38, with annotations in Vol. 39, (Richmond, Virginia: Virginia Genealogical Society, 1983-) online at Ancestry ($) and in book form at various libraries.
Buckingham County fell within the bounds of the Appomattox Association.
Church of England
- See also Tillotson Parish
- History of Maysville Presbyterian Church, Buckingham Court House, Virginia, 1824-1996. c1997. By Carl Coleman Rosen. Buckingham, VA : Maysville Presbyterian Church. At various libraries (WorldCat).
The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
Early converts with Buckingham County connections:
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
For databases and immigrant groups, see Virginia Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2009 Virginia, African-American Funeral Programs, 1935-2009 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index & images
- See Virginia_Cohabitation_Records for links to online records.*Black America Series: Buckingham County. c2005. By E. Renee Ingram, Charles W. White, Sr. Charleston, SC : Arcadia Publishing. At various libraries (WorldCat).
- Buckingham County Personal Property Tax List 1782-1826. By Paul Heinegg. Online at: Free African Americans.
- 1865-1872 Virginia, Freedmen's Bureau Field Office Records, 1865-1872 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index & images
- The Big House After Slavery: Virginia Plantation Families and Their Postbellum Domestic Experiment. c2010. By Amy Feely Morsman. Charlottesville, Virginia : University of Virginia Press. Online at: Google Books
- Search the Library of Virginia's Virginia Untold collection for digitized records related to African Americans in Buckingham County.
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2009 Virginia, African-American Funeral Programs, 1935-2009 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index & images
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Compiled Genealogies by Surname
- See Buckingham County, Virginia Compiled Genealogies for a list of published books and articles or jump to the surnames using the alphabet bar.
Compiled Genealogies for Multiple Families
- Genealogical Records of Buckingham County, Virginia. 1984. By Edythe Whitley, Johns Rucker. Baltimore, MD : Genealogical Pub. Co. Available at FHL.
- The Cabells and Their Kin : A Memorial Volume of History, Biography, and Genealogy. c1895. By Alexander Brown. Boston, MA : Houghton, Mifflin and Co. Online at: Hathitrust.
- The Genealogy, in part, of Stephen and William Garrett of Buckingham, Virginia. By Rev. Clyde B. Garrett, Mary E. Gaither. Online at: Ancestry ($).
- A History of Welcome Garrett and His Descendants, From His Birth in 1758 Down to a Recent Date. c1909. By Samuel Bond Garrett. Muncie, Indiana : Hoosier Printing Co. Online at: Google Books.
- Ward, Roger G. A Rich Heritage: The Porr Family of Henrico County, Virginia and the Moss Family of Buckingham County, Virginia Allied Families in Richmond and Henrico County Include Hertzberger, Rahm, Collins, Crittenden, Jordan, Stubbs, Hudson, Williams, Cocke and Huddlesy: Allied Families in Buckingham County Include Meador, Wilkinson, Whitlow, Sharpe, Pendleton, and the Berry, Mann, and Thomas Families of Prince Edward County. Chandler, Ariz.: R.G. Ward, 1991. FHL 1697602 Item 3
- Whitley, Edythe Johns Rucker. Genealogical Records of Buckingham County, Virginia. Baltimore, MD: Genealogical Pub. Co., 1984. FHL Collection; and World Vital Records ($).
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Online Land Indexes and Records
Grants and Patents
Land patents (pre-1779), land grants (after 1779) and surveys are available online at the Library of Virginia website. For step-by-step instructions on retrieving these records, read the Virginia Land and Property article.*Bannister. 778 patents dated 1723-1842 in what is now Buckingham County, Virginia Patents 1723-1842 placed on a map. DeedMapper, 2002. [Names of those who received land patents, dates, land descriptions, and references may be viewed free of charge (click "Index" next to the county listing); however, in order to view the maps, it is necessary to purchase Direct Line Software's DeedMapper product.]
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
- A History of Buckingham County. c1976. By Eugene A Maloney. Dillwyn, Virginia : Buckingham County Bicentennial Commission. At various libraries (WorldCat).
- At a Place Called Buckingham: Historic Sketches of Buckingham County, Virginia. c2015. By Joanne L. Yeck. Kettering, Ohio : Slate River Press. Vol 2. At various libraries (WorldCat).
