Bennington County, Vermont Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Bennington County, Vermont ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Bennington
Organized: February 11, 1779
Parent County(s): Colonial lands
Neighboring Counties
Rutland  • Windsor  • Windham  • Berkshire (MA)  • Franklin (MA)  • Rensselaer (NY)  • Washington (NY)
See County Maps
Courthouse
Vermont, Bennington County Courthouse.png
Location Map
Vt-bennington.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County is located in the southwest area of the state. [1]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Bennington County Courthouse
207 South Street
Bennington, VT 05201
Phone: 802-447-2700
Bennington County Vermont

Town Clerks have birth, marriage, death and burial records.
County Clerk has divorce records from 1899 and court records from 1861.
Probate Judge has probate records.

Bennington County, Vermont Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[2]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
at town creation at town creation at town creation 1861 1782 1778 1790
*Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1857. General compliance year is unknown.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

New YorkWashington CountyRutland CountyWindsor CountyVermontBennington CountyWindham CountyMassachusettsFranklin CountyBerkshire CountyRensselaer CountyPownalBenningtonShaftsburyArlingtonSandgateRupertDorsetPeruLandgroveManchesterWinhallSunderlandGlastenburyWoodfordSearsburgReadsboroStamfordBerlinPetersburghHoosickWhite CreekJacksonSalemHebronHartfordGranvillePawletDanbyMount TaborWestonAndoverLondonderryWindhamJamaicaTownshendWardsboroStrattonSomerstDoverNewfaneWilmingtonMarlboroHalifaxWhitinghamWilliamstownClarksburgNorth AdamsAdamsSavoyFloridaMonroeRoweCharlemontHeathColrain
Modern town borders in Bennington County, Vermont.



For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[4]

Towns
Villages
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places


Extinct Town: Glastenbury (incorporation ended 1937)[5]

Towns Organized before 1800:

  • Arlington 1761
  • Bennington 1749
  • Dorset 1761
  • Glastenbury 1761
  • Landgrove 1780
  • Manchester 1761
  • Peru 1761
  • Pownal 1760
  • Rupert 1761
  • Sandgate 1761
  • Shaftsbury 1761
  • Sunderland 1761
  • Winhall 1761 [6]

History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Bennington County, Vermont online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Vermont Cemeteries for more information.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Federal

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1790 12,206
1800 14,617 19.8%
1810 15,893 8.7%
1820 16,125 1.5%
1830 17,468 8.3%
1840 16,872 −3.4%
1850 18,589 10.2%
1860 19,436 4.6%
1870 21,325 9.7%
1880 21,950 2.9%
1890 20,448 −6.8%
1900 21,705 6.1%
1910 21,378 −1.5%
1920 21,577 0.9%
1930 21,655 0.4%
1940 22,286 2.9%
1950 24,115 8.2%
1960 25,088 4.0%
1970 29,282 16.7%
1980 33,345 13.9%
1990 35,845 7.5%
2000 36,994 3.2%
2010 37,125 0.4%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

State
1785

Church Records[edit | edit source]

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Online Land Indexes and Records

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

RutlandWindsorWindhamFranklin, MassachusettsBerkshire, MassachusettsRensseaer, New YorkWashington, New YorkVT BENNINGTON.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War
Online Civil War Indexes and Records

Regiments. Regiments and Companies:

- 2nd Regiment, Vermont Infantry
- 4th Regiment, Vermont Infantry, Company A
- 5th Regiment, Vermont Infantry, Company E

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

There are two Bennington County Probate Districts

  • Bennington District: Bennington, Glastenbury, Pownal, Readsboro, Searsburg, Shaftsbury, Stamford and Woodford.
  • Manchester District: Arlington, Dorset, Landgrove, Manchester, Peru, Rupert, Sandgate, Sunderland and Winhall.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Town Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Early Vermont vital records were kept on the town level, and beginning dates varied from place to place. Statewide requirements started in 1779. Statewide registration began in 1857, with town clerks sending copies of the previous year’s vital events to the secretary of state. For online indexes, collections, and more information, see Vermont Town Records and Vermont Vital Records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Bennington County. For state-wide facilities, see Vermont Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Bennington County. For state-wide library facilities, see Vermont Archives and Libraries.

Museums[edit | edit source]

  • Winhall Museum
    PO Box 607
    Bondville, VT 05340
    802-297-2459

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Bennington County. For state-wide genealogical and historical societies, see Vermont Societies.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Bennington, Vermont" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bennington_County,_Vermont accessed 5 Dec 2018
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Bennington County, Vermont . Page 698-699 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 686-687.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Vermont.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "Bennington County, Vermont" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bennington_County,_Vermont, accessed 27 June 2022.
  5. Michael J. Leclerc, Genealogist's Handbook for New England Research, 5th ed. (Boston, Mass.: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2012), 394. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974 D27g 2012.
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 698. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.