Attala County, Mississippi Genealogy
Guide to Attala County, Mississippi ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
This county was named for Atala, a fictional Native American heroine from an early-19th-century novel of the same name by François-René de Chateaubriand. Attala County is located in the center area of the state.[1]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Attala County Courthouse
230 W Washington Street
Kosciusko, MS 39090-0000
Phone: 662-289-2921
Attala County Website
Clerk Circuit Court has marriage records.
Clerk Chancery Court has divorce, probate and land records and old newspapers.[2]
Attala County, Mississippi Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1 Nov 1912 | 1892 | 1 Nov 1912 | 1858 | 1858 | 1858 | 1810 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
1858, 1860, 1896 Some records were lost.
|
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating Mississippi county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Mississippi County Boundary Maps" (1643-1947) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website. |
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[5]
| Cities | ||
|
||
| Towns | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
| Native American communities | ||
| Ghost towns | ||
‡This populated place also has portions in an adjacent county or counties
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
23 December 1833: Attala County becomes Mississippi's 16th county.
28 July 1858: The Attala County Courthouse burned down, and all county records were lost. (This is why no records before August 1858 can be found in Attala County.)
July 1860: Another Attala County Courthouse fire happened. (No records were burned in this fire; that said, there were few records since there because of the last fire.)
26 July 1896: The Attala County Courthouse caught on fire. (Only some records were lost now. Marriage records specifically were lost.)
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Biographies[edit | edit source]
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1840 | 4,303 | — |
| 1850 | 10,991 | 155.4% |
| 1860 | 14,169 | 28.9% |
| 1870 | 14,776 | 4.3% |
| 1880 | 19,988 | 35.3% |
| 1890 | 22,213 | 11.1% |
| 1900 | 26,248 | 18.2% |
| 1910 | 28,851 | 9.9% |
| 1920 | 24,831 | −13.9% |
| 1930 | 26,035 | 4.8% |
| 1940 | 30,227 | 16.1% |
| 1950 | 26,652 | −11.8% |
| 1960 | 21,335 | −19.9% |
| 1970 | 19,570 | −8.3% |
| 1980 | 19,865 | 1.5% |
| 1990 | 18,481 | −7.0% |
| 2000 | 19,661 | 6.4% |
| 2010 | 19,564 | −0.5% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
For tips on accessing Attala County census records online, see: Mississippi Census.
Federal Census
- 1660-1820 U.S. Census Reconstructed Records, 1660-1820 at Ancestry ($)
- 1792-1866 Mississippi, State and Territorial Census Collection, 1792-1866 at Ancestry ($)
- 1805-1890 Mississippi, Compiled Census and Census Substitutes Index, 1805-1890 at Ancestry ($)
- 1840 1840 Census Index, Attala County, Mississippi USGenWeb Archives
- 1850 1850 Census Index, Attala County, Mississippi Surname index only. USGenWeb Archives
- Attala County Index for 1850 Census, First and Last Names, Ages, Birthplace, and Census Page Numbers. (USGenWeb Archives)
- Further information on the 1850 Census by township and family is available at USGenWeb Archives Scroll down to 1850 Census. Township records begin after the alphabetical index.
- 1850 United States Census (Mortality Schedule), 1850 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and some images
- 1850 United States Census (Slave Schedule), 1850 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1850 1850 Slave Schedule MSGenWeb Project
- 1850 1850 Mortality Schedule MSGenWeb Project
- 1860 United States Census (Slave Schedule), 1860 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1860 1860 Mortality Schedule MSGenWeb Project
- 1870 1870 Mortality Schedule MSGenWeb Project
State Census
- 1841 State census returns - Attala County Collections at FamilySearch - images only
- 1845 State census returns - Attala County Collections at FamilySearch - images only
- 1880 State census returns - Attala County Collections at FamilySearch - images only
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Mississippi denominations, view the Mississippi Church Records wiki page.
List of Churches and Church Parishes
- 1910-1919 Mississippi, Church Records, 1910-1919 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
- First Constitution of Doty Springs (Baptist) Church MSGenWeb Project
Court Records[edit | edit source]
- 1864-1865 Attala County Descriptive Register MSGenWeb Project
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
African Americans
- 1863-1866 Mississippi, Freedmen's Department (Pre-Bureau Records), 1863-1866 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; images only
- 1865-1872 Mississippi, Freedmen's Bureau Field Office Records, 1865-1872 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; images only
- The Freedmen's Bureau Marriage Records at Mississippi Department of Archives and History - index and transcription
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Mississippi Land and Property for additional information about early Mississippi land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
- Deed records, 1858-1900; index, 1858-1901
- Mississippi Land Patents Database, Attala County - USGenWeb Archives
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Attala County. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Mississippi Local Histories.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
for more resources
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
- Maps of Mississippi (1643-1947)
- Family Maps of Attala County, Mississippi Genealogy (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
Multiple Wars
- 1769-1951 Military grave registrations 1769-1951 - Attala County Collections at FamilySearch - images only
- 1836-1845 Register of Military Commissions 1836-1860 - Attala County Collections at FamilySearch - images only
- 1848-1860 Register of Military Commissions 1836-1860 - Attala County Collections at FamilySearch - images only
Mexican-American War
- 1846-1848 United States Mexican War Index and Service Records, 1846-1848 How to Use this Collection; at FamilySearch — index and images
Civil War
- 1861-1865 Mississippi, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images at partner site
- 1861-1865 Mississippi, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images at partner site
- 1861-1865 U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry free index
- 1861-1865 U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry free index
- 1889-1942 Mississippi, Confederate Records, 1889-1942 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; images only
- 1892-1946 Confederate pension and census records, 1892-1946
- 1900-1974 Mississippi, Confederate Veterans and Widows Pension Applications, 1900-1974 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; images only
