Berkeley County, South Carolina Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Berkeley County, South Carolina ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Moncks Corner
Organized: November 1, 1882[1]
Parent County(s): Charleston[2]
Neighboring Counties
Charleston  • Clarendon  • Dorchester  • Georgetown  • Orangeburg  • Williamsburg
See County Maps
Courthouse
South Carolina, Berkeley County Courthouse.png
Location Map
Sc-berkeley.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The county is named for both John and William Berkeley, co-owners of the Province of Carolina. The County is located in the southeast area of the state.[3]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Berkeley County Courthouse
PO Box 219
300-B California Ave
Moncks Corner, SC 29461
Phone: 843-723-3800
Berkeley County Website

County Pronunciation
Hear it spoken.[4]

Berkeley County, South Carolina Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[5]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1915 1911 1915 1881 1883 1883 1790
*Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1915. General compliance by 1918.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[8]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Modern Berkeley County created in 1882 is not to be confused with the two previously extinct counties of the same name.

Berkeley County was named for Lord Proprieters of South Carolina Lord John Berkeley and Sir William Berkeley.[9] Berkeley County has existed as three incarnations. It was created as one of the original South Carolina counties in 1682. At the time, all formal business was conducted in Charles Town and the counties were used to locate property. The original Berkeley County was abolished in 1768 after the District Court Act was passed. A second incarnation of Berkely County was created within Charleston District with the passage of the 1785 County Court Act but never became functional and was abolished in 1798. The present day Berkeley County (with boundaries similar to the original Berkeley County) was established in 1882.[10] Learn more about the history of Berkeley County from the South Carolina State Library or from Carolana.com.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Berkeley County, South Carolina online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See South Carolina Cemeteries for more information.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For all existing and online Federal population schedules of South Carolina, see South Carolina Census. See also USGenWeb Census Project, South Carolina, including links to transcribed files.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1890 55,428
1900 30,454 −45.1%
1910 23,487 −22.9%
1920 22,558 −4.0%
1930 22,236 −1.4%
1940 27,128 22.0%
1950 30,251 11.5%
1960 38,196 26.3%
1970 56,199 47.1%
1980 94,727 68.6%
1990 128,776 35.9%
2000 142,651 10.8%
2010 177,843 24.7%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Berkeley County Churches identifies dozens of churches in the area, courtesy: South Carolina Genealogical Society. For documents of people who lived in this area from 1706 to 1785, look in:[11]

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African Americans
Gotoarrow.pngBerkeley County, South Carolina African Americans

