Brunswick County, North Carolina Genealogy
Jump to navigation
Jump to search
Guide to Brunswick County, North Carolina ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
Brunswick County is located in the Southeastern portion of North Carolina and was named for King George I, who was also the Duke of Brunswick and Lunenburg[2].
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Brunswick County Courthouse
P O Box 87
Bolivia, NC 2842-0249
Phone: 910-253-2690
Brunswick County Website
Register of Deeds has birth, marriage, death, burial & land records
Clerk Superior Court has divorce recordes from 1900,
probat records from 1858 and court records from 1882[3]
Brunswick County, North Carolina Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1914 | 1804 | 1914 | 1882 | 1764 | 1858 | 1784 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
1865--Many court records were destroyed by Federal Troops.
|
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website. |
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]
| Cities | ||
| Towns | ||
| Villages | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
|
|
|
| Townships | ||
|
|
|
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
- Bible Records at North Carolina Digital Archives - index and images
- Bibles: Brunswick County at USGenWeb Archives
Biographies[edit | edit source]
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
- North Carolina, Historical Records Survey, Cemetery Inscription Card Index at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images Also at: Ancestry ($)
Census Records[edit | edit source]
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1790 | 3,071 | — |
| 1800 | 4,110 | 33.8% |
| 1810 | 4,778 | 16.3% |
| 1820 | 5,480 | 14.7% |
| 1830 | 6,516 | 18.9% |
| 1840 | 6,255 | −4.0% |
| 1850 | 7,272 | 16.3% |
| 1860 | 8,406 | 15.6% |
| 1870 | 7,754 | −7.8% |
| 1880 | 9,389 | 21.1% |
| 1890 | 10,900 | 16.1% |
| 1900 | 12,657 | 16.1% |
| 1910 | 14,432 | 14.0% |
| 1920 | 14,876 | 3.1% |
| 1930 | 15,818 | 6.3% |
| 1940 | 17,125 | 8.3% |
| 1950 | 19,238 | 12.3% |
| 1960 | 20,278 | 5.4% |
| 1970 | 24,223 | 19.5% |
| 1980 | 35,777 | 47.7% |
| 1990 | 50,985 | 42.5% |
| 2000 | 73,143 | 43.5% |
| 2010 | 107,431 | 46.9% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
Church Records[edit | edit source]
- 1700-1970 - North Carolina, Church Records, 1700-1970 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Baptist
Church of England
- St. Philip's Church. Built 1740s. Destroyed in the Revolutionary War.[8]
The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
- Shallotte Ward
- Leland Ward
- Ash Branch (Historical)
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
- 1862-1870 North Carolina, Freedmen's Bureau Assistant Commissioner Records, 1862-1870 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1863-1872 North Carolina, Freedmen's Bureau Field Office Records, 1863-1872 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; images only
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
- Brunswick Funeral Service in Shallotte
- Coastal Cremations in Carolina Shores
- Peacock, Newnam & White Funeral and Cremation Service in Southport
- Peoples Funeral Home Of Shallotte in Shallotte
- White Funeral & Cremation Service in Bolivia
- Wilmington Funeral & Cremation in Leland
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Bibliography
- Lewis Lewis, J.D. My Neck of the Woods: The Lewis Families of Southeastern North Carolina and Northeastern South Carolina. Little River, S.C.: J.D. Lewis, 2002. FHL Book 929.273 L585Ljd; CD-ROM no. 1036
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
Click a neighboring county
for more resources
for more resources
Migration[edit | edit source]
Early migration routes to and from Brunswick County for European settlers included:[9]
- Atlantic Ocean 1670
- King's Highway about 1704
- Secondary Coast Road late 1730s
Military Records[edit | edit source]
Revolutionary War
- 1778-1833 Delamar Transcripts of Revolutionary War Petitions at North Carolina Genealogical Society - index ($)
- 1779-1782 - North Carolina Revolutionary Pay Vouchers 1779-1782 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Civil War
- 1861-1865 - North Carolina, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch.org - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1861-1865 - North Carolina, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch.org - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry
