Ambox warning yellow.svg.png
Planned Maintenance:
FamilySearch will be performing a server update on Saturday morning at 2:00am MDT during which time the wiki may be briefly unavailable.

Barnwell County, South Carolina Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Barnwell County, South Carolina ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Barnwell
Organized: April 16, 1868[1]
Parent County(s): Barnwell District[2]
Neighboring Counties
Aiken  • Allendale  • Bamberg  • Burke (GA)  • Orangeburg
See County Maps
Courthouse
South Carolina, Barnwell County Courthouse.png
Location Map
Sc-barnwell.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for John Barnwell, a local figure in the Revolutionary War. The County is located in the southwest area of the state.[3]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Barnwell County Courthouse
57 Wall Street
Barnwell, SC 29812
Phone: 803-541-1020
Barnwell County Website

County Pronunciation
Hear it spoken.[4]

Barnwell County, South Carolina Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[5]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1915 1911 1915 mid 1700s mid 1700s 1800 1790
*Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1915. General compliance by 1918.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

  • Probate records (1781-87) and clerk of court's records, including deeds (1791-99), were destroyed with the records of Orangeburg County in February 1865.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]

Cities
Towns


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Barnwell County, South Carolina online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See South Carolina Cemeteries for more information.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For all existing and online Federal population schedules of South Carolina, see South Carolina Census. See also USGenWeb Census Project, South Carolina, including links to transcribed files.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1800 7,376
1810 12,280 66.5%
1820 14,750 20.1%
1830 19,236 30.4%
1840 21,471 11.6%
1850 26,608 23.9%
1860 30,743 15.5%
1870 35,724 16.2%
1880 39,857 11.6%
1890 44,613 11.9%
1900 35,504 −20.4%
1910 34,209 −3.6%
1920 23,081 −32.5%
1930 21,221 −8.1%
1940 20,138 −5.1%
1950 17,266 −14.3%
1960 17,659 2.3%
1970 17,176 −2.7%
1980 19,868 15.7%
1990 20,293 2.1%
2000 23,478 15.7%
2010 22,621 −3.7%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

1800

  • Jarrell, Lawrence E. Early Barnwell, South Carolina Census. High Point, N.C.: Alligator Creek Genealogy Publications, 1998. FHL Collection 975.79 X2j

1810

  • Jarrell, Lawrence E. Early Barnwell, South Carolina Census. High Point, N.C.: Alligator Creek Genealogy Publications, 1998. FHL Collection 975.79 X2j

1820

  • Jarrell, Lawrence E. 1820 Barnwell District, South Carolina Census. High Point, N.C.: Alligator Creek Genealogy Publications, 1998. FHL Collection 975.77 X2j 1820

1820 Manufactures
The original manufactures schedules for South Carolina are kept at the NARA, Washington, D.C. FHL copies: FHL Collection 1024517 - 1024518.

1840 Revolutionary War Pensioners

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. Washington, D.C.: Blair and Rives, 1841. FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840; FHL Collection 2321; digital version at Google Books. See South Carolina, Barnwell District on page 142.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Barnwell County Churches identifies dozens of churches in the area, courtesy: South Carolina Genealogical Society.

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African Americans

Known plantations South Carolina Plantations:

  • Aeolian Lawn
  • Back Pen - Barnwell - also called Banksia Hall, Old Manville House, The Pond
  • Banksia Hall
  • Briarwood
  • Cedar Hall
  • Cowden
  • Duncannon
  • Elko
  • Ervings
  • Fairmount - Blackville - also called Kilkenny, Old Reynolds Pla
  • Fiddle Pond - Kline
  • Goose Pond
  • Grimkie
  • Humble Cot
  • Kilkenny - Blackville - also called Fairmount, Old Reynolds Place
  • Midway
  • O'Bannon
  • O'Bininanze
  • Pine Forest
  • The Pond - Barnwell - also called Back Pen, Banksia Hall, Old Manville House
  • Richmount
  • River
  • Short Staple - Barnwell
  • Silver Bluff
  • Simmons
  • Trotti Place - also called Briarwood
  • Vale
  • Ward