- The Early History of Buckingham County. 1955. By James Meade Anderson. Richmond, Virginia : University of Richmond. Online at: UR Scholarship Repository; At various libraries (WorldCat).
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
County and state maps, historical and more current, are valuable research tools. For map collections, online and in libraries, see Virginia Maps.
- Buckingham County Virginia Historical Markers. Online at: Historical Marker Database.
- Maps of Buckingham County. Online at: VAGenWeb.
- FamilySearch Places:Cities and Towns in this couinty - How to Use FS Places
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
- Military Related Service Records of Buckingham County. Online at: VAGenWeb.
French and Indian War
- Virginia's Colonial Soldiers. By Lloyd DeWitt Bockstruck. 1988. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co. FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 M2bL.
- Revolutionary Patriots of Buckingham County, Virginia Paperback, 2002. Carl Coleman Rosen. Identifies Revolutionary War patriots from the county from 1775 through 1783. Information includes service, enlistments, rank, pensions, bounty land, births, deaths, and names of family members. It includes patriots who were living in the county before, during and after the war.
- Southern Campaigns Revolutionary War Pension Statements & Rosters, Will Graves and C. Leon Harris, https://revwarapps.org/ This site is dedicated to celebrating the lives and contributions made by the brave men and women who fought or lived in the South during the American Revolution and making their eye-witness accounts freely available in this searchable database. Currently 390 Roster Transcriptions and 24,326 Pension Applications, Bounty Land Claims and related publicly available records have been posted in this database including 3540 transcripts (designated using VAS file numbers) made from the online collection of the Library of Virginia and 1531 transcripts made from the online collection of the South Carolina Department of Archives & History. A search using the word "buckingham" yielded 376 hits.
- A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. 1841. Online at: U.S. Census Bureau, Google Books. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. See Virginia, Eastern District, Buckingham County on page 129.
- Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." FHL Book 973 M24ur; digital version at Ancestry ($). Includes veterans. Virginia section begins on page 238.
- Virginia Militia in the Revolutionary War: McAllister's Data. c1913. By J. T. McAllister. Hot Springs, Virginia : McAllister Pub. Co. Online at: Hathitrust, Internet Archive, Google Books; At various libraries (WorldCat).
Regiments. Service men in Buckingham County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Buckingham County supplied soldiers for the:
War of 1812
Buckingham County men served in the 24th and 100th Regiments.
- List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... 1883. Washington, D.C : Government Printing Office. Online at: Internet Archive, Google Books. See Vol. 5, Virginia, Buckingham County, p. 65.
- Roster of War of 1812, Southside, Virginia. 2007. By James L. Douthat. Signal Mountain, Tennessee : Mountain Press. Online at: Mountain Press ($) with Free online surname index. FHL Collection.
- 1861-1865 Virginia, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index & images
- 1861-1865 Virginia, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index & images
- 1861-1865 U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861-1865 U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- A Guide to Virginia Military Organizations 1861-1865. c1986. By Wallace Lee. Lynchburg, Virginia : H.E. Howard. FHL book 975.5 M2vr v. 29.
- A History of Buckingham County. 1976. By Eugene A. Maloney, Buckingham County Bicentennial Commission (Virginia). Berryville, Virginia : Virginia Book Co. FHL book 975.5623 H2m. Original muster rolls are kept in the county clerk's office. Lists regiments, companies and muster rolls on pages 107-112.
Regiments: Civil War service men in Buckingham County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed here:
- - 4th Regiment Virginia Cavalry, Company K.
- - 20th Regiment Virginia Infantry, Col. E "Lee Guards," and Co. F "Buckingham Institute Guard."
- - 21st Regiment Virginia Infantry, Co. E "Buckingham Leaches."
- - 44th Regiment Virginia Infantry, Co. C "Travis Rifles."
- - 56th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company D (Buckingham Yancey Guards)
- - 57th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company A (Buckingham Institute).
World War II
- 1940-1945 Virginia, World War II Draft Registration Cards, 1940-1945 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index & images
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Online Naturalization Indexes and Records
- 1906-1929 Virginia Naturalization Petitions, 1906-1929 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index & images
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
For online newspaper resources, see the Virginia Newspapers page.
