Blount County, Tennessee Genealogy

United States

Tennessee

Blount County

Guide to Blount County, Tennessee ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Tennessee Online Genealogy Records

County Facts County seat: Maryville Organized: July 11, 1795 Parent County(s): Knox Neighboring Counties Graham (NC)  • Knox  • Loudon  • Monroe  • Sevier  • Swain (NC) See County Maps Courthouse Location Map Adoption Adopt-a-wiki page This page adopted by: TNGenWeb Project who welcome you to contribute. Adopt a page today

County Information

Description

Blount County was named for the governor of the Southwest Territory, William Blount. The county is located in the east-central area of the state.

County Courthouse

Blount County Courthouse
345 Court Street
Maryville, TN 37804
Phone: 865-273-5800
Blount County Website

Clerk of Circuit Court
926 E Lamar Alexander Pkwy
Phone: 865-273-5400
Clerk of Circuit Court

County Clerk has marriage and probate records from 1795.
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce records.
Register of Deeds has land records.

Blount County, Tennessee Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth*	Marriage	Death*	Court	Land	Probate	Census
1881	1881	1881	1795	1795	1795	1810
*Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1914. General compliance by 1927.

Record Loss

1879 and 1906 Courthouse burned and many records were damaged. Lost censuses: 1810, 1820 For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see: Burned Counties. By Michael John Neill at 24-7 Family History Circle. When the Records are Gone. By Arlene Eakle at Arlene Eakle's Tennessee Blog. Burned Counties Research in the FamilySearch Research Wiki. List of counties in the United States with Record Loss

Boundary Changes

1795--Blount County was created 11 July 1795 from Knox. A very small portion of Blount county was originally in Jefferson County.See the research and maps of René Jordan in the East Tennessee Historical Society's Tennessee Ancestors for details. County seat: Maryville For animated maps illustrating Tennessee county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Tennessee County Boundary Maps" (1777-1985) may be viewed at the MapofUS.org website. For maps showing civil district boundaries in Blount County, Tennessee, in the 1900-1940 U.S. Census, see "United States Enumeration District Maps for the Twelfth through the Sixteenth US Censuses, 1900-1940" on FamilySearch.[1]

Populated Places

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:

Cities
Alcoa Friendsville	Maryville Rockford	Townsend
Towns
Louisville	Vonore
Unincorporated communities
Alnwick Armona Binfield Clover Hill Cold Springs Disco Dry Valley	Fairfield Happy Valley Kinzel Springs Laws Chapel Melrose Meltron Mentor	Mint Old Glory Six Mile Sunshine Tallassee Top of the World Tremont
Census-designated places
Eagleton Village Seymour	Walland	Wildwood
Historic communities
Cades Cove	Calderwood

Neighboring Counties

• Graham County, North Carolina Genealogy
• Knox
• Loudon
• Monroe
• Sevier
• Swain County, North Carolina Genealogy

History Timeline

Additional Information
Blount County is named after Tennessee Senator William Blount (1749-1800) who played an instrumental role in the formation of the state.

North Carolina first organized the land that would eventually become Blount County as part of Washington District in 1776, then as part of Washington County in 1777, and then as part of Greene County in 1783.

In the 1780s, this county's land fell within the bounds of the State of Franklin Genealogy

In August 1784 delegates of three western North Carolina counties, Washington, Sullivan, and Greene (all now in Tennessee), declared their Independence from North Carolina because of perceived neglect, and misuse by North Carolina’s legislature. By May 1785 they had petitioned to be admitted to the United States as the new State of Franklin Genealogy. The Franklin statehood request was denied.

In June of 1785 "John Sevier, governor of the State of Franklin, negotiated the Treaty of Dumplin Creek through which the land south of French Broad and Holston was purchased from the Indians." All of Blount County is in the district South of the French Broad Holston. (map)

The Treaty of Dumplin "extinguished the Indian claims on this land. This 'opening of new lands' caused a great influx of new settlers. (p.369, Ramsey, Annals)" In 1786 the Franklin legislature created several new counties including Blount (all in present-day Tennessee). By 1789 Franklin's hopes of statehood had faded and so the land office which was opened by the State of Franklin in 1787, which had taken entries, may never have issued a grant.

