Belize Genealogy
Guide to Belize ancestry, family history and genealogy parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
| Belize Wiki Topics | |
 | |
| Beginning Research | |
| Record Types | |
| Belize Background | |
| Cultural Groups | |
| Local Research Resources | |
| Moderator | |
|
| |
Country Information[edit | edit source]
Belize is a country in Central America on the borders of Mexico and Guatemala. Previously it was a colony of Great Britain. The official language is English.
Getting Started[edit | edit source]
Getting Started with Belize ResearchLinks to articles on getting started with Belize research. |
Belize Research ToolsLinks to articles and websites that assist in Belize research. |
Belize Map[edit | edit source]
Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Belize.
Districts[edit | edit source]
Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Belize. Click on a place below to go to the corresponding Wiki article listing more information.
Belize is divided into six districts:
The Districts are further divided into Constituencies; there are currently 31 Constituencies in Belize. Important to note is that these Constituencies have changed very often in the past: renaming, subdividing into more Constituencies, and even changing of boundaries are common. For example, Toledo (the Constituency) was divided into Toledo North and Toledo South in 1961; but was changed completely to Toledo East and Toledo West in 1984.
FamilySearch Resources[edit | edit source]
Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.
- Facebook Communities - Facebook groups discussing genealogy research
- Latin America FamilySearch Tutorials Latin America Research
- Historical Records
- Family History Center locator map