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

  • Manning, Edna Anderson. Manning Collection, Barnwell County, South Carolina Records, 1717-1965. MSS., South Caroliniana Library, Columbia, S.C. 15 vols. FHL Collection 1841506
  • [Bassett] Bassett Family Association and Jeffrey N. Bassett. Splinters from the Tree. New Haven, Conn.: Bassett Family Association of America, 1897-. FHL Collection 929.27305 B294f
  • [Bilbo] Bilbo Family Bible Records, 1779-1940. MSS. Microfilmed 1971. FHL Collection 850402 Item 2
  • [Boyd] DeHuff, Elizabeth Willis. The Family of Rueben Boyd (1769-1827) of Barnwell County, South Carolina. Augusta, Ga.: E.W. DeHuff, 1963. FHL 929.273 B692de
  • [Bradley] Drake, Charles E.F. "Benoni Bradley of Beaufort: A Connecticut Yankee in the Low Country," The South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Reseach, Vol. 33, No. 3 (Summer 2005):127-132. FHL Book 975.7 B2sc v. 33
  • [Brown] Johnston, Ernest. Brown and Hallonquist: An Account of the Ancestors of Benjamin Franklin Brown (1814-1884) and His Wife, Catherine Ann Hallonquist (1830-1894) of Barnwell, South Carolina. Shepherdstown, W. Va.: [E. B. Johnston], 1998. FHL 929.273 B812jeb
  • [Bush] Kelly, Wilhelmina Rhodes. The Hines Bush Family: and Other Related People of Color from Barnwell District, South Carolina, 1842-2004. Tucson, Ariz.: Hats Off Books, 2004. FHL 929.273 B963k
  • [Collins] Vaughn, Michael J. The Family and Pedigree of Henry Rampy (1817-1866): South Carolina to Texas. Waco, Texas: M.J. Vaughn, 1998. FHL Book 929.273 R148v
  • [Creel] Creel, George Edison, Theo Lula Creel Manning, and Daniel Thomas Creel. Creel Family History -- April 2003. Hernando Beach, Fla.: G.E. Creel, 2003. FHL Collection 929.273 C861cg
  • [Creel] Creel, Jeanne V. The Road to Slocumb. [Lecanto, Fla.]: J.V. Creel, 2004. FHL Collection CD-ROM no. 1703
  • [Dunbar] DeHuff, Elizabeth Willis. Ancestors of the Francis Fickling Dunbar Family of South Carolina. Augusta, Ga.: De Huff, [1954?]. FHL Collection 929.273 D911d
  • [Dunbar] DeHuff, Elizabeth Willis. The Dunbar Family of Barnwell County, South Carolina. Augusta, Ga.: E.W. DeHuff, 1970. FHL 929.273 D911da
  • [Dyess] Trammell, Pamela Karen Veuleman. The Descendants of the Dyess Brothers of Barnwell, South Carolina: A Heritage of Which We Can All Be Proud. Texarkana, Texas: P.K.V. Trammell, 1994. FHL 929.273 D989t ; Supplement: FHL 929.273 D989t supp.
  • [Dyess] Trammell, Pamela Karen Veuleman. Dyess Newsletter. Texarkana, Texas: Tri-State Genealogical Research, 1995. FHL 929.27305 D989
  • [Fender] Cheek, Mrs. John L. Record of the Fender Family in the United States: Also Cheek and Allied Families. Typescript, microfilmed 1977. FHL Collection 1036555 Item 35
  • [Hair] DeHuff, Elizabeth Willis. Aid in Genealogical Research on the Hair Family of Barnwell County, South Carolina. Augusta, Ga.: E.W. DeHuff, 1966. FHL 929.273 H127d
