Botetourt County, Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Botetourt County, Virginia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Fincastle
Organized: January 31, 1770
Parent County(s): Augusta
Variant Spellings: Bottetourt[1] Bottetout[2]
Neighboring Counties
Alleghany  • Bedford  • Craig  • Roanoke  • Rockbridge
See County Maps
Courthouse
VirginiaBotetourtCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Location of Botetourt County, Virginia.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Botetourt County is located in the Western portion of the Commonwealth of Virginia and was named after popular governor Lord Botetourt, who was regarded as the best of governors.[3]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Botetourt County Courthouse
20 East Back Street, A
Fincastle, VI 24090
Phone: 540-473-8274
Botetourt County Website

Clerk Circuit Court has birth and death records 1853-1870, marriage, divorce, probate, land, court and cemetery records from 1770[4]

Botetourt County, Virginia Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[5]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate Census
1853 1770 1853 1770 1770 1770 1810
* Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1912.
General compliance year is unknown.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

  • 1970 Pre-1830 chancery papers, and pre-1854 judgements were water-damaged during a courthouse fire on 15 December 1970.[6]
  • Visit the Library of Virginia's website to determine exactly what records have been lost and their Lost Records Localities Database to find additional resources.
  • For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[9]

Towns
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Norborne Berkeley, 4th Baron de Botetourt (c1717-1770)


The county was named after Norborne Berkeley, 4th Baron de Botetourt (c1717-1770). Berkeley, formerly a Member of British Parliament, served as Virginia's Royal Governor at the time of Botetourt County's organization.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

For databases and indexes, see Virginia Bible Records.

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

  • Mercantile Adventures in Early Virginia, John Stewart, Tailor of Augusta and Botetourt Counties. By William C. Stewart. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 11, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1967):3-11; Vol. 11, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1967):61-66. Online at: American Ancestors by NEHGS ($), FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 B2vg.
  • The Silversmiths of Virginia (together with Watchmakers and Jewelers) from 1694 to 1850. By George Barton Cutten. 1952. Richmond, Virginia : The Dietz Press, Incorporated. Online at: Hathitrust; At various libraries (WorldCat). Includes a section on Fincastle silversmiths.

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Botetourt County, Virginia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Virginia Cemeteries for more information.

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For databases, indexes, and information online, see Virginia Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop. %±
1790 10,524 —
1800 10,427 −0.9%
1810 13,301 27.6%
1820 13,589 2.2%
1830 16,354 20.3%
1840 11,679 −28.6%
1850 14,908 27.6%
1860 11,516 −22.8%
1870 11,329 −1.6%
1880 14,809 30.7%
1890 14,854 0.3%
1900 17,161 15.5%
1910 17,727 3.3%
1920 16,557 −6.6%
1930 15,457 −6.6%
1940 16,447 6.4%
1950 15,766 −4.1%
1960 16,715 6.0%
1970 18,193 8.8%
1980 23,270 27.9%
1990 24,992 7.4%
2000 30,496 22.0%
2010 33,148 8.7%
Source: "Wikipedia.org". United States Census Bureau.

1785

1790
Lost, only statistics survive.

1800
Lost, only statistics survive.

1810

  • 1810 Census of Botetourt County, Virginia. 1968. By Madeline W. Crickard. Beverly, WVA: Crickard. Online at: Ancestry ($), FHL Collection.

1890 Union Veterans

Church Records[edit | edit source]

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Baptist
Early Baptist churches (with years constituted):

  1. Mill Creek (1804).[10] A bicentennial history was published in 2004: Touch of History, Vol. 9, No. 3 (Dec. 2004). Another history was published in 1987: Appalachian Heritage, Vol. 15, No. 4 (Fall 1987).
  2. Rock Spring (1804)[10]
  • 1776 Petition of Baptists (10,000 names!) and sympathizers from all over Virginia, dated 16 October 1776, asking for an end to persecution of Baptists by the established church. After locating your ancestor, view the digital copies.
    – Digital copies at Library of Congress; also at Library of Virginia using the code word "000606093"
    – Hall, Jean Pickett. "Legislative Petitions: the 10,000 name petition" transcription in the Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vols. 35-38, with annotations in Vol. 39, (Richmond, Virginia: Virginia Genealogical Society, 1983-) online at Ancestry ($) and in book form at various libraries.
    Botetourt County fell within the bounds of the Strawberry Association.

