Baltimore (Independent City), Maryland Genealogy

United States

Maryland

Baltimore (Independent City)

This article is about a city in Maryland. For the surrounding county, see Baltimore County, Maryland. For other uses, see Baltimore (disambiguation).

Guide to Baltimore (Independent City), Maryland ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Maryland Online Genealogy Records

County Facts County seat: Baltimore City Organized: May 13, 1851 Parent County(s): Baltimore Neighboring Counties Anne Arundel  • Baltimore See Maps Courthouse Location Map Adoption This page is available for adoption

County Information

Description

Baltimore City is named for Cecilius Calvert, 2nd Lord Baltimore, Proprietor of Maryland. Baltimore is the anglicized name for the Irish Gaelic name, Baile an Tí Mhóir, meaning the Town of the Big House referring to the O'Driscoll castle that still domains the town. It is in the southern area of the state.

Courthouse

Baltimore City Courthouse
(Clerk's Office located in Courthouse East)
Clarence M. Mitchell, Jr. Courthouse
100 N. Calvert Street
Baltimore, MD 21202
Phone: 410-333-3722
Baltimore City
Clerk's Office

City Health Department has birth, death and burial records.
Common Pleas Court has marriage records.
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce records, trust estates, adoption and name changes from 1853.
Register of Wills has probate records.

Baltimore (Independent City), Maryland Record Dates

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth*	Marriage	Death*	Court	Land	Probate	Census
1875	1851	1875	1851	1851	1851	1790
*Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1898. General compliance by the 1910s.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters.

Boundary Changes

Founded 30 July 1729. 1851--The City broke off from surrounding Baltimore County, 13 May 1851 as an Independent City. For animated maps illustrating Maryland county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Maryland County Boundary Maps" (1637-1997) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

Baltimore is an independent city and is not part of any county in Maryland. It is not to be confused with the surrounding Baltimore County, which is a separate government entity. In 1796, the towns of Baltimore, Jonestown, and Fells Points were incorporated as the City of Baltimore. Baltimore remained a part of Baltimore County until it became an independent city in 1851. Baltimore is officially divided into nine geographical regions: North, Northeast, East, Southeast, South, Southwest, West, Northwest, and Central. For a list of Baltimore's neighborhoods and their respective geographical regions, go to this Wikipedia Article.

History Timeline

• 13 September 1814 The Battle of Baltimore: In the War of 1812, the British troops attacked Baltimore after the burning of Washington, D.C.
• The Union troops occupied Baltimore to prevent the secession of Maryland from the Union during the Civil War, after Confederate sympathizers attacked the Union troops in the Baltimore riot of 1861. Maryland came under direct Federal administration.
• 7 February 1904 The Great Fire of Baltimore destroyed more than 1,500 buildings in 30 hours.

Resources

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Baltimore (Independent City) County, Maryland online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online	Findagrave.com USGenWeb MDGenWeb Archives Tombstone Project MDInterment MDGravestones Billion Graves
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)	Family History Library WorldCat
List of Cemeteries in the County	Findagrave.com Billion Graves FamilySearch Places
See Maryland Cemeteries for more information

Many Baltimore City cemetery records have been published by various volunteers. The Baltimore County Genealogical Society has a good collection. You can use WorldCat.org to search for the name of the church you are interested in, and find out what libraries hold it. Here is a partial list of books available:

