Bartow County, Georgia Genealogy
Guide to Bartow County, Georgia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named for Francis S. Bartow and is located in the northeast area of the state.[2]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Bartow County Courthouse
135 W Cherokee Ave
PO Box 543
Cartersville, GA 30120-0543
Phone: 770-387-5030
Bartow County Website
Probate Court has birth, marriage and probate records.
Clerk Superior Court has divorce records from 1862, court records from 1869, land records from 1837 and military discharge records.[3]
Bartow County, Georgia Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1919 | 1836 | 1919 | 1869 | 1937 | 1837 | 1820 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
1864 During the American Civil War the Cass County (now Bartow County) Courthouse was destroyed on 30 October. Many records were saved, including marriages, deeds, and estate papers.[5]
|
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website. |
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]
| Cities | ||
|
||
| Towns | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
| Ghost towns | ||
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
- Bartow County Bible Records at Bartow County GenWeb
- Bartow County Bible Records at Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project
Biographies[edit | edit source]
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1840 | 9,390 | — |
| 1850 | 13,300 | 41.6% |
| 1860 | 15,724 | 18.2% |
| 1870 | 16,566 | 5.4% |
| 1880 | 18,690 | 12.8% |
| 1890 | 20,616 | 10.3% |
| 1900 | 20,823 | 1.0% |
| 1910 | 25,388 | 21.9% |
| 1920 | 24,527 | −3.4% |
| 1930 | 25,364 | 3.4% |
| 1940 | 25,283 | −0.3% |
| 1950 | 27,370 | 8.3% |
| 1960 | 28,267 | 3.3% |
| 1970 | 32,663 | 15.6% |
| 1980 | 40,760 | 24.8% |
| 1990 | 55,911 | 37.2% |
| 2000 | 76,019 | 36.0% |
| 2010 | 100,157 | 31.8% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Methodist
Cassville Methodist Church
- 1887-1916 Cassville Methodist Church Baptism Index 1887-1916. Batch C712071 at FamilySearch[8]
- 1892-1894 Cassville Methodist Church Marriage Index 1892-1894. Batch M712071 at FamilySearch[9]
Court Records[edit | edit source]
- 1853-1904 Court of Ordinary Minutes, 1853-1904(*); Court of Ordinary at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1864-1868 Inferior Court Minutes, 1864-1868 [Bartow County, Georgia](*); Inferior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1865-1903 Superior Court Minutes, 1865-1903(*); Superior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
- Barton Funeral Home in Adairsville
- Mack Eppinger and Son Funeral Services in Cartersville
- Owen Funeral Home in Cartersville
- Parnick Jennings Funeral Home and Cremation Services in Cartersville
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
- 1735-1866 Georgian Colonial and Headright Plat Index, 1735-1866 at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault - alpha index
- 1783-1909 Headright and Bounty Plats, 1783-1909 at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault - images with alpha index
- 1805-1833 District Plats of Survey at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault - images organized by county and district
- Colonial Plats and Warrants at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault - images with alpha index
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Bartow County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.
- Cunyus, Lucy Josephine. The History of Bartow County: Formerly Cass. Cartersville, Ga.: Printed by Tribune Pub. Co., c1933. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
for more resources
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
- 1740s-? Historic Map File at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault - images
- 1866 - 1935 County Map File at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault - images
- Maps of Georgia (1758-1932)
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
- Bartow County, Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project
- Cass County, Georgia Cass County Military USGenWeb Archives Project
Civil War
Online Records
- 1861-1865 Georgia Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index — How to Use this Collection
- 1861-1865 Georgia Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index — How to Use this Collection
- 1861-1865 U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861-1865 U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry— index (free)
- 1861-1865 Confederate Enlistment Oaths and Discharges at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault- images and alphabetical index
- 1861-1865 Confederate Muster Rolls at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault- images; filter by commanding officer, service branch and regiment
- 1861-1865 Confederate Pension Application Supplements - images and alphabetical index; filter by county
- 1864 Militia Enrollment Lists, 1864 - images; filter by county
- 1867-1868 Georgia, Reconstruction Registration Oath Books, 1867-1868 at FamilySearch — index — How to Use this Collection
- 1879-1920 Georgia, Confederate Pension Rolls, 1879-1920 at FamilySearch — index — How to Use this Collection
- 1879-1960 Confederate Pension Applications - images and alphabetical index; filter by county
Regiments. Service men in Bartow County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Bartow County:
- - 1st Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), 1st and 2nd Companies E
- - 14th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company K
- - 18th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies F, G, H and K
- - 19th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company K
- - 22nd Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company G
- - 23rd Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company A
- - 36th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Broyles') (Confederate), Company D
- - 40th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies B and H
- - 41st Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company C
- - 54th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate)
- - 60th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies H and K
- - 63rd Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company I
- Bartow County Genealogical Society (Ga.). 1995. Bartow County, Georgia heritage book. Cartersville, Ga: The Society. (page 12 - 8th Battalion Companies A and B from Bartow, Gordon, and Floyd counties) FHL Collection Other Libraries
- Confederate roster 1861-1865, of Bartow Co., Ga. at Family History Library.
