Aroostook County, Maine Genealogy
(Redirected from Aroostook County, Maine Genealogy)
Jump to navigation
Jump to search
Guide to Aroostook County, Maine ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
Aroostook County was named for Indian word meaning "beautiful river". The county is located in the northeastern area of the state.[3]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Aroostook County Courthouse
144 Sweden Street
Caribou, ME 04736
Phone: 207-498-8125
Aroostook County Website
The County Clerk has divorce and court records from 1839. Town Clerks have birth, marriage, death and burial records. Probate Court has probate records.
Aroostook County, Maine Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1839 | 1892 | 1839 | 1839 | 1839 | 1839 | 1790 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county. |
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
|
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this census area:[8]
| Cities | ||
| Towns | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
| Native American communities | ||
| Census-designated places | ||
| Unorganized territories | ||
|
|
|
Plantations:
For further details see Maine plantations
Extinct towns and plantations:[9]
Plantations:
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Biographies[edit | edit source]
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
- 1873-1965 Maine & Massachusetts, Case Files of Deceased and Deserted Seamen, 1873-1965 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; image only
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
- 1620-2014 Maine, Tombstone Inscriptions, Surname Index, 1620-2014 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index/images
- 1676-1918 Maine, Veterans Cemetery Records, 1676-1918 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index/images
- 1718-2014 Maine, U.S., Tombstone Inscriptions, Surname Index, 1718-2014 at Ancestry - index ($)
- 1780-1990 Maine, U.S., Faylene Hutton Cemetery Collection, 1780-1990 at Ancestry - index and images ($)
- ca. 1780-1999 Maine, J. Gary Nichols Cemetery Collection, ca. 1780-1999 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index/images
- Fairmont Cemetery Located south of Presque Isle, Aroostook County, Maine. Full name searches
Census Records[edit | edit source]
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1840 | 9,413 | — |
| 1850 | 12,529 | 33.1% |
| 1860 | 22,479 | 79.4% |
| 1870 | 29,609 | 31.7% |
| 1880 | 41,700 | 40.8% |
| 1890 | 49,589 | 18.9% |
| 1900 | 60,744 | 22.5% |
| 1910 | 74,664 | 22.9% |
| 1920 | 81,728 | 9.5% |
| 1930 | 87,843 | 7.5% |
| 1940 | 94,436 | 7.5% |
| 1950 | 96,039 | 1.7% |
| 1960 | 106,064 | 10.4% |
| 1970 | 92,463 | −12.8% |
| 1980 | 91,331 | −1.2% |
| 1990 | 86,936 | −4.8% |
| 2000 | 73,938 | −15.0% |
| 2010 | 71,870 | −2.8% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
- 1790 1790 United States Federal Census at Ancestry.com ($)
- 1800 1800 United States Federal Census at Ancestry.com ($)
- 1800-1890 Maine, Compiled Census and Census Substitutes Index, 1800-1890 at Ancestry.com ($)
- 1810 1810 United States Federal Census at Ancestry.com ($)
- 1820 1820 United States Federal Census at Ancestry.com ($)
- 1830 1830 United States Federal Census at Ancestry.com ($)
- 1840 1840 United States Federal Census at Ancestry.com ($)
- 1850 1850 United States Federal Census at Ancestry ($)
- 1850-1880 Selected Federal Census Non-Population Schedules, 1850-1880 at Ancestry.com ($)
- 1860 1860 United States Federal Census at Ancestry ($)
- 1870 1870 United States Federal Census at Ancestry ($)
- 1880 1880 United States Federal Census at Ancestry ($)
- 1890 1890 Veterans Schedules at Ancestry.com ($)
- 1900 1900 United States Federal Census at Ancestry ($)
- 1910 1910 United States Federal Census at Ancestry ($)
- 1920 1920 United States Federal Census at Ancestry ($)
- 1930 1930 United States Federal Census at Ancestry ($)
- 1940 1940 United States Federal Census at Ancestry ($)
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Maine denominations, view the Maine Church Records wiki page.
