Arizona Directories
| Arizona Wiki Topics |
|
| Beginning Research |
| Record Types |
|
| Arizona Background |
| Cultural Groups |
| Local Research Resources |
Online Resources[edit | edit source]
- Polk's Arizona and New Mexico pictorial state gazetteer and business directory: 1912-1913. images/index. ($)
- Arizona Online Historical Directories - listed by county
- Arizona Memory Project Directory of the Colored Population of Phