Bath County, Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Bath County, Virginia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Warm Springs
Organized: May 1, 1791
Parent County(s): Augusta, Botetourt, Greenbrier (WV)
Neighboring Counties
Alleghany  • Augusta  • Greenbrier (WV)  • Highland  • Pocahontas (WV)  • Rockbridge
See County Maps
Courthouse
VirginiaBathCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Location of Bath County, Virginia.PNG
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Bath County is located in the Southwest portion of the Commonwealth of Virginia sharing a border with West Virginia. It was named for England's resort City of Bath because it, too, is the home to a number of warm mineral springs[1].

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Bath County Courthouse
65 Courthouse Hill Road
Warm Springs, VA 24484-0180
Phone: 540-839-7226
Bath County Website

Clerk Circuit Court has birth records 1854-1880, death records 1854-1870, divorce records, probate, land and court records from 1791[2]

Bath County, Virginia Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[3]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate Census
1853 1790 1853 1791 1791 1791 1810
* Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1912.
General compliance year is unknown.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

  • Lost censuses: 1800, 1890
  • For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[5]

Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

The county is named after the resort town of Bath, England.[6]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

For databases and indexes, see Virginia Bible Records.

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Bath County, Virginia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Virginia Cemeteries for more information.

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For databases, indexes, and information online, see Virginia Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1800 5,508
1810 4,837 −12.2%
1820 5,237 8.3%
1830 4,002 −23.6%
1840 4,300 7.4%
1850 3,486 −18.9%
1860 3,676 5.5%
1870 3,795 3.2%
1880 4,482 18.1%
1890 4,587 2.3%
1900 5,595 22.0%
1910 6,538 16.9%
1920 6,389 −2.3%
1930 8,137 27.4%
1940 7,191 −11.6%
1950 6,296 −12.4%
1960 5,335 −15.3%
1970 5,192 −2.7%
1980 5,860 12.9%
1990 4,799 −18.1%
2000 5,048 5.2%
2010 4,731 −6.3%
Source: "Wikipedia.org". United States Census Bureau.

1785

  • Botetourt County, Va., 1785 Enumeration. 1972. By Charles T. Burton. Troutville, Virginia : Burton. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library.

1790
1800 Lost, but a substitute is available, see Taxation

1810

1840

  • 1840 Bath County, Virginia Census. 2004. By James L. Douthat. Signal Mountain, Tenn : Mountain Press. Free online surname index at Mountain Press.

1890 Union Veterans

Church Records[edit | edit source]

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Online Court Indexes and Records
Library of Virginia has a Chancery Records Index in which Bath County chancery court records can be searched for the years 1793-1919. Records are maintained on microfilm and at the Clerk's Office.

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

For databases and immigrant groups, see Virginia Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African Americans

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Compiled Genealogies by Surname

Compiled Genealogies for Multiple Families

  • Hardesty, H.H. and James S. Presgraves. Rockbridge County and Bath County: Families & History; Reprinted from Hardesty's Historical and Geographical Encyclopedia, Chicago, etc., 1884. Wytheville, Va.: Bookworm & Silverfish, 2001. FHL Book 975.58 D2p.
  • Watson, H. Lee. Summary of Records of Bath County, Virginia: Approximately 1850-1900. 4 vols. Sunland, Calif.: H.L. Watson, c2002. FHL Books 975.587 D2w v. 1-4. Includes Bath County, Virginia, compilation of families: based on birth, marriage and census records.

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

For land indexes, records, and databases, see Virginia Land and Property, including Colonial and State Land Grants.

Online Land Indexes and Records

Grants and Patents

  • Sims Index to Land Grants in West Virginia. c1992. By Edgar Barr Sims. Springfield, Virginia : Genealogical Books in Print. FHL US/CAN Book 975.4 R22w 1992.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

County and state maps, historical and more current, are valuable research tools. For map collections, online and in libraries, see Virginia Maps.

Clifton Forge (Independent City)Covington (Independent City)Lexington (Independent City)Buena Vista (Independent City)Rockbridge CountyAlleghany CountyAugusta CountyHighland CountyPocahontas CountyGreenbrier CountyVA BATH.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Revolutionary War

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. 1841. Washington : Blair and Rives. Online at: Internet Archive, Google Books; At various libraries (WorldCat).
  • Index to Revolutionary Pension and Bounty-Land Documents at the Library of Virginia. 2012. Compiled by C. Leon Harris. Online at: Library of Virginia.

