Belknap County, New Hampshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Belknap County, New Hampshire ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Laconia
Organized: 1 Jan 1841[1]
Parent County(s): Strafford [2]
Neighboring Counties
Carroll  • Grafton  • Merrimack  • Strafford
See County Maps
Courthouse
New Hampshire, Belknap County Courthouse.png
Location Map
Nh-belknap.png
Adoption
Nh-Jeremy Belknap.jpg

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Belknap County is located in the central region of the state. The county was named for Jeremy Belknap, a renowned preacher, historian, and author of The History of New Hampshire. [3]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Belknap County Courthouse
64 Court Street
Laconia, NH 03246-3679
Phone: 603-524-3570
Belknap County Website

Town or City Clerks have birth, marriage and death records.
Clerk of the Superior Court has divorce and court records.
Probate Judge has probate records from 1841.
Register of Deeds has land records from 1841.[4]

Belknap County, New Hampshire Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[5]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1841 1841 1841 1841 1841 1841 1790
*Statewide registration for births and deaths started 1866. General compliance by 1901.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

NH Belknap Co towns map.png


For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[8]

Cities
Towns
Villages
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places


Towns Organized before 1800:
Alton 1796
Barnstead 1727
Centre Harbor 1797
Gilmanton 1727
Meredith 1768
New Hampton 1777
Sanbornton 1770

History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

  • Biographical Review Publishing Company, Biographical review containing life sketches of leading citizens of Belknap and Strafford Counties, New Hampshire, (Salt Lake City, Utah Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1969). Available online at Internet Archive.Also available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1000199 Item 1, or FHL US/CAN Film 599185 Item 1.

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Belknap County, New Hampshire online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See New Hampshire Cemeteries for more information.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1850 17,721
1860 18,549 4.7%
1870 17,681 −4.7%
1880 17,948 1.5%
1890 20,321 13.2%
1900 19,526 −3.9%
1910 21,309 9.1%
1920 21,178 −0.6%
1930 22,623 6.8%
1940 24,328 7.5%
1950 26,632 9.5%
1960 28,912 8.6%
1970 32,367 12.0%
1980 42,884 32.5%
1990 49,216 14.8%
2000 56,325 14.4%
2010 60,088 6.7%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about New Hampshire denominations, view the New Hampshire Church Records Wiki page. For tips on how to determine denomination, view the New Hampshire Research Tips and Strategies Wiki page.

  • Smith Meeting House, Gilmaton, NH (Deaths 1788-1818)
  • Membership Records of the Smith Meeting House of Gilmanton, NH
  • Marriages Performed by Rev'd Isaac Smith, Smith Meeting House, Gilmanton, NH
  • Records from the SMITH MEETING HOUSE at Gilmanton, NH
  • Lakeport First Baptist Church - Contains a list of ministers and names of all who are or have been members of this church since its foundation in 1806 until the present time.

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Online Court Indexes and Records

  • Court judgements, 1841-1917
  • indexes to judgements, 1841-1921
  • Court of Common Pleas, 1841-1859
  • Supreme Judicial Court, 1855-1874
  • Circuit Court, 1874-1876
  • Supreme Court, 1876-1900
  • Superior Court, 1901-1917. There are plaintiff and defendant indexes.

Directories[edit | edit source]

  • Laconia (New Hampshire) city directories, (Woodbridge, Connecticut Research Publications, [199-?]). Available at the Family History Library, 4 microfilm reels, FHL US/CAN Film.
  • The town register Meredith, Tilton, Gilmanton, Sanbornton, Gilford, Belmont, New Hampton, 1908, (Salt Lake City, Utah Digitized by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 2008). Available online at Internet Archive.Also available at the Family History Library,
  • Ancestry.com has city directories available online for many New Hampshire cities.
  • The Family HIstory Library has a large collection of city directories available on microfilm and microfiche. See the Library Catalog, New Hampshire, [name of town or city] - Directories.

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents. See New Hampshire Land and Property for additional information about early New Hampshire land grants. A

Online Land Indexes and Records

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section New Hampshire Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Grafton CountyCarroll CountyStrafford CountyMerrimack CountyNH BELKNAP.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


For historical publications and online resources for the state, see the pages: New Hampshire Maps and New Hampshire Gazetteers.

