Bergen County, New Jersey Genealogy
Guide to Bergen County, New Jersey ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
Bergen County is located in the northeast region of the state. It was created in 1683. Hackensack is the county seat. The county was named for Bergen, Norway or Bergen, North Holland.[1]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Bergen County Courthouse
10 Main Street
Hackensack, NJ 07601-7076
Phone: 201-221-0700
Bergen County Website
County Clerk has divorce records from 1955, Court and land records.
County Surrogate has probate records. [2]
Bergen County, New Jersey Record Dates[edit | edit source]
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1901 | 1795 | 1901 | 1785 | 1766 | 1698 | 1830 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county. |
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
|
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]
| Cities | ||
| Boroughs | ||
| Villages | ||
| Townships | ||
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
- 1710, New Barbadoes twp. added from Essex County
- 1807, coastal boundary fixed.
- 7 March 1837, Passaic County was set off. [7]
- 22 February 1840, Hudson County was set off. [8]
- 1852, part of Harrison twp. added as Union twp.
- 1892, coastal boundary clarified.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Biographies[edit | edit source]
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
For tips on accessing census records online, see: New Jersey Census.
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1790 | 12,601 | — |
| 1800 | 15,156 | 20.3% |
| 1810 | 16,603 | 9.5% |
| 1820 | 18,178 | 9.5% |
| 1830 | 22,412 | 23.3% |
| 1840 | 13,223 | −41.0% |
| 1850 | 14,725 | 11.4% |
| 1860 | 21,618 | 46.8% |
| 1870 | 30,122 | 39.3% |
| 1880 | 36,786 | 22.1% |
| 1890 | 47,226 | 28.4% |
| 1900 | 78,441 | 66.1% |
| 1910 | 138,002 | 75.9% |
| 1920 | 210,703 | 52.7% |
| 1930 | 364,977 | 73.2% |
| 1940 | 409,646 | 12.2% |
| 1950 | 539,139 | 31.6% |
| 1960 | 780,255 | 44.7% |
| 1970 | 897,148 | 15.0% |
| 1980 | 845,385 | −5.8% |
| 1990 | 825,380 | −2.4% |
| 2000 | 884,118 | 7.1% |
| 2010 | 905,116 | 2.4% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
- 1855 New Jersey State Census, 1855 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1865 New Jersey State Census, 1865 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1895 New Jersey State Census, 1895 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1915 New Jersey State Census, 1915 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about denominations, view the New Jersey Church Records wiki page.
- 1675-1970 New Jersey, Church Records, 1675-1970 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1666-1788 "The Bergen Church Records (Dutch Reformed)," Year Book of the Holland Society of New York. Baptisms 1666-1782: (1903); Marriages (1904); Burials 1666-1788 (1905). 1903 and 1905 volumes are available online. For access, see Internet Archive.
List of Churches and Church Parishes
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
- 1906-1942 - New York Book Indexes to Passenger Lists, 1906-1942 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
African American[edit | edit source]
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a specific location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See New Jersey Land and Property for information about New Jersey Proprietary land records. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse.
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Your relatives may be included in biographies, in church, school and government history, or in military events and lists. For more information, see New Jersey History and scroll to Local Histories.
- New Jersey Indexes at EveryNameIndex.com — Select the county.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
for more resources
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
Civil War
Regiments. Civil War service men in Bergen County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (part of a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in this county:
- - 65th Regiment, New York Infantry, Company B.
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Online Naturalization Indexes and Records
- 1796-1991 New Jersey Naturalization Records, 1796-1991 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Indexes
- Bergen County Watchman, 1870-1873, Genealogical Society of Bergen County
- Bergen Index March 1875-March 1876, May 1877-Aug 1885, Genealogical Society of Bergen County
- Hackensack Republican 1878-1936, Genealogical Society of Bergen County
- New Jersey Republican, 1878, Genealogical Society of Bergen County
- NJ Citizen (vital records only), May 26, 1871-May 12, 1874, Genealogical Society of Bergen County
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
From 1797 or the creation of the county, probate records were held by the Court of Common Pleas and may have earlier records. In 1852, most of those records were transferred to the Bergen County Probate Court. For more complete information and for online and other resources, see New Jersey Probate Records.
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1656-1999 New Jersey Wills and Probate Records 1656-1999 at Ancestry.com — index and images ($)
- 1670-1760 Calendar of New Jersey Wills 1670-1760 at Ancestry.com — index and images ($)
- 1670-1817 New Jersey Abstract of Wills 1670-1817 at Ancestry.com — index and images ($)
- 1678-1980 New Jersey Probate Records, 1678-1980 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; images only; Use the Surrogate's Docket Index 1700-1972 to obtain the Docket Number for the name. Then, use the Docket Number to locate the correct Estate file.