In 1789 North Carolina ratified the Constitution, was admitted the union, and ceded her westernmost counties to the United States. The United States used them to form the Southwest Territory. The new counties created by the Franklin government were not recognized by North Carolina, the Southwest Territory, or by Tennessee. When they were reconstituted, no mention was made of their Franklin predecessor county governments. The Southwest Territory reconstituted Blount County, albeit with significantly redrawn borders, in 1795 from part of its Knox County.

In 1796 the Southwest Territory, and the land of all these counties became part of the new State of Tennessee. In 1806 Tennessee was finally able to open her own land office and create her surveyor districts.

Sen. William Blount (1749-1800)

Resources

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

• East Tennessee's Forgotten Children: Apprentices from 1778 to 1911. 2000. By Alan N. Miller. Baltimore, Md.: Clearfield Company. FHL US/CAN 976.8 U2m. Online at MyHeritage ($). Includes Blount County.

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Blount County, Tennessee online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online	Findagrave.com TNGenWeb TNGenWeb Archives Tombstone Project TNGenWeb Cemeteries Billiongraves.com
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)	Family History Library WorldCat
List of Cemeteries in the County	Findagrave.com Gravestones FamilySearch Places
See Tennessee Cemeteries for more information.

Census Records

Historical populations
Census	Pop.	%±
1800	5,587	—
1810	8,839	58.2%
1820	11,258	27.4%
1830	11,028	−2.0%
1840	11,745	6.5%
1850	12,424	5.8%
1860	13,270	6.8%
1870	14,237	7.3%
1880	15,985	12.3%
1890	17,589	10.0%
1900	19,206	9.2%
1910	20,809	8.3%
1920	28,800	38.4%
1930	33,989	18.0%
1940	41,116	21.0%
1950	54,691	33.0%
1960	57,525	5.2%
1970	63,744	10.8%
1980	77,770	22.0%
1990	85,969	10.5%
2000	105,823	23.1%
2010	123,010	16.2%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

1830, 1840, 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, 1930, and 1940 federal population censuses of Blount County are available online. For tips on accessing census records online, see Tennessee Census. If you're having trouble finding your ancestors in online indexes, try checking printed indexes. Created by local experts familiar with the area's families, these indexes are often transcribed more accurately than nationwide online indexes.

See Tennessee Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.

See Blount County, TN census assignments, including links to transcribed files. The USGenWeb Census Project^®

Tennessee, Compiled Census and Census Substitutes Index, 1810-1891 - Ancestry ($)

Lost
1800 - Lost, but a substitute is available, see Taxation.

1810 Lost, but a substitute is available:

• Sherrill, Charles A. The Reconstructed 1810 Census of Tennessee: 33,000 Long-lost Records from Tax Lists, Court Minutes, Church Records, Wills, Deeds and Other Sources. Mt. Juliet, Tenn.: C.A. Sherrill, 2001. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 X2s 1810.

1820 Lost

1890 Lost, but substitutes are available:

• Reed, Sue S. Enumeration of Male Inhabitants of Twenty-one Years of Age and Upward, Citizens of Tennessee, January 1, 1891, as Provided for by an Act of General Assembly of Tennessee, Passed January 15, 1891, and Approved January 22, 1891. 8 vols. Houston, Texas: S.S. Reed, 1989. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 X2r v. 1 1891. Blount County is included in Vol. 1.
• Sistler, Byron H. and Barbara Sistler. 1890 Civil War Veterans Census, Tennessee. Evanston, Ill.: Byron Sister and Associates, 1978. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 X2s 1890.

1820 Manufactures
The original manufactures schedules for the Eastern and Western Districts of Tennessee are kept at NARA, Washington, D.C. FHL copies: FHL US/CAN Films 1024517-1024518.