- 1800-1947 U.S., Evangelical Lutheran Church in America, Swedish American Church Records, 1800-1947 at Ancestry ($)
- 1841-1893 Records of marriages 1841-1893 by Rev. William R. French at FamilySearch Catalog — images
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Online Court Indexes and Records
- 1718-1957 Maine, State Archive Collections, 1718-1957 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index/images
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents. See Maine Land and Property for databases, early land grants to individuals, and more information.
Online Land Indexes and Records
- 1718-1957 Maine, State Archive Collections, 1718-1957 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index/images
- 1802-1839 Washington County records of deeds, 1802-1839, in the Aroostook Registry at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1808-1879 Index 1808-1879 at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1835-1838 Maine Revolutionary War Bounty Land Applications, 1835-1838 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index/images
- 1839-1866 Deeds 1839-1866 at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1846-1867 Deed records for the Northern District of Aroostook County 1846-1867 at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1846-1883 Index 1846-1883 at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1865-1900 Maine, Aroostook County Deed Books, 1865-1900 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Image only
- 1865-1903 Maine, Northern Aroostook County, deeds, 1865-1903 at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1866-1900 Maine, Southern Aroostook County, deeds, 1866-1900 at FamilySearch Catalog — images
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Aroostook County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information, see Maine Local Histories.
- Aroostook : Our Last Frontier : Maine's Picturesque Potato Empire. c1937. By Charles Morrow Wilson. Brattleboro, Vt.: S. Daye Press. Online at Ancestry ($); At various libraries (WorldCat).
- History of Aroostook. 2 parts in 1 volume. c1922. Part 1 by Edward Wiggin, Part 2 by George H. Collins. [Presque Isle, Maine : Star-Herald Press]. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, Internet Archive, Ancestry ($); At various libraries (WorldCat).
- A History of Three Corners. 1971. By Roger C. Storms. Lee, Maine : Lee Academy. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library; At various libraries (WorldCat).
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Click a neighboring county
for more resources
for more resources
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
- 1676-1918 Maine, Veterans Cemetery Records, 1676-1918 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index/images
- 1718-1957 Maine, State Archive Collections, 1718-1957 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index/images
Revolutionary War
- 1835-1838 Maine Revolutionary War Bounty Land Applications, 1835-1838 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index/images
Civil War
- 1862-1865 Maine, Civil War Enlistment Papers, 1862-1865 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index/images
- Linda J. Zapatka, transcribed by. Aroostook County towns that sent men to the Civil War : where the men lived before the war, their enlistment records, if they survived, did they return to the county and if found, where they are buried. Caribou, Maine : Aroostook County Genealogy Society, 2015. FHL 974.11 M2z
Regiments. Civil War service men in Aroostook County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (part of a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in this county:
World War I
- 1914-1950 Maine, State Archives, World War I (WWI) Grave Cards, 1914-1950 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index/images
- 1917-1919 Maine, World War I Draft Registration Index, 1917-1919 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index/images
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Online Naturalization Indexes and Records
- 1718-1957 Maine, State Archive Collections, 1718-1957 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index/images
- 1918-1991 Maine, United States Naturalization Records, 1918-1991 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index/images
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Maine Newspaper Archive. Indexes Free; Digital Page Images $ (GenealogyBank $) Twenty-two early Maine 18th and 19th century newspapers, 1785-1898 online. Indexes (free); digital images ($). These newspapers are from Augusta, Bangor, Belfast, Brunswick, Castine, Eastport, Falmouth, Hallowell, Kennebunk, Portland, Saco and Wiscasset.