School Records[edit | edit source]
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch — How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
New Jersey tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information see the wiki page New Jersey Taxation.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. United States Vital Records has additional research guidance on researching and using vital records. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the New Jersey Vital Records State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. Original marriage records are usually held at the county Bureau of Vital Statistics.
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1600-1990 New Jersey Vital Records, Historical Society of Pennsylvania at Findmypast — index & images, ($)
- 1660-1980 New Jersey Births and Christenings, 1660-1980 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index & images; Also at: Ancestry Index ($)
- 1746-1795 New Jersey Baptisms 1746-1795 at Findmypast — index, ($)
- 1901-1903 New Jersey, Reclaim the Records, New Jersey Birth Index, 1901-1903 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1600s-1900s US Marriages, New Jersey at Findmypast — index, ($)
- 1670-1965 New Jersey Marriage Records, 1670-1965 at Ancestry — index & images, ($)
- 1670-1980 New Jersey Marriages, 1670-1980 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index & images
- 1678-1985 New Jersey Marriages, 1678-1985 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index & images
- 1683-1802 New Jersey Marriage Records, 1683-1802 at Ancestry — index & images, ($)
- 1684-1895 New Jersey Compiled Marriage Records, 1684-1895 at Ancestry — index, ($)
- 1901-1914 New Jersey Marriage License Index, 1901-1914 at MyHeritage — index, ($)
- 1901-2016 New Jersey Marriage Index, 1901-2016 at Ancestry — index, ($);
- 1901-2016 New Jersey Marriage Index, 1901-2016 at Findmypast - Browse index ($)
- 1915-2016 New Jersey Marriage License Index, 1915-2016 at MyHeritage — index, ($)
- For a complete list of all New Jersey Marriage databases
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1600-1990 New Jersey Vital Records, Historical Society of Pennsylvania at Findmypast — index & images, ($)
- 1798-1971 New Jersey Deaths and Burials Index, 1798-1971 at Ancestry — index, ($)
- 1848-1878 Death Records, May 1848 - May 1878 at New Jersey State Archives - index, $ for photocopies
- 1878-1900 Death Records, June 1878 - December 1900 at New Jersey Department of State — index, $ for photocopies
- 1901-1929 New Jersey Death Index, 1901-1903; 1916-1929 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index & images
- 1901-2017 The New Jersey Death Index at New Jersey Death Index — index; Also at: Ancestry index ($)
- 1920-2017 New Jersey Death Index, 1920-1929, 1949-2017 at MyHeritage — index, ($)
- For a complete list of all New Jersey Death databases
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
- Caldwell New Jersey Family History Center
- Emerson New Jersey Family History Center
- Fardale New Jersey Family History Center
- Ledgewood New Jersey Family History Center
- Maplewood New Jersey Family History Center
- Morristown New Jersey Family History Center
- Newark New Jersey Family History Center
- Passaic New Jersey Family History Center
- Paterson New Jersey Family History Center
- Morris County Library - an affiliate library
- Morristown & Morris Township Library - an affiliate library
- Ridgewood Public Library - an affiliate library
- New Providence Memorial Public Library - an affiliate library
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Bergen County Genealogy Society
PO Box 432
Midland Park
Website
Bergen County Historical Society
120 Main Street
River Edge
Bergen County Historical Society
1201 Main St
PO Box 55
River Edge, New Jersey 07661-0055
Telephone: 201-343-9492
Website
Mahwah Historical Society
1871 Old Station Lane
Mahwah 07430
Telephone: 201-891-9049
Pascack Historical Society
19 Ridge Avenue Park Ridge
NJ 07656
Telephone: 201-573-0307
E-mail:info@pascackhistoricalsociety.org
Website
Ridgewood Historical Society
650 E. Glen Avenue
Ridgewood
E-mail:info@ridgewoodhistoricalsociety.org
Website
Upper Saddle River Historical Society
245 Lake Street
Upper Saddle River NJ 07458
Telephone: 201-327-864
Website
Websites[edit | edit source]
- The Bergen County NYGenWeb Project, a member of The NJGenWeb Project, an affiliate of The USGenWeb Project.
- Bergen County NJ Genealogy
- The USGenWeb Archives Project for Bergen County.
- Bergen County Genealogical Society
- FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Bergen County, New Jersey" in Wikipedia : the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bergen_County,_New_Jersey accessed 29 August 2018.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Bergen County, New Jersey page 464, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Bergen County, New Jersey . Page 464-465 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 460.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 181. [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002).At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Bergen County, New Jersey," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bergen_County,_New_Jersey, accessed 8 August 2019.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 181. [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 181. [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