- 1736-1850 the freshest Advices, Buckingham County, Virginia Genealogical Records from Newspapers, 1736-1850, 2019. ISBN: 978-1-7343481-0-1, Available at: Lulu ($). Randy F. McNew Crouse has transcribed newspaper articles relating to Buckingham County, Virginia. A chronicle of the history and life of Buckingham county up through 1850. The 800 page volume, transcribed from some 140 news periodicals' more than 75,000 issues, contains, in its 2,050 fully transcribed articles, images of a great many of the actual articles and a 56 page, 3-column index with nearly 17,000 references. There are photographs, illustrations and numerous footnotes, a bibliography, statistics and a source guide. The index is extremely thorough and includes nearly every noun, including watercourses, counties, cities, towns, over 10,000 personal names, (among which are a few thousand named women and children and 523 named slaves,) occupations, taverns, pastimes, entertainment, plantations, geographical features, natural resources, social and political events, agricultural crops, technology, medicine, crime, punishment, weather and more. There are slave sale ads, land sale ads, ads for lost horses and runaway slaves, marriage and death notices, obituaries, chancery cases (some naming entire and extended families over multiple generations,) committee appointments, removal notices and more. This compilation, that bridges the records gap for this burned county until the 1850 census, is an important addition to Buckingham's all too few available historical and genealogical sources. The reader will find a discriminating selection of the “freshest Advices” of the sort that slaked the thirst for intelligence and for the amusement of yeomen, tavern patrons, gentry and wealthy planters all. Arguably, the most thorough and complete work of its kind yet produced for a single Virginia county. This valuable resource will be especially appreciated by genealogists, antiquarians, historians, demographers, journalists and sociologists as it offers a glimpse into the life and mores of early America.
- Indexed images of the Virginia Gazette (1736-1780) are available online through the Colonial Williamsburg website. In addition, Professor Tom Costa and The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia have created a database of all runaway advertisements for slaves, indentured servants, transported convicts, and ship deserters listed in this source and other Virginia newspapers (1736-1803), see: The Geography of Slavery in Virginia. These newspapers are valuable resources for all regions of Virginia.
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
For probate records, indexes, and databases, see Virginia Probate Records.
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- Some Wills from the Burned Counties of Virginia and Other Wills Not Listed in Virginia Wills and Administrations 1632-1800. 1987. By William Lindsay Hopkins. Richmond, Virginia : W.L. Hopkins. Available at FHL.
- Will of Joseph Cabell, Buckingham County, Virginia. By George Harrison Sanford King. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 15, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1971):298-302. CD available at: American Ancestors ($).
- 1639-1850 Virginia Land, Marriage and Probate Records 1639-1850 at Ancestry — index, incomplete ($)
School Records[edit | edit source]
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch — How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
For additional online collections and the value and use of Virginia's tax lists in your research, see Virginia Taxation.
Online Tax Indexes and Records
- 1764-1792 Personal Property Tax Lists of Buckingham County Virginia, Vol. 1, 1764-1792. 2017. By Randy F. McNew Crouse. Available at: Lulu ($), FHL. Comprehensive transcription of all extant tithe and personal property tax lists (over 12,000 records) for Buckingham County, Virginia from its formation in 1761 through 1792. Includes 1764, 1773-1774, 1782-1792. All proprietors are named (male or female) along with many additional white males over the age of 16, number of white tithes, number of slave tithes, names of slaves over the age of 12 (until 1783), carriages, ordinary licenses, horses, cattle (1783-1788) and acres of land (1764). 428 pages. Comments and annotations are included, as found in the original lists, describe familial relationships, marital status (widow), physical characteristics, race, occupation, nationality, religion, place of residence and more.Transcribed records are ordered as they appear in the tax lists and, in addition, are ordered alphabetically in a 160 page index section. Includes an introduction and guide to use, a table and graphs to summarize statistics, extensive bibliography, table of alternate surname spellings, list of abbreviations and appendices.
- 1792-1802 Personal Property Tax Lists of Buckingham County Virginia, Vol. 2, 1792-1802. 2017. By Randy F. McNew Crouse. Available at: Lulu ($). Comprehensive transcription of all extant personal property tax lists (over 13,700 records enumerating over 47,000 tithes) for Buckingham County, Virginia from 1792-1802. All proprietors are named (male or female) along with many additional white males over the age of 16, number of white tithes, number of slave tithes, carriages, ordinary licenses and horses. 460 pages. 130 page index. An illustrated appendix on Riding Carriages is a very interesting added feature.
