Buchanan County, Iowa Genealogy
Guide to Buchanan County, Iowa ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
Buchanan County was named for James Buchanan and is located in northeastern Iowa.[3]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Buchanan County Courthouse
210 5th Avenue NE, Suite B
Independence, IA 50644
Phone: 319-334-2196
Buchanan County Website
Clerk of the District Court has birth and death Records from 1880; marriage records from 1848; divorce, probate, and clerk records from 1845.
Buchanan County, Iowa Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1880 | 1848 | 1880 | 1845 | 1846 | 1845 | 1847 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county. |
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
|
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[8]
| Cities | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
|
||
| Townships | ||
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Listed below are resources for Bible records specific to Buchanan County. To find more resources, go to the Iowa Bible Records page.
- Buchanan County Iowa Bible Records at USGenWeb Iowa Archives — transcriptions
- Family Bibles at Buchanan County IAGenWeb - transcriptions
Biographies[edit | edit source]
- History of Buchanan County, Iowa: with illustrations and biographical sketches. 1881. Cleveland, OH: William Bro. Pub. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library; Ancestry ($)
- Buchanan County, Iowa Biographies Project at RootsWeb — links to biographies and local histories
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
- 1796-1988 Iowa, Buchanan County Obituaries and Cemetery Records, ca.1796-1988 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Iowa recorded not only federal, but state censuses for several in-between years as well. For more information, see the very informative Iowa Census article.
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1850 | 517 | — |
| 1860 | 7,906 | 1429.2% |
| 1870 | 17,034 | 115.5% |
| 1880 | 18,546 | 8.9% |
| 1890 | 18,997 | 2.4% |
| 1900 | 21,427 | 12.8% |
| 1910 | 19,748 | −7.8% |
| 1920 | 19,890 | 0.7% |
| 1930 | 19,550 | −1.7% |
| 1940 | 20,991 | 7.4% |
| 1950 | 21,927 | 4.5% |
| 1960 | 22,293 | 1.7% |
| 1970 | 21,746 | −2.5% |
| 1980 | 22,900 | 5.3% |
| 1990 | 20,844 | −9.0% |
| 2000 | 21,093 | 1.2% |
| 2010 | 20,958 | −0.6% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
State Census
- 1852 1852 State Special Census of Iowa, Buchanan County at IAGenWeb
- 1885 Iowa State Census, 1885 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1895 Iowa State Census, 1895 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1905 Iowa State Census, 1905 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images (individual cards, not family context)
- 1915 Iowa State Census, 1915 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1925 Iowa State Census, 1925 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Most church records are held by individual churches. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Iowa Church Records.
List of Churches and Church Parishes
- Churches of Buchanan County at IAGenWeb
- FamilySearch Places
Lutheran
- 1781-1969 U.S., Evangelical Lutheran Church in America Church Records, 1781-1969 at Ancestry — index and images ($)
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Directories[edit | edit source]
- 1886 Plat Book of Buchanan County, Iowa(*) at FamilySearch Catalog — images
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
- Kaiser Corson Funeral Homes in Fairbank
- Reiff Family Center in Independence
- Reiff Family Center in Winthrop
- White Funeral Home in Independence
- White Funeral Home in Jesup
- White Funeral Home in Quasqueton
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. They include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Iowa Land and Property for information about early Iowa land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, transactions were usually recorded and housed at the county courthouse.
Online Land Indexes and Records
- 1847-1939 Deed records, 1847-1939 at FamilySearch Catalog - images
- 1848-1905 Town lot deeds, 1848-1905 at FamilySearch Catalog - images
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Buchanan County, which may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see Iowa Local Histories.
- Brief History of Buchanan County at IAGenWeb
- History of Buchanan County, Iowa, and its people, Vol. 1 & 2. Harry Church and Katharyn Joella Chappell. 1914. Chicago, IL: S.J. Clarke Pub. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library — Vol. 1; and Vol.2.