- 1800s-1999 Newspapers.com Marriage Index, 1800s-1999 at Ancestry ($)
- Maine Newspaper Project at DigitalMaine Repository
- 1863-1865, 1877 Aroostook County, Maine, births, marriages, obituaries and death notices : extracted from the Loyal sunrise, 1863-1865, 1877 at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1875-1876 Aroostook County, Maine, births, marriages, obituaries and death notices : The Fort Fairfield aurora 1875-1876 at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1876-1877 Aroostook County, Maine, births, marriages, obituaries and death notices : The Presque Isle sunrise 1876-1877 at FamilySearch Catalog — images
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1584-1999 Maine, U.S., Wills and Probate Records, 1584-1999 at Ancestry ($) — index and images
- 1760-1979 Maine, County Probate Records, 1760-1979 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; image only
- 1837-2007 Maine, Aroostook County, Probate Records, 1837-2007 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; image only
- 1839-1895 Probate records, 1839-1895 at FamilySearch Catalog — images
School Records[edit | edit source]
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch — How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Maine tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records. For databases and more information, see Maine Taxation
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
In Maine, vital records are kept by town clerks or selectmen. Although some towns have existed since the 1650s, most vital records date from about 1700. The vital statistics are often arranged by family. For more information, see the Wiki page for the town and the Wiki page, Maine Vital Records.
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1670-1921 Maine Vital Records, 1670-1921 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index/images
- 1715-1922 Maine, Birth Records, 1715-1922 at Ancestry ($)
- 1739-1900 Maine Births and Christenings, 1739-1900 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index
- 1863-1865, 1877 Aroostook County, Maine, births, marriages, obituaries and death notices : extracted from the Loyal sunrise, 1863-1865, 1877 at FamilySearch Catalog — images
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1589-1966 Maine, United States Marriages at at Findmypast — index, ($) — index $
- 1670-1921 Maine Vital Records, 1670-1921 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index/images
- 1670-1921 Maine, Marriage Index, 1670-1921, at Ancestry.com ($)
- 1713-1922 Maine, Marriage Records, 1713-1922, at Ancestry.com ($)
- 1771-1907 Maine Marriages, 1771-1907 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index
- 1839-1892 Record of marriages of Aroostook County, vol. 1-2, 1839-1892 at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1892-1966; 1977-1996 Maine, Marriage Index, 1892-1966, 1977-1996 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index/images
- 1892-1996 Maine, Marriage Index, 1892-1996, at Ancestry.com ($)
- 1892-1966 Maine Marriages, 1892 - 1966 at MyHeritage - index ($)
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1670-1921 Maine Vital Records, 1670-1921 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index/images
- 1761-1922 Maine, Death Records, 1761-1922, at Ancestry.com ($)
- 1841-1910 Maine Deaths and Burials, 1841-1910 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index
- 1960-1996 Maine Death Index, 1960-1996 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index
- 1960-1997 Maine, Death Index, 1960-1997, at Ancestry.com ($)
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
- Fort Fairfield Public Library - an affiliate library
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Maine Genealogy
Website
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Aroostook Genealogy Society
Website
Websites[edit | edit source]
- The Aroostook County MEGenWeb Project, an member of The MEGenWeb Project, an affiliate of The USGenWeb Project.
- The USGenWeb Archives Project for Aroostook County
- Aroostook County, Maine History and Genealogy (Genealogy Trails)
- FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ referer=brief_results Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 181. [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
- ↑ referer=brief_results Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 181. [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Aroostook County, Maine" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Aroostook_County,_Maine."
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Aroostook County, Maine. Page 304-305 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 275.
- ↑ referer=brief_results Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 181. [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Massachusetts.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ referer=brief_results Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 181. [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Aroostook County, Maine," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Aroostook_County,_Maine, accessed 21 March 2019.
- ↑ Before an extinct town (or plantation) was discontinued, it created official town records of interest to genealogists. For preservation these records were usually turned over to a nearby functioning town in the same county.
- ↑ Michael J. Leclerc, Genealogist's Handbook for New England Research, 5th ed. (Boston, Mass.: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2012), 93. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974 D27g 2012.