Church of England
go to See also Botetourt Parish

  • Meade's 1861 history of parishes in Botetourt County is available online.[11]

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Online Court Indexes and Records
Several of the original order books (which begin in 1770) do not contain handwritten prosecutors' indexes. Some of the entries were abstracted in Annals of Southwest Virginia, which serves as a partial index, see:

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

For databases and immigrant groups, see Virginia Emigration and Immigration

  • List of imported servants and transported convicts from Europe who served labor terms in Colonial Virginia are online at: Immigrant Servants Database.

During the War of 1812, American officials reported finding a total of 5 British aliens, many of whom had families, living in Fincastle and Bottetout County [sic].

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African American

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Compiled Genealogies of Surnames

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Compiled genealogies for multiple families

  • The Virginia Room at the Roanoke Public Library includes Surname Files. A list of families in this collection is available at the library's website.
  • The Katherine Bushman Papers, 1961-1997 at the Library of Virginia include files about Botetourt County families.
  • Heath indexed biographies of early settlers of Botetourt County in The Virginia Papers: the Draper Manuscript Collection, 5 vols. 2003-6. FHL Book 975.5 H2vp v. 5
  • Botetourt County, Virginia 1700s to early 1800s. Online at: Gowin, Goins Family Information.
  • Most Distinguished Characters of the American Frontier : Robert Looney (b 1692-1702 d 1770) of Augusta (now Botetourt) County, Virginia and Some of His Descendants with Histories of the Great Road, Looney's Ferry, Crow's Ferry, Anderson's Ferry, Boyd's Ferry and Beale's Bridge. c1998-2008. By Madge Looney Crane, Phillip L. Crane. Apollo, Pennsylvania : Closson Press. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  • Austin, J. William and Rebecca H.R. Austin. Related Families of Botetourt County, Virginia. Revised Edition. 1977; revised, Baltimore, Md., 2000. FHL Book 975.583 D2a. Includes Austin, Burger, Firebaugh, Huff, Noffsinger, Switzer and Wilhelm families.
  • Burton, Charles T. Botetourt County, Virginia, Early Settlers: From the Earliest Times through 1795, in the Area that was Botetourt County in 1782, Covers Parts of Present-day Counties of Montgomery, Bath, Giles, Floyd, Alleghany, Roanoke, Craig and Monroe. Troutville, Va.: [Burton?, 1979?]. FHL Fiche 6015637 - 6015638.

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

For land indexes, records, and databases, see Virginia Land and Property, including Colonial and State Land Grants.

Online Land Indexes and Records
An early settlers map is available for Botetourt County. The cartographer plots the locations of pioneers from 1770-1820. The Family History Library has a copy: FHL Map 975.583 E7h.

Grants and Patents
Land patents (pre-1779), land grants (after 1779) and surveys are available online at the Library of Virginia website. For step-by-step instructions on retrieving these records, read the Virginia Land and Property article.*Botetourt County, Virginia Patents 1740-1803 (Partially Placed on a Map). 2004. By Hudgins. DeedMapper. Online at: Directline Software ($).

Names of those who received land patents, dates, land descriptions, and references may be viewed free of charge (click "Index" next to the county listing). However, in order to view the maps, it is necessary to purchase Direct Line Software's DeedMapper
  • Commonwealth's (Land) Grants or Patents, Botetourt County, Va., 1770-1802. By Nell Marion Nugent. n.d. : n.d. Online at: FamilySearch Online Books.
  • Sims Index to Land Grants in West Virginia. c1992. By Edgar Barr Sims. Springfield, Virginia : Genealogical Books in Print. FHL.

Surveys

  • Botetourt County, Virginia, First Surveys. By Pollyanna Creekmore. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 8, No. 1 (Jan. - Mar. 1964):3-13. CD available at: American Ancestors ($).