- History of Buchanan County, Iowa : with illustrations and biographical sketches. 1881. Cleveland, OH: William Bro. Pub. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library; and Ancestry ($)
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
County and state maps, historical and more current, are valuable research tools. For online maps and collections in libraries and societies, see Iowa Maps. Historical maps may be especially useful.
for more resources
- 1860-1918 U.S., Indexed County Land Ownership Maps, 1860-1918, Buchanan County at Ancestry ($) - index.
- 1875-2007 Buchanan County 1875-2007 at Historic Map Works - may include names of land-owners.
- 1885-1920 Fire Insurance Maps for Buchanan County, Iowa at Library of Congress - various years between 1885 and 1920.
- 1910 Atlas of Buchanan County, Iowa, 1910(*); at FamilySearch Catalog — images.
- Buchanan County Maps at FamilySearch Catalog.
- IAGenWeb - Buchanan County.
- Iowa Digital Library, Buchanan County at Iowa University Libraries.
- Plat Book of Buchanan County, Iowa(*); at FamilySearch Catalog — images.
- The Iowa Heritage Digital Collections, Buchanan County at State Library of Iowa.
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places.
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
Multiple Wars
- 1835-1998 Iowa, Armed Forces Grave Registrations, ca. 1835-1998 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index only
- 1862-1910 Iowa, Records of Persons Subject to Military Duty, 1862-1910 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- Buchanan County Military Page at IAGenWeb
Civil War
- 1861-1949 Iowa, Grand Army of the Republic Membership Records, 1861-1949 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
Civil War service men in Buchanan County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed here:
- - 4th Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company B
- - 5th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company E
- - 6th Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company G
- - 27th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Companies C and H
- - 47th Regiment, Iowa Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company D
World War I
World War II
- World War II Honor List of Dead and Missing for Buchanan County, Iowa at USGenWeb Archives
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Please see the Iowa Naturalization and Citizenship page for state-wide information.
Online Naturalization Indexes and Records
- 1852-1930 Naturalization Records, 1852-1930(*); District Court at FamilySearch Catalog — 1 index, images
- 1859-1990 United States, Iowa Naturalization Records, 1859-1990 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- 1947, 1955, 1962, 1966 Bulletin Journal (Independence, Iowa) at Ancestry — index and images ($)
- 1957 Winthrop News (Winthrop, Iowa) at Ancestry — index and images ($)
- Historical Iowa Newspapers at NewspaperArchive ($)
- NewspaperArchive.com ($) has a large collection of digitized Iowa newspapers online. This database is sometimes free at libraries.
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
- 1796-1988 Iowa, Buchanan County Obituaries and Cemetery Records, ca.1796-1988 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- Buchanan County, Iowa Obituaries at IAGenWeb
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
In most counties in Iowa, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1758-1997 Iowa, U.S., Wills and Probate Records, 1758-1997 at Ancestry — index and images ($)
- 1848-1905 Town Lot Deeds, 1848-1905(*); Recorder at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1850-1863 Probate Records, 1850-1863(*); Probate Court at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1851-1953 Probate Records, 1851-1953(*); Circuit Court at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1857-1928 Will Records, 1857-1928(*); District Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1866-1945 Administrators, Guardians and Executors Bonds, 1866-1945(*); District Court at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1869-1910 List of Heirs and Description of Real Estate of Decedents, v. 1-2, 1869-1910(*); District Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1890-1925 Probate Records, 1890-1925(*); District Court at FamilySearch Catalog — images
School Records[edit | edit source]
- Buchanan County Schools at IAGenWeb
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch — How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry — index and images, ($)
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Iowa tax records complement land records and can supplement the years between censuses. Iowa's unique Old Age Assistance tax gives names, addresses and birth years. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Iowa Taxation.
Online Tax Indexes and Records
- 1862 Buchanan County Tax Roll 1862 at IAGenWeb
- 1934-1958 Iowa, Old Age Tax Assistance Records, 1934-1958 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital Records consist of births, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded by civil officials on registers, certificates, and other documents. Copies or extracts may be purchased from the Iowa Department of Public Health or the County Clerk's office. See also Iowa Vital Records.