- 1773-1774 Buckingham County, Virginia Tithables, 1773-1774. Original records, Library of Virginia, Richmond, Virginia; also available on microfilm at FHL.
- 1764 A Guide to the Buckingham County (VA) Tithable List A-G, 1764. c2012. By Library of Virginia. Richmond, VA : Library of Virginia. Online at: Virginia Heritage. A scan of the actual record is online at Library of Virginia.
- 1764 Buckingham County, Virginia, Church and Marriage Records, 1764-1822. 1993. By Warren, Mary Bondurant et al. Athens, Georgia : Heritage Papers. Available at FHL Book 975.5 A1 no. 306.
- 1764 Virginia's District Courts, 1789-1809: Records of the Prince Edward District: Buckingham, Charlotte, Cumberland, Halifax, and Prince Edward Counties: (Wills to 1829, Deeds to 1816). 1991. By Mary Bondurant Warren and Eve Bondurant Warren Weeks. Danielsville, Georgia : Heritage Papers. Available at FHL. Buckingham County tithables list, 1764 found in the loose case papers.
- 1773-1774 Virginia Tithables from Burned Record Counties: Buckingham, 1773-1774; Gloucester, 1770-1771, 1774-1775; Hanover, 1763 and 1770; James City, 1768-1769; Stafford, 1768 and 1773. 1970. By Robert F. Woodson, Isobel B. Woodson. Richmond, Virginia : I.B. Woodson. Available at FHL.
- 1782 Virginia Tax Payers, 1782-87, Other Than Those Published by the United States Census Bureau. 1940. By Augusta B. Fothergill and John Mark Naugle. Baltimore, MD : Genealogical Publishing Co. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, FHL 975.5 R4f 1978. 1782 personal property tax list of Buckingham County.
- 1782-1810 Buckingham County Personal Property Tax Lists 1782-1810. Online at: Binns Genealogy ($).
- 1782-1826 Buckingham County Personal Property Tax List 1796-1820. By Paul Heinegg. Online at: Free African Americans. Heinegg abstracted free blacks listed in these records.
- 1783 Personal Property (or Land) Tax List, 1783. Online at: Revolutionary War Service.
- 1787 Some Delinquent Taxpayers 1787-1790. By Robert Y. Clay. The Virginia Genealogist. Vol. 21, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1977):113-118. Online at: FHL, American Ancestors by NEHGS ($). These records often identify migrants who left the county and their intended destinations. Buckingham County's 1787 Delinquent List appears on p. 115.
- 1787 The 1787 Census of Virginia: An Accounting of the Name of Every White Male Tithable Over 21 Years, the Number of White Males Between 16 & 21 Years, the Number of Slaves over 16 & Those Under 16 Years, Together with a Listing of Their Horses, Cattle & Carriages, and Also the Names of All Persons to Whom Ordinary Licenses and Physician's Licenses Were Issued. c1987. By Netti Schreiner-Yantis and Florene Speakman Love. Springfield, Virginia : Genealogical Books in Print. At various libraries (WorldCat). The source of this publication is the 1787 personal property tax list. Buckingham County is included in Vol. 1.
- 1788, 1800 Indexed images of the 1788 and 1800 Personal Property Tax Lists of Buckingham County, Virginia - Binns Genealogy.
- 1800 Buckingham County, Virginia 1800 Tax List. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 12, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1968):114-118; Vol. 12, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1968):162-168; Vol. 13, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1969):23-27. Online at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($).
- 1815 1815 Directory of Virginia Landowners (and Gazetteer). By Roger D. Ward. c1997. Athens, Georgia: Iberian Pub. Co. FHL 975 E4w. At various libraries (WorldCat). The source for this publication is the 1815 land tax. Buckingham County is included in Vol. 1.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
For additional indexes, databases, and details, see Virginia Vital Records.