- 1885-1953 - North Carolina, Confederate Soldiers and Widows Pension Applications, 1885-1953 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1885 and 1901 1885 and 1901 Confederate Pension Applications at North Carolina Digital Collections - index and images
Regiments. Men in Brunswick County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Brunswick County:
- - 2nd Regiment, North Carolina Artillery, Company A
- - 2nd Regiment, North Carolina Artillery, Company G
- - 2nd Regiment, North Carolina Artillery, Company K
- - 7th Battalion, North Carolina Junior Reserves, Company B
- - 8th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Captain Neill McNeill's Company
World War I
- 1914-1918 World War I Papers at North Carolina Digital Collections - index and images
- 1917-1919 - North Carolina, World War I Service Cards, 1917-1919 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
World War II
- 1939-1945 World Ward II Papers at North Carolina Digital Collections - index and images
- 1940-1948 - North Carolina, Discharge and Statement of Service Records, 1940-1948 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- North Carolina Newspapers at DigitalNC
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Voter Registration
- 1868-1898 - North Carolina, Voter Registration Records, 1868-1898 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1660-1790 North Carolina Will Abstracts 1660-1790 at Ancestry $
- 1663-1789 Secretary of State Wills at North Carolina Digital Collections - index and images
- 1663-1978 Wills and Estate Papers (Brunswick County), 1663-1978(*); at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1663-1979 North Carolina Estate Files, 1663-1979 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1665-1998 North Carolina Wills and Probate Records 1665-1998 at Ancestry $
- 1720-1960 Will Books A to F and 1 to 8 (1720-1960) at FamilySearch.org How to Use this Collection; images only (by County)
- 1735-1970 North Carolina Probate Records 1735-1970 at FamilySearch.org - How to Use this Collection; images only (by County)
- 1760-1800 North Carolina Will Abstracts 1760-1800 at Ancestry $
- 1763-1963 Wills, 1868-1963; Cross Index to Wills, 1763-1963(*); Superior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1764-1946 Record of Wills, ca. 1790-1946; Cross Index to Wills, 1764-1946(*); Superior Court and County Court of Pleas and Quarter Sessions at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1764-1963 Will Books A to D (1764-1963) at FamilySearch.org - How to Use this Collection; images only (by County)
- 1781-1868 Court Minutes, 1781-1868(*); County Court of Pleas and Quarter Sessions at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1790 Pre-1790 Brunswick County, North Carolina Genealogy Wills stored at the North Carolina State Archives are online. Website tips.
- 1868-1963 Probate Records, 1868-1963(*); Superior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1869-1963 Settlement Records, 1869-1963(*); Superior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1870-1963 Record of Accounts, 1870-1963(*); Superior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1908-1963 Special Proceedings, 1908-1963; Cross-Index to Special Proceedings, 1938-1963(*); Superior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1920-1963 Resale of Land by Mortgagees and Trustees, 1920-1963(*); Superior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- Images of Wills & Estates, Book A 1(764-1921); Book B (1908-1924); Book C (1924-1954). North Carolina Pioneers ($)
School Records[edit | edit source]
Yearbooks
- Brunswick County students at NC colleges - list via the NCGenWeb Yearbook Index
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
- 1769 - Tax Lists, Brunswick County, 1763 (index) in NC Taxpayers vol. 2, online at Ancestry ($)
- 1769 - Tax Lists, Brunswick County, 1769 (images) online at North Carolina Digital Collections
- 1769 - Tax Lists, Brunswick County, 1769 (images) online at FamilySearch
- 1769 - 1769 Brunswick County, North Carolina Tax List FHL Book 975.6 A1 no. 254
- 1772 - Tax Lists, Brunswick County, 1772 (index) in NC Taxpayers vol. 2, online at Ancestry ($)
- 1772 - Tax Lists, Brunswick County, 1772 (images) online at North Carolina Digital Collections
- 1782 - Tax Lists, Brunswick County, 1782 (index) in NC Taxpayers vol. 2, online at Ancestry ($)
- 1782 - Tax Lists, Brunswick County, 1782 (images) online at North Carolina Digital Collections
- 1784 - Tax Lists, Brunswick County, 1784 (index) in NC Taxpayers vol. 2, online at Ancestry ($)
- 1784 - Tax Lists, Brunswick County, 1784 (images) online at North Carolina Digital Collections