- 1921-1936 Confederate Pension Board minutes, 1921-1936
- 1936-1939 Civil war records a Memorial list of those that served in the Civil War - Attala County Collections at FamilySearch - images only
Regiments. Men in Attala County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Attala County:
- - 1st Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry Reserves
- Company F - Shipp’s Company
- - 2nd Battalion, Mississippi Infantry [became the 48th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry]
- Company - Rocky Point Rifles, aka Rocky Point Rifle Company
- - 48th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry [from the 2nd Battalion, Mississippi Infantry]
- Company B - Rocky Point Rifles, aka Rocky Point Rifle Company
- - 4th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry
- Company B - Attala Yellow Jackets
- Company K - Center Marksmen
- - 5th Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry
- Company E - Love’s Company
- Company I - Turner’s Company
- - 11th Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry
- Company C - Buford’s Company
World War I
- 1917-1919 Mississippi, World War I Service Cards, 1917-1919 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1917-1918 Mississippi, World War I Army Veterans, Master alphabetical index, 1917-1918 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
World War II
- Mississippi Index World War II Enlistees Listed by County USGenWeb Archives
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
- Selected Attala County Obituaries Scroll down to Obituaries heading. USGenWeb Archives
Other Records[edit | edit source]
State Archives
- 1820-1951 Mississippi, State Archives, Various Records, 1820-1951 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images - incomplete - Topics covered: Ex Slave Narratives, list of military veterans, Military grave registrations, Naturalizations and some Land records.
VOTER List
- 1871-1967 Mississippi, Voter Registration, 1871-1967 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Probate records are held by the Attala County, Mississippi Genealogy Clerk of Court and are housed at the Attala County, Mississippi Genealogy Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Mississippi Probate Records, 1781-1930. See the wiki page Mississippi Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.
Online Records
- 1780-1982 Mississippi Wills and Probate Records 1780-1982 at Ancestry ($)
- 1781-1930 Mississippi Probate Records 1781-1930 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; images
- 1858-1934 Probate records, 1858-1934
- 1860-1990 Attala County, Mississippi index to wills, 1860-1990
- Will of Lucy Duly USGenWeb Archives
- John B Allen Estate MSGenWeb Project
School Records[edit | edit source]
- 1850-1892; 1908-1957 Enumeration of Educable Children, 1850-1892; 1908-1957 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Mississippi tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Mississippi Taxation.
- 1835-1892 County Tax rolls 1835-1892 Attala County Collections at FamilySearch - images only
- 1835 Attala County 1835 Tax List MSGenWeb Project
- 1854 Attala County 1854 Tax List, "E" Surnames MSGenWeb Project
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. Mississippi law did not require keeping birth or death records until 1912. Births and deaths are kept by the Mississippi Bureau of Vital Statistics. Marriage records are kept by the county. See also How to order Mississippi Vital Records or order electronically online.
See Mississippi Vital Records for more information on getting Mississippi records.
Birth[edit | edit source]
All birth records for the state of Mississippi must be ordered through the Mississippi Bureau of Vital Statistics. There is no separate database with any birth dates or birth certificates available.
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1776-1935 Mississippi Marriages, 1776-1935 at Ancestry$
- 1800-1825 Mississippi Marriages to 1825 at Ancestry$
- 1800-1911 Mississippi, Marriages, 1800-1911 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
- 1826-1850 Mississippi Marriages, 1826-50 at Ancestry ($)
- 1826-1900 Mississippi Marriages, 1826-1900 at Ancestry ($)
- 1858-1979 Mississippi, County Marriages, 1858-1979 at FamilySearch for various counties - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1881 Attala County Marriages, December 1881 MSGenWeb Project
- 1884 Attala County Marriages, December 1884 MSGenWeb Project
- 1892-1926 Attala County Marriage Books G-O Index 1892-1926 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch
- 1892-1967 Marriage records, 1892-1951; marriage index, 1892-1967
- Attala County Marriage Index USGenWeb Archives
Death[edit | edit source]
All death records for the state of Mississippi must be ordered through the Mississippi Bureau of Vital Statistics. There is no separate database with death dates or death certificates available, save the one listed below for people that died in Attala County in 1884.
- 1822-1921 Mississippi Deaths and Burials, 1822-1921 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index, some images
- 1884 Attala County Deaths 1884 MSGenWeb Project
- 1912-1943 Mississippi, Death Certificate Index, 1912-1943 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
- 1912-1943 Reclaim the Records: Mississippi Death Index at Archive.org - images of index
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Attala County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Mississippi Archives and Libraries.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Attala County. For state-wide library facilities, see Mississippi Archives and Libraries.
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Attala County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Mississippi Societies.
Attala Historical Society
Mary Ricks Thornton Cultural Center
P. O. Box 127
Kosciusko, MS 39090
Website
Facebook
Northeast Mississippi Historical & Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 434
Tupelo, MS 38801
Facebook
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Mississippi Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- Mississippi Genealogy and History Network — Attala County
- Attala County, MSGenWeb Project
- Attala County, USGenWeb Archives
- FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Attala, Mississippi," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Attala_County,_Mississippi."
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mississippi.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Attala County, Mississippi . Page 378-384 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 379-381.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mississippi.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Attala County, Mississippi," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Attala_County,_Mississippi, Last accessed 2 September 2019.