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

  • A Seed-Bed of the Republic : A Study of the Pioneers in the Upper (Southern) Valley of Virginia. c1962. By Robert Douthat Stoner, Roanoke Valley Historical Society (Roanoke, Virginia). n.p. : R.D. Stoner. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  • Botetourt Bicentennial : Souvenir Program and History Celebrating the Two Hundredth Anniversary of Botetourt County, Virginia. 1970. By Botetourt County American Bicentennial Commission. Publication Committee. n.p. : n.p. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, Geneanet ($)
  • Botetourt County, Virginia, Early Settlers: From the Earliest Times through 1795, in the Area that was Botetourt County in 1782, Covers Parts of Present-day Counties of Montgomery, Bath, Giles, Floyd, Alleghany, Roanoke, Craig and Monroe. 1979. By Charles T. Burton. Troutville, Virginia : n.p. Available at FHL.
  • Botetourt County, Virginia : Heritage Book 1770-2000. 2000. By Botetourt Heritage Book Committee (Virginia). [S.l.] : Walsworth Publishing Company. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  • Botetourt County, Virginia Information. Virginia USGenWeb Archives
  • Botetourt County History Before 1800. 1982. By J. William Austin, Jr., Rebecca H. R. Austin, Botetourt County American Bicentennial Commission. Publication Committee. Fincastle, Virginia : Publication Committee, Botetourt County American Bicentennial Commission. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  • Community Development in Botetourt County : 1770-1783 Part V (Kegley's Virginia Frontier). 1938. By F. B. Kegley, Southwest Virginia Historical Society. Roanoke, Virginia : Southwest Virginia Historical Society. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library; At various libraries (WorldCat).
  • History of Botetourt County 1770-1783. 1903. By Lewis Preston Summers. Online at: Genealogy Trails History Group.
  • Places Near the Mountains: From the Community of Amsterdam, Virginia Up the Road to Catawba, on the Waters of the Catawba and Tinker Creeks, Along the Carolina Road as it Approached Big Lick and Other Areas, Primarily North Roanoke (Botetourt and Roanoke Counties, Virginia). 2002. By Helen R. Prillaman. Baltimore, MD : Genealogical Publishing Co. Online at: Ancestry($), FHL. Alternative title: Places Near the Mountains (Botetourt and Roanoke Counties, Virginia).
  • Virginia Indexes at EveryNameIndex.com — Select the county.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

County and state maps, historical and more current, are valuable research tools. For map collections, online and in libraries, see Virginia Maps.

Bedford (Independent City)Roanoke (Independent City)Roanoke CountyBedford CountyCraig CountyAlleghany CountyRockbridge CountyVA Botetourt.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources
  • Historical Map of the Roanoke Historical Society Showing Botetourt County, Virginia, 1770-1820. 1965. By John R. Hildebrand, F.B. Kegley, and Roanoke Valley Historical Society. Available at FHL. Includes historical notes and list of prominent men.[12]
  • FamilySearch Places:Cities and Towns in this couinty - How to Use FS Places

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

French and Indian War

  • Virginia's Colonial Soldiers. By Lloyd DeWitt Bockstruck. 1988. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co. FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 M2bL. Identifies some Botetourt County militia officers, soldier enlistments, and veterans; see place name index.

Dunmore

  • Augusta, Bedford, Botetourt, Culpeper and Fincastle Payrolls and Public Service Claims, 1775: Also Known as Dunmore's War: Enlarged and Photocopied. Fort Wayne, Indiana: Allen County Public Library, 2004. Online at: FamilySearch Online Books.
  • 1651-1776 Crozier, William Armstrong. Virginia Colonial Militia 1651-1776. Baltimore: Southern Book Co., 1954. Available at FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 M2c; digital book at Ancestry ($). Identifies some County militia officers and soldiers; see place name index.

Revolutionary War

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. 1841. Online at: U.S. Census Bureau, Google Books. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. See Virginia, Western District, Augusta County on page 133.
  • Early Marriages, Wills, and Some Revolutionary War Records: Botetourt County, Virginia. 1976. By Anne Lowry Worrell. Baltimore, MD : Genealogical Pub. Co. (Originally published: Hillsville, Va.: A.L. Worrell, 1958.) FHL Collection.
  • Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." FHL Book 973 M24ur; digital version at Ancestry ($). Includes veterans. Virginia section begins on page 238.
  • Virginia Militia in the Revolutionary War: McAllister's Data. c1913. By J. T. McAllister. Hot Springs, Virginia : McAllister Pub. Co. Online at: Hathitrust, Internet Archive, Google Books; At various libraries (WorldCat).

Regiments. Service men in Botetourt County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Botetourt County supplied soldiers for the:

- 7th Virginia Regiment
- 12th Virginia Regiment (5th and 10th Companies)[13]

War of 1812
Botetourt County men served in the 48th and 121st Regiments.[14]

  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... 1883. Washington, D.C : Government Printing Office. Online at: Internet Archive, Google Books. See Vol. 5, Virginia, Botetourt County, p. 64.
  • Military - First Surveys 1770-1772; Veterans of War of 1812 (1899). Online at: Virginia Pioneers ($).