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

  • [Allston] Groves, Joseph A. The Alstons and Allstons of North and South Carolina Compiled from English, Colonial and Family Records, with Personal Reminiscences, Also Notes of Some Allied Families. Selma, Ga.: J.G. Groves, 1902. FHL Collection 896812 Item 1
  • [Allston] Allston, Susan Lowndes. Brookgreen Waccamaw in the Carolina Low Country. Charleston, S.C.: Walker, Evans & Cogswell, 1935. FHL Collection 929.273 AL58a
  • [Anderson] McNees, Lucien L. Descendants of Capt. Henry Anderson, Sr. of Newberry County, South Carolina. Ebenezer, Miss.: L.L. McNees, 1972. FHL Collection 1035998 Item 2
  • [Ball] Deas, Anne Simons. Recollections of the Ball family of South Carolina and the Comingtee plantations. Summerville, SC, 1904. Digital version at American Libraries.
  • [Ball] John Ball and Keating Simons Ball Books, 1779-1911.The Southern Historical Collections at the Louis Round WIlson Special Collections Library.
  • [Broughton] Broughton, M. Leon. Broughton Memoirs. Dallas, Texas: M.L. Broughton, 1972. FHL Collection 929.273 B797b 1972
  • [Capers] MacDowell, Dorothy K. Descendants of William Capers and Richard Capers and Related Families. Aiken, S.C.: D.K. MacDowell, 1973. FHL Collection 929.273 C171m
  • [Carter] Pedigree of the Descendants of Thomas Cater, Planter of Berkeley County, S. C., Will Dated, 1730. FHL US/CAN Pedigree File no. 456.
  • [Cuttino] Cuttino, G.P. History of the Cuttino Family. Atlanta, Ga.: Emory University, 1982. FHL Collection 929.273 C982c
  • [Dorroh] Munger, Rose McDavid. McDavid - Dorroh Families. [Birmingham, Ala.]: R.D. Munger, [196-]. FHL Collection 823730 Item 4
  • [Fuller] Fuller, John Beattie. Captain William Fuller (1620-1695). Astor, Fla.: Fuller Genealogy Data Bank, [2008]. FHL Collection 929.273 F959fjw
  • [Goble] Goble, Robert. The Cupboard in the Attic: Goble Family History - Goble's Corners to Penhurst Farm. Cobble Hill, British Columbia: Greyridge Productions, 2004. FHL Collection 929.271 G538g
  • [Gordon] Marshall, Erminie Northcutt. Gordons of the Deep South. Austin, Texas: [E.N. Marshall], 1961. FHL Collection 929.273 G653ma
  • [Haworth] Haworth, C.V. Haworths in America. ca.1600-1950: Genealogy of the Family of James Haworth, Fourth Son of George and Sarah (Scarborough) Haworth. Typescript. Microfilmed 1959. FHL Collection 201403 Item 5
  • [Huggins] Huggins, George Allen. Genealogy, Huggins (Huygens--Huyghens), 1682-1934. S.C.?: G.A. Huggins, Jr., 1934. FHL Collection 1401457
  • [Lee] Jamison, Elizabeth Ann Arledge. Past, Present and Future Generations of the Sligh and Lee Families of South Carolina. Franklin, Tenn.: E.A.A. Jamison, 1997. FHL Collection 929.273 L51je; digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library;
  • [McCarley] McAfee, Jane Berry. The McCarley Memories. Farmersville, Texas: Search-N-Print, 1980. FHL Collection 929.273 M126mj
  • [McCrary] Reynolds, Harriet Dickson. Colonel Robert McCrary (1732-1804) of North Carolina and Some of His Descendants in Georgia and Alabama. Typescript. FHL Collection 929.273 M137rhd
  • [Mell] Mell, P.H. and Eliza Elizabeth Cooper Pell. The Genealogy of the Mell Family in the Southern States. Auburn, Ala.: Dr. & Mrs. P.M. Pell, 1897. FHL Collection 1016937 Item 12
  • [Miller] White, Margaret Miller. The Huguenot Millers: A Family History. [Miss.]: S.M.M. White, 1986. FHL Collection 929.273 M612wm
  • [Mounier] White, Margaret Miller. The Huguenot Millers: A Family History. [Miss.]: S.M.M. White, 1986. FHL Collection 929.273 M612wm
  • [Norman] Carson, Maggie Laurie and Margaret Newman. The Normans, 1720-1976, and Information on the Walker, Clayton and Weir Families of Mississippi: A Genealogical Record, 1975-1976, in Memory of Marguerite Norman Caver, Who Kept a Family Record in Pictures Which Made Possible Our Research. Tuscaloosa, Ala.: Round Table Press, 1976. FHL Collection 929.273 N781cm
  • [Palmer] Towles, Louis P. A World Turned Upside Down: The Palmers of South Santee, 1818-1881. Columbia, S.C.: University of South Carolina Press, 1996. FHL Collection 929.273 P182wt
  • [Ramsey] Ramsey, James. Ramsey Roots and Branches. Houston, Texas: J. Ramsey, 1980. FHL Collection 929.273 R149rj
  • [Ravenel] Ravenel, Henry James. Ravenel Records: A History and Genealogy of the Huguenot Family of Ravenel, of South Carolina; with Some Incidental Account of the Parish of St. Johns Berkeley, which was Their Principal Location. Atlanta, Ga.: The Franklin Printing and Publishing Co., 1898. Digital version at Google Books. 1964-1973 supplements: FHL Collection 1486610 Items 8-9
  • [Ravenel] Ravenel, Henry Edmund. Ravenel Records New Edition with Penciled Marginal Notes and Annotations, Including a Copy of a Letter to Capt. Daniele Ravenel by Benjamin Mazÿck, 29th June 1776. Dunwoody, Ga.: Norman S. Berg, 1971. FHL Collection 929.273 R196r 1971
  • [Slappey] Slappey, Lennick M. and Mary T. Slappey. Hans (John) George Slappey. Americus, Ga.: L.M. Slappey, Sr., 1982. FHL Collection 929.273 SL13s
  • [Snelgrove] Snelgrove, Price Charles. Freeman Snelgrove and Some of His Descendants. Alford, Fla.: P.C. Snelgrove, 1993. FHL Collection 929.273 Sn27sp
  • [Sparks] Sparks, Kenneth Edgar. The History of a Sparks Family. Vancouver, Wash.: K.E. Sparks, 1974. FHL Collection 1206299 Item 21
  • [Winchester] Crowe, Winifred Winchester. Our Winchester Generation, 1975. Typescript. Microfilmed 1978. FHL Collection 1036648 Item 25

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Because South Carolina was an agricultural state, many residents owned land. For earliest records, search 1) Charleston District, 2) your ancestor’s residential district, 3) neighboring districts, 4) the residential county, 5) neighboring counties. Not all districts and counties kept records. See also South Carolina Land and Property.