  • [Hallonquist] Johnston, Ernest. Brown and Hallonquist: An Account of the Ancestors of Benjamin Franklin Brown (1814-1884) and His Wife, Catherine Ann Hallonquist (1830-1894) of Barnwell, South Carolina. Shepherdstown, W. Va.: [E. B. Johnston], 1998. FHL 929.273 B812jeb
  • [Hiers] Hiers, James Lawrence. The Hiers Geneology (Heyer, Hyer, Hier, Hire, Hires, Hiers) And Allied Families Platts, Rentz, Fender, Varn, Carter, Parker, Croft, Kinard, Others. Columbia, SC: R. L. Bryan, 1974.
  • [Harter] Smith, Mannie George. The Harters of Barnwell District South Carolina (c. 1753). Columbia, S.C.: R. L. Bryan, 1994. FHL 1598285 Item 6
  • [Holly] Henderson, Beulah Holly. The Holly-Graham Families and Their Descendants from the Seventeenth Century. Ocala, Fla.: B.H. Henderson, 1954. FHL Collection 929.273 H729he
  • [Holly] MacDowell, Dorothy K. The Holly/Holley Family: Early Barnwell & Edgefield Districts, South Carolina. Aiken, S.C.: D.K. MacDowell, [198-?]. FHL 929.273 H729m
  • [Howell] Clark, Betty Lane. Joseph Howell, Revolutionary Soldier of Old Barnwell District, S. C.: and Allied Families. Typescript, 1971. FHL 907986 Item 1
  • [McCreary] McCreary, Richard A. The McCrearys of Barnwell County, S. C. Columbia, S.C.: R.A. McCreary, 1991. FHL 929.273 M137ma
  • [Middleton] Brown, Leslie H. "John Middleton of Hampton, Va., and Onslow County, N.C.," The American Genealogist, Vol. 55, No. 3 (Jul. 1979):161-162. FHL 973 D25aga v. 55
  • [O'Bannon] DeHuff, Elizabeth Willis. The Family of Thomas O'Bannon of Fauquier County, Virginia, and Barnwell County, South Carolina. Augusta, Ga.: E.W. DeHuff, 1969. FHL 929.273 Ob1d
  • [Prescott] Prescott, Adell Taylor. Moses and Susannah (Warren) Prescott and Their Descendants. Greenville, N.C.: A. Prescott, 1985. FHL Collection 929.273 P921pa
  • [Richardson] Davis, Anne Richardson. Richardson and Allied Lines of the Southeast: Including Powell, McRae, Johnson, Garriss, Lightsey, Waller, Cook, Sheppard & Gatch. Darien, Ga.: Sea Griffin Pub., 2000. FHL Collection 929.273 R393da
  • [Rigdon] Gillett, Jean Thomson. Descendants of Ephraim Rigdon and the Southern Migration. 1998. FHL Collection 929.273 R448g
  • [Sandefer] Harp, Goldie. The Descendants of Joshua A. Sandefer. [Longview, Wash.]: G. Harp, 1996. FHL Collection 929.273 Sa56hg
  • [Simmons] Simmons, William W. Data Pertaining to Richard Simmons Family (1770-1814) and Other Families of Pike County, Mississippi. Cleveland, Miss.: William W. Simmons, 1955. FHL Collection 929.273 Si47sw
  • [Smith] Woodruff, Caldwell. Captain Aaron Smith, of Old Ninety-six, South Carolina, Who with His Wife, Five Children and Five Negro Slaves, was Massacred by Cherokee Indians, 1 July 1776: With an Account of His Four Sons: Ezekiel Smith of Hancock County, Georgia; Major John Carraway Smith, of Jones County, Georgia; Thos. Keeling Smith, of Putnam County, Georgia and Lieutenant Aaron Smith, Jr., of Barnwell County, S. C. Typescript, Georgia Historical Society Collection, Savannah, Ga. Microfilmed 1959. FHL 203244 Item 1