Civil War

Regiments: Civil War service men in Botetourt County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed here:

- 5th Regiment, Virginia State Line (Cavalry, Artillery, and Infantry) (Confederate). Company H may have been recruited in Botetourt County.[15]
- 11th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate).[16]
- 28th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company A (Blue Ridge Rifles) and Company I (Mountain Rifles).[17]
- 57th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company K (Botetourt Guards).[18]
- 60th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (3rd Regiment, Wise Legion) (Confederate). Company K (The Osceola Guards).[19]

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

For online newspaper resources, see the Virginia Newspapers page.

Indexed images of the Virginia Gazette (1736-1780) are available online through the Colonial Williamsburg website. In addition, Professor Tom Costa and The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia have created a database of all runaway advertisements for slaves, indentured servants, transported convicts, and ship deserters listed in this source and other Virginia newspapers (1736-1803), see: The Geography of Slavery in Virginia. These newspapers are valuable resources for all regions of Virginia.

  • 1800 Herald of Virginia (Fincastle, Va.) at Genealogy Bank ($).
  • 1801 Fincastle Weekly Advertiser (Fincastle, Va.) at Genealogy Bank ($).
  • 1821-1823 Herald of the Valley (Fincastle, Va.) at Genealogy Bank ($).
  • 1823-1825 Mirror (Fincastle, Va.) at Genealogy Bank ($).
  • Botetourt County History Before 1900 Through Newspapers. 1976. By Botetourt County American Bicentennial Commission. Publication Committee. n.p. : n.p. Online at: Digital Library.

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Watauga Association of Genealogists Bulletin
Genealogical articles with abstracts of Botetourt County, Virginia records have been published in the Watauga Association of Genealogists Bulletin (39+ vols., 1972-present), the journal of the Watauga Association of Genealogists. The Family History Library has a complete collection FHL US/CAN Books 976.897 B2w, including Margaret W. Hougland and Betty Jane Hylton's Bulletin Subject Index: The First Thirty Years, 1972-2001 (Johnson City, Tenn.: Watauga Association of Genealogists, 2002) FHL US/CAN Book 976.897 B2w index 1972-2001.

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

For probate records, indexes, and databases, see Virginia Probate Records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

For additional online collections and the value and use of Virginia's tax lists in your research, see Virginia Taxation.