• A Record of Interments at the Friends Burial Ground, Baltimore, Maryland (est. 1681). By E. Erick Hoopes and Christina Hoopes. c1995. Baltimore, Maryland : Clearfield Company. FHL Book 975.26 V38h
• Holy Rosary Church Cemetery, Tombstone inscriptions of; Baltimore County, Maryland. Baltimore County Genealogical Society. Towson, Md: Baltimore County Genealogical Society, 1999.
• Mt. Carmel Cemetery Records: 1854-1882. Baltimore County Genealogical Society. Westminster, MD: Family Line Publications, 1998.
• Mt. Carmel Cemetery Records, 1883-1893, Baltimore, Maryland. Baltimore County Genealogical Society. Westminster, Md: Family Line Publications, 1998.
• Mt. Carmel Cemetery Records: 1893-1905. Baltimore County Genealogical Society. Westminster, MD: Family Line Publications, 1998.
• Mt. Carmel Cemetery Records: 1905-1936. Baltimore County Genealogical Society. Westminster, MD: Willow Bend Books, 2001.
• Mt. Olivet Cemetery. Baltimore County Historical Society. Westminster, Md. (Rear 63 East Main Street): Family Line Publications, 1989.
• St. Stanislaus Cemetery, Tombstone Inscriptions of; Baltimore, Maryland. Baltimore County Genealogical Society. Towson, Md. (P.O. Box 10085, Towson 21285-0085): Baltimore County Genealogical Society, 2002.
• Western Cemetery: Interment Records, Baltimore, Maryland. Baltimore County Genealogical Society. Baltimore, Md: Baltimore County Genealogical Society, 2004.
• Maryland, Baltimore, Loudon Park Cemetery, Cemetery Records, 1853-1986 — index - How to Use this Collection

Census Records

For tips on accessing Baltimore (Independent City), Maryland Genealogy census records online, see: Maryland Census.

Historical populations
Census	Pop.	%±
1790	13,503	—
1800	26,514	96.4%
1810	46,555	75.6%
1820	62,738	34.8%
1830	80,620	28.5%
1840	102,313	26.9%
1850	169,054	65.2%
1860	212,418	25.7%
1870	267,354	25.9%
1880	332,313	24.3%
1890	434,439	30.7%
1900	508,957	17.2%
1910	558,485	9.7%
1920	733,826	31.4%
1930	804,874	9.7%
1940	859,100	6.7%
1950	949,708	10.5%
1960	939,024	−1.1%
1970	905,787	−3.5%
1980	786,741	−13.1%
1990	736,016	−6.4%
2000	651,154	−11.5%
2010	620,961	−4.6%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Federal Census reports available 1800-1930 including slave and veterans schedules.

Police Census
1868 The Baltimore City Archives has a police census for some city wards of Baltimore on one microfilm.

Church Records

Catholic Records

Years	Church or Collection	Type of Record	Repository	About the Collection
1782 - 1918	Baltimore Roman Catholic Parish Congregational Records	Congregational	MyHeritage	Index and images ($)
1782 - 1918	Baltimore Roman Catholic Parish Baptisms	Baptisms	MyHeritage	Index and images ($)
1782 - 1918	Baltimore Roman Catholic Parish Marriages	Marriages	MyHeritage	Index and images ($)
1782 - 1918	Baltimore Roman Catholic Parish Burials	Burials	MyHeritage	Index and images ($)
1834-1880	Roman Catholic, St. Vincent de Paul, Baltimore City, Md.	Church	Maryland State Archives	Digital book
1839-1962	Roman Catholic, St. Joseph's Church, Baltimore City	Marriage	Maryland State Archives	Index
1839-1849	St. Joseph’s Roman Catholic Church (aka Old St. Joseph’s)	Baptisms	Maryland Genealogical Society	Free index, transcriptions ($)
1849-1962; Indexes	Roman Catholic, St. Joseph's Church, Baltimore City	Death Registers	Maryland State Archives	Index
1850-1874	Saint Mary's Govans Catholic Church	Baptisms	Maryland Genealogical Society	Free index, transcriptions ($)
1850-1912	Saint Mary's Govans Catholic Church	Marriages	Maryland Genealogical Society	Free index, transcriptions ($)
	Roman Catholic, St. Vincent de Paul, Baltimore City, Md.	Cemetery	Maryland State Archives	Lot owner's cards, interment cards and annual care cards

Episcopal

Years	Church or Collection	Type of Record	Repository	About the Collection
1843-1875	Mt. Calvary Church (Protestant Episcopal), Eutaw and Madison Sts.	Church	Maryland State Archives	Alpha index by surname

