Bartholomew County, Indiana Genealogy
Guide to Bartholomew County, Indiana ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth, marriage, death, census, family history, and military records.
 | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
Bartholomew County was named for Lt. Col. Joseph Bartholomew; who was wounded at the Battle of Tippecanoe. [1] The county is located in the south-central area of the state.[2]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Bartholomew County Courthouse
440 3rd St; PO Box 924
Columbus, IN 47202-0924
Phone: 812-379-1600
County Website
Bartholomew County Health Department
440 Third Street, Suite 303
Columbus, IN, 47201
Phone Number: 812-379-1550
Fax: 812-379-1040
Health Department
County Clerk has marriage, probate, and court records from 1821, naturalization, cemetery and military records.
County Recorder has land records from 1821.
Vital Statistics has birth and death records from 1882 [3]
Health Department has birth records and death records.
Copies may be obtained from the county health department or the Indiana State Division of Vital Records.
Bartholomew County, Indiana Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1882 | 1821 | 1882 | 1821 | 1821 | 1821 | 1807 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county. |
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
|
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]
| Cities | ||
| Towns | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
| Census-designated places | ||
| Townships | ||
| Ghost towns | ||
|
|
|
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Biographies[edit | edit source]
- Biographical Record of Bartholomew County, Indiana. 1904. B.F. Bowen, Publ. Online at: Google Books
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
- ca 1885-ca. 2000 - Indiana, Bartholomew, Columbus, Garland Brook Cemetery Interment Records, ca.1885-ca.2000 at FamilySearch — index
Census Records[edit | edit source]
For tips on accessing Bartholomew County census records online, see: Indiana Census.
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1830 | 5,476 | — |
| 1840 | 10,042 | 83.4% |
| 1850 | 12,428 | 23.8% |
| 1860 | 17,865 | 43.7% |
| 1870 | 21,133 | 18.3% |
| 1880 | 22,777 | 7.8% |
| 1890 | 23,867 | 4.8% |
| 1900 | 24,594 | 3.0% |
| 1910 | 24,813 | 0.9% |
| 1920 | 23,887 | −3.7% |
| 1930 | 24,864 | 4.1% |
| 1940 | 28,276 | 13.7% |
| 1950 | 36,108 | 27.7% |
| 1960 | 48,198 | 33.5% |
| 1970 | 57,022 | 18.3% |
| 1980 | 65,088 | 14.1% |
| 1990 | 63,657 | −2.2% |
| 2000 | 71,435 | 12.2% |
| 2010 | 76,794 | 7.5% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
- Residents of Bartholomew County, Indiana (1821) at Indiana Genealogical Society ($)
- Index to Defective, Dependent & Delinquent Census for Bartholomew County, Indiana (1880) at Indiana Genealogical Society ($)
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository.
For more information about these major repositories, see Indiana Church Records.
List of Churches and Church Parishes
The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
Ward and Branch Records of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
- Columbus
Lutheran
- 1840-1901 - St. John's Lutheran Church, Baptism Index 1840-1901 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch. Batch C725371 [8]
- 1840-1901 - St. John's Lutheran Church, Marriage Index 1840-1901 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch. Batch M725371 [8]
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents. See Indiana Land and Property for additional information about early Indiana land grants and patents.
After land was transferred from the government to private ownership, subsequent transactions were recorded at the Bartholomew County courthouse, where records are currently housed.
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Bartholomew County. County histories may include biographies; church, school and government histories; and military information. For more information about local histories, see Indiana Local Histories.
- Atlas of Bartholomew Co., Indiana. 1879. Chicago, Illinois : J.H. Beers. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library; At various libraries (WorldCat).
- History of Bartholomew County, Indiana. 1888. Chicago, Illinois : Brant & Fuller. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, Internet Archive; At various libraries (WorldCat).
- The People's Guide...a Historical Sketch of Bartholomew Co., and a Brief History of Each Township. 1874. By Cline & McHaffie. Indianapolis, Ind. : Indianapolis Printing and Publishing House. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, Hathitrust, Internet Archive; At various libraries (WorldCat).
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
for more resources
- Old Antique Atlases & Maps of Indiana
- Historic Indiana Atlases for Bartholomew County at University Library (IUPUI)
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
Civil War
Civil War service men from Bartholomew County served in various regiments. Men often joined a regiment or a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are the military units that were formed in or had many men from Bartholomew County.