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1850-1939 Iowa, Delayed Birth Records, 1850-1939 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1880-1935 Iowa, County Births, 1880-1935 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1921-1942 Iowa, Birth Records, 1921-1942 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1518-1996 Iowa, United States Marriages at Findmypast — index ($)
- 1809-1992 Iowa, Marriages, 1809-1992 at MyHeritage — index ($)
- 1836-1926 Iowa, Marriages, 1836 - 1926 at MyHeritage — index ($)
- 1838-1934 Iowa, County Marriages, 1838-1934 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1848-1858 Buchanan County, Iowa Marriages Book 1 1848-1858 at IAGenWeb
- 1854-1910 Buchanan County, Iowa Marriages 1854-1910 at I Dream of Genealogy
- 1880-1951 Iowa, U.S., Marriage Records, 1880-1951 at Ancestry — index and images ($)
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1850-1990 Iowa Deaths and Burials, 1850-1990 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and some images; Also at: MyHeritage($)
- 1880-1992 Iowa, County Death Records, 1880-1992 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1900-1939 Iowa Death Index, 1900-1939 at MyHeritage — index ($)
- 1904-1951 Iowa, Death Records, 1904-1951 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1920-1967 Iowa, U.S., Death Records, 1920-1967 at Ancestry — index and images ($)
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Buchanan County. For state-wide library facilities, see Iowa Archives and Libraries.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
- African American Museum Of Iowa - an affiliate library
- Genealogical Society of Linn County Iowa dba Cedar Rapids Area Genealogy Library - an affiliate library
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Buchanan County. For state-wide library facilities, see Iowa Archives and Libraries.
Independence Public Library
805 1st Street East
Independence, IA 50644
319-334-2470
Email: indylib@indytel.com
Website
Oelwein Public Library
201 E Charles
Oelwein, IA 50662
319-283-1515
Email: oelwein@oelwein.lib.ia.us
Website
Museums[edit | edit source]
Buchanan County Historical Society Museums
PO Box 321
Independence, IA 50644
319-334-4616
Email: bchs.lkh@gmail.com
Website
Winthrop Historical Center
PO Box 144
Winthrop, IA 50682
319-935-3317
Email: history@cityofwinthrop.com
Website
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Buchanan County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Iowa Societies.
Buchanan County Genealogical Society
103 4th Avenue SE
Independence, IA 50644
319-334-9333
Email: buchanancoia@yahoo.com
Website
Buchanan County Iowa Historical Society
PO Box 321
Independence, IA 50644
319-334-4616
Email: bchs.lkh@gmail.com
Website
Fairbank Historical Society
PO Box 325
Fairbank, IA 50629
Email: Fairbankhs@gmail.com
319-269-6795
Website
Littleton and Chatham Historical Society
1503 River Road Blvd
Independence, IA 50644
319-415-1175
Email: tonybengston@yahoo.com
Website
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Buchanan County at Cyndi's List - a comprehensive, categorized & cross-referenced list of links that point you to genealogical research sites online
- Buchanan County at Genealogy Trails - volunteer transcriptions of genealogical and historical data
- Buchanan County at Iowa USGenWeb - free online resources for genealogical research
- Buchanan County at Iowa USGenWeb Archives - free online data for genealogical research
- State Historical Society of Iowa — select from research collection topics
- State Library of Iowa — electronic depository of documents intended for the general public produced by Iowa agencies
- The Iowa Heritage Digital Collection — digital images from a variety of Iowa cultural institutions
- FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Iowa Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed on 11 April 2021
- ↑ Iowa Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed on 11 April 2021.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Buchanan, Iowa," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Buchanan_County,_Iowa.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Iowa Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed on 11 April 2021.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Iowa Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed on 11 April 2021.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Buchanan County, Iowa," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Buchanan_County,_Iowa, accessed 24 August 2019.