Online Tax Indexes and Records

  • 1770-1789 Botetourt County, Virginia Lists of Tithables, 1770-1789. Original records, Botetourt County Courthouse, Fincastle, Virginia; also available on microfilm at FHL.
  • 1770-1771 Botetourt County, Virginia, Tithables, 1770-1771. By Pollyanna Creekmore. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 10, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1966):51-56; Vol. 10, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1966):109-122. CD available at: American Ancestors ($), FHL.
  • 1770-1777 Botetourt County, Virginia, Its Men, 1770-1777. 1949. By Charles T. Burton. Troutville, Virginia : C.T. Burton. Online at: Digital Library. Contains names of tithable men in Botetourt Co., 1770-1777. Includes delinquent lists.
  • 1770-1773 New River Tithables, 1770-1773. 1972. By Mary B. Kegley. Wytheville, Virginia : M.B. Kegley. Available at FHL.
  • 1782 Tithables, 1782. Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 33, No. 3 (Summer 1995). Online at: Ancestry ($),FHL.
  • 1782 Land Tax List, 1782. Watauga Association of Genealogists Bulletin, Vol. 3, Nos. 1-2 (1974).
  • Pre-1783 County Delinquents List, Pre-Revolutionary War Period. Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 41, No. 3 (Aug. 2003). Available at FHL.
  • 1783 Personal Property (or Land) Tax List, 1783. Online at: Revolutionary War Service.
  • 1783-1810 Botetourt County Personal Property Tax Lists 1783-1810 (images). Online at: Binns Genealogy ($). See Tax List Club.
  • 1783-1822 Botetourt County Personal Property Tax List 1783-1822. By Paul Heinegg. Online at: Free African Americans. Heinegg abstracted free blacks listed in these records.
  • 1784 1784 Personal Property Tax List online at Genealogy Trails.
  • 1784 1784 Botetourt County, Virginia Tax Listing. 2012. By James L. Douthat. Signal Mountain, Tennessee : Mountain Press. Free online surname index at Mountain Press.
  • 1784 Virginia Tax Payers, 1782-87, Other Than Those Published by the United States Census Bureau. 1940. By Augusta B. Fothergill and John Mark Naugle. Baltimore, MD : Genealogical Publishing Co. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, FHL. Includes personal property tax list of Botetourt County.
  • 1786 1786 Personal Property Tax List online at Genealogy Trails.
  • 1787 The 1787 Census of Virginia: An Accounting of the Name of Every White Male Tithable Over 21 Years, the Number of White Males Between 16 & 21 Years, the Number of Slaves over 16 & Those Under 16 Years, Together with a Listing of Their Horses, Cattle & Carriages, and Also the Names of All Persons to Whom Ordinary Licenses and Physician's Licenses Were Issued. By Netti Schreiner-Yantis and Florene Speakman Love. c1987. Springfield, Virginia : Genealogical Books in Print. At various libraries (WorldCat). The source of this publication is the 1787 personal property tax list. Botetourt County is included in Vol. 1.
  • 1789 1789 Personal Property Tax List of Botetourt County, Virginia. Online at: Binns Genealogy ($).
  • 1794 1794 Botetourt County, Virginia Personal Property Tax List. Online at: New River Notes.
  • 1799 1799 Personal Property Tax List of Botetourt County, Virginia. Online at: Binns Genealogy ($).
  • 1800 Botetourt County, Virginia 1800 Tax List. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 9, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1965):105-110; Vol. 9, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1965):154-158; Vol. 10, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1966):11-17. Online at: American Ancestors by NEHGS ($), FHL.
  • 1815 1815 Directory of Virginia Landowners (and Gazetteer). 1997-2000. By Roger D. Ward. Athens, Georgia : Iberian Pub. Co. 6 vols. Available at FHL. The source for this publication is the 1815 land tax. Botetourt County is included in Vol. 5.
  • 1852 Taxable Property of Botetourt, 1852. Roanoke Historical Society Journal, Vol. 5, No. 2 (Winter 1969).

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

For additional indexes, databases, and details, see Virginia Vital Records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Deaths are online in the Library of Virginia's Death Index of Virginia, 1853-1896, sponsored by Virginia Genealogical Society.

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Botetourt County. For state-wide facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Botetourt County. For state-wide library facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Botetourt County Historical Society
1 West Main Street
P O Box 468
Fincastle, Virginia 24090
540-473-8394

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Botetourt County. For state-wide genealogical and historical societies, see Virginia Societies.

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

  • A Guide to the Counties of Virginia: Botetourt County. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 5, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1961):131-134. Online at: American Ancestors ($).

References[edit | edit source]