German United Evangelical

Years	Church	Type of Record	Repository	About the Collection
1850-1874	First German United Evangelical Church	Baptisms	Maryland Genealogical Society	Free index, transcriptions ($)
1851-1864; 1864-1880; 1881-1911	First German United Evangelical Church	Marriages	Maryland Genealogical Society	Free index, transcriptions ($)
1864-1884; 1889-1919	First German United Evangelical Church	Burials	Maryland Genealogical Society	Church records not included in general database ($)

German Reformed

Years	Church	Type of Record	Repository	About the Collection
1857-1859; 1864-1889; 1889-1919	Saint Paul's Fifth German Reformed Church	Marriages	Maryland Genealogical Society	Free index, transcriptions ($)
1889-1919	St. Paul's Fifth German Reformed Church	Burials	Maryland Genealogical Society	Church records not included in general database ($)

All Denominations

Years	Collection	Type of Record	Repository	About the Collection
1668-1995	Maryland, Church Records, 1668-1995	All	FamilySearch	Index, How to Use this Collection

How to Find Church Records

• Maryland Church Records
• Maryland State Archives] has a large collection of church records on microfilm.
• Baltimore Roman Catholic Parish list contains a list of all parishes listed in the collections located on Findmypast.
• Guide to Maryland Religious Institutions is not intended to be a complete listing of all Religious institutions in Maryland. It was originally based upon the churches recorded by the Federal Works Progress Administration during a records survey conducted from 1935 to 1941. It has been expanded by later acquisitions from religious organizations to the Maryland State Archives. Microfilm of sacramental records for about seventy-five parishes, mostly Baltimore city churches established before 1900, are available for public use at the Maryland State Archives in Annapolis.

• The Baltimore County Genealogical Society has a good collection.

Roman Catholic Archive

Associated Archives
St. Mary's Seminary & University
5400 Roland Avenue
Baltimore, MD 21210
Phone: 410-864-4074
Fax: 410-864-3690
Email: archives@stmarys.edu

Area included in the archdiocese: Allegany, Anne Arundel, Baltimore, Carroll, Frederick, Garrett, Harford, Howard counties and the city of Baltimore.

The Diocese of Baltimore was the first Catholic diocese in the United States. Established in 1789, it included the entire country at the time. Records were transferred to the new dioceses as they were created. Original sacramental records are kept by the parishes. Some records not available for public use at the Maryland State Archives in Annapolis may be found at the Associated Archives at St. Mary's Seminary & University. Certificates may be issued by the parish of origin.

Diocesan history: The Premier See: A History of the Archdiocese of Baltimore 1789-1989, Thomas W. Spalding (Baltimore, Md. Johns Hopkins University Press, 1989).

Catholic newspaper: The Catholic Review
PO Box 777
Cathedral St.
Baltimore, MD 21203
The newspaper carries few obituaries. The earlier newspaper for the diocese was The Catholic Mirror, 1850-1908. The newspapers are on microfilm at the main branch of the Encoh Pratt Library in Baltimore.

List of Churches and Church Parishes

• FamilySearch Places
  

Directories

• Fold3.com ($) has Baltimore City Directories 1863-1923 (5 yrs. missing) available online. Fold3 is free at some libraries and at National Archives research rooms.
• Internet Archive (free) has similar coverage as Fold3. You can search Internet Archive or see a list linking to each directory from the University of Maryland website.

Emigration and Immigration

Online Records

• 1820-1948 Maryland, Baltimore Passenger Lists, 1820-1948 at FamilySearch— index and images- How to Use this Collection
• 1897-1952 Maryland, Baltimore Passenger Lists Index, 1897-1952 at FamilySearch — index and images- How to Use this Collection
• The New Early Settlers of Maryland database is a great place to start searching for immigrants who had arrived in the colony by the 1680s. The database "comprises 34,326 entries from Gust Skordas' Early Settlers of Maryland and Carson Gibb's Supplement to the Early Settlers of Maryland." Available online, courtesy: Maryland State Archives.

