Guide to Belgium ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Belgium Wiki Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
The FamilySearch moderator for Belgium is Daniel Jones.
Country Information[edit | edit source]
Getting Started[edit | edit source]
Getting Started with Belgium Research
Links to articles on getting started with Belgium research.
Belgium Research Tools
Links to articles and websites that assist in Belgium research.
Finding Your Ancestors' Town in Belgium[edit | edit source]
- Genealogical records are organized by geographical locality. Civil registration (government birth, marriage, and death records) and church records (christenings/baptisms, marriages, and burials) were kept at the local level.
- If you do not know your ancestors' town, follow the advice in the Wiki article Belgium Finding Town of Origin to search a variety of records that might provide that information.
Belgium Clickable Map[edit | edit source]
Jurisdictions[edit | edit source]
Brussels (Bruxelles) capital region
Flanders region (five provinces) -- Dutch Speaking:
- Antwerp (Antwerpen) Province
- Limburg Province
- East Flanders (Oost-Vlaanderen) Province
- Flemish Brabant (Vlaams-Brabant) Province
- West Flanders (West-Vlaanderen) Province
Wallonia Region (five provinces) -- French Speaking:
- Walloon Brabant (Brabant wallon) Province
- Hainaut Province
- Liège Province
- Luxembourg Province
- Namur Province
Note: As a result of the 1993 constitutional revision that furthered devolution into a federal state, there are now three levels of government (federal, regional, and linguistic community) with a complex division of responsibilities.
FamilySearch Resources[edit | edit source]
Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.
- Facebook Communities - Facebook groups discussing genealogy research
- Learning Center - Online genealogy courses
- Historical Records
- Family History Center locator map
- FamilySearch Help Center Online Lessons:
Other Resources[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Belgium," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Belgium, accessed 4 may 2016.