  1. ↑ A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census] (1841), 133-134. Digital version at Google Books. 1967 reprint: FHL Book 973 X2pc 1840.
  2. ↑ Kenneth Scott, British Aliens in the United States During the War of 1812 (Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1979), 325. FHL Book 973 W4s; digital version at Ancestry ($).
  3. ↑ visit
  4. ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. ↑ Lost Records Localities: Counties and Cities with Missing Records, 4, in Library of Virginia (accessed 4 April 2014).
  7. ↑ VA Historical Boundary Changes- list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed on 11 April 2021.
  8. ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  9. ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Botetourt_ County,_Virginia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Botetourt_County,_Virginia accessed 16 Decamber 2019.
  10. ↑ 10.0 10.1 Robert Baylor Semple and George William Beale, A History of the Rise and Progress of the Baptists in Virginia (Pitt and Dickinson, 1894), 338-339. Digital version at Google Books.
  11. ↑ William Meade, Old Churches, Ministers and Families of Virginia, 2 vols. (Philadelphia: J.B. Lippincott and Co., 1861). Digital versions at Internet Archive: Vol. I and Vol. II.
  12. ↑ FamilySearch Catalog, FamilySearch, www.familysearch.org.
  13. ↑ E.M. Sanchez-Saavedra, A Guide to Virginia Military Organizations in the American Revolution, 1774-1787 (Richmond, Va.: Virginia State Library, 1978), 67-68. FHL Book 975.5 M2s.
  14. ↑ Stuart Lee Butler, A Guide to Virginia Militia Units in the War of 1812 (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1988), 54. FHL Book 975.5 M2bs.
  15. ↑ The Virginia State Line: Organizational Structure of the Virginia State Line, Ranger95.com, accessed 11 June 2012.
  16. ↑ Robert T. Bell, 11th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1985). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 20.
  17. ↑ Frank E. Fields, 28th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1985). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 15.
  18. ↑ Charles W. Sublett, 57th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1985). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 21.
  19. ↑ J.L. Scott, 60th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1997). FHL book 975.5 M2vr v. 130.
v • d • e
Links to Virginia-related articles   (see also West Virginia-related articles)
Topics
Counties
Accomack • Albemarle • Alleghany • Amelia • Amherst • Appomattox • Arlington • Augusta • Bath • Bedford • Bland • Botetourt • Brunswick • Buchanan • Buckingham • Campbell • Caroline • Carroll • Charles City • Charlotte • Chesterfield • Clarke • Craig • Culpeper • Cumberland • Dickenson • Dinwiddie • Essex • Fairfax • Fauquier • Floyd • Fluvanna • Franklin • Frederick • Giles • Gloucester • Goochland • Grayson • Greene • Greensville • Halifax • Hanover • Henrico • Henry • Highland • Isle of Wight • James City • King and Queen • King George • King William • Lancaster • Lee • Loudoun • Louisa • Lunenburg • Madison • Mathews • Mecklenburg • Middlesex • Montgomery • Nelson • New Kent • Northampton • Northumberland • Nottoway • Orange • Page • Patrick • Pittsylvania • Powhatan • Prince Edward • Prince George • Prince William • Pulaski • Rappahannock (New) • Richmond • Roanoke • Rockbridge • Rockingham • Russell • Scott • Shenandoah • Smyth • Southampton • Spotsylvania • Stafford • Surry • Sussex • Tazewell • Warren • Washington • Westmoreland • Wise • Wythe • York
Independent
Cities
Extinct Counties/Cities
Counties
gone to KY
Bourbon • Fayette • Jefferson • Kentucky (extinct) • Lincoln • Madison • Mason • Mercer • Nelson • Woodford
Counties
gone to WV
Barbour • Berkeley • Boone • Braxton • Brooke • Cabell • Calhoun • Clay • Doddridge • Fayette • Gilmer • Greenbrier • Hampshire • Hancock • Hardy • Harrison • Jackson • Jefferson • Kanawha • Lewis • Logan • Marion • Marshall • Mason • McDowell • Mercer • Monongalia • Monroe • Morgan • Nicholas • Ohio • Pendleton • Pleasants • Pocahontas • Preston • Putnam • Raleigh • Randolph • Ritchie • Roane • Taylor • Tucker • Tyler • Upshur • Wayne • Webster • Wetzel • Wirt • Wood • Wyoming
Colonial
Parishes
