Bamberg County, South Carolina Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Bamberg County, South Carolina ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Bamberg
Organized: February 25, 1897[1]
Parent County(s): Barnwell[2]
Neighboring Counties
Allendale  • Barnwell  • Colleton  • Dorchester  • Hampton  • Orangeburg
See County Maps
Courthouse
South Carolina, Bamberg County Courthouse.png
Location Map
Sc-bamberg.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for General Francis Marion Bamberg. The County is located in the southwest area of the state.[3]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Bamberg County Courthouse
P.O. Box 140
1234 North Street
Bamberg, SC 29003
Telephone: 803-245-5191
Bamberg County Website

County Pronunciation
Hear it spoken.[4]

Bamberg County, South Carolina Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[5]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1915 1911 1915 1897 1897 1897 1790
*Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1915. General compliance by 1918.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[8]

Cities
Towns


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Bamberg County, South Carolina online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See South Carolina Cemeteries for more information.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For all existing and online Federal population schedules of South Carolina, see South Carolina Census. See also USGenWeb Census Project, South Carolina, including links to transcribed files.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1900 17,296
1910 18,544 7.2%
1920 20,962 13.0%
1930 19,410 −7.4%
1940 18,643 −4.0%
1950 17,533 −6.0%
1960 16,274 −7.2%
1970 15,950 −2.0%
1980 18,118 13.6%
1990 16,902 −6.7%
2000 16,658 −1.4%
2010 15,987 −4.0%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

1790 (parent county)

  • Jarrell, Lawrence E. Early Orangeburgh, South Carolina Census: Complete Transcription of the Federal Census Records for the Orangeburgh District, South Carolina; 1790 Orangeburgh Census (Current Counties of Barnwell, Bamberg, Calhoun, Lexington, Orangeburg and [cont. with note below]. High Point, N.C.: Alligator Creek Genealogy Publications, 1998. FHL 975.779 X2ja

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Bamberg County Churches identifies dozens of churches in the area, courtesy: South Carolina Genealogical Society.

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African Americans

Known plantations South Carolina Plantations:

  • Broxton Bridge - Ehrhardt
  • Halfmoon
  • Little Swamp - historically in Colleton County but has been annexed into Bamberg County
  • Mountain Home - Govan - also called Hartzog
  • Woodlands - Midway

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

General
As of August 2010, a query for persons born in Bamberg, South Carolina at World Connect, results in more than 2,000 entries. Surname indexes to Leonardo Andrea's Files | Folders | Resources are available online, courtesy: The Andrea Files: South Carolina Genealogical Research. Gotoarrow.png Learn more.

Bibliography

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Because South Carolina was an agricultural state, many residents owned land. For earliest records, search 1) Charleston District, 2) your ancestor’s residential district, 3) neighboring districts, 4) the residential county, 5) neighboring counties. Not all districts and counties kept records. See also South Carolina Land and Property.

Online Land Indexes and Records
The following chart shows where you may best expect to find land records.

Tracing Land Currently in Bamberg County with Parent Counties and Districts [9]
Date Government Office
1897-Present Bamberg County
1868-1897 Barnwell County
1800-1868 Barnwell District
1791-1799 Records Lost*
1786-1791 Winton County"
1769-1786 Records Lost"*
1719-1769 Charleston District
1710-1719 Proprietary Land Grants
  • Orangeburg District records destroyed by fire
  • Plats For State Land Grants 1784-1868 For information about the State Land Grants, see State Land Grants

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Bamberg County was named for members of the Bamberg Family, who founded the county seat (also named Bamberg). Bamberg is primarily agricultural and its towns are built along the South Carolina Railroad.[10] Learn more about the history of Bamberg County from the South Carolina State Library or from Carolana.com.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Barnwell CountyOrangeburg CountyDorchester CountyColleton CountyHampton CountyAllendale CountySC BAMBERG.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Early migration routes to and from Bamberg County for European settlers included:[11]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War

Regiments
Bamberg County was created between 1897 and 1920 after the Civil War from the counties of Barnwell and Colleton. During the Civil War, men from the area of Bamberg County mostly would have served in various regiments recruited in those counties. Counties were called districts during the Civil War.

