Blisland Parish, Virginia
History[edit | edit source]
The lower church in Blisland Parish is known as Hickory Neck Church (see picture).
The upper church, aka Brick Church, was known as Warranigh, Warrany, or Warrenay church.
Founded[edit | edit source]
- abt 1653
Variant Spellings[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Cemetery[edit | edit source]
Few tombstones could be found at the site of Warrany Church in the early 1900s.
Ministers[edit | edit source]
- Evans, David. "Price Davies, Rector of Blisland Parish Two Letters, 1763, 1765," The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 79, No. 2 (Apr., 1971), pp. 153-161. FHL Book 975.5 B2v; digital version at JSTOR ($).
Parish History[edit | edit source]
Parish Records[edit | edit source]
Colonial parish registers have been lost.
Vestry Books[edit | edit source]
These records have been abstracted:
- Chamberlayne, C.G. The Vestry Book of Blisland (Blissland) Parish, New Kent and James City Counties, Virginia, 1721-1786. Richmond: The Library Board, 1935. Original edition: FHL Film 982042 Item 2; 1979 reprint: FHL Book 975.54 K2c 1979
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Hickory Neck Episcopal Church, Toano, Virginia (official site)
- Hickory Neck Church, The Historical Marker Database
References[edit | edit source]
- Mrs. B.B.W. Turner, "Warrany Church in New Kent," The William and Mary Quarterly, Second Series, Vol. 17, No. 1 (Jan. 1937):45-48. Digital version at JSTOR ($).
- "History of Hickory Neck," Hickory Neck Episcopal Church, Toano, Virginia, accessed 26 February 2011.
- Tidewater Virginia Families, Vol. 3, No. 2 (Aug. 1994).
- Freddie Spradlin, "Parishes of Virginia," VAGenWeb, accessed 29 January 2011; Hening's Statutes at Large; Emily J. Salmon and Edward D.C. Campbell Jr., The Hornbook of Virginia History (Richmond: Library of Virginia, 1994).
- William Meade, Old Churches, Ministers and Families of Virginia, 2 vols. (Philadelphia: J.B. Lippincott and Co., 1861). Digital versions at Internet Archive: Vol. I and Vol. II.