Other Baltimore City immigration resources include:

• Coldham, Peter Wilson. "Intercepted Letters Relating to America 1777-1811," The Genealogist, Vol. 14, No. 2 (Fall 2000):184-200; Vol. 15, No. 1 (Spring 2001):53-74. Discusses overseas contacts of individuals with the following Baltimore County surnames: Albers, Anspach, Barry, Barton, Beatty, Beays, Belt, Bolte, Brothers, Brown, Browne, Brune, Buchanan, Burke, Campbell, Caton, Clarke, Courteney, Dickey, Dicky, Donnell, Dormy, Dorsly, Duncan, Gernon, Gillmer, Gilmore, Gittings [Gettings], Goverts, Graf, Grant, Grundy, Gwin, Haslett, Hoffman, Hollins, Holmes, Hudson, Kalkman, Konig, Lone, McCreery, McFadon, Maris, Merryman, Moncrieff, Olliver, Patterson, Pringle, Salmon, Sears, Sherlock, Smith, Somervell, Spears, Sterrett, Stewart, Stiles, Taylor, Thompson, Thorowgood, Valck, Von Kapffe, Von Stapff, Walsh, Williams, Williamson, Wilson, Yellot, Young, Zwisler.
• List of imported servants and transported convicts from Europe who served labor terms in Colonial Baltimore City and County, Maryland (work in progress), courtesy: Immigrant Servants Database. Includes Richard J. Cox's abstracts of Maryland Gazette runaways.

Genealogies

• [Brispo] Russell, George Ely. "Portuguese and Spanish Colonists in Seventeenth-Century Maryland," The American Genealogist, Vol. 76, No. 1 (January 2001):50-60; Vol. 77, No. 1 (Apr. 2001):138-147. FHL 973 D25aga v. 76
• [Decosta] Russell, George Ely. "Portuguese and Spanish Colonists in Seventeenth-Century Maryland," The American Genealogist, Vol. 76, No. 1 (January 2001):50-60; Vol. 77, No. 1 (Apr. 2001):138-147. FHL 973 D25aga v. 76
• [Philpot] Russell, George Ely. "Brian Philpot Family of Maryland: With Notes on English Relatives," The Genealogist, Vol. 17, No. 2 (Fall 2003):131-165.

Land and Property Records

Through a Joint eGovernment Service of the Maryland Judiciary and the Maryland State Archives, free images and indexes of the complete series of Baltimore City Deed Books (1653-present) have been uploaded to their website: A Digital Image Retrieval System for Land Records in Maryland. (Requires free registration.)

Local Histories

• Annals of Baltimore. 1824. By Thomas W. Griffith. Baltimore, Printed by W. Wooddy. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, Hathitrust, Internet Archive; At various libraries (WorldCat).
• Baltimore, its History and its People. 3 volumes. 1912. By Clayton Coleman Hall. New York, New York : Lewis Historical Pub. Co. Online at: Vol. 1 - FamilySearch Digital Library, Vol. 2 - FamilySearch Digital Library, Vol. 3 - FamilySearch Digital Library, Hathitrust, Vol. 1 - Internet Archive; At various libraries (WorldCat). Vol. 1 - History; Vols. 2 & 3 - Biography.
• Baltimore, Past and Present. 1871. By Brantz Mayer. Baltimore, Maryland : Richardson & Bennett. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, Internet Archive, Google Books; At various libraries (WorldCat).
• The Chronicles of Baltimore. 1874. By J. Thomas Scharf. Baltimore, Maryland : Turnbull Brothers. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, Hathitrust, Internet Archive, Google Books; At various libraries (WorldCat). Item may be 1989 reprint by publisher Ann Arbor, Michigan : UMI.
• History of Baltimore, Maryland : from its Founding as a Town to the Current Year 1729-1898. 1898. By Henry Elliott Shepherd. N.p: S.B. Nelson. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, Hathitrust, Internet Archive; At various libraries (WorldCat).
• The Monumental City, its Past History ... . 1873-1876. By George W. Howard. Baltimore, Maryland : J.D. Ehlers. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, Hathitrust, Internet Archive, Ancestry ($); At various libraries (WorldCat). Item may be a reprint, microform or electronic resource.

