|Briscoe Center for American History
E-mail: Reference Request Form
- University of Texas at Austin
2313 Red River Street
Austin, Texas 78705 USA
Telephone: Reference desk 512-495-4532, or Information desk 512-495-4518
Hours and holidays: Monday-Friday 10:00 to 5:00;
Saturday 9:00 to 2:00 when University of Texas classes are in session; Holidays
Maps, directions, parking, and public transportation: Locations, Maps, Parking, and commuting directions
Internet sites and databases:
- Briscoe Center for American History research, collections, projects, exhibits, museums, books, news.
- University of Texas at Austin Library Catalog search by keyword, title, author, subject, or call number.
- Genealogy Resources genealogy subject guides, census records, ship passenger lists.
- Texas Colonial Period Resources for Genealogical Research
This collection is as large as the Texas state archives including newspapers, biographies, private collections, the American South, military history, Western Americana, photos, and the Natchez Trace Collection papers from Mississippi and Louisiana. Their collections help with ethnic research about Latinos, African Americans, Germans, Swedes, Texas pioneers, the American South including plantations and slavery, and official Spanish documents of the Mexican state of Coahulia y Texas. Military records cover all conflicts involving Texas such as the Texas Revolution (1836), Indian wars, and the American Civil War.
If you cannot visit or find a source at the Briscoe Center for American History, a similar source may be available at one of the following.
- National Archives at Fort Worth letters, photos, maps, settlement history, American Indians, the Civil War, slavery, Chinese exclusion, repatriation, segregation, and World Wars I and II.
- Dallas Public Central Library 111,700 volumes, 64,500 microfilms, 89,000 microfiche, and over 700 maps, marriage, probate, deed, and tax abstracts in book form, or microfilm of originals for some states, and online databases. Outstanding for the South, Mid-Atlantic, and New England. 
- Clayton Library, Houston, one of America's best genealogical collections, especially strong for Texas, adjoining states, and Tennessee with censuses, military, passenger lists, periodicals, family histories.
- Texas State Library and Archives Commission, Austin, holds original documents from Mexican Texas, the Republic of Texas, and Texas State. All counties are represented by original records. They have all Texeas vital records, newspapers, censuses, military, county taxes, maps, and city directories.
- Austin Genealogical Society cemeteries, pioneers, surname files, vital records, census, voter lists, church records, schools, naturalizations, newspapers, city directories, 1903 Confederate veterans.
- Austin History Center, archives and manuscripts, maps, oral histories, photos.
- Travis County Clerk births, marriages, deaths, and land deeds.
- Travis County District Clerk civil, criminal, and family court records.
- Travis County Medical Examiner suspicious deaths.
- Repositories in surrounding counties: Bastrop, Blanco, Burnet, Caldwell, Hays, Lee, and Williamson.
- Daughters of the Republic of Texas Library, San Antonio, has colonial Mexican, Republic of Texas, and good genealogical records.
- Fort Worth Public Library, newspapers, obituaries, biographies, histories for the entire Southwest.
- Rosenberg Library, Galveston, specializes in Germans to Texas and Gulf Coast immigrant database.
- Sam Houston Regional Library, Liberty, focus on earliest settlers of Texas.
- San Antonio Public Library, excellent genealogical and Texana collection.
- Stephen F. Austin State University Steen Library, Nacogdoches, good genealogies, pre-Civil War, east Texas logging, and oral histories.
- Texas Historical Commission, Austin, 5,000 publications of which 3,000 are books, historical sites, cemeteries, oral history, heritage trails, city and county histories, military history and photos.
- Texas DSHS Vital Statistics, Austin, births, deaths, marriages, divorces.
- Texas Heritage Museum, Hill College, Hillsboro, outstanding Civil War collection.
- Southern Methodist University history, biography, newspapers, ethnic studies, government papers.
- Texas Baptist Historical Collection histories of local congregations.
- Repositories in other surrounding states: Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma, and in Mexico: Chihuahua, Coahuila, Nuevo León, and Tamaulipas
- Natchitoches Genealogical and Historical Association, Natchitoches Louisiana, "French Archives" dates back to 1776 including an index. There are many references to Americans who migrated to Texas.