Online Land Indexes and Records
The following chart shows where you may best expect to find land records.

Tracing Land Currently in Berkeley County with Parent Counties and Districts[12]
Date Government Office
1882-present Berkeley County
1868-1882 Charleston County
1785-1800 Washington County
1710-1868 Charleston District
1670-1710 Proprietary Land Grants
  • Plats For State Land Grants 1784-1868 For information about the State Land Grants, see State Land Grants
  • Chapman, Charles S. A Working Plan for Forest Lands in Berkeley County, South Carolina. Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1905. Digital version at Google Books.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

  • Lees, William B. "The Historical Development of Limerick Plantation, a Tidewater Rice Plantation in Berkeley County, South Carolina, 1683-1945," The South Carolina Historical Magazine, Vol. 82, No. 1 (Jan., 1981), pp. 44-62. Digital version at JSTOR ($).
  • Bridges, Anne B. St. James Santee Plantation Parish [South Carolina]: History & Records, 1685-1925 ( Spartanburg, South Carolina: The Reprint Co., c1997 ), 541 pages. Civil War pages 195-227. Includes church records for St. James Santee, 1758-1788 (Church of England); previously unpublished records, 1846-1921 (assumed to be Episcopalian). Also includes cemetery records for the church and lists of French and Swiss refugees and inhabitants. The old parish existed in today's Charleston and Berkeley counties. Book found at FHL 975.79 H2bWorldCat 35646490
  • Dubose, Samuel, and Frederick A. Porcher. A Contribution to the History of the Huguenots of South Carolina, Consisting of Pamphlets ([S.l.]: T. Gaillard Thomas, c1972), 48 pages. Historical sketches of the Huguenot families which settled in the alluvial regions within fifty miles of Charleston. FHL book at FHL 975.7 F2dWorldCat 70262880. Digital copies at Google Books and Internet Archives.
  • Easterby, James H. Wadboo Barony: Its Fate as Told in Colleton Family Papers, 1773-1793 (Columbia, South Carolina: University of South Carolina Press, c1952), 684 pages. The barony was located in today's Berkeley County, South Carolina. Book at FHLWorldCat 1854693.
  • Orvin, Maxwell Clayton. Monck's Corner, Berkeley County, South Carolina. Charleston, S.C.?: unknown, 1950. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • Stockton, Robert P. Historic Resources of Berkeley County, South Carolina (Moncks Corner, South Carolina: Berkeley County Historical Society, South Carolina, c1990 ), 71 pages. This work is based on the Berkeley County Architectural and Historical Inventory completed before Hurricane Hugo. Includes descriptions and photos of historical sites. Book found at FHL 975.793 J7hWorldCat 49496986.

Historic Residences

  • Lees, William B. "The Historical Development of Limerick Plantation, a Tidewater Rice Plantation in Berkeley County, South Carolina, 1683-1945," The South Carolina Historical Magazine, Vol. 82, No. 1 (Jan., 1981), pp. 44-62. Digital version at JSTOR ($).

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Clarendon CountyWilliamsburg CountyGeorgetown CountyCharleston CountyDorchester CountyOrangeburg CountySC BERKELEY.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Early migration routes to and from Berkeley County for European settlers included:[13]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Revolutionary War

  • "Pee Dee supplies for the siege of Charleston, 1780," Darlington Flag, Fall 2006, Volume 18, Issue 4. Old Darlington District Chapter, South Carolina Genealogical Society: Hartsville, SC.
  • "Battle of the Great Cane Brake on the Reedy River, 1775," Greenville County Historical Society Proceedings and Papers, 2005, Volume 12. Greenville County Historical Society: Greenville, SC.
  • "Elizabeth Jackson, Waxham women aid Revolutionary soldiers, Charleston, 1781," Chester District Genealogical Society Bulletin, March 2003, Volume 27, Issue 1. Chester County Genealogical Society: Richburg, SC. FHL Book 975.74 D25b, Film 2416428, 2406014, 2416420, 2435185, 1709620.
  • "Rebel prisoners from Charleston, 1780," Ancient City Genealogist, February 2002, Volume 13, Issue 1. St. Augustine Genealogical Society: St. Augustine, Florida.
  • "Nathanael Greene's troops attack British, 1781," St. Lucie River Whig, Summer 2000, Volume 8, Issue 3. St. Lucie River Chapter: Lucie, Florida.
  • "Dorchester its mystery fort," Americana, April 1933, Volume 27, Issue 2. American Historical Society: Somerville, New Jersey. FHL Book 973 B2a

War of 1812

  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Book 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. See Vol. 5, South Carolina, Berkeley County, p. 182. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.