These records have also been abstracted:

• National Archives. Indexes to Manufactures Census of 1820. 1920; reprint, Knightstown, Ind.: Bookmark, 1977. FHL US/CAN Book 973 X2m 1820.
• 1820 Census of Manufactures: Blount County, East Tennessee Roots, Vol. 6, No. 3 ():116. For availability, see Blount.
• 1810-1891 Tennessee, Compiled Census and Census Substitutes Index, 1810-1891 at Ancestry ($)

1830

• Sistler, Byron H. 1830 Census, East Tennessee. Evanston, Ill.: n.p., 1969. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 X2p 1830.

1840 Revolutionary War Pensioners

• A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. 1841; reprint, Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing, 1967. FHL US/CAN Book 973 X2pc 1840; FHL US/CAN Film 2321. 1841 edition digitized by the U.S. Census Bureau and Google books et. al. See Tennessee, Eastern District, Blount County on page 152.

1850

• Robinstein, Joyce. "Blount, TN 1850 Federal Census," (includes every-name index) available at online through USGenWeb Archives.

1860

• Templin, David H. and Cherel Bolin Henderson. 1860 Population Schedule of the United States Census, Blount County, Tennessee. Maryville, Tenn.: n.p., 1981. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8885 X2t.

1870

• Brown, Kenneth A. and Mary Ruth H. Brown. United States Census of 1870 for Blount County, Tennessee. Maryville, Tenn.: Printers, Inc., [198-?]. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8885 X2br.

1880

• Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. 1880 Census - Tennessee: Transcription for Blount County. Easley, S.C.: Southern Historical Press, 198-?. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8885 X2s 1980.

Voters

• 1891 Tennessee Enumeration of Male Voters 1891 at Ancestry $

Church Records

List of Churches and Church Parishes

• FamilySearch Places
  

Baptist

Six Mile Baptist Church, 1813-1836 Name index. Available at TSLA.

Methodist

Holston Conference Office
P.O. Box 850
Alcoa, TN 37701
Telephone: 866-690-4080
Fax:865-690-3162

Presbyterian

• 1855 - 1895 - Forest Hill Church Baptism Index 1855-1895 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batches C538841 and C538842 .

• 1874 - 1885 - Mt. Tabor Presbyterian Church Baptism Index 1874-1885 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batches C538851 and C710051 .

History of New Providence Presbyterian Church, Maryville, Tenn., 1786-1921. Available at TSLA.

Court Records

County Court

• Record of Blount County, Tennessee, County Court Records (vol. 1 1795-1804; vol. 2 1804-1807; vol. 3 1808-1811) Name . Available at TSLA.
  
• Blount County, Tennessee, Court Minutes, Book no. 2, 1814-1817. Name . Available at TSLA.
  
• Minutes of the County Court of Blount County, Book no. 3, 1818. Name . Available at TSLA.
  

Chancery Court

• Blount County, Tennessee Chancery Court Records (vol. 1 1852-1865; vol. 2 1866-1869). Name . Available at TSLA.
  

Circuit Court

• Minutes from 1852

Law and Legislation

• Tennessee State Library and Archives, Acts of Tennessee 1796-1850: Index to Names. January 25, 2005. In addition to creating new laws, legislative acts were often required to obtain a divorce, grant legitimacy to a child, or for appointments to or grant payments for public service. The TSLA has created an index to names that appear in these acts covering the years 1796 to 1850. Online searchable index at TSLA.

Emigration and Immigration

Early settlers came down the Indian war path, primarily from Virginia.

During the War of 1812, American officials reported finding a total of 19 British aliens, many of whom had families, living in Blount County.

Genealogies

More than 85 genealogies have been published about Blount County, Tennessee families. For more information visit Blount County, Tennessee Compiled Genealogies.

The Will E. Parham papers are kept at the Blount County Library Reference Section. Parham was a professional genealogist in the late 1800s and early 1900s. There is a card file by last name. Loose leaf by family name. There are also family files from other people who have added information.