Civil War Battles
The following Civil War Battles were fought in Bamberg County:

  • February 3, 1865 = Rivers’ Bridge[12] also known as Salkehatchie River, Hickory Hill, Owens’ Crossroads, Lawtonville, Duck Creek
  • One battle was fought in the area of present day Bamberg County, on February 3, 1865 at Rivers' Bridge. This was also known as the battle of Owens' Crossroads. For additional information,see Battles in South Carolina.
  • Map showing Civil War battles in South Carolina

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Historic
The Library of Congress has identified the following historic newspapers for Bamberg County, South Carolina on their Chronicling America website. For publication details, including dates of publication, frequency, preceding and succeeding titles, and to find out which libraries have holdings, click on the newspaper title.

University of South Carolina Library Catalog

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Tap into the minds of local experts. Editors of genealogical periodicals publish unique sources that researchers new to their area may not encounter. Periodicals at various levels (county, region, and state) may carry articles useful to research in this area. For more information and links, see South Carolina Periodicals.

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Various types of records are created throughout the probate process of settling estates and property, usually after death. These may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information see probate records in South Carolina Probate Records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Tax-related records are kept by the offices of the county Assessor, Auditor, Sheriff, and Treasurer. Taxes were levied on real and personal property and can help establish ages, residences, and relationships. See South Carolina Taxation for online resources and suggestions.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriage, and death records were not recorded by South Carolina until the 1900s, thus leaving a lack of vital records created by Civil authorities. See South Carolina Vital Records for online resources and suggestions.

Birth[edit | edit source]

State-wide birth registration did not begin until 1915. For records after 1915, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.

Marriage[edit | edit source]

In South Carolina, Probate Courts issued and still keep marriage licenses from 1 July 1911 to the present. Licenses were not required before 1911. In the 1700s, the Church of England parish churches were required to record all marriages - even if the couple were not members of the denomination. Statewide registration of marriages started in July, 1950. See South Carolina Vital Records for indexes and more information.

Marriages - Indexes

  • There are several online marriage indexes containing miscellaneous marriage records found insome counties of South Carolina listed on the South Carolina Vital Records page.

Death[edit | edit source]

State-wide death registration began in 1915. For information and online records, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.

Deaths - Indexes and Records

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Bamberg County. For state-wide library facilities, see South Carolina Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Bamberg County. For state-wide library facilities, see South Carolina Archives and Libraries.

Bamberg County Public Library
Address:
3156 Railroad Avenue
Bamberg, SC 29003
Phone: (803) 245-3022
Hours of Operation: Monday to Wednesday 10:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m., Thursday 10:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m., Friday 10:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m., Saturday 10:00 a.m to 2:00 p.m., Sunday Closed

The Bramberg County Library is part of the ABBE Regional Library System listed below.

You can subscribe to an email newsletter and select to receive information from the Barnwell branch among other places and subjects. To subscribe Click Here.

Other Bamberg County LibrariesWebsite

'Denmark Branch Library ' Click the Link to learn more about this branch, its location, hours, and services.

Website

  • ABBE Regional Library System
    A.B.B.E. Regional Library System (The Aiken-Bamberg-Barnwell-Edgefield Regional Library System) is headquaterred in Aiken county and serves the four South Carolina counties named in its title. It has 14 brances and a bookmobile. One of those branches is the Barnwell County Library.

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Bamberg County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see South Carolina Societies.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. https://digital.newberry.org/ahcb/documents/SC_Individual_County_Chronologies.htm#BAMBERG
  2. https://digital.newberry.org/ahcb/documents/SC_Individual_County_Chronologies.htm#BAMBERG
  3. Wikipedia contributors, Bamberg County, South Carolina in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bamberg_County,_South_Carolina." accessed on the 3/27/2019
  4. Voice of Phillip Stalvey, resident of Myrtle Beach, S.C. (2011).
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Bamberg County, South Carolina. Page 611-615 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 607-608.
  6. https://digital.newberry.org/ahcb/documents/SC_Individual_County_Chronologies.htm#BAMBERG
  7. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), South Carolina .At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  8. Wikipedia contributors, "Bamberg County, South Carolina," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bamberg_County,_South_Carolina, accessed 20 December 2019.
  9. Schweitzer, George K. , South Carolina Genealogical Research (Knoxville, Tennessee: s.p. 1985), 39-42, FHL book 975.7 D27s
  10. South Carolina State Library, "Bamberg County". Also,"List of counties in South Carolina," Wikipedia.
  11. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 847-61. (FHL Book 973 D27e 2002) WorldCat entry., and William E. Myer, Indian Trails of the Southeast. (Nashville, Tenn.: Blue and Gray Press, 1971), 12-14, and the book's pocket map "The Trail System of the Southeastern United States in the early Colonial Period" (1923). (FHL Book 970.1 M992i) WorldCat entry.
  12. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State,


...