Ayrshire, Scotland Genealogy
|Ayrshire Wiki Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
Guide to Ayrshire County ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
History[edit | edit source]
Ayrshire, an extensive county on the western coast of Scotland, is bounded on the north by Renfrewshire, on the east by the counties of Lanark and Dumfries, on the south by the stewartry of Kirkcudbright and the county of Wigton, and on the west by the Firth of Clyde and the Irish Channel. It is about sixty miles in length and nearly thirty in extreme breadth. It comprised an area of about 1600 square miles or 1,024,000 acres. It includes forty-six parishes and is divided into the districts of Carrick, Kyle, and Cunninghame. It contains the royal burghs of Ayr (the county town) and Irvine. There are thirteen towns and numerous large and populous villages.
ScotlandsPeople: An Important Online Source[edit | edit source]
ScotlandsPeople is one of the largest online sources of original genealogical information. If you are researching UK genealogy, your Scottish ancestry or building your Scottish family tree, they have more than 100 million records to look through.
The comprehensive choice of Scottish records includes:
For more detail on record availability, see Guides. For the content guide to what records are on the site, see Guides A-Z. More information on the site, its contents, and instructions for using it can be found in the ScotlandsPeople Wiki article. Indexes may be searched for free, and there is a pay per view fee to see the digitized record.
Census[edit | edit source]
Many census records have been indexed by surname. Some indexes cover one parish (and will be listed in the Wiki on the parish page) and some indexes are for the county as a whole. The Family History Library has county-wide census placename indexes for Ayrshire for 1881. Click here for other census indexes available at the library.
- 1801-1831 Scotland, Ayrshire Census & Population Lists 1801-1831 at Findmypast.com — index ($)
- ScotlandsPeople, index, images, free index, pay per view ($)
- Scotland Census, 1841, no images. Also at MyHeritage, index, ($). Also at findmypast, index, ($). Also at Ancestry.com, index, ($).
- Scotland Census, 1851, no images. Also at MyHeritage, index, ($). Also at findmypast, index, ($). Also at Ancestry.com, index, ($).
- Scotland Census, 1861, no images. Also at MyHeritage, index, ($). Also at findmypast, index, ($). Also at Ancestry.com, index, ($).
- Scotland Census, 1871, no images. Also at findmypast, index, ($). Also at Ancestry.com, index, ($).
- Scotland Census, 1881, no images. Also at findmypast, index, ($). Also at Ancestry.com, index, ($).
- Scotland Census, 1891, no images. Also at findmypast, index, ($). Also at Ancestry.com, index, ($).
- Scotland Census, 1901 at FamilySearch — index
- Scotland Census, 1901, index and images, ($). Also at findmypast, index, ($). Also at Ancestry.com, index, ($).
- Scotland Census, 1911, index and images, ($).
Voting Records[edit | edit source]
- 1837-1852 Scotland, Ayrshire, Kilmarnock Voters Lists 1837-1852 at Findmypast.com — index & images, ($)
Church Records[edit | edit source]
- 1658 - 1919 Scotland Church Records and Kirk Session Records, 1658-1919 at FamilySearch - index - How to Use this Collection
- 1736-1990 Scotland Presbyterian & Protestant Church Records, 1736-1990 at FamilySearch - index - How to Use this Collection
Civil Registration or Statutory Registers[edit | edit source]
For details on information found in statutory registers and other methods of searching them, see Scotland Civil Registration.
Parishes[edit | edit source]
Some of the Ayrshire parish records are indexed in Ayrshire, Scotland, Extracted Parish Records.
- This database is a collection of historical parish registers from the county of Ayrshire in the country of Scotland. The records in this collection can range in date from the early 1500s to the mid- to late-1800s. The records include baptisms/christenings, burials, marriages, tombstone inscriptions, obituaries, tax lists, wills, and other miscellaneous types of records. Also included are some records from non-conformist churches. You will find interesting phonetic spelling. Some of the records may be in Latin or even a Welsh or Scottish dialect. Due to the nature of the records and because the records were originally compiled by a third party, it is difficult to absolutely verify the completeness and validity of the data.