  • [Stansel] Owen, Thomas McAdory. A Genealogy of the Stansel Family. Carrollton, Ala.: West Alabamian Printing, 1900. FHL Collection 1429793 Item 18; digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • [Tobin] Hagood, Johnson. Meet Your Grandfather, a Sketch-Book of the Hagood-Tobin Family. Charleston, S.C.: n.p., 1946. FHL Collection 929.273 H123h
  • [Tobin] Tobin Family Scrapbook. Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library.
  • [Touchstone] Sandel, Mary E. and Elias Wesley Sandel. The Touchtones of Maryland, Virginia, North & South Carolina, Georgia, Mississippi and Louisiana. [Amite, La.]: M.E. & E.W. Sandel, 1972. FHL Collection 929.273 T642sm
  • [Treadway] Thompson, Opal Treadway and Ted Thompson. Treadway, a History of the Treadway Family of Barnwell County, South Carolina. North Augusta, S.C.: O.T. Thompson, 1991. FHL 929.273 T71tot
  • [Valentine] Greer, Richard Dale. Valentine Family History. MSS., Larkin Edwards Room, Shreveport Memorial Library. Microfilmed 2001. FHL Collection 2243264 Item 1
  • [Weathersbee] DeHuff, Elizabeth Willis. The Weathersbee Family of Halifax and Martin Counties, North Carolina and Barnwell County, South Carolina. [Augusta, Ga.]: E.W. De Huff, 1965. FHL 929.273 W378a Supplement: FHL Collection 929.273 W378a supp.
  • [Williams] Fanning, Lawrence R. Ancestors and De[s]cendants of Charles Preston Williams and Nancy Tisdale Williams. Columbia, S.C.: L.R. Fanning, 1971. FHL Collection 929.273 W67fa; digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library.
  • [Willis] DeHuff, Elizabeth Willis. The Family of Robert Willis of Barnwell County, South Carolina. Augusta, Ga.: E.W. DeHuff, 1957. FHL 929.273 W679we; 1960 update: FHL Collection 929.273 W679we supp. 1; 1962 update: FHL 929.273 W679we supp. 2; 1965 update: FHL Collection 929.273 W679we supp. 3
  • [Wilson] DeHuff, Elizabeth Willis. Family of the Rev. James Wilson of Barnwell County, South Carolina. [Augusta, Ga.]: E.W. DeHuff, 1958. FHL 9.273 W694de; 1963 edition: FHL 929.273 W694de 1963
  • [Woodward] Geiger, Linda Woodward. "Probate Records of Charles Woodward of Barnwell District: An Analysis," The South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Vol. 26, No. 1 (Winter 1998):3-8. FHL Book 975.7 B2sc v. 26
  • [Woolley] Hill, Joseph Edward. Woolley Family of Conyers, Georgia: The Children and Grandchildren of Basel Woolley (1803-1881) and His Wife Susannah Cumba (1808-1880). Decatur, Ga.: J.E. Hill, 1963. FHL Collection 978079 Item 8
  • [Young] Young, Roy B. Forever Young. 2 vols. Duncan, Okla.: Young & Sons Enterprises, 1992-1994. FHL Collection 929.273 Y85yr