- 1815 - Tax Lists, Brunswick County, 1815 (images) online at North Carolina Digital Collections
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
- 1800-2000 - North Carolina, Department of Archives and History, Index to Vital Records, 1800-2000 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1861 - 1865 - North Carolina, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch.org - How to Use this Collection; index
- 1866-1964 - North Carolina Births and Christenings 1866-1964 at FamilySearch.org - How to Use this Collection; index
- 1913 - 1922 - North Carolina, Center for Health Statistics, Vital Records Unit, County Birth Records, 1913-1922 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1914 - 1963 - Brunswick County Marriage Books 1-2 Index 1914-1963 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1741-2004 - North Carolina, United States Marriages at Findmypast
- 1741-2004 - North Carolina Marriage Index 1741-2004 at Ancestry $
- 1759-1979 - North Carolina Marriages 1759-1979 at FamilySearch.org - How to Use this Collection; Index
- 1762-1979 - North Carolina, County Marriages, 1762-1979 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1763-1868 - North Carolina, Civil Marriages, 1763-1868 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1804-1974 - Brunswick County Marriage Index 1804-1974 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch.[10]
- 1811-1868 - Brunswick County Marriages 1811-1868 North Carolina Pioneers
- 1850-1904 - Brunswick County Marriages from 1850 to 1904 at USGenWeb
- 1914-1963 - Brunswick County Marriage Books 1-2 Index 1914-1963 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch
- Pre-1799 - North Carolina Marriages to 1799, a database, available to members North Carolina Pioneers
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1898-1994 - North Carolina Deaths and Burials, 1898-1994 at FamilySearch.org - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1906-1930 - North Carolina Deaths 1906-1930 at FamilySearch.org - How to Use this Collection;index and images Also at: MyHeritage ($)
- 1908-2004 - North Carolina Death Indexes 1908-2004 at Ancestry $
- 1909-1975 - North Carolina Death Certificates 1909-1975 at Ancestry $
- 1931-1994 - North Carolina Deaths 1931-1994 at FamilySearch.org - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Divorce[edit | edit source]
- 1926-1975 - North Carolina, County Divorce Records, 1926-1975 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1958-2004 - North Carolina Divorce Index 1958-2004 at Ancestry $
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Brunswick County. For state-wide archival repositories, see North Carolina Archives and Libraries.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Brunswick County. For state-wide library facilities, see North Carolina Archives and Libraries.
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Brunswick County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see North Carolina Societies.
- Brunswick County Historical Society
Facebook
- Southport Historical Society
P.O. Box 10014
Southport, NC 28461
(910) 457-7927
Email: info@southporthistoricalsociety.org
Website Facebook
Websites[edit | edit source]
- NCGenWeb: Brunswick County genealogy resources; part of the national USGenWeb Project
- North Carolina Pioneers North Carolina Pioneers
- FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ https://www.ncpedia.org/geography/brunswick
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Brunswick County, North Carolina. Page 506-514 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 505-509.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Brunswick County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Brunswick_County,_North_Carolina , accessed 9 February 2020.
- ↑ 7.0 7.1 Lemuel Burkitt and Jesse Read, A Concise History of the Kehukee Baptist Association: From Its Original Rise Down to 1808 (1808), Chapter 16. Digital version at archive.org; George Washington Paschal, History of North Carolina Baptists, 2 vols. (1930; reprint, Gallatin, Tenn.: Church History Research and Archives, 1990), 1:324-325, 491. FHL Book 975.6 K2p 1990.
- ↑ Lawrence Foushee London and Sarah McCulloh Lemmon, The Episcopal Church in North Carolina, 1701-1959 (Raleigh, N.C.: The Episcopal Diocese of North Carolina, 1987), 20. FHL Book 975.6 K2e; "St. Philips Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com, accessed 22 October 2012.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/4/4d/Iginorthcarolinaa.pdf.