Here is a list of the historic parishes for the county of Ayrshire. Click on the parish name to see information about records. Click on this link for an outline map of Ayrshire parishes.
|Coylton||583||Monkton & Prestwick||606|
|Dalgain -- see Sorn||613||Newton-upon-Ayr||612|
|Dalrymple||588||Prestwick -- see Monkton||606|
|Dundonald||590||St. Quivox & Newton-upon-Ayr||612|
|Dunlop||591||Sorn (formerly Dalgain)||613|
Archives & Libraries[edit | edit source]
The Ayrshire Archives network consists of three offices:
- North Ayrshire -- Vennel Local and Family History Centre at Irvine.
- East Ayrshire -- Burns Monument Centre at Kilmarnock.
- South Ayrshire -- Ayrshire Archives Centre at Auchincruive near Ayr.
In addition, the following library holds valuable collections for Ayrshire family history research:
- The Scottish & Local History Library at Carnegie Library, Ayr.
- Alloway and Southern Ayrshire Family Histoy Socity
Maps[edit | edit source]
Directories[edit | edit source]
Courtesy of the National Library of Scotland, Post Office Directories are avilable online. The directories available for Ayrshire are: 1830-1912: These are available in either PDF format or viewable online.
Occupations[edit | edit source]
- 1838-1843Scotland, Ayrshire, Kilmarnock Ratepayers 1838-1846 at Findmypast.com — index & images, ($)
Poor Law[edit | edit source]
Prior to 1845, the care of the poor was the joint responsibility of the kirk session and the heritors (local landowners). Beginning in 1845, parochial boards were responsible and they collected funds from property taxes rather than church collections and contributions from heritors. The New Poor Law system took a while to be fully accepted in all areas of the country, though in some areas civil responsibility was practiced from the 1830's. (For further information, see the Wiki article on Scotland Poor Law.)
Quote from the website of the Ayrshire Archives:
"Parochial Boards and Parochial Councils were responsible for the provision of poor relief, cemetery administration, and civil registration. Parish records were inherited by the County Council and survive for most parishes in Ayrshire.
"The records consist of board minutes, registers of applications for relief, inspectors' letter books and accounts (1845-1929). There are also a number of records relating to Cunninghame Combination Poorhouse (1854-1930), Maybole Combination Poorhouse (1865-1910) and the Kyle Union Poorhouse (1860-1977) and include registers of inmates, minutes, letter books, plans and accounts.
"Many of the records give details of applicants’ health, financial and family difficulties and are a rich source for family and social historians." The records are closed for 75 years.
- An online index to the poor law records for northern Ayrshire parishes is available for free on the website of the Vennel Local and Family History Centre in Irvine. You must register to use the index. The centre also holds the original records for north Ayrshire.
- Poor law records for the parishes of east Ayrshire are held at the Burns Monument Centre at Kilmarnock.
- Poor law records for the parishes of south Ayrshire are held at the Ayrshire Archives Centre in the town of Auchincruive east of the city of Ayr.
Poorhouse Records[edit | edit source]
NOTE: Workhouses in Scotland were commonly known as poorhouses. For more information on Scottish poorhouses, go to the Scotland Poor Law page.
There were four workhouses in this county:
A description with drawings and photos of the workhouses today along with databases of those living there from the 1881 Census are provided on the links above located on the site entitled The Workhouse: The story of an institution... which is owned and operated by Peter Higginbotham.
Societies[edit | edit source]
Scotland North Ayrshire FamilyHistory Society
Largs & North Ayrshire F.H.S.
c/o Largs Library
26 Allanpark Street
By e-mail, using the following link
Scottish Genealogy Society
15 Victoria Terrace
Tel-0131 220 3677
Glasgow & West of Scotland Family History Society
Unit 13, 32 Mansfield Street
Glasgow G11 5QP
Tel. +44 (0) 141 339 8303
East Ayrshire Family History Society
c/o The Dick Institute
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Samuel Lewis. Topographical Dictionary of Scotland, (London, England: S. Lewis and Co., 1846), 3 v.: 651, [FHL book 941 E5]. Digitized by FamilySearch International, FamilySearch.org, https://www.familysearch.org/search/catalog/216925 (accessed June 20, 2016).
- Samuel Lewis. "Ayr - Ayton," in A Topographical Dictionary of Scotland, (London, 1846), 84-91. British History Online, http://www.british-history.ac.uk/topographical-dict/scotland/pp84-91 (accessed May 22, 2020).