Maps and Gazetteers

• FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places

Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Military Records

Revolutionary War

• A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. 1841. Digital version at Google Books et. al. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. See Maryland, Baltimore City on page 128.
• "Baltimore Privateers from 1777 to 1783," The Maryland and Delaware Genealogist, Vol. 31, No. 2 (Spring 1990):46-47; Vol. 31, No. 3 (Summer 1990):88-89, .... FHL US/CAN Book 975 B2m.

War of 1812

Cranwell, John Philips and William Bowers Crane Men of Marque a history of private armed vessels out of Baltimore during the War of 1812(Norton, c 1940, New York) pages 427Bibliography pages 415-418, FHL 975.26 M3

Civil War

• 1861-1865 Maryland, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index - How to Use this Collection
• 1861-1865 Maryland, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index- How to Use this Collection

Since the city broke off from surrounding Baltimore County in 1851, the Civil War records for the city of Baltimore will be in the city's military records rather than with the county's records.

Regiments. Service men in Baltimore served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Baltimore:

- 1st Regiment, South Carolina Infantry (Butler's) (1st Regulars), Company G

- 1st Regiment, Maryland Eastern Shore Infantry Company I

- 1st Regiment, Maryland Infantry, Potomac Home Brigade, Company C, and C

- 2nd Regiment, Maryland Cavalry (6 months, 1863-1864), Company A, B, and E

- 2nd Regiment, Maryland Eastern Shore Infantry, Company F

- 3rd Regiment, Maryland Cavalry, Company A,B,H, and K

- 5th Regiment, Maryland InfantryCompany B, C, D, E, F, G, H, and K

- 6th Regiment, Maryland Infantry Company F, and I

- 8th Regiment, Maryland Infantry, Company B, C, D, F, and G

- 9th Regiment, Maryland Infantry (6 months, 1863-1864) , Company A, B, C, D, E, F, G, H, and K

- 21st Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company B (Maryland Guard).

• Civil War Burials in Baltimore's Loudon Park Cemetery ($)

World War II

• 1940-1945 Maryland, World War II Draft Registration Cards, 1940-1945 at FamilySearch — index and images - How to Use this Collection

Naturalization and Citizenship

Though it does not appear on the FamilySearch Catalog under the naturalization section of the City of Baltimore or Baltimore County, the Family History Library has acquired published abstracts of Baltimore naturalizations from 1784 through 1854:

• Oszakiewski, Robert Andrew. Maryland Naturalization Abstracts. Baltimore County and Baltimore City [1784-1854]. Westminster, Maryland: Family Line Publications, 1995. Available at FHL US/CAN Book 975.2 P48o.

Newspapers

• 1800s-1999 U.S., Newspapers.com Marriage Index, 1800s-1999 at Ancestry - index ($)
• Afro-American Ledger - newspaper digitized in Google News Archive; includes 1906-1917
• Afro American - newspaper digitized in Google News Archive; includes 1902-1992
• Baltimore Afro-American - more digitized issues; covers 1943-2003
• 1799-1801 issues of the American & Commercial Daily Advertiser - Google News Archive
• 1800-1880 issues of the American & Commercial Daily Advertiser - newspaper digitized in Google News Archive
• 1854-1869 issues of the American & Commercial Daily Advertiser - Google News Archive
• 1857-1902 - issues of the Baltimore American & Commercial Advertiser - Google News Archive
• Baltimore Bee - 200 issues from 1875-1876 in Google News Archive
• Baltimore Morning Herald - 1100+ issues digitized in Google News Archive
• Baltimore Sunday Herald - 60 issues digitiezed in Google New Archive
• Baltimore Sun 1837-1985 - complete, OCR search capable (library card required, non-resident: $)
• Baltimore City newspapers are identified in "Guide to Maryland Newspapers," available online, courtesy: Special Collections, Maryland State Archives.
• Baltimore Sun Photographic Archives - digitized photos of those appearing in the paper.

Other Records

• Baltimore Sun Photographic Archives - digitized photos of those appearing in the paper.