- Civil War and Reconstruction Era, Cass/Bartow County, Georgia. The Civil War was a watershed moment in the lives of Cass/Bartow Countians. This work explores the impact of the Civil War on the community.
Civil War Battle
The following Civil War battles were fought in Bartow County.
- May 17, 1864 Adairsville[10]
- October 5, 1864 Allatoona[11]
- Map showing Civil War battles in Georgia.
Spanish-American War
- 1898 Spanish-American War Service Summary Cards - images and alphabetical index; filter by residence, muster location and unit
World War I
- 1914-1918 World War I Casualties Scrapbooks - images and alphabetical index
- 1920-1929 Georgia, World War I, Statement of Service Cards, 1920-1929 at FamilySearch — index and images — How to Use this Collection
World War II
- 1940-1942 Georgia World War II Draft Registration Cards 1940-1942 at findmypast - index ($))
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- 1800s-1999 U.S., Newspapers.com Marriage Index, 1800s-1999 at Ancestry - index ($)
- Georgia Historic Newspapers at Digital Library of Georgia
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Voting Records
- 1867-1868 Georgia, Reconstruction Registration Oath Books, 1867-1868 at FamilySearch — index — How to Use this Collection
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Colonial courts kept some early probate records. From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records. The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.
Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1733-1753 Colonial Wills at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault - images with alpha index
- 1742-1990 Georgia Probate Records, 1742-1990(*) at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index & images
- 1742-1992 Georgia Wills and Probate Records 1742-1992 at Ancestry — index and images ($)
- 1754-1776 Colonial Will Books at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault - images with alpha index
- 1836-1856 Images of Bartow County, Georgia Wills at Georgia Pioneers ($)
- 1836-1885 Index to Bartow County, Georgia Will Book A at Georgia Pioneers ($)
- 1836-1922 Bartow County Georgia list of will book testators SAMPUBCO - Browsable index of testators of wills.
- 1836-1922 Wills, 1836-1922 [Bartow County, Georgia](*); Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Bartow County) at FamilySearch Catalog — index and images
- 1852-1856 Administrators', guardians', and executors' returns, 1852-1856(*); Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Bartow County) at FamilySearch Catalog — index and images
- 1853-1856 Index to Bartow County, Georgia Annual Returns, Guardians, Executors, Administrators Book H at Georgia Pioneers ($)
- 1853-1866 Index to Bartow County, Georgia Inventories, Appraisements, Distributions, Sale Bills Vol. A at Georgia Pioneers ($)
- 1853-1908 Probate records, 1853-1908(*); Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Bartow County) at FamilySearch Catalog — index and images
- 1856-1862 Index to Bartow County, Georgia Annual Returns, Guardians, Executors, Administrators Book I at Georgia Pioneers ($)
- 1856-1901 Annual returns, 1856-1901(*); Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Bartow County) at FamilySearch Catalog — index and images
- 1856-1901 Letters of administration and guardianship, 1856-1901 [Bartow County, Georgia](*); Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Bartow County) at FamilySearch Catalog — index and images
- 1858-1926 Guardian bonds, 1858-1926(*); Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Bartow County) at FamilySearch Catalog — index and images
- 1858-1910, 1920 Administrators bonds, 1858-1910, 1920(*); Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Bartow County) at FamilySearch Catalog — index and images
- 1860-1863 Index to Bartow County, Georgia Annual Returns, Guardians, Executors, Administrators Book K at Georgia Pioneers ($)
- 1866-1895 Index to Bartow County, Georgia Inventories, Appraisements, Distributions, Sale Bills, Vol. B at Georgia Pioneers ($)
- 1867-1870 Index to Bartow County, Georgia Annual Returns, Guardians, Executors, Administrators Book M at Georgia Pioneers ($)
- 1885-1922 Index to Bartow County, Georgia Will Book A at Georgia Pioneers ($)
School Records[edit | edit source]
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information. — How to Use this Collection
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and all slaves up to age 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.
- 1787-1900 Georgia, Tax Digests, 1787-1900 at FamilySearch — How to use this collection, index and images
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.
For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia.
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1870-1960 Georgia, County Delayed Birth and Death Records, 1870-1960 at FamilySearch — index, and some images — How to Use this Collection
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1560-1993 Georgia, United States Marriages at Findmypast — index ($)
- 1699-1944 Georgia Marriages 1699-1944 at Ancestry — index $
- 1754-1960 Georgia Church Marriages, 1754-1960 at FamilySearch — index and images — How to Use this Collection
- 1785-1950 Georgia County Marriages 1785-1950 at FamilySearch — index and images — How to Use this Collection
- 1787-1962 Georgia, Church Marriages, 1787-1962 at FamilySearch — index — How to Use this Collection
- 1808-1967 Georgia Marriages 1808-1967 at FamilySearch — index — How to Use this Collection
- 1828-1978 Georgia Marriage Records from Select Counties 1828-1978 at Ancestry — index and images ($)
- 1836-1869 Bartow County Marriage Books B thru E Index 1836-1869. Batch M712061 at FamilySearch[12]
- 1869-1882 Bartow County Marriage Books F and G Index 1869-1882. Batch M712062 at FamilySearch[13]
- 1882-1889 Bartow County Marriage Book H Index 1882-1889. Batch M712063 at FamilySearch[14]
- 1889-1895 Bartow County Marriage Books I and J Index 1889-1895. Batch M712064 at FamilySearch[15]
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1870-1960 Georgia, County Delayed Birth and Death Records, 1870-1960 at FamilySearch — index, and some images — How to Use this Collection
- 1914-1927 Georgia Deaths 1914-1927 at FamilySearch — index and images — How to Use this Collection
- 1919-1998 Georgia Deaths 1919-1998 at Ancestry — index ($)
- 1919-1930 Georgia Death Certificates at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault - index and images
- 1928-1930 Georgia Non-Indexed Death Certificates at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault - images
- 1928-1942 Georgia Deaths, 1928-1942 at FamilySearch — index and images — How to Use this Collection
- 1933-1998 Georgia Death Index 1933-1998 at FamilySearch — index — How to Use this Collection
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Bartow County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Georgia Archives and Libraries.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Bartow County. For state-wide library facilities, see Georgia Archives and Libraries.
- Bartow County Genealogical Society and Family Research Library
101 N. Erwin St.
Cartersville, GA 30120
Phone: 770-606-0706
Website
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Bartow County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Georgia Societies.
Bartow County Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 993
101 North Erwin Street
Cartersville, GA 30120-0993
Phone: 770-606-0706
Bartow County Genealogical Society
Etowah Valley Family Tree Climbers (Bartow County)
P O Box 1886
Cartersville, GA 30120
Etowah Valley Family Tree Climbers
Northwest Georgia Historical & Genealogical Society
Northwest Georgia Historical & Genealogical Society
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Georgia Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- USGenWeb Bartow County, Georgia project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county.
- GAGenWeb Archives
- Bartow County, Georgia Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Bartow, Georgia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bartow_County,_Georgia." accessed 31 Oct 2018
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Bartow County, Georgia. Page 151-163 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 155-160.
- ↑ Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 15. At various libraries (WorldCat).
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Bartow County, Georgia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bartow_County%2C_Georgia, accessed 29 January 2019.
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/0/09/Igigeorgiaad.pdf.
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/0/09/Igigeorgiaad.pdf.
- ↑ Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 13 August, 2012)
- ↑ Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 13 August, 2012)
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/0/09/Igigeorgiaad.pdf.
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/0/09/Igigeorgiaad.pdf.
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/0/09/Igigeorgiaad.pdf.
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/0/09/Igigeorgiaad.pdf.