- 6th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company B, and Reorganized Company C, and G
- 8th Regiment, Indiana Cavalry, Company F
- 10th Regiment, Indiana Cavalry, Companies B, K, and L
- 11th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Reorganized Company F
- 13th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company K, Reorganized Company E
- 19th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company H
- 22nd Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies E, and G
- 30th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Reorganized Company A
- 33rd Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies G, and I
- 40th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company G
- 93rd Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies A, C, E, and F
- 120th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company A
- 128th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company H
- 140th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company A, D, E, and K
- 144th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company H
- 145th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies A, and H
- 28th US Colored Troops, Addition Recruits for Colored Troops
Civil War Book:
- Military History, Chapter 6 in History of Bartholomew County, Indiana: From the Earliest Time to the Present, with Biographical Sketches, Notes, Etc.: Together with a Short History of the Northwest, the Indiana Territory, and the State of Indiana. (Chicago: Brant; Fuller, 1888.),( page 431-469, Regiment, Companies); 977.224 H2h v. 1; v.2 FHL US/CAN Book FHL Collection; FamilySearch Digital Book; INTERNET ARCHIVE
World War I
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
- Naturalization Record Series (for this county) at Indiana Digital Archives. Search by names.
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Indiana newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.
For more Indiana newspaper information see the wiki page Indiana Newspapers.
- 1800s-1999 U.S., Newspapers.com Marriage Index, 1800s-1999 at Ancestry - index ($)
- Hoosier State Chronicles
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Voting Records
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
In most counties in Indiana, probate records have been kept by the county clerk of the circuit court. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the Bartholomew County courthouse. For more information, see Indiana Probate Records.
- 1798-1999 Indiana Wills and Probate Records 1798-1999 at Ancestry $
School Records[edit | edit source]
- Graduates of Columbus Central High School (1922) at Indiana Genealogical Society ($)
- Selected Alumni of Columbus Central High School (1872-1921) at Indiana Genealogical Society ($)
- Teachers of Columbus Central High School (1922) at Indiana Genealogical Society ($)
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Indiana tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information see the wiki page Indiana Taxation.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Indiana law in 1882 required registration of births and deaths in counties. The Indiana Department of Health has birth records filed after October 1907 and death records filed after January 1900 for deaths. Copies may be obtained from the county health department or the Indiana State Division of Vital Records.
Birth[edit | edit source]
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1780-1992 Indiana Marriages, 1780-1992 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; Also at: MyHeritage ($)
- 1800s-2007 Indiana, United States Marriages at Findmypast ($)
- 1802-1892 Indiana Marriages, 1802-1892 at Ancestry ($)
- 1811-1959 Indiana, Marriages, 1811-1959 at MyHeritage - index and images, ($)
- 1811-2007 Indiana Marriages, 1811-2007 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
Death[edit | edit source]
- Pre-1882 WEB: Indiana, Deaths, Pre-1882 at Ancestry.com - index, (Free collection)
- 1750-1993 Indiana Deaths and Burials, 1750-1993 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1882-1920 Indiana, Death Index, 1882-1920 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1899-2011 Indiana, Death Certificates, 1899-2011 at Ancestry ($)
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Bartholomew County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Indiana Archives and Libraries.
Bartholomew County Archives Department
234 Washington Street
Columbus, IN 47201
Phone: 812-379-1503
Website
Bartholomew County Historian
1130 Franklin St.
Columbus, IN 47201-5710
Phone: 812-376-8826
Email: harry@therepublic.com
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
- Columbus Indiana Family History Center
- Martinsville Indiana Family History Center
- Bartholomew County Public Library - an affiliate library.
- Greensburg-Decatur County Public Library - an affiliate library.
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Bartholomew County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Indiana Archives and Libraries.
Bartholomew County Public Library
536 Fifth Street
Columbus, IN 47201
Phone: 812-379-1255
Website
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Bartholomew County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Indiana Societies.
Bartholomew County Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 2455
Columbus, IN 47202-2455
Email: revmdspeer@hotmail.com
Website
Facebook
Bartholomew County Historical Society
524 Third Street
Columbus, IN 47201
Phone: 812-372-3541
Email: info@bartholomewhistory.org
Website
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Indiana Digital Archives Search by name in all records or specific collections
- Indiana Historical Society Digital Collections Search by county or keyword
- Indiana Memory Click the map or select a statewide collection
- List of indexes and databases at Indiana State Library
- Indiana Genealogical Society Databases Free and Members-only. Select a county
- EveryNameIndex.com for Indiana Free online genealogy indexes for county histories. Select a county.
- INUSGenWeb project, Bartholomew. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Bartholomew County, Indiana Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Genealogy Trails History Group, “Bartholomew County, Ohio Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/ind/bartholomew/ accessed 2/27/2017.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Bartholomew County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bartholomew_County,_Indiana accessed 2/27/2017.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Indiana.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Indiana.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Indiana.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Bartholomew County, Indiana" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bartholomew_County,_Indiana (accessed 10 May 2012).
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Bartholomew County, Indiana," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bartholomew_County,_Indiana, accessed 19 November 2019.
- ↑ 8.0 8.1 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/9/91/Igiindiana.pdf.