Gordon Aronhime (1911-1983) collected information on hundreds of Southwest Virginia and East Tennessee pioneers. His note cards, which reference more than 4,000 early settlers of the Holston-Clinch River area and East Tennessee (1770s-1790s), are held at the Library of Virginia. The cards have been digitized and made available online.

Land and Property Records

Grants

• Intro - Blount county part of the French Broad River Area
• Blount County Land Grants Sevier County Genealogy and History, Genealogy Trails History Group. Note that this helpful index, although labeled an index to grants, is really an index to ENTRYS.
  
• Fox, George and Juanita.Surveyor Entry Book, District South of French Broad Holston, State of Tennessee 1807, Blount, Cocke, Jefferson, Knox, Sevier Counties. (S.I. G. J. Fox, c2004). FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 R2fg. This is a definitive source - it abstracts and indexes all enterees, adjacent land owners, etc. ISBN 097540444X
  
• Blount County, Tennessee, Entry Taker's Book, 1824-1826. Name . Available at TSLA.
  

Deeds

Online Records

• 1795-1819 - Deed Book 1 (Index)"
  

Book Abstracts and Indexes

• Thomas, Jane Kizer. Blount County, Tennessee Deeds(Maryville, Tenn. Blount County Genealogical & Historical Society, 1990). Two volumes: Vol 1 1795-1819 and Vol 2 1819-1833. The indexes in these books include the names of witnessess and adjoining land owners. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8885 R2t v. 1 & 2. Also at TSLA. Books also available on FHL film.
  

Microfilm Originals

• The original Blount County Deed Books are held at the Blount. In 1971, TSLA microfilmed Deed Books 1 to HH (1794-1881) and corresponding indexes. FHL copies: FHL US/CAN Films 888879-888889.

Local Histories

US GenWeb offers a "Times Past" page which has photos and histories of Blount County.

• 1795-1995 - Blount County Tennessee History 1795-1995 Free lookups available!
• 1819-1919 - Wilson, Samuel Tydale. A Century of Maryville College, 1819-1919. Maryville, Tennessee: Directors of Maryville College, 1916. Free digital copy.

Maps and Gazetteers

Click a neighboring county
for more resources

• 1777-1985 - Maps of Tennessee (1777-1985)
• 1795 Creekmore, Pollyanna. Early East Tennessee Taxpayers. Easley, S.C.: Southern Historical Press, 1980. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 R4cp and Silas Emmett Lucas's Revised Index FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 R4cp index. [Includes 1795 map of Blount County and East Tennessee.]
• 1795 Reeves, Charles A. Blount County [Tennessee] - Created July 11, 1795 from Knox County. Published 2000. ReevesMaps.com includes a scaled-down version of the map.
• FamilySearch Places: Cities and Towns in this county - How to Use FS Places

Military Records

Revolutionary War
The following Blount County Revolutionary War records are available online through TNGenWeb:

• 1835 Pension Roll
• 1852 Rejected or Suspended Pensions

Additional resources include:

• A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. 1841; reprint, Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing, 1967. FHL US/CAN Book 973 X2pc 1840; FHL US/CAN Film 2321. 1841 edition digitized by the U.S. Census Bureau and Google books et. al. [See Tennessee, Eastern District, Blount County on page 152.]
• One Hundred Soldiers of American Revolution, Watauga Association of Genealogists Bulletin, Vol. 16, No. 2 (1987).
• Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." Digital version at Ancestry ($). Tennessee entries abstracted online at Tennesseans in the Revolutionary War (TNGenWeb).
• Revolutionary Soldiers, Reflector, Vol. 18, No. 4 (Dec. 1976).
• Revolutionary War Soldiers, Tennessee Rifleman, Vol. 31, No. 2 (Spring 1990).
• Revolutionary War Soldiers and Patriots, Smoky Mountain Historical Society Newsletter, Vol. 3, No. 1 (Jan. 1977).
• Soldiers of Blount (100), Daughters of the American Revolution Magazine, Vol. 110, No. 6 (Jul. 1976).