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1853-1866 Virginia, Slave Birth Index, 1853-1866 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index & images
- 1912-1913 Virginia, Birth Certificates, 1912-1913 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index & images
- 1584-1917 Virginia Births and Christenings, 1584-1917 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index & images
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1660-1800 Virginia Marriages 1660-1800 at Ancestry — index ($)
- 1660-1959 Virginia, United States Marriages at Findmypast ($).
- 1740-1850 Virginia Marriages 1740-1850 at Ancestry — index ($)
- 1784-1794 Buckingham County Virginia Marriage Bonds, 1784-1794. By Mrs. James R. Lindsay. Virginia Genealogical Society Quarterly Bulletin, Vol. 1, No. 2 (April 1963):13-14. Only known marriage records during this period.
- 1785-1940 Virginia, Select Marriages, 1785-1940 at Ancestry — index ($)
- 1785-1940 Virginia Marriages, 1785-1940 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index ; Also at: MyHeritage ($)
- 1853-1935 Virginia, Bureau of Vital Statistics, County Marriage Registers, 1853-1935 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index
- 1936-1988 Virginia, Marriage Certificates, 1936-1988 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index & images
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1912-1987 Virginia, Death Certificates, 1912-1987 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index & images
- 1853-1912 Virginia Deaths and Burials, 1853-1912 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index & images
Divorce[edit | edit source]
- 1918-1988 Virginia, Divorce Records, 1918-1988 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index & images
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Buckingham County. For state-wide facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
- Greenwood Library, Longwood University - an affiliate library
- Jefferson Madison Regional Library - Nelson Memorial Branch - an affiliate library
- Jefferson Madison Regional Library, Scottsville Branch - an affiliate library
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Buckingham County. For state-wide library facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Buckingham County. For state-wide genealogical and historical societies, see Virginia Societies.
Websites[edit | edit source]
- FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
- A Guide to the Counties of Virginia: Buckingham County. By John Frederick Dorman. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 6, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1962):121-124. CD available at: American Ancestors ($).
- Buckingham County, Virginia, and the Southern Parts of Early Albemarle. By Anne Bradbury Peebles. Special Aids to Genealogical Research on Southern Families. National Genealogical Society Special Publications, No. 15, Washington, D.C., 1962.
- Genealogical Records of Buckingham County, Virginia. 1984. By Edythe Rucker Whitley. Dayton, Ohio.
References[edit | edit source]
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Buckingham County, Virginia . Page 710-723 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 715-720.
- Burned Record Counties (VA-NOTES). (n.d.). Library of Virginia. Retrieved October 1, 2009, from http://www.lva.virginia.gov/public/guides/va22_burnedco.htm.
- Lost Records Localities: Counties and Cities with Missing Records, 2, in Library of Virginia (accessed 4 April 2014).
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- Wikipedia contributors, "Buckingham_ County,_Virginia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Buckingham_County,_Virginia accessed 16 Decamber 2019.
- Wikipedia Contributors, "Buckingham County, Virginia," in Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Buckingham_County,_Virginia, accessed 12 January 2012.
- John Frederick Dorman, "Review of Buckingham County, Virginia, 1850 United States Census," in The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 29, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1985):64. FHL Book 975.5 B2vg v. 29 (1985); online at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($).
- Robert Baylor Semple and George William Beale, A History of the Rise and Progress of the Baptists in Virginia (Pitt and Dickinson, 1894), 272. Digital version at Google Books.
- Mary Bondurant Warren, Buckingham County, Virginia, Church and Marriage Records, 1764-1822 (Athens, Ga.: Heritage Papers, 1993). FHL Book 975.5 A1 no. 306.
- William Meade, Old Churches, Ministers and Families of Virginia, 2 vols. (Philadelphia: J.B. Lippincott and Co., 1861). Digital versions at Internet Archive: Vol. I and Vol. II.
- Stuart Lee Butler, A Guide to Virginia Militia Units in the War of 1812 (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1988), 59. FHL Book 975.5 M2bs.
- G.L. Sherwood and Jeffrey C. Weaver, 20th and 39th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1994). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 105.
- Susan A. Riggs, 21st Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1991). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 72.
- Kevin C. Ruffner, 44th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1987). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 39.
- William A. Young Jr. and Patricia C. Young, 56th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1990). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 63.
- Charles W. Sublett, 57th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1985). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 21.