Civil War

Regiments. Berkeley County did not exist during the Civil War. Present day Berkeley County was created 31 January 1882 from Charleston County. During the Civil War, men from the area of Berkeley County mostly would have served in various regiments recruited in Charleston County. Counties were called districts during the Civil War.

Other Resources

  • Bridges, Anne B. St. James Santee Plantation Parish [South Carolina]: History & Records, 1685-1925 ( Spartanburg, South Carolina: The Reprint Co., c1997 ), 541 pages. Civil War pages 195-227. Includes church records for St. James Santee, 1758-1788 (Church of England); previously unpublished records, 1846-1921 (assumed to be Episcopalian). Also includes cemetery records for the church and lists of French & Swiss refugees & inhabitants. The old parish existed in today's Charleston & Berkeley counties. FHL 975.79 H2bWorldCat 35646490.
  • Jervey, Susan Revenel and Revenel, Charlotte St. Julien. Diaries of '65: journals kept by Miss Susan Ravenal Jervey of Northampton Plantation and Miss Charlotte St. Julien Ravenel of Pooshee Plantation. (Johns Island, South Carolina: Philip L. Bradley, 1994). Title of original: Two diaries: from middle St. John's Berkeley, South Carolina, February-May, 1865. FHL Book 975.7 H29d.

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Historic
The Library of Congress has identified the following historic newspapers for Berkeley County, South Carolina on their Chronicling America website. For publication details, including dates of publication, frequency, preceding and succeeding titles, and to find out which libraries have holdings, click on the newspaper title.

University of South Carolina Library Catalog

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Tap into the minds of local experts. Editors of genealogical periodicals publish unique sources that researchers new to their area may not encounter. Periodicals at various levels (county, region, and state) may carry articles useful to research in this area. For more information and links, see South Carolina Periodicals.

See: Periodicals for description.

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Various types of records are created throughout the probate process of settling estates and property, usually after death. These may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information see probate records in South Carolina Probate Records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Tax-related records are kept by the offices of the county Assessor, Auditor, Sheriff, and Treasurer. Taxes were levied on real and personal property and can help establish ages, residences, and relationships. See South Carolina Taxation for online resources and suggestions.

Online Tax Indexes and Records

  • South Carolina Department of Archives and History tax lists for Berkeley County.

Published abstracts

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriage, and death records were not recorded by South Carolina until the 1900s, thus leaving a lack of vital records created by Civil authorities. See South Carolina Vital Records for online resources and suggestions.

Birth[edit | edit source]

State-wide birth registration did not begin until 1915. For records after 1915, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.

Births and Birth Substitutes- Indexes

Marriage[edit | edit source]

In South Carolina, Probate Courts issued and still keep marriage licenses from 1 July 1911 to the present. Licenses were not required before 1911. In the 1700s, the Church of England parish churches were required to record all marriages - even if the couple were not members of the denomination. Statewide registration of marriages started in July, 1950. See South Carolina Vital Records for indexes and more information.

Online Marriage Records and Indexes

Death[edit | edit source]

State-wide death registration began in 1915. For information and online records, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.

Online Death Records and Indexes

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Berkeley County. For state-wide library facilities, see South Carolina Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Berkeley County. For state-wide library facilities, see South Carolina Archives and Libraries.

Berkeley County Library System
The Berkley County Library System comprises six libraries of Berkeley County, South Carolina. The main branch in the system is at Moncks Corner.The Berkeley County Library System is on Facebook and it has a blog.