Abingdon • Accomac • Accomack • Albemarle • Amherst • Antrim • Appomattox • Argall's Gift • Augusta • Bath • Beckford • Berkeley • Blisland • Blount Point • Botetourt • Boutracy • Bristol • Bromfield • Brunswick • Bruton • Camden • Cameron • Charles City • Charles • Charles River • Chickacoan • Chickahominy • Chippokes • Chiskiack • Chotank • Christ Church (Lancaster Co.) • Christ Church (Middlesex Co.) • Chuckatuck • Cople • Cornwall • Cumberland • Dale • Denbigh • Dettingen • Drysdale • East • Elizabeth City • Elizabeth River • Fairfax • Fairfield • Farnham • Flowerdew Hundred • Fluvanna • Frederick • Fredericksville • Hamilton • Hampton • Hanover • Harrop • Henrico • Hog Island • Hungars • James City • Jordan's Journey • Kecoughtan • Kingston • King William • Lancaster • Lawnes Creek • Lee • Leeds • Lexington • Littleton • Lower (Elizabeth City Co.) • Lower (Isle of Wight Co.)  • Lower (Lancaster Co.)  • Lower (Nansemond Co.) • Lower (Northampton Co.) • Lower (Stafford Co.) • Lower (Upper Norfolk Co.) • Lower Suffolk • Lunenburg • Lynnhaven • Machodick • Manchester • Marston • Martin's Brandon • Martin's Hundred • Meherrin • Middle Plantation • Middletowne • Montgomery • Mulberry Island • New Poquoson • Newport • Nomini • Norborne • Northampton • North Farnham • Nottoway (Prince Edward Co.) • Nottoway (Southampton Co.) • Nutmeg Quarter • Occohannock • Overwharton • Patrick • Petsworth • Piankatank • Piscataway • Poropotank • Portsmouth • Potomac • Raleigh • Richmond • Rockbridge • Rockingham • Russell • St. Andrew's • St. Anne's (Albemarle Co.) • St. Anne's (Essex and Caroline Cos.) • St. Asaph's • St. Brides • St. David's • St. George's (Accomack Co.)  • St. George's (Spotsylvania Co.) • St. James Northam • St. James Southam • St. James's (Goochland Co.) • St. James's (Mecklenburg Co.) • St. John's • St. Luke's • St. Margaret's • St. Mark's • St. Martin's • St. Mary's • St. Mary's Whitechapel • St. Patrick's • St. Paul's (Hanover Co.) • St. Paul's (King George Co.) • St. Peter's • St. Stephen's (King and Queen Co.) • St. Stephen's (Northumberland Co.) • St. Thomas • Shelburne • Sittenburne • Smith's Hundred • South • Southampton • South Farnham • Southwark • Stafford • Stanley Hundred • Stratton Major • Suffolk • Tillotson • Trinity (Lancaster Co.) • Trinity (Louisa Co.) • Truro • Upper (Elizabeth City Co.) • Upper (Isle of Wight Co.) • Upper (Lancaster Co.) • Upper (Nansemond Co.) • Upper (Northampton Co.) • Upper (Stafford Co.) • Upper Suffolk • Varina • Wallingford • Ware • Warrosquyoake • Warwick • Washington (Westmoreland Co.) • Washington (Washington Co.) • Waters Creek • West • West and Shirley • Westbury • Westover • Weyanoke • Wicomico • Wilmington • York • Yorkhampton
Major
Repositories
Bristol Public Library · Germanna Foundation Library · Handley Regional Library · Historical Society of Pennsylvania (Philadelphia, PA) · Historical Society of Washington, D.C. · John D. Rockefeller Jr. Library at Colonial Williamsburg · Jones Memorial Library · Library of Congress (Washington, DC) · Library of Virginia · Mary Ball Washington Museum and Library · Maryland State Archives (Annapolis, MD) · National Archives I (Washington, DC) · National Archives II (College Park, MD) · National Archives at Philadelphia (PA) · National Genealogical Society · New York Public Library (New York City, NY) · Pennsylvania State Archives (Harrisburg, PA) · Portsmouth Public Library · Roanoke County Public Library · Salisbury University Edward H. Nabb Research Center for Delmarva History and Culture (Salisbury, MD) · Santa Cruz Public Library Downtown (Santa Cruz, CA) · University of Virginia Library · Virginia Department of Health · Virginia Historical Society · Virginia Theological Seminary · Washington National Records Center (Suitland, MD) · William and Mary College Swem Library
Migration
Routes
Routes:  Chesapeake Bay • James River • Potomac River • Rappahannock River • York River • Chesapeake and Ohio Canal • Chesapeake and Ohio Railroad • Fall Line Road (or Fall Line Road) • Great Indian Warpath • Great Trading Path • Great Valley Road • Kanawha Trail • King's Highway • National Road (Cumberland Road) • New River and Southern Trail • Occaneechi Path • Old Cherokee Path • Old Northwestern Turnpike • Pamunkey-New River Trail • Pioneer Road • Richmond Road • Richmond-Williamsburg Road • Saura-Saponi Trail • Secondary Coast Road • Upper Road • Wilderness Road • Wilmington, Highpoint, and Northern Trail •   Ports:  Atlantic Coast Ports • Accomack  • Alexandria  • Belvoir Plantation  • Bermuda Hundred  • Dumfries  • Falmouth  • Fredericksburg  • Hampton  • Jamestown  • Leedstown  • Norfolk  • Port Royal  • Portsmouth  • South Quay  • Suffolk  • Tappahannock (aka Hobb's Hole)  • Urbanna  • Williamsburg  • Yorktown



This website requires a paid subscription for full access.

FamilySearch affiliate libraries may have access to center-only databases, but do not always have all services normally provided by a family history center.

Retrieved from "https://www.familysearch.org/en/wiki/index.php?title=Botetourt_County,_Virginia_Genealogy&oldid=4734646"