Bertie County, North Carolina Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Bertie County, North Carolina ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Windsor
Organized: 2 August 1722
Parent County(s): Chowan[1]
Neighboring Counties
Chowan  • Halifax  • Hertford  • Martin  • Northampton  • Washington
See County Maps
Courthouse
NorthCarolinaBertieCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Nc-bertie.png
Adoption
Adopt-a-wiki page
Logonew small.gif This page adopted by:
NCGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Bertie County is located in the Northeastern portion of North Carolina and was named for James and Henry Bertie to whom King Charles II granted tracts of land in the New World called "Carolina"[2].

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Bertie County Courthouse
108 W Dundee Street
Windsor, NC 27983-1208
Phone:252-794-5300
Bertie County Website

Register of Deeds has birth, marriage, death and land records,
Clerk Superior Court has divorce and court records from 1869
& probate records from 1763[3]

Bertie County, North Carolina Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1913 1762 1913 1869 1721 1763 1784
*Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1913. General compliance by 1920.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • The county was formed as Bertie Precinct in 1722 from the part of Chowan Precinct of Albemarle County lying west of the Chowan River. It was named for James Bertie, his brother Henry Bertie, or perhaps both, each having been one of the Lords Proprietors of Carolina.
  • In 1729 parts of Bertie Precinct, Chowan Precinct, Currituck Precinct, and Pasquotank Precinct of Albemarle County were combined to form Tyrrell Precinct. With the abolition of Albemarle County in 1739, all of its constituent precincts became separate counties. In 1741 parts of Bertie County became Edgecombe County and Northampton County. Finally, in 1759 parts of Bertie County, Chowan County, and Northampton County were combined to form Hertford County, and Bertie was reduced to its present size.
  • 1722--Bertie County was created 2 August 1722 from Chowan County.
  • County seat: Windsor[5]

For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]

Towns
Unincorporated communities
  • Baker Town
  • Elm Grove
  • Gatlinsville
  • Greens Cross
  • Hexlena
  • Merry Hill
  • Perrytown
  • Pine Ridge
  • Rosemead
  • Sans Souci
  • Spring Branch
  • Todds Cross
  • Trap, Woodard
  • Whites Cross
Townships
  • Colerain
  • Indian Woods
  • Merry Hill
  • Whites
  • Windsor
  • Woodville


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Bertie County, North Carolina online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See North Carolina Cemeteries for more information


Census Records[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop. %±
1790 12,462 —
1800 11,249 −9.7%
1810 11,218 −0.3%
1820 10,805 −3.7%
1830 12,262 13.5%
1840 12,175 −0.7%
1850 12,851 5.6%
1860 14,310 11.4%
1870 12,950 −9.5%
1880 16,399 26.6%
1890 19,176 16.9%
1900 20,538 7.1%
1910 23,039 12.2%
1920 23,993 4.1%
1930 25,844 7.7%
1940 26,201 1.4%
1950 26,439 0.9%
1960 24,350 −7.9%
1970 20,528 −15.7%
1980 21,024 2.4%
1990 20,388 −3.0%
2000 19,773 −3.0%
2010 21,282 7.6%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".


Church Records[edit | edit source]

Baptist

  • Cashie, near Windsor, N.C. Constituted 1771.[7] Minutes vol. 1 (1791-1832) online.
  • Joshua Freeman's, near Wiccacon. Established by 1786.[7]
  • Sandy Run. Constituted 1773.[7]
  • Wiccacon on the Chowan River. Established by 1772.[7]
  • Wickicoan Creek. Established 1789.[7]

Church of England

  • Northwest Parish. Established by 1741.[8]
  • Society Parish. Established 1722.[8]


List of Churches and Church Parishes

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Bibliography

  • Boddie Leary, Helen F.M. "The Two William Boddies of North Carolina," The American Genealogist, Vol. 66, No. 1 (Jan. 1991):16-29; Vol. 62, No. 2 (Apr. 1991):106-110; Vol. 66, No. 3 (Jul. 1991):148-153. Available at FHL.

