Bond County, Illinois Genealogy
Guide to Bond County, Illinois ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Bond County, Illinois|
Location in the state of Illinois, United States Genealogy
Location of Illinois in the U.S.
|Founded:||January 4, 1817|
|Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD), Illinois State Archives|
|Address||Bond County Courthouse|
200 W. College Avenue
Greenville, Illinois 62246
Bond County Website
Bond County Organization[edit | edit source]
County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Bond County are kept, see the Bond County Courthouse page.
Historical Facts[edit | edit source]
Bond County is named for Shadrach Bond, the first Governor of the State of Illinois
This Historical book has been written to provide information on the County and people of Greenville and Bond Counties. Historical Stories About Greenville and Bond County Illinois
Description[edit | edit source]
The county was named for Shadrach Bond, the first Governor of the State of Illinois. The County Seat is Greenville and was founded January 4, 1817. It is located in the South-Central area of the state.
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
- Bond County is divided into 9 townships: Shoal Creek, LaGrange, Mulberry Grove, Old Ripley, Central, Pleasant Mound, Burgess, Mills, and Tamalco.
For animated maps illustrating Illinois county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Illinois County Boundary Maps" (1790-1869) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places and Localities[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
‡This populated place also has portions in an adjacent county or counties
Records and Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Biography[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
- Cemetery Location Project of the Illinois State Genealogical Society gives the town, address, and township and range of various cemeteries in Bond County
- In and Around Panama, Illinois.This site contains photos of all the headstones in a good number of Bond County cemeteries with birth dates, death dates, and comments when available
- Confederate veteran buried in Illinois. This site contains the names, military data, and burial sites by county of Confederate soldiers buried in Illinois. Bond County has a number of burials.
Census[edit | edit source]
For information and tips on accessing census records online, see Illinois Census.
1840 Pensioners[edit | edit source]
- A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. Washington, D.C., 1841. FHL 973 X2pc 1840; FHL 2321; digital version at Google Books. [See Illinois, Bond County on page 186.]
Church History and Records[edit | edit source]
Early churches established in Bond County include: [
- 1819 - First Presbyterian Church
- 1823 - Mt. Gilead Cumberland Church, first organized as the Cumberland Presbyterian Church in 1810 in Tennessee. A historical sketch of the church is in A Historical Sketch of a People Called Cumberland Presbyterians in Bond County, Illinois by Louis J. Narowetz. Listed at WorldCat. Another history of the Church and cemetery is Mt. Gilead Cumberland Presbyterian Church & Cemetery History, 1819-1993
by Gerald E Jenner. Available for viewing at ExLibris Rosetta or listed at WorldCat.
- 1825 - Bethel Presbyterian Church began when the priginal Shoal Creek Church, established in 1819, was divided into three churches. A list of members can
- 1830 - Mulberry Grove United Methodist Churcht
- 1833 - Mt. Nebo Primative Baptist Church
- 1836 - First Baptist Church
- 1843 - Pleasant Mound Church of the Brethren
- 1844 - United Presbyterian Church had its first congregation in Bond County, though it had its roots in Indiana around 1828.
- 1848 - First United Methodist Church
- 1853 - Liberty Baptist Church. A record book of the church is Record book of the Liberty Baptist Church, 1853-1887, Bond County, Illinois by Harry B. Weber. Listed at WorldCat.
- 1859 - Woburn Church of Christ
- 1877 - First Christian Church
- 1880 - Greenville Free Methodist Church
- 1880 - United Church of Christ
- 1881 - Wilkerson A.M.E. Chapel
- 1881 - Wisetown Baptist Church
- Perrin, William Henry. History of Bond and Montgomery County. Chicago: O.L. Baskin Historical Publishers, 1882. Internet Archive Digital Online Copy FHL Film 934970 Item 3FHL Book 977.38 H2h Begining on page 232 is a history of churches in Hillsboro. Search within township histories, beginning on page 248, for other county church information.
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Original court records are held in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk. See Illinois Court Records for more information about using court records.
The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed online or through the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the University of Illinois at Springfield - search for Bond County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the UIS IRAD Wiki page.
- Court Minutes for Bond County, Illinois
Ethnic Research[edit | edit source]
African American[edit | edit source]
The following have information concerning African American research.
- African American Genealogy (US) has more information about the kinds of records
- Illinois State Archives pamphlet on African American Research describes what records are at the State Archives with an online method for ordering records.
- African American Resources for Illinois
Germans[edit | edit source]
Archives, Libraries, and Museums
Genealogy[edit | edit source]
Mailing Lists[edit | edit source]
Message Boards[edit | edit source]
History[edit | edit source]
Land and Property[edit | edit source]
Original land records are held in the office of the County Clerk . See Illinois Land and Property for more information about using land records.