War of 1812

• Embry, Hermione D. "War of 1812 - Tennessee Pensioners on List - January 2, 1883," Ansearchin' News, Vol. 7, No. 1 (Jan. 1960):13-16. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 B2a v. 7 (1960); digital version at journal website. Includes Bledsoe County pensioners (p. 14).
• Blount county soldiers who served in the War of 1812 at TNGenWeb

Civil War

• 1861-1865 Tennessee, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
• 1861-1865 Tennessee, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
• 1861-1865 - U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry
• 1861-1865 - U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry
• 1891-1965 Tennessee, Confederate Pension Applications, Soldiers and Widows, 1891-1965 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
• Civl War Research Database
• Civil War Soldiers and Sailors System

Regiments. Men in Blount County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (part of a large regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Blount County:

Confederate Soldiers

• 1st Regiment, Tennessee Cavalry (Carter's) - CSA - Companies G and I.
• 2nd Regiment, Tennessee Cavalry (Ashby's) - CSA - Company K.
• 3rd Regiment, Tennessee Infantry - CSA - Company E.
• 3rd Regiment, Tennessee Mounted Infantry (Lillard's) - CSA - Company E.
• 5th Battalion, Tennessee Cavalry (McClellan's) - CSA - Company E.
• 5th Regiment, Tennessee Cavalry (McKenzie's) - CSA
• 8th Regiment, Tennessee Cavalry (Smith's) - CSA
• 37th Regiment, Tennessee Infantry (7th Infantry) (1st East Tennessee Rifles) - CSA - Company I.
• 39th Regiment, Tennessee Mounted Infantry (W. M. Bradford's) (31st Infantry) - CSA - Company B.
  

Union Soldiers

• 3rd Regiment, Tennessee Cavalry - Company A.
• 3rd Regiment, Tennessee Infantry - Company G.
• 3rd Regiment, Tennessee Mounted Infantry - Company C.
• 6th Regiment, Tennessee Infantry - Company A.
  

Additional sources for Civil War soldiers from Blount County:

• Knoxville Civil War Roundtable, The Civil War in Blount County, Tennessee, By Dorothy E. Kelly.
• Tennessee State Library and Archives, Tennessee Confederate Pension Applications: Blount County. Includes soldier's name, county, pension #, unit or widow.
• United States Pension Bureau, List of Pensioners on the Roll January 1, 1883: Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for ... (Washington Printing Office; 1883). Online at Internet Archive. Blount County, page 318-319.
  

Newspapers

Many Tennessee newspapers are filmed and available at TSLA. Most of these newspapers may be accessed by interlibrary loan to libraries within Tennessee, although there are some newspapers which are not available in or outside of Tennessee. For further information regarding interlibrary loan policies and newspapers not available for interlibrary loan click here.

• Click Maryville for a list of newspapers available at the archives for Blount County.

• Blount County Death Records Database - covers 1800s to 1960 deaths from local newspapers and funeral home records. Available from the Blount County, TNGenWeb site.
  

For deaths of Methodists in Blount County between the 1830s and the 1920s, try:

• 1847-1914 - Smith, Jonathan K.T. Genealogical Abstracts from Reported Deaths, the Nashville Christian Advocate. [1847-1914] 10 vols. [Jackson, Tenn.]: J.K.T. Smith, 1997-2003. FHL US/CAN Books 976.855/N1 V48s 1847-1851 ff; digital versions at David Donahue Memorial: Tennessee Records Repository. Website expands upon the publications and includes deaths from the 1830s, 1840s, 1910s and 1920s.

Other Records

Prisons

• 1831-1850 Inmates of the Tennessee State Penitentiary 1831-1850 at Tennessee State Library and Archives

• 1851-1870 Inmates of the Tennessee State Penitentiary 1851-1870 at Tennessee State Library and Archives

Periodicals

Genealogical periodicals can contain unique sources and can be local, regional, or statewide. The following periodicals cover this county:

• Ansearchin' News: Quarterly magazine of the Tennessee Genealogical Society. For a keyword search, go to the county index. Read previous issues on their website; FHL Book 976.8 B2a.

