Bowie County, Texas Genealogy
Guide to Bowie County Texas genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Bowie County, Texas|
Location in the state of Texas, United States Genealogy
Location of Texas in the U.S.
|Founded||December 17, 1840|
|County Seat||New Boston|
|Address||Bowie County Courthouse|
PO Box 248
New Boston, TX 75570
Bowie County Website
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The county was named for James Bowie, the legendary knife fighter who died at the Battle of the Alamo. The County is located in the northeast area of the state.
[edit | edit source]
County Clerk has birth, marriage, death, probate, land and miltiary
records, school census; Clerk District Court has divorce and court records
P.O. Box 248
New Boston 75570
P.O. Box 248
New Boston 75570
Bowie County Website
Bowie County, Texas Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
1834 - 1931 For animated maps illustrating Texas County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Texas County Boundary Maps" (1834-1931) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
1989--The Old Bowie County Courthouse at Old Boston, built in 1891, burned on 12 Aug 1989. The courthouse was abandoned, as a new courthouse had opened at New Boston in 1985. No records were lost. 
Places/Localities[edit | edit source]
Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
‡This populated place also has portions in an adjacent county or counties
†The City of Texarkana is located in two states. In the middle of the city is a street called State Line Road which separates the city between Bowie County, Texas and Miller County, Arkansas. Texarkana is the county seat for Miller County, Arkansas, and a marriage license purchased in Miller County, Arkansas is not valid in the State of Texas.
Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
African American[edit | edit source]
- 1865 - 1870 Texas, Freedmen's Bureau Field Office Records, 1865-1870 (images) - FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|FindAGrave||Family History Library||FindAGrave|
|TX Gravestones||WorldCat||Tombstone Project|
|Billion Graves (name)||Cemeteries of TX|
|USGW Archives||Texas Cemeteries|
|See Texas Cemeteries for more information.|
County cemetery collections
- Bowie County Funeral Home Records from the Bowie County TXGenWeb site
- Cemetery Books, available from the New Boston Genealogical Society, include: Ringwood Cemetery & Associated Cemeteries; Wards Creek Cemetery, Church & School Records; Woodman Cemetery (DeKalb); Sand Hill Cemetery; Old Union Cemetery; Read Hill Cemetery and Associated Cemeteries (Brooks, Glass Hill, Godley, Prairie & Shipp); Red Bayou Cemetery; College Hill Cemetery; New Boston Cemetery, Hughes-Kinght, Magnolia and Pulaski Cemeteries; Old Salem, Old Liberty Hill, New Liberty Hill, Malta, Woodstock and Old Wimberly Cemeteries.
- Dalby Springs Cemetery (including photos) ~ Texas Escapes
- Texarkana-Rose Hill Cemetery ~ Texas Escapes
Census[edit | edit source]
Church[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death/burial date and place. For general information about Texas denominations, view the Texas Church Records wiki page.
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court[edit | edit source]
Family Histories/Surnames[edit | edit source]
- New Boston Genealogy Society Family History Index ~ Bowie County TXGenWeb
- Family Group Sheets ~ Bowie County TXGenWeb
- Surnames ~ Bowie County TXGenWeb
- Biographies ~ Bowie County TXGenWeb
Land and Properties[edit | edit source]
After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
- 1906 - 1989 Texas, Naturalization Records, 1906-1989 — index and images
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Bowie County, Texas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.
- First Settlers of Bowie and Cass Counties Texas, By: Gifford White, Published June 1, 1983 by Ericson Books
- Daughter of Destiny: Memoirs of a Bowie County, Texas Farm Girl, By: Carlene M. Howell, Published April 1995 by Tab Books
- Bowie County, Tx Index to Probate Records; 1883-1940, 97 Pages,Compiled by WPA Workers
- Texarkana Pioneer Families, By: Nancy Jennings
- The Texarkana Story 1873-1948, By: Lucille Holland
- Texarkana a Pictorial History, By: William D Leet, Published 1982
- Bowie County Texas Historical Handbook, By: Bowie County Historical Commission, Published 1976
- Texarkana Centennial, Historical Program - 1873-1973, By: Nancy Jennings Watts & Mary Lou Stuart Phillips, Published 1973
- History of Texarkana and Bowie and Miller Counties, By: Chandler, Barbara O., 1939.
Maps[edit | edit source]
- Maps of Bowie County from the Bowie County TXGenWeb site
- Texas Counties Map. Click on the county to go to the TXGenWeb site
- 1897 Map of 1897 Bowie County, Texas with numerous small settlements. (My Genealogy Hound)
- Bowie County is the most northeastern county in the State of Texas
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
Military[edit | edit source]
- Dependents Support Act List of Dependents - Bowie County TXGenWeb
Mexican-American War[edit | edit source]
- 1845 - 1848 US American Volunteer Soldiers Mexican War 1845-1848 at Ancestry.com — index $
Civil War[edit | edit source]
- 1861 - 1865 Texas, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861 - 1865 Texas, Civil War Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1838 - 1900 Texas Muster Roll Index Cards 1838-1900 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- Confederate Indigent Families List - Bowie County TXGenWeb
- Confederate Pension Applications - Bowie County TXGenWeb
World War I[edit | edit source]
- 1917 - 1920 Texas, World War I Records, 1917-1920 at FamilySearch — index and images
Vietnam War[edit | edit source]
- Vietnam Wall List for Bowie County - Bowie County TXGenWeb
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Bowie County, Texas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
- TX Newspaper Abstracts (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Newspapers of Bowie County Old and New - Bowie County TXGenWeb
- Articles from Bowie County Newspapers - Bowie County TXGenWeb
- Texarkana Gazette
- Texas Digital Newspaper Program at The Portal to Texas History
Probate[edit | edit source]
Probate records of Texas, United States Genealogy have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.