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Revolutionary War

The most complete listing of New Hampshire Revolutionary War soldiers is found in volumes 14-17 of the New Hamsphire State Papers. You can go to the New Hampshire state government site. There you will find an every-name index to volumes 14-17. Then you can go, at that same site, to the needed volume and page for information on the soldier. Often the place of residence is given.
For a military history of New Hampshire, see: Potter, Chandler Eastman, The Military History of the State of New Hampshire. Concord, N.H.: McFarland and Jenks, 1866. (Family History Library film 1033664; fiche 6046858.) You can search this book for the name of your ancestor at ancestry.com. You can look at this book page by page at the Library of Congress site, however the name search function does not work very well. This history comprises events from the first settlements in New Hampshire to the rebellion in 1861. It includes biographical notices of many of the officers and explanatory notes.

War of 1812
See Potter's book above for information on the War of 1812. See also the New Hampshire Online Records box at the beginning of this wiki article.

Civil War

Regiments. Civil War service men from Belknap County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are many companies or regiments that were formed from men of Belknap County:

- 1st Regiment, New Hampshire Cavalry, Troops B, C, E, F, G, and H.
- 1st Regiment, New Hampshire Heavy Artillery, Company G.
- 4th Regiment, New Hampshire Infantry, Company D.
- 5th Regiment, New Hampshire Infantry, Company E.
- 6th Regiment, New Hampshire Infantry, Company I.
- 8th Regiment, New Hampshire Infantry, Companies D, F and G.
- 12th Regiment, New Hampshire Infantry, Companies A, B, C, D, E, G, H, and I.
- 15th Regiment, New Hampshire Infantry, Companies A, G, and H.
- 18th Regiment, New Hampshire Infantry, Company C.

World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

At www.genealogybank.com they are making available digital images of some New Hampshire newspapers. You can search their site for the name of your ancestor. For example they have some newspapers for Concord, Dover, Exeter, and Portsmouth as of August 2012. Check this site for the town or city of interest.

Newspaperarchive.com ($) has historical newspapers available on-line. You can search it free at Family History Centers. It is listed under Premium Websites at the Family History Center Portal. Their database has Portsmouth,NH newspapers from the early 1900's covering local news that included residents from Belknap County communities.

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

In most counties in New Hampshire, probate records have been kept by the county. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.


Online Probate Indexes and Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Online Tax Indexes and Records

Town Records[edit | edit source]

Town records are an important source of family history information from the 1600s to about the 1940s. The early New Hampshire town records to about 1850 have an every-name index. The index and film numbers are listed just above in the Taxation section. On the cards M.R. indicates there is a marriage record, and F.R. indicates that the family members are listed. Many town records are still in the town offices.

To see the types of family history information you might find in town records please go to the heading Town Records in our New Hampshire wiki article.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Certified copies of of birth, death, and marriage records are available from the State Division of Vital Records Administration or from the local city and town clerk where the event took place. Original records are kept by the city or town clerk and copies are sent to the state. In 1905, when the state created the Bureau of Vital Records and Health, printed cards were distributed to the local clerks and earlier vital records were transcribed onto the cards and submitted to the state.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Belknap County Public Libraries, (accessed 20 August 2011).Website

  • Historical Records Survey (New Hampshire), Inventory of the County Archives of New Hampshire, no. 1, Belknap County, (Manchester, New Hampshire The Survey, 1938).Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.245 A3h, or FHL US/CAN Film 1750733 Item 35.
  • Historical Records Survey (New Hampshire),Inventory of the County Archives of New Hampshire, [No. 5, Grafton County] (Manchester, New Hampshire The Survey, 1940).Database available online at ancestry.com($). This inventory is for Grafton County. It will give you an idea of the many types of records that can be found in a New Hampshire courthouse like the one for Belknap.

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Belknap County Historical Societies as listed by CountyOffice.org
Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 181. [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 181. [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Belknap County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Belknap_County,_New_Hampshire accessed 25 September 2018.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Belknap County, New Hampshire page 452, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Belknap County, New Hampshire. Page 452-453. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 436.
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 181. [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
  7. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 181. [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
  8. Wikipedia contributors, "Belknap County, New Hampshire," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Belknap_County,_New_Hampshire, accessed 6 November 2018.