• The Blount Journal: Publication of the Blount County Genealogical and Historical Society began in 1985 and is still in print. Topic index available online. The Family History Library has acquired most volumes FHL US/CAN Book 976.8885 B2b.

• East Tennessee Roots: Published by East Tennessee Roots The table of contents for some issues are available on their website; FHL Book 976.8 D25e.

• The Pellissippian: Published by the Anderson County Historical Society (formerly called, Pellissippi Genealogical and Historical Society). The table of contents for some issues are available on their website. FHL Book 976.8 D25p.

• Smoky Mountain Historical Society Newsletter: Genealogical articles with abstracts of Blount County, Tennessee records were published in the Smoky Mountain Historical Society Newsletter (33 vols., 1977-2007), the journal of the Smoky Mountain Historical Society. Tables of contents for most issues are available online. The Family History Library has acquired a complete collection FHL US/CAN Book 976.889 B2s, as well as Journal Contents and Index of Names: 1977 thru 1996 FHL US/CAN Book 976.889 B2s index.
  The newsletter is indexed in the PERiodical Source Index (PERSI).

• Watauga Association of Genealogists Bulletin: Published by Watauga Association of Genealogists. The table of contents for some issues are found on their website; FHL US/CAN Books 976.897 B2w; Bulletin Subject Index: The First Thirty Years, 1972-2001 (Johnson City, Tenn.: Watauga Association of Genealogists, 2002) FHL Book 976.897 B2w index 1972-2001.

Probate Records

The County Clerk has the responsibility for the administration, settlement, and distribution of the estates of deceased person. The County Clerk has all the probate records and the will books and some of the newer wills. Blount County Records Management and Archives has all the older wills.

Most of the early original Blount County Will Books were destroyed. In 1869, all known records not lost in a fire were transcribed. In 1971, TSLA microfilmed the 1869 transcript and the records that were left. FHL copies: FHL Films 888877-888878.

Online Records

• 1779-2008 - Tennessee Wills and Probate Records 1779-2008 at Ancestry $
• 1795-1869; 1896-1922; 1923-1934 SourtheasternGenealogy.com Images of Wills($)
• 1795-1971 - Blount County portion of Tennessee, Probate Court Books, 1795-1927 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection- images only; handwritten indexes may be found at the front or back of some volumes.
• The organization Strictly By Name provides online indexes to early Blount County probate records. They offer a research service to photocopy and transcribe microfilm copies of the original documents for a small fee. Here are the indexes: Wills Wills Vol. 1: 1795-1

Book Abstracts and Indexes

• 1795-1861 - Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Index to Tennessee Wills & Administrations 1779-1861. Nashville, Tenn. Byron Sistler & Associates, Inc., 1990. FHL US/CAN 976.8 P22s. Includes an index to this county's wills. Free Lookups Available!

Social Security Records

• 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.

• 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.

Tax Records

The original Blount County Tax Books are held at the Blount. TSLA microfilmed Tax Books 1800, 1801, 1803-1805, 1837-1839 (Reel 1--available for interlibrary loan), 1845-1856 (Roll 482), and 1864-1900 (Rolls 482-488). FHL has copies of 1845-1846 and 1864-1867: FHL US/CAN Film 888892.

Online Images

• 1796-1801 - Federal distillery tax book for Tennessee, 1796-1801 online, Tennessee Living Archive, includes Blount county.