See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1800 – 1990 Texas Probate Records 1800-1990 at FamilySearch — images
- 1800 – 2000 Texas Wills and Probate Records 1800-2000 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1883 - 1940 Index to Probate Cases 1883 to 1940 - Bowie County TXGenWeb
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.
- 1846-1910 Texas, County Tax Rolls 1846-1910 at findmypast ($) — index and images
- 1846- Bowie County 1846 Tax List from the USGenWeb archives
- 1903- Bowie County Poll Tax List 1903 from the USGenWeb archives
- 1904- Bowie County Poll Tax List 1904 from the USGenWeb archives
- 1903-1904- Bowie County Poll Tax Listing, 1903-1904, 74 pages, gives name, age, race, occupation and number of years resident in TX and in the county. Available from the New Boston Genealogical Society.
- 1907-1917- Automobile Registration in Bowie County, 1907-1917, available from the New Boston Genealogical Society.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Certified birth and death certificates or birth and death verifications can be ordered online or by mail at the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health. Copies can also be obtained from the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred and are often less expensive.
See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas.
Birth[edit | edit source]
Online Birth Indexes and Records
- 1840 - 1981 Texas Births and Christenings, 1840-1981 at FamilySearch.org — index - How to Use this Collection
- 1903 - 1935 Texas Birth Certificates, 1903-1935 (images and index) - FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1903 - 1997 Texas Birth Index, 1903-1997 (index only) - FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1926-1995 Texas Births, 1926 - 1995 at MyHeritage ($) — index
Marriage[edit | edit source]
Online Marriage Indexes and Records
- 1802-2010 - Texas, United States Marriages at Findmypast — index $
- 1814 - 1909 and 1966 - 2011 Texas Marriage Collection 1814-1909 and 1966-2011 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1837 - 1977 Texas, County Marriage Index, 1837-1977 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection — index to a variety of marriage records (registers, licenses, intentions to marry, etc.) from select counties in Texas.
- 1837 - 1977 Texas Select County Marriage Index 1837-1977 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1837 - 1973 Texas, Marriages, 1837-1973 at FamilySearch — index - How to Use this Collection
- 1888 - 1930 Bowie County, Texas Marriages, 1888-1930, 7 volumes, available from the New Boston Genealogical Society
- 1966 - 2005 Texas Marriage Records 1966 - 2005 Hidden Ancestors
- 1966 - 2010 Texas Marriages, 1966-2010 - FamilySearch record collection - How to Use this Collection
- 1966-2016 Texas Marriages and Divorces at MyHeritage ($) — index
Death[edit | edit source]
Online Death Indexes and Records
- 1903 - 1973 Texas Deaths and Burials, 1903-1973 at FamilySearch.org — index - How to Use this Collection
- 1903 - 1982 Texas Death Certificates 1903-1982 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1903 - 2000 Texas Death Index, 1903-2000 (index) - FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1964 - 1998 Texas Death Index, 1964-1998 (no images) - How to Use this Collection
- 1977 - 1986 Texas Deaths 1977-1986 at FamilySearch.org — index
- Bates Rolf Funeral Home Index and Bowden Funeral Home Records from the USGenWeb archives.
Divorce[edit | edit source]
- 1968 - 2010 Texas Divorce Index 1968-2010 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1968 - 2011 Texas Divorces 1968-2011 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1966-2016 Texas Marriages and Divorces at MyHeritage ($) — index
Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]
Texarkana Genealogical Society
PO Box 5825
Texarkana, TX 75505-5825
Garland Genealogical Society
PO Box 461882
New Boston Genealogical Society
PO Box 104
New Boston 75570
- Texarkana USA Genealogy Society
P.O. Box 2323
Texarkana, TX 75504-2323
- The New Boston Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 104
New Boston, Texas, 75570.
The NBGS is located at the New Boston Public Library.
- Red River County Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 516
Clarksville, TX 75426
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Bowie County TXGenWeb site
- TXGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the county.
- FamilySearch Catalog The catalog is genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) This catalog is different than the indexed Historical Records.
- Cyndi's List - List of resources for state and county
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Bowie County, Texas," in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bowie_County,_Texas. accessed 07/25/2019
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Bowie County, Texas. Page 659 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Bowie County, Texas . Page 658-677 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 655-665.
- Gendisasters.com - Texarkana, TX Bowie County Courthouse Fire, Jan 1889 http://www.gendisasters.com/texas/17956/texarkana-tx-bowie-county-courthouse-fire-jan-1889
- Handbook of Texas Online: Bowie County http://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/online/articles/hcb11
- Texas Escapes: Old Boston http://www.texasescapes.com/EastTexasTowns/Boston-Texas.htm
- Wikipedia contributors, "Bowie County, Texas," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bowie_County,_Texas, accessed 26 March 2019.