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Because South Carolina was an agricultural state, many residents owned land. For earliest records, search 1) Charleston District, 2) your ancestor’s residential district, 3) neighboring districts, 4) the residential county, 5) neighboring counties. Not all districts and counties kept records. See also South Carolina Land and Property.

Online Land Indexes and Records
The following chart shows where you may best expect to find land records.

Tracing Land Currently in Barnwell County with Parent Counties and Districts [8]
Date Government Office
1868-Present Barnwell County
1800-1868 Barnwell District
1791-1799 Records Lost*
1786-1791 Winton County"
1769-1786 Records Lost"*
1719-1769 Charleston District
1710-1719 Proprietary Land Grants
  • Plats For State Land Grants 1784-1868 For information about the State Land Grants, see State Land Grants
  • Orangeburg District records destroyed by fire

Deeds
The original Barnwell County deed books are kept at the county courthouse. An index to deeds exists for the years 1779-1884, but only the years 1789-1851 have been microfilmed. All of these films are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah. The "Deeds, 1789-1851; index to deeds, 1779-1884" collection on FamilySearch also contains browsable digital images of the direct index to deeds, as well as deeds from 1789-1826:

  • Direct index to deeds 1779-1884 FHL film #23282 (digital images online)
  • Deeds, v. 1 1789-1792 Deeds, v. A-B 1799-1806 FHL film #23283 (digital images online)
  • Deeds, v. C-D 1806-1810 FHL film #23284 (digital images online)
  • Deeds, v. E-G 1810-1814 FHL film #23285 (digital images online)
  • Deeds, v. H-J 1814-1818 FHL film #23286 (digital images online)
  • Deeds, v. K-M 1817-1821 FHL film #23287 (digital images online)
  • Deeds, v. N-P 1821-1826 FHL film #23288 (digital images online)
  • Deeds, v. Q-R 1826-1831 FHL film #23289
  • Deeds, v. S-T 1831-1834 FHL film #23290
  • Deeds, v. U-V 1834-1838 FHL film #23291
  • Deeds, v. W-X 1838-1842, 1852 FHL film #23292
  • Deeds, v. AA-BB 1842-1847 FHL film #23293
  • Deeds, v. CC-DD 1847-1851 FHL film #23294

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

The county was named after the John Barnwell, a leader during the Revolutionary War. The South Carolina Railroad brought people to the area in the mid-nineteenth century when it connected Charleston and Hamburg (located on the Savannah River.[9] Learn more about the history of Barnwell County from the South Carolina State Library or from Carolana.com.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Aiken CountyOrangeburg CountyBamberg CountyAllendale CountyBurke CountySC BARNWELL.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Early migration routes to and from Barnwell County for European settlers included:[10]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

General

  • "Muster roll, 1836," News and Journal, 2001, Volume 17, Issue 3. Aiken-Barnwell Genealogical Society: Aiken, South Carolina. Seminole War
  • Pension applications, various wars," Huxford Genealogical Society Magazine, December 1985, Volume 12, Issue 4. Huxford Genealogical Society:Homerville, GA. FHL Collection Book 975.8 D25h or Film 1320528 and 1320535
  • Some district veterans, 1833," South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Winter 1981, volume 9, Issue 1. Brent Holcomb: Columbia, SC. FHL Collection Book 975.7 B2sc.
  • Manning, Edna Anderson; South Carolina Library, Manning Collection (Columbia, South Carolina); Daughters of the American Revolution, General John Barnwell Chapter (South Carolina); Daughters of 1812 (South Carolina). Manning Collection, Barnwell County, South Carolina records, 1717-1965. Columbia, South Carolina South Caroliniana Library, 1988. FHL Collection
  • Film 1841510-11. Family histories (cont.) Index Vol. 12 Family index [i.e. table of cont.] Family histories (to p. 236): 1817-1962. Family histories (cont.) Index Vol. 14 Index to fam. [i.e. table of cont.] Family histories: 1756-1959 Index Vol. 15 History of Barnwell County: 1769-1965 1850 census of Barnwell County Index History of Barnwell Co. & family: 1717-1916 histories of civil servants. Family records: 1763-1958 Index to last 2 items.