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Northampton CountyHertford CountyChowan CountyWashington CountyMartin CountyHalifax CountyNC BERTIE.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration[edit | edit source]

Early migration routes to and from Bertie County for European settlers included:[9]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Revolutionary War

Civil War

Regiments. Men in Bertie County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Bertie County:

-1st Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, usually known as the Bethel Regiment.
-5th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
-11th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
- 11th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company C
- 2nd Regiment, North Carolina Cavalry, Company H
- 3rd Battalion, North Carolina Light Artillery, Company E
- 4th Regiment, North Carolina Cavalry (59th North Carolina State Troops), Company D
- 4th Regiment, North Carolina Cavalry (59th North Carolina State Troops), Company F
- 4th Regiment, North Carolina Cavalry (59th North Carolina State Troops), Company I
- 5th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company F

World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Voter Registration

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Online Probate Indexes and Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Yearbooks

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Bertie County. For state-wide archival repositories, see North Carolina Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Bertie County. For state-wide library facilities, see North Carolina Archives and Libraries.

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Bertie County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see North Carolina Societies.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. ↑ https://www.ncpedia.org/geography/bertie
  3. ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Bertie County, North Carolina. Page 506-514 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 505-509.
  5. ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Bertie County, North Carolina," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bertie_County,_North_Carolina, accessed 7 February 2020.
  7. ↑ 7.0 7.1 7.2 7.3 7.4 George Washington Paschal, History of North Carolina Baptists, 2 vols. (1930; reprint, Gallatin, Tenn.: Church History Research and Archives, 1990), 1:475, 485, 488; 2:561. FHL Book 975.6 K2p 1990.
  8. ↑ 8.0 8.1 Robert J. Cain, ed., The Church of England in North Carolina: Documents, 1699-1741 (Raleigh, N.C.: Division of Archives and History, North Carolina Department of Cultural Resources, 1999), 414, 501. FHL Book 975.6 K2cr.
  9. ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  10. ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/4/4d/Iginorthcarolinaa.pdf.
v • d • e
Links to North Carolina-related articles
Topics
Counties
Alamance · Alexander · Alleghany · Anson · Ashe · Avery · Beaufort · Bertie · Bladen · Brunswick · Buncombe · Burke · Cabarrus · Caldwell · Camden · Carteret · Caswell · Catawba · Chatham · Cherokee · Chowan · Clay · Cleveland · Columbus · Craven · Cumberland · Currituck · Dare · Davidson · Davie · Duplin · Durham · Edgecombe · Forsyth · Franklin · Gaston · Gates · Graham · Granville · Greene · Guilford · Halifax · Harnett · Haywood · Henderson · Hertford · Hoke · Hyde · Iredell · Jackson · Johnston · Jones · Lee · Lenoir · Lincoln · Macon · Madison · Martin · McDowell · Mecklenburg · Mitchell · Montgomery · Moore · Nash · New Hanover · Northampton · Onslow · Orange · Pamlico · Pasquotank · Pender · Perquimans · Person · Pitt · Polk · Randolph · Richmond · Robeson · Rockingham · Rowan · Rutherford · Sampson · Scotland · Stanly · Stokes · Surry · Swain · Transylvania · Tyrrell · Union · Vance · Wake · Warren · Washington · Watauga · Wayne · Wilkes · Wilson · Yadkin · Yancey
Counties gone
to TN or VA
Extinct or
Renamed
Counties
Major
 Repositories
Library of Congress · National Archives at Atlanta · North Carolina State Archives · State Library of North Carolina · Duke University Perkins Library · Genealogical Society of Old Tyron County · McEachern Library of Local History · Olivia Raney Local History Library · Public Library of Charlotte and Mecklenburg County · Rowan Public Library · University of North Carolina Chapel Hill Libraries · Bristol Public Library · Chattanooga Public Library Downtown · Knox County Public Library · Santa Cruz Public Library Downtown
Migration
Routes

This website requires a paid subscription for full access.

Due to contractual agreements, some images and/or databases on FamilySearch.org may only be viewed at a Family History Center or FamilySearch Affiliate Library.

Retrieved from "https://www.familysearch.org/en/wiki/index.php?title=Bertie_County,_North_Carolina_Genealogy&oldid=4912378"