Book Abstracts and Indexes

• 1800-1801 - Curtis, Mary Barnett. Early East Tennessee Tax Lists: A Compiled List of Residents of the Area Covered in 22 East Tennessee Counties for which there is (sic) No Census Records Prior to 1830. Fort Worth, Texas: Arrow Printing, 1964. [FHL Book 976.8 R4c]. Includes 1800-1801 tax lists.
• 1800-1801, 1805 - Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Index to Early Tennessee Tax Lists. Evanston, Ill.: B. & B. Sistler, 1977. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 R4s. Includes 1800-1801 and 1805 tax lists.
• 1801 Creekmore, Pollyanna. Early East Tennessee Taxpayers. Easley, S.C.: Southern Historical Press, 1980. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 R4cp and Silas Emmett Lucas's Revised Index FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 R4cp index. Includes 1801 tax list.
• 1803 - "Unpaid Taxes-1803" (Blount, Cocke, Sevier Cos.), Smoky Mountain Historical Society Newsletter, Vol. 10, No. 3 (1984):6-8. FHL US/CAN Book 976.889 B2s v. 10-11 (1984-1985). For further access, see Blount; digital version at TNGenWeb - Blount County, Tennessee Blog (14 March 2009 post); digital version by Duay O'Neil, at Sevier County, Tennessee, Genealogy & History. Abstract of The Knoxville Gazette, Aug. 8, 1803.
• 1805 - "Blount County, Tennessee Free Taxable Inhabitants 1805," Watauga Association of Genealogists Bulletin, Vol. 2, No. 1 (Winter 1973):7-16. FHL US/CAN Book 976.897 B2w v. 2. For further access, see Blount. Source: TSLA records; no index.
• 1805 Tax List, 1805, The Blount Journal, Vol. 2, No. 1 (May 1986). FHL US/CAN Book 976.8885 B2b v. 1-2. For further access, see Blount.
• 1808 Delinquent Tax Records, 1808, The Blount Journal, Vol. 1, Nos. 1-2 (Nov. 1985). FHL US/CAN Book 976.8885 B2b v. 1-2. For further access, see Blount.
• 1808 "A list of those who returned their taxable polls and property at May term 1808," The Blount Journal, Vol. 9, No. 1 (Spring 1993):17. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8885 B2b v. 9. For further access, see Blount. Source: Blount County Court Minutes, May 1808, p. 278.
• 1814 - "Direct Federal Tax-Delinquent Property Owners Listed for 1814," Ansearchin' News, Vol. 43, No. 3 (Fall 1996):115-120. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 B2a v. 43. For further access, see Blount. Includes Blount County.
• 1834 - "Blount County Civil Districts-1834," "Blount County Civil Districts - 1993," "The Civil Districts of Blount County," The Blount Journal, Vol. 9, No. 1 (Spring 1993):1-11. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8885 B2b v. 9. For further access, see Blount. The third article is a transcript of Blount County Court Minutes, 1814-1843, Microfilm #103, Blount County Public Library, 2nd series on the reel, pp. 98-102 by Jane Kizer Thomas.
• 1836 Douthat, James L. Blount County, Tennessee, 1836 Tennessee Civil Districts and Tax Lists. Signal Mountain, Tenn.: Mountain Press, 1993. Mountain Press provides online surname list. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8885 R4d 1836.
• 1840 "Land On Top of Old Smoky Sold for Taxes in 1840," (Blount County) - Ansearchin' News, Vol. 44, No. 4 (Winter 1997):23. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 B2a v. 44. For further access, see Blount.
• 1844 Foster-Blevins, Alice. "Blount County, TN - Census - Poll Tax, 2 Jan 1844," available online through USGenWeb Archives.

Due to the limited tax years that survived, an alternative resource to consider is "Tennessee Legislative Petitions".

Vital Records

Birth

Online Index

• 1828-1939 Tennessee Births and Christenings 1828-1939 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
• 1869-1909 - Tennessee Delayed Birth Records 1869-1909 at Ancestry $
• 1908-1912 Tennessee, Birth Records (ER Series), 1908-1912 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection

Marriage

Online Indexes and Records

• 1625-1966 - Tennessee, United States Marriages at Findmypast ($)
• 1780-2002 - Tennessee State Marriages 1780-2002 at Ancestry $
• 1790-1962 Tennessee County Marriages, 1790-1950 - at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection. index and images. Covers all counties in Tennessee.
• 1796-1950 Tennessee Marriages 1796-1950 (Indexes only) at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
• 1838-1888 Tennessee Civil Marriages, 1838-1888 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
• 1851-1900 - Tennessee Marriages 1851-1900 at Ancestry $
• 1980-2014 - Marriage Records Index 1980-2014 at Shelby County Register of Deeds - index

Book Abstracts and Indexes

• 1795-1859 - Marriages of Blount County, Tennessee, 1795-1859. FHL US/CAN 976.8885 V2.
• 1795-1865 - Early East Tennessee Marriages. FHL US/CAN 976.8 V2s v. 1.
• 1795-1870 - 35,000 Tennessee Marriage Records and Bonds 1783-1870. 3 vols. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 V2t v. 1 ff.

Death

Online Records

• 1874-1955 Tennessee Deaths and Burials 1874-1955 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
• 1908-1933 - Tennessee Deaths, 1908 - 1933 at MyHeritage ($) — index
• 1908-1958 - Tennessee Death Records 1908 - 1958 at Ancestry $
• 1908-1912 - Tennessee Death Records 1908-1912 at Tennessee State Library & Archives - index
• 1914-1933 - Tennessee Death Records 1914-1933 at Tennessee State Library & Archives - index
• 1914-1966 Tennessee Deaths, 1914-1966 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
• 1949-2014 - Death Records Index 1949-2014 at Shelby County Register of Deeds - index

Divorce

Online Records

• 1796-1850 - Acts of Tennessee 1796-1850 at Tennessee State Library & Archives - index
• 1980-2014 - Divorce Records Index 1980-2014 at Shelby County Register of Deeds - index

Online Titles

• W.P.A. Guide to Public Vital Statistics in Tennessee. Nashville, Tenn.: The Tennessee Historical Records Survey, 1941. FamilySearch Digital Library.

Research Facilities

Archives

Listed below are archives in Blount County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Tennessee Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

• Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
• FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
  

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

• Knoxville Tennessee Family History Center
• Loudon Tennessee Family History Center
• Maryville Tennessee Family History Center
• Blount County Library - an affiliate library.
• Knox County Public Library - an affiliate library.

Libraries

Listed below are libraries in Blount County. For state-wide library facilities, see Tennessee Archives and Libraries.

Blount County Public Library
508 N. Cusick St.
Maryville, TN 37804
Phone: 865-977-1142
Website
The Genealogy and Local History section has an 800+ volume collection. Microfilm of local newspapers, court records and census schedules are available for photocopying.

Mary E. Tippitt Memorial Library
120 Tiger Drive
Townsend, TN 37882
Phone: 865-448-1441
Fax: 865-448-1875
Email: metmlib@yahoo.com
Website
Contains the Townsend collection which includes local interest items and genealogical sources.

Societies

Listed below are societies in Blount County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Tennessee Societies.

Blount County Genealogical and Historical Society
P.O. Box 4986
Maryville, TN 37802-4986
Phone: 865-273-1409
Email: bcghs@yahoo.com
Website
Facebook

Smoky Mountain Historical Society
P.O. Box 5078
Sevierville, TN 37864-5078
Email: corsec@smhstn.org
Website

Websites

• Blount County, Tennessee (American Local History Network & Tennessee Local History Network) Resources to help you place your ancestors within the context of their local history.
• Blount County, TN Family History and Genealogy Message Board (Ancestry)
• Blount County, TN Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
• Blount County, TNGenWeb (USGenWeb) - county website, transcriptions and other resources at the local level.
• Smoky Mountain Ancestral Quest Compiled Genealogies of Local Families
• FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides

Research Guides

• Genealogical "Fact Sheets" About Tennessee Counties: Blount County at TSLA. Identifies published county histories, published local records, census records, newspapers and local records on microfilm, and select manuscripts.

This website requires a paid subscription for full access.

Family History Library

FamilySearch affiliate libraries may have access to center-only databases, but do not always have all services normally provided by a family history center.