Revolutionary War

  • Manning, Edna Anderson; South Carolina Library, Manning Collection (Columbia, South Carolina); Daughters of the American Revolution, General John Barnwell Chapter (South Carolina); Daughters of 1812 (South Carolina). Manning Collection, Barnwell County, South Carolina records, 1717-1965. Columbia, South Carolina: South Carolina Library, 1988. FHL Collection
  • Film 1841506. General index Vol. 1 Contents [not quite accurate] Abstracts of old wills: 1787-1900. Marriage records: 1877-1895. Cemetery records: 1813-1935. Index to wills Index to cemetery records Revolutionary period residents: 1735-1868 & others Mexican War data: 1846-1847, Confederate veterans: 1861-1865.
  • Film 1841507. Vol. 3 Ancestry of members of Gen. John 1736-1914 Barnwell Chapter, DAR Family records & short family: 1603-1911; histories Family Bible records: 1740-1881; A family sketch or Beaufort's: 1772-1905; Bridge and its People" (various families) Memoirs of Tarleton Brown, a 1745-1781 revolutionary soldier.
  • Film 1841507. Court Declarations by 2 Rev. War: 1834 veterans for benefits; Voter's lists of Winton [later .... late 1700s- Barnwell] County ear. 1800s Diary of Isaac Kinney, son of ... 1789-1852 a rev. war soldier Index to Ancestry of mem....--1st item on this reel of film Index to Rev. War ancestors Misc. index Cemetery records: 1851-1948.
  • Film 1841507. Vol. 4 Family histories: 1787-1959. Index Vol. 5 Barnwell County appointed officials 1880-1962 Vol. 6 Family index [table of contents] Family records (to p. 201): 1750-1927.
  • Film 1841508. Family records (cont.): 1750-1962. Index Vol. 7 Family index [table of contents] Family histories: 1764-1933. Index Vol. 8 Index of families [table of contents] Family histories (to p. 304) ...... 1790-1961.
  • Film 1840509. Family histories (cont.) Index Vol. 9 Family index [i.e. table of cont.] Family histories: 1730-1945 Index Vol. 10 Contents Daughters of War of 1812, elig. 1812-1916 for membership; rosters of men who served in War of 1812 rendering civil or military service.

War of 1812

  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. See Vol. 5, South Carolina, Barnwell County, p. 182. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.
  • "Six bounty land warrants," News and Journal, 2001, Volume 17, Issue 3. Aiken-Barnwell Genealogical Society:Aiken, South Carolina. War of 1812.
  • Manning, Edna Anderson; South Carolina Library, Manning Collection (Columbia, South Carolina); Daughters of the American Revolution, General John Barnwell Chapter (South Carolina); Daughters of 1812 (South Carolina). Manning Collection, Barnwell County, South Carolina records, 1717-1965. Columbia, South Carolina: South Carolina Library, 1988. FHL Collection
  • Film 1840509. Family histories (cont.) Index Vol. 9 Family index [i.e. table of cont.] Family histories: 1730-1945. Index Vol. 10 Contents Daughters of War of 1812, elig. 1812-1916 for membership; rosters of men who served in War of 1812 rendering civil or military service.
  • Short history of South Carolina Daughters of 1812 Members of the state org. of the Daughters of 1812 Index of rosters a few items back Vol. 11 Family Index (i.e. table of contents). Family histories (to p. 187): 1735-1961.

Civil War

Regiments. Civil War service men from Barnwell County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies and regiments that were formed with many men from Barnwell County:

- 1st Battalion, South Carolina Cavalry, Company C
- 1st Battalion, South Carolina Sharpshooters, Company A (also known the Union Light Infantry and German Fusiliers); Company B (also known as the Sumter Guards); and Company C (also known as the Charleston Sharpshooters and Palmetto Guards)
- 1st Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry, Company C (also known as Edgefield Rangers) and Company K (had been Company D of 1st South Carolina Cavalry Battalion)
- 1st Regiment, South Carolina Infantry (Hagood's),
- 1st Company A - ( also know as Bamburg Guards or Glover Guards)
- 1st Company D - ( also known as the St. Matthews Rifles and the Keitt Guards)
- Company E - (At Reorganization was known as Wee Nee Volunteers or Williamsburg Volunteers)
- 1st Company F -
- Company G - (also known as the Johnson Guards)
- 1st Company H -
- 1st Company I - (possibly known as the Republican Blues)
- 1st Company K - (also known as the Bamberg Guards)
- 1st Regiment, South Carolina Infantry (McCreary's) (1st Provisional Army), Company A (also known as Gregg's Guards)
- 1st Regiment, South Carolina Mounted Militia in the following companies:
- Bostick's Company (also known as Allendale Guards)
- Evan's Company (also known as Palmetto Rangers)
- Johnson's Company (also known as Savannah River Guards)
- Martin's Company (also known as Calhoun Minute Men or Red Oak Rangers)
- Percival's Company (also known as Pickens Rangers)
-2nd Battalion, South Carolina Reserves, Company D
- 2nd Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry, Company A (also known as the Boykin Mounted Rangers and Hampton Scouts)
- 2nd Regiment, South Carolina State Troops Junior Reserves (State Militia), Company D, Company F, and Company H
- 2nd Battalion, South Carolina Cavalry Reserves,
- Company F - (also known as the Savannah River Guard or Guards)
- Barnwell Dragoons ( also called Lawton's Company, South Carolina Volunteers)
- Calhoon Minute Men (also known as the Calhoon Mounted Men and Martin's Company, South Carolina Volunteers)
- A few Barnwell men in Beaufort District Troop (also known as Captain J. H. Howard's Company)
- 2nd Regiment, South Carolina State Troops (6 months 1863-64), Company E and Company K
- 2nd Regiment, South Carolina Artillery, Company A, Company B, Company E, Company G, and Company H
- 3rd Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry,
- Company D (also known as the Barnwell Dragoons)
- Company F (also known as the St. Peter's Guards)
- Company I (also known as the Rebel Troops), a few from Barnwell
- Company K (also known as Savannah River Guards and Captain Thomas H. Johnson's Company)
- 5th Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry (Ferguson's), Company I
- 7th Battalion, South Carolina Infantry (Nelson's) (Enfield Rifles), Company E
- 8th Battalion, South Carolina Reserves (Stalling's), Company C
- 11th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry (9th Volunteers), Company E
- 11th Regiment, South Carolina Reserves(90 days 1862-63), Company A, Company F, and Company L
- 14th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry, Company H
- 14th Battalion, South Carolina Cavalry, Company D
- 14th Regiment, South Carolina Militia, Company A and Company B
- 17th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry, Company G and Company H
- Aiken's Mounted Infantry, South Carolina

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Historic
The Library of Congress has identified the following historic newspapers for Barnwell County, South Carolina on their Chronicling America website. For publication details, including dates of publication, frequency, preceding and succeeding titles, and to find out which libraries have holdings, click on the newspaper title.

University of South Carolina Library Catalog

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Tap into the minds of local experts. Editors of genealogical periodicals publish unique sources that researchers new to their area may not encounter. Periodicals at various levels (county, region, and state) may carry articles useful to research in this area. For more information and links, see South Carolina Periodicals.

  • Carolina Genealogist
  • Georgia Genealogical Magazine
  • News and Journal
  • South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Various types of records are created throughout the probate process of settling estates and property, usually after death. These may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information see probate records in South Carolina Probate Records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Tax-related records are kept by the offices of the county Assessor, Auditor, Sheriff, and Treasurer. Taxes were levied on real and personal property and can help establish ages, residences, and relationships. See South Carolina Taxation for online resources and suggestions.
Published tax records

  • 1787 Tax List, 1787, Georgia Genealogical Magazine, No. 49 (Summer 1973).
  • 1787 Tax List, 1787, Old Winton County, Carolina Genealogist, No. 11 (Summer 1972).
  • 1810 "1810 Tax Return for Barnwell District," The South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Vol. 19, No. 2 (Spring 1991):63-68; Vol. 19, No. 3 (Summer 1991):145-149. FHL Book 975.7 B2sc v. 19
  • 1870 Assessor's Return of Taxable Real Property in Barnwell County Annexed by Aiken County, 1870, News and Journal, Vol. 24, No. 3 (2008).

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriage, and death records were not recorded by South Carolina until the 1900s, thus leaving a lack of vital records created by Civil authorities. See South Carolina Vital Records for online resources and suggestions.

Birth[edit | edit source]

State-wide birth registration did not begin until 1915. For records after 1915, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.