The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed online or through the Family History Library.
- Bond County (Illinois). Recorder. Deed records, 1817-1921. FHL film 1315963 (first of 28)
- Family maps of Bond County, Illinois: with homesteads, roads, waterways, towns, cemeteries, railroads, and more, by Gregory A. Boyd. (Norman, Oklahoma;: Arphax Pub. Co., c2007)FHL book 977.3873 E7bg This book identifies the early land owners of Bond County, placing them on township maps with other geographic and manmade landmarks.
- Original land patents for Bond County from the Govenment Land Office (GLO) or Eastern States Office. Some searches include images of the original warrants. All search results include the patant details needed for requesting copies of the land entry files at the National Archives. The GLO is the custodian of millions of land title documents. The General Land Office Automated Records Project is responsible for making these important documents available to the public. See Illinois Land and Property for more information about this database.
- "Illinois Public Land Purchase Records" This record extract includes over 538,000 land sales from the 19th Century. Each entry includes the purchaser's name, purchase date, number of acres, price per acre, and in some cases the purchaser's sex and residence. Available at www.ancestry.com ($)
- "U.S. General Land Office Records, 1796 to 1907:" Records of Illinois are among the 13 states included in this set. It includes images of the land patents which contain the information necessary for ordering the complete case files from the National Archives.U.S. General Land Office Records found at Ancestry.com ($)This appears to be the same information that is online at the Federal Land Office sitehttp://www.glorecords.blm.gov/.
- Illinois Public Domain Land Tract Sales Database
- Sheldon, Theodore. Land registration in Illinois. Chicago: Callaghan Co., 1901. Digital book. Explains the laws regarding land and the land systems used in Illinois. Includes court cases involving land issues. In addition to being on Ancestry, this book is available online at no cost at Internet Archives and Google Books.
Maps[edit | edit source]
- Maps of Illinois (1788-1940)
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
Military[edit | edit source]
Civil War[edit | edit source]
Civil War service men from Bond County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Bond County.
- - 3rd Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, Company D.
- - 22nd Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies D and E.
- - 26th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company C.
- - 35th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company H.
- - 130th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies E and F.
- - 135th Regiment, Illinois Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company F.
- - 154th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company D.
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
- 1800-1998 - Illinois, County Naturalization Records, 1800-1998 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1856-1991 - Illinois, U.S., Federal Naturalization Records, 1856-1991 at Ancestry.com - index and images, ($)
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- 1800s-1999 U.S., Newspapers.com Marriage Index, 1800s-1999 at Ancestry - index ($)
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1772 - 1999 Illinois Wills and Probate Records 1772-1999 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1819 - 1988 Illinois Probate Records 1819-1988 at FamilySearch.org — images
- Online abstracts from of Record Books A to 1, 1821 to 1838. Includes appraisals, administrations, wills, guardianships, land sales, and other records associated with probate matters. Transcribed by Donna Walton in 2007.
- The following records may be accessed through: IRAD-University of Illinois University at Springfield (UIS) and search for Bond County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the IRAD Wiki page
- 1837-1855 Probate Minutes
- 1837-1849 Probate Records
- Family History Library
- Bond County (Illinois) County Court. Probate records 1817 to 1940 FHL 22 films
Circuit and County Court records are mixed in.
- Will index 1854-1922
- Will Books 1854-1912
- Probate Record Books
- Inventories and Final Accounts
- Bonds and Letters (Executors, guardianship, administrators)
- Reports (Administrators, Guardians)
- Widow's relinquishments
- SAMPUBCO - Index of testators of wills.
Guardianships[edit | edit source]
The Family History Library has films of some guardianshipp records among the the probate records listed above within the probate records.
Some guardianships are listed in the Online Abstracts described under probate records.
Repositories[edit | edit source]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Bond County Courthouse
200 W. College Avenue
Greenville, Illinois 62246
County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Adams County are kept, see the Bond County Courthouse page.
Family History Center[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
Bond County does not have a family history center. Center addresses are not mailing addresses. Some of the nearest centers are:
- O'Fallon, Illinois Family History Center
244 Fairwood Hills Rd
- Alton Illinois Family History Center
6500 Humbolt Rd.
To locate additional family history centers check the FamilySearch Center locaator link at familysearch.org.
Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD)[edit | edit source]
IRAD Depository (UIS)
University of Illinois at Springfield
One University Plaza, MS BRK 140
Springfield IL 62703-5407
Telephone: (217) 206-6520
Public Libraries[edit | edit source]
- Greenville Public Library
414 W. Main Ave.
Greenville, IL 62246
The Greenville Public Library is a member of the Lewis & Clark Library system comprised of 150 members including public libraries, schools and colleges covering 8 counties. The LCLS provides technical support and inter-library loan services. The Greenville Public Library has a Genealogy Room run by the Bond County Genealogy Society. The room contains information from Bond and surrounding counties, which includes histories, censuses, old newspapers, genealogies, vital records and more. In the room is equipment for viewing and copying the records that are on microfilm and microfiche. The holdings of the genealogy room are not contained in the library's catalog.
Social Groups Online[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Bond County Genealogical Society
PO Box 172
Greenville, Illinois 62246
- The Bond County Genealogical Society Library collection is housed on the lower floor of the Greenville Public Library.
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Bond County (Illinois) County Court. Births, marriages, and deaths 1817-1927. FHL film 1317522 (first of 8)
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Births[edit | edit source]
IRAD Holdings (UIS)
- Birth Records 1877 to 1915
- Birth Records Index 1863 to 1915
- Delayed Birth Records Index 1863 to 1915
Marriages[edit | edit source]
- Illinois Statewide Marriage Index, 1763–1900 - An online searchable index, is an ongoing project of the Illinois State Archives and the Illinois State Genealogical Society The Bond County index includes 1817-1915.
IRAD Holdings (UIS)
- Marriage License Application 1891 to1916
- Marriage Licenses 1817 to 1915
- Mariage Records 1817 to 1915
- Marriage Record Index 1817-1915
- Bond county marriages in "Illinois Marriages 1790 to 1860"
- Bond County marriages in "Illinois Marriages to 1850"
- Bond County marriages in "Illinois Marriages 1851 to 1900"
- 1805-1985 Illinois, Church Marriages, 1805-1985 at FamilySearch — index
- 1810–1934 Illinois, County Marriages, 1810-1934 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1833-1889 Illinois, Civil Marriages, 1833-1889 at FamilySearch — index
- Extracts of Bond County marriages without images are available on FamilySearch among the "Illinois, County Marriages, 1810-1940"
- Family History Library
- Bond County (Illinois) County Clerk. Marriage licenses 1817-1872 FHL film 688499 (first of 5)
- Bond County (Illinois) County lCerk. Bond County marriage licenses (adult and minor) & related material, 1873-1875, 1877-1886, 1890-1915. FHL film 1688489 (first of 9)
- Bond County, Illinois marriage records, 1817-1850, compiled by Robert E. and Phyllis J. Shelby. Kokamo, (Indiana: Shelby Pub., 1982). FHL book 977.3873 V2s
- Bond County, Illinois marriage records, 1851-1877, compiled by Evelyne McCracken. (Greenville, Illinois: Bond County Genealogical Society, c1984 ). FHL book 977.3873 V2m
- Bond County, Illinois marriage records, 1878-1899, compiled by Evelyne McCracken. (Greenville, Illinois: Bond County Genealogical Society, c1985 ). FHL book 977.3873 V2mb with supp.
- Bond County, Illinois marriage records, 1894-1915, compiled by Evelyne McCracken. (Greenville, Illinois: Bond County Genealogical Society, c1985 ).FHL book 977.3873 V2mba
Deaths[edit | edit source]
Index of Illinois Death Certificates, 1916–1950 listings the death certificates filed with the Illinois Department of Public Health
IRAD Holdings (UIS)
- Death Records 1878 to 1915
- Death Records Index 1878 to 1915
- 1749-1999 - Illinois Deaths and Burials, 1749-1999 at FamilySearch — index, some images
- 1850-1880 - Illinois Mortality Schedules, 1850-1880 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1916-1950 Illinois Deaths, 1916-1950 at MyHeritage - index, ($)
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Bond County, IL History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Illinois Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- Bond County ILGenWeb (The USGenWeb Project). May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county.
- Bond County, Illinois Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Bond County IL Genealogy
- Bond County Fact Sheet (Illinois State Archives)
References[edit | edit source]
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Bond County, Illinois. Page 192-199 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 194-197.
- Genealogy Trails History Group, “Bond County, Illinois Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/ill/bond/ 4/11/2017.
- Wikipedia contributors, "Bond County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bond_County,_Illinois 4/11/2017.
- WorldCat 50140092, FHL Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed.] (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002)
- Wikipedia contributors, "Bond County, Illinois," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bond_County,_Illinois, Last accessed 14 October 2019.
- Illinois Miscellaneous Genealogical Records: From Counties, Bond, Boone, Calhoun, Cook, Crawford, Du Page, Johnson, Knox, Lake, Will, Pope: Kentucky county, Mercer: Missouri county, Ralls. Evanston, Ill.: Illinois Society, D.A.R., 1946. Digital version at Ancestry ($).