  • Moncks Corner Library
    Address:
    PO Box 1239
    1003 Hwy. 52
    Moncks Corner, SC 29461
    Telephone: (843) 719-4223
    Fax: (843) 719-4226
    Website: http://www.bcls.sc.gov
    The main collection of genealogical and historical materials is housed in the South Carolina Room of the Moncks Corner library. Some of their holdings include microfilm, microfiche, or book collections
    such as:
    - Death Certificates of South Carolina 1915-1960;
    - Census: Mortality Schedules for South Carolina counties-1850, 1860, 1870, 1880, Census of the United States 1790-1930 (Local Districts/Berkeley County Parishes/Counties), plus the Soundex to the 1930 Census for South Carolina;
    - Newspapers: Berkeley Democrat 27 Sept 1928 - 3 Jan 1990 (no issues available for 1966-1968), Berkeley Independent 21 Oct 1987 - 25 Sept 2002 (Note: Hard copies of the Berkeley Independent (past - present) are available in our General Ref. area- W.P.A. Tombstone Inscriptions, South Carolina Historical Society-- 1930s W.P.A. Inventories of Church Archives (Berkeley County)
    - Histories about Moncks Corner//Berkeley County and other areas in South Carolina
    - Genealogical Magazines
    - Some family histories
    - Cemetery Inscriptions Books (Local)
  • Daniel Island Library
    2301 Daniel Island Drive
    Daniel Island, South Carolina 29492
  • Sangaree Library
    595 Sangaree Parkway
    Summerville, South Carolina 29483
  • Goose Creek Library
    325 Old Moncks Corner Road
    Goose Creek, SC 29445
  • Hanahan Library
    1274 Yeamans Hall Road
    Hanahan, South Carolina 29406
  • Saint Stephen Library
    1104 S. Main Street
    Saint Stephen, South Carolina 29479

Berkeley is located near Charleston City and County which has additional libraries with rich genealogical and historical resources.

Museums[edit | edit source]

  • Berkeley Museum
    950 Stony Landing Road
    Moncks Corner, South Carolina 29461-2944
    (843) 899-5101

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Berkeley County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see South Carolina Societies.

  • Berkeley County-South Carolina Historical Society
    (843) 276-6684
    Facebook

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. South Carolina Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed on 11 April 2021.
  2. South Carolina Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed on 11 April 2021.
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Berkeley County, South Carolina" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Berkeley_County,_South_Carolina. accessed on the 3/27/2019
  4. Voice of Phillip Stalvey, resident of Myrtle Beach, S.C. (2011).
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Berkeley County, South Carolina. Page 611-615 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 607-608.
  6. South Carolina Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed on 11 April 2021.
  7. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), South Carolina .At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  8. Wikipedia contributors, "Berkeley County, South Carolina," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Berkeley_County,_South_Carolina, accessed 21 December 2019.
  9. Workers of the Writers' Program of the Works Projects Administration in the State of South Carolina, Palmetto Place Names (The Reprint Company: Spartanburg, S.C., 1975) 12.
  10. "Berkeley County"
  11. "South Carolina Districts and Parishes 1775" [map] in Carolana at http://www.carolana.com/SC/Royal_Colony/sc_royal_colony_districts_parishes_1775.html (accessed 23 June 2011).
  12. Schweitzer, George K. , South Carolina Genealogical Research (Knoxville, Tennessee: s.p. 1985), 39-42, FHL book 975.7 D27s
  13. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 847-61. (FHL Book 973 D27e 2002) ▲ WorldCat 50140092, and William E. Myer, Indian Trails of the Southeast. (Nashville, Tenn.: Blue and Gray Press, 1971), 12-14, and the book's pocket map "The Trail System of the Southeastern United States in the early Colonial Period" (1923). (FHL Book 970.1 M992i) ▲ WorldCat 1523234.
  14. Mary Bondurant Warren, Citizens and Immigrants--South Carolina, 1768 (Athens, Ga.: Heritage Papers, 1994). Quit Rent begins on page 255.
  15. Ancestry.com. St. Thomas Parish Register, South Carolina, 1680-1884 [database on-line]. Provo, UT, USA: Ancestry.com Operations Inc, 2000. Original data: The Annals and Parish Register of St. Thomas and St. Denis Parish, in South Carolina, from 1680 to 1884. Columbia, SC, USA: Walker, Evans and Cogswell, 1884.
  16. Ancestry.com. St. Thomas Parish Register, South Carolina, 1680-1884 [database on-line]. Provo, UT, USA: Ancestry.com Operations Inc, 2000. Original data: The Annals and Parish Register of St. Thomas and St. Denis Parish, in South Carolina, from 1680 to 1884. Columbia, SC, USA: Walker, Evans and Cogswell, 1884.
  17. Ancestry.com. St. Thomas Parish Register, South Carolina, 1680-1884 [database on-line]. Provo, UT, USA: Ancestry.com Operations Inc, 2000. Original data: The Annals and Parish Register of St. Thomas and St. Denis Parish, in South Carolina, from 1680 to 1884. Columbia, SC, USA: Walker, Evans and Cogswell, 1884.