Marriage[edit | edit source]

In South Carolina, Probate Courts issued and still keep marriage licenses from 1 July 1911 to the present. Licenses were not required before 1911. In the 1700s, the Church of England parish churches were required to record all marriages - even if the couple were not members of the denomination. Statewide registration of marriages started in July, 1950. See South Carolina Vital Records for indexes and more information.

Marriages - Indexes

  • 1764-1859 Barnwell County Marriages, 1764-1859, Implied in Barnwell Co., S.C. Deeds by Barbara R. Langdon [11] FHL Collection WorldCat - index
  • 1911-1959 Barnwell County Marriage Index 1911-1959. Batch M734729 at FamilySearch - free.
  • There are several online marriage indexes containing miscellaneous marriage records found insome counties of South Carolina listed on the South Carolina Vital Records page.

Death[edit | edit source]

State-wide death registration began in 1915. For information and online records, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.

Deaths - Indexes and Records

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Barnwell County. For state-wide library facilities, see South Carolina Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Barnwell County. For state-wide library facilities, see South Carolina Archives and Libraries.

Barnwell County Library
Address:
40 Burr Street
Barnwell, SC 29812
Telehone: (803) 259-3612
Hours of Operation: Monday to Wednesday 10:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m., Thursday 1000 a.m. to 9:00 p.m., Friday 10:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m., Saturday 10:00 to 200 p.m., Sunday Closed
The Barnwell County Library is part of the ABBE Regional System listed below. It shared an online catalog with the other libraries in the ABBE Regional Library System.
You can subscribe to an email newsletter and select to receive information from the Barnwell branch among other places and subjects. To subscribe Click Here.Website

The links below lead to the websites of the other libraries in Barnwell County. Each has its own hours and services, but all share the same catalog. The "Click 'n' Search" option allows you to select categories of records such as genealogy and history. BlackvilleWebsite

Williston
Website

  • ABBE Regional Library System
    A.B.B.E. Regional Library System (The Aiken-Bamberg-Barnwell-Edgefield Regional Library System) is headquaterred in Aiken county and serves the four South Carolina counties named in its title. It has 14 brances and a bookmobile. One of those branches is the Barnwell County Library.

Museums[edit | edit source]

  • Barnwell County Museum
    Address:
    P.O. Box 422
    9726 Marlboro Avenue
    Barnwell, South Carolina 29812
    Telephone: (803) 259-1916
    This facility is primarily a site for viewing artifacts and participating in heritage programs. The Fuller House is currently being renovated to become the future home of the museum.The Barnwell County Museum is only one of several museums in the area.

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Barnwell County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see South Carolina Societies.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Barnwell County, South Carolina Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed Nov 30, 2021
  2. Barnwell County, South Carolina Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed Nov 30, 2021
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Barnwell County, South Carolina" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Barnwell_County,_South_Carolina." accessed on the 3/27/2019
  4. Voice of Phillip Stalvey, resident of Myrtle Beach, S.C. (2011).
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Barnwell County, South Carolina. Page 611-615 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 607-608.
  6. https://digital.newberry.org/ahcb/documents/SC_Individual_County_Chronologies.htm#BARNWELL
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Barnwell County, South Carolina," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Barnwell_County%2C_South_Carolina, accessed 21 December 2019.
  8. Schweitzer, George K. , South Carolina Genealogical Research (Knoxville, Tennessee: s.p. 1985), 39-42, FHL book 975.7 D27s
  9. South Carolina State Library, "Barnwell County". Also "Barnwell County, South Carolina."
  10. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 847-61. (FHL Book 973 D27e 2002) WorldCat entry., and William E. Myer, Indian Trails of the Southeast. (Nashville, Tenn.: Blue and Gray Press, 1971), 12-14, and the book's pocket map "The Trail System of the Southeastern United States in the early Colonial Period" (1923). (FHL Book 970.1 M992i) WorldCat entry.
  11. Langdon, Barbara R. Barnwell County Marriages, 1764-1859, Implied in Barnwell Co., S.C. Deeds. [S.I.: s.n.], c1989.