War of 1812
Bath County men served in the 81st Regiment.[7]

  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... 1883. Washington, D.C : Government Printing Office. Online at: Internet Archive, Google Books.

Civil War

Regiments: Civil War service men in Bath County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed here:

- 11th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry. Company F (The Bath Grays) and Company G (The Bath Guards).[8]
- 18th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company G.[9]
- 25th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Heck's) (Confederate). Company B (Bath Grays).[10]
- 26th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company E.[11]
- 47th Battalion, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Companies A and B.[12]
- 52nd Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company K (Bath Rifles).[13]

Records and histories are available, including:

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

For online newspaper resources, see the Virginia Newspapers page.

  • Professor Tom Costa and The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia have created a database of all runaway advertisements for slaves, indentured servants, transported convicts, and ship deserters listed in the Virginia Gazette and other Virginia newspapers (1736-1803), see: The Geography of Slavery in Virginia.
  • Bath County News-Outlook - full text of more than 100 issues freely available via Google Newspaper Archive

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Petitions

  • Virginia State Library: A Calendar of Legislative Petitions Arranged by Counties Accomac - Bedford. 1908. By H.J. Eckenrode. Richmond, Virginia: Davis Bottom, Superintendent of Public Printing. Online at: Google Books. Bath County petitions (1777-1863) are described on pp. 194-210.

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

For probate records, indexes, and databases, see Virginia Probate Records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

For additional online collections and the value and use of Virginia's tax lists in your research, see Virginia Taxation.

Online Tax Indexes and Records

Online Bath County, Virginia Tax Lists
Type Index Images
Free FHC Fee Free FHC Fee
Tithes 1782 -
Tithes 1783 -
Personal Property 1791, 1791 - 1791 -
Personal Property - 1792-1799 -
Personal Property - 1800 - 1800 -
Personal Property - 1801-1852 -

Bibliography

  • 1782 1782 Tithables online at Genealogy Trails.
  • 1783 1783 Tithables online at Genealogy Trails.
  • 1791 1791 Heads of Families online at Genealogy Trails.
  • 1791 1791 Bath County, Virginia Personal Property Tax List. Online at: New River Notes.
  • 1793 Tax List, Delinquent, 1793, Bath County Heritage Newsletter, Issue 15 (Fall 1987).
  • 1800 Bath County, Virginia, 1800 Tax List. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 7, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1963):21-28. Online at: American Ancestors by NEHGS ($). FHL 975.5 B2vg
  • 1815 1815 Directory of Virginia Landowners (and Gazetteer). 1997-2000. By Roger D. Ward. Athens, Georgia : Iberian Pub. Co. 6 vols. FHL 975 E4w v. 5 The source for this publication is the 1815 land tax. Bath County is included in Vol. 5.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

For additional indexes, databases, and details, see Virginia Vital Records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Bath County. For state-wide facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Bath County. For state-wide library facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Bath County Historical SocietyWebsite

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Bath County. For state-wide genealogical and historical societies, see Virginia Societies.

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. https://discoverbath.com/
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Virginia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Wikipedia contributors, "Bath_ County,_Virginia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bath_County,_Virginia#Communities accessed 12 November 2019.
  6. Wikipedia Contributors, "Bath County, Virginia," in Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bath_County,_Virginia, accessed 13 January 2012.
  7. Stuart Lee Butler, A Guide to Virginia Militia Units in the War of 1812 (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1988), 50. FHL Book 975.5 M2bs.
  8. Richard L. Armstrong, 11th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1989). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 52.
  9. Roger U. Delauter, 18th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1985). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 18.
  10. Richard L. Armstrong, 25th Virginia Infantry and 9th Battalion Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1990). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 71.
  11. Richard L. Armstrong, 26th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1994). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 110.
  12. Richard L. Armstrong, 26th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1994). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 110.
  13. Robert J. Driver, 52nd Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1986). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 23 and supp.