Benton County, Oregon Genealogy
Guide to Benton County, Oregon ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Benton County, Oregon | |
| Map | |
 Location in the state of Oregon, United States Genealogy | |
 Location of Oregon in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | December 23, 1847 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Corvallis |
| Courthouse | |
 | |
| Address | Benton County Courthouse 180 NW 5th Street Corvallis, OR 97330-4777 Phone: 541.757.6800 Benton County Website |
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named for Thomas Hart Benton, a U.S. Senator who advocated American control over the Oregon Country. The County is located in the northwest area of the state.
[1]
Benton County, Oregon Record Dates[edit | edit source]
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1907 | 1850 | 1907 | 1850 | 1850 | 1850 | 1845 |
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
County Clerk has birth and death records from 1907
marriage, divorce, probate, court and land records from 1850
and military discharge records from 1919. [3]
Records held at County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
- County Records Inventory listing the records held at the Benton County Court House as of July 2006.
- Record Loss:
A wiki article describing an online collection is found at:
Oregon, Benton County Records - FamilySearch Historical Records
Quick Facts[edit | edit source]
Named after Thomas Hart Benton, U.S. Senator from Missouri, who advocated U.S. control over Oregon Country.
Parent County[edit | edit source]
23 December 1847: from Polk County. [4]
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
20 February 1893: Lincoln County. 28 January 1851: Umpqua County.
For animated maps illustrating Oregon County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Oregon County Boundary Maps" (1843-1975) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Places / Localities[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator.
The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[5]
| Cities | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
| Census-designated places | ||
Post Offices
- Alpine: The post office was established in 1912.
- Alsea: The post office was not established until July 1871, with Thomas Russell postmaster.
Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]
Trivia Tidbits[edit | edit source]
Information about localities, too small or too brief to describe in separate pages. Exception to this are Post Offices. > Trivia Tidbits
Resources[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
| Tombstone Transcriptions Online | Tombstone Transcriptions in Print | List of Cemeteries in the county |
| Findagrave.com | Family History Library | Findagrave.com |
| ORGenWeb | WorldCat | Billion Graves |
| ORGenWeb Archives | FamilySearch Places | |
| Tombstone Project | ||
| ORInterment | ||
| ORGravestones | ||
| Billion Graves | ||
| See Oregon Cemeteries for more information. | ||
Census[edit | edit source]
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1850 | 814 | — |
| 1860 | 3,074 | 277.6% |
| 1870 | 4,584 | 49.1% |
| 1880 | 6,403 | 39.7% |
| 1890 | 8,650 | 35.1% |
| 1900 | 6,706 | −22.5% |
| 1910 | 10,663 | 59.0% |
| 1920 | 13,744 | 28.9% |
| 1930 | 16,555 | 20.5% |
| 1940 | 18,629 | 12.5% |
| 1950 | 31,570 | 69.5% |
| 1960 | 39,165 | 24.1% |
| 1970 | 53,776 | 37.3% |
| 1980 | 68,211 | 26.8% |
| 1990 | 70,811 | 3.8% |
| 2000 | 78,153 | 10.4% |
| 2010 | 85,579 | 9.5% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
Church History and Records[edit | edit source]
List of Churches and Church Parishes
County Records[edit | edit source]
- 1856-1984 - Oregon, Benton County Records, 1856-1984 at FamilySearch — index and images
Court[edit | edit source]
Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
History[edit | edit source]
Land and Property[edit | edit source]
Maps[edit | edit source]
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
for more resources
Military History and Records[edit | edit source]
Civil War[edit | edit source]
- 1861-1865 - Oregon, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
World War I[edit | edit source]
- 1919-1920 - Oregon, World War I, County Military Service Records, 1919-1920 at FamilySearch — index
- 1921-1938 - Oregon, World War I, Veteran State Aid Applications, 1921-1938 at FamilySearch — index and images
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Online Records
- 1850-1885 - Benton County Oregon list of probate files SAMPUBCO - Browsable index of testators of wills. - free
- 1833 – 1963 Oregon Wills and Probate Records 1833-1963 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
Rivers and Waterways[edit | edit source]
Details about the rivers and waterways where farms and settlements are often found along them. >> Rivers and Waterways
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
See also How to order Oregon Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for Oregon Birth Certificate, Marriage Certificate, Divorce Certificate, Death Certificate Application to mail.
Birth Records[edit | edit source]
- 1842-1917 Oregon, Oregon State Archives, Births, 1842-1917 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index & images (*); Also at: Ancestry
- 1860 - 1952 Oregon Births, 1860-1952 at FamilySearch — index
Delayed Birth Certificates
Birth Registers
Marriage Records[edit | edit source]
- 1826-1975 - Oregon, United States Marriages at Findmypast — index $
- 1842-1917 Oregon, U.S., State Births, 1842-1917 at Ancestry - index and images ($); Also at: FamilySearch
- 1849-1884; 1991-2006 - Oregon Marriage Index, 1849-1884; 1991-2006 at FamilySearch — index and images; collection is incomplete.
- 1906-1968 Oregon, U.S., State Marriages, 1906-1968 at Ancestry - index and images ($)
- Extractions of early marriages are listed on the Western States Marriage Index
- Marriage Index 1885-1896 Actually is a book of affiants reporting the marriages. Historical Records Collection
Death Records[edit | edit source]
Societies, Libraries and Museums[edit | edit source]
Benton County Genealogical Society
1100 Block of Main St 2nd Floor
Philomath 97370
Website
Benton County Historical Society
1101 Main Street
Philomath 97370
Telephone: 541-929-6230
Website
Facebook Page
Corvallis-Benton County Public Library
645 NW Monroe Ave
Corvllis, OR 97330
541-766-6793
Website
Facebook Page
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
- Oregon Genealogical Society, Inc. - an affiliate library
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Oregon, Benton County Records, 1856-1984
- FamilySearch Benton County Marriage records
- Benton County Genealogical Society
- Benton County Genealogical Society on Facebook
- Benton County OR GenWeb Project, an member of The ORGenWeb Project
- Pioneers of Benton County
- Corvallis - Benton County Public Library
- BCGS Library Shelf List
- BCGS Library Shelf List (2015) of Benton County
- Cyndis List for Benton County
- Benton County, OR History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Oregon Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- Linkpendium
- The USGenWeb Archives Project for Benton County
- The USGenWeb Archives Project for Benton County
- FamilySearch.org FamilySearch Catalog for Benton County
- Oregon, Benton County Records - FamilySearch Historical Records
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Benton, Oregon" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Benton_County,_Oregon accessed 27 Nov 2018
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Benton County, Oregon . Page 572-574 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 563-564.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Benton County, Oregon page 572, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ WorldCat 50140092Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed.] (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Benton County, Oregon," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Benton_County,_Oregon, accessed 13 September 2018.
{{Oregon-stub))