Probate Records

Many of those who died in Baltimore will be listed in the administration accounts, and may even have a will.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

• Maryland, Wills and Probate Records at findmypast - index
• 1634-1777 Maryland, Index To Colonial Probate Records, 1634-1777 at findmypast - index
• 1635–1743 Maryland Calendar of Wills 1635-1743 at Ancestry — index and images ($)
• 1635–1777 Maryland Wills and Probate Records, 1635-1777 at Ancestry — index and images ($)
• 1796–1940 Maryland Probate Estate and Guardianship Files , 1796-1940 at FamilySearch images - How to Use this Collection
• Maryland, Register of Wills Books, 1629-1983 Images. at [1]. Maryland, registers of wills books. County Registrar of Wills in Maryland. Includes Baltimore City. - How to Use this Collection

School Records

• Baltimore College of Dental Surgery Yearbooks - from 1901 to 1989. Some gaps, but this is likely to be filled in over time.

Social Security Records

• 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
• 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.

Vital Records

Marriage

• 1658-1940 Maryland County Marriages, 1658-1940 at FamilySearch — index - How to Use this Collection
• 1666-1970 Maryland Marriages, 1666-1970 at FamilySearch — index - How to Use this Collection
• 1851-1914 [Baltimore City Marriage Licenses Index https://www.mdgensoc.org/cstm_mdgsDB.php] at Maryland Genealogical Society - index ($), incomplete for 1851-1885

Death

• 1875-1972 Baltimore City Death Certificate Index 1875-1972, available online, courtesy: Vital Records Indexing Project, Maryland State Archives.
• 1936-2007 Maryland, Baltimore, Lock Funeral Home Records, 1936-2007 at FamilySearch — images - How to Use this Collection

Research Facilities

Archives

Listed below are archives in Baltimore (Independent City) County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Maryland Archives and Libraries.

• Baltimore City Archives - unique special collections
• Maryland State Archives - vital records, church records, and much more

Family History Centers

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

• Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
• FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
  

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

• Baltimore Maryland Family History Center
• Baltimore Maryland Inner Harbor Family History Center
• Columbia Maryland Family History Center
• Harford County Public Library - an affiliate library.
• Kuethe Library Historical & Genealogical Research Center - an affiliate library.

Libraries

Listed below are libraries in Baltimore (Independent City) County. For state-wide library facilities, see Maryland Archives and Libraries.

Enoch Pratt Free Library
Central Library
400 Cathedral Street
Baltimore, MD 21201
Phone: 410-396-5430
Email: SLRC@prattlibrary.org
Website

The Goodwin Library and Robert L. Weinberg Family History Center
at the Jewish Museum
15 Lloyd Street
Baltimore, MD 21202
Phone: 410 732-6400 x213
Email: research@jewishmuseummd.org
Phone: 410-732-6400 x224
Email: familyhistory@jewishmuseummd.org
Website

Societies

Listed below are societies in Baltimore (Independent City) County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Maryland Societies.

Baltimore County Genealogical Society
Website

Maryland Genealogical Society
Website

Maryland Historical Society
Website

Websites

• Baltimore City History: research guides to public records, maps, populations, and local histories.
• "Baltimore City," in Genealogical Sources in Periodicals at The Maryland State Archives.
• The Baltimore City MDGenWeb Project, a member of The MDGenWeb Project, an affiliate of The USGenWeb Project. Links to Marriages, Baltimore Death Certificates, Obituaries, Births, Baltimore Death Index, Divorce, Ship passenger lists, Military, Immigration, Wills, Family group sheets, Census, Church records of Marriage, Birth, Death and Baptisms.
• The USGenWeb Archives Project for Baltimore City.
• Baltimore City Genealogy (ldsgenealogy.com)
• FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records

Research Guides

• Barnes, Robert. Guide to Research in Baltimore City and County. 2nd Edition. Westminster, Md.: Family Line Publications, 1993.
• "A Guide to Research in the Public Records of Baltimore City," available online, courtesy: Baltimore City History website.

This website requires a paid subscription for full access.

FamilySearch affiliate libraries may have access to center-only databases, but do not always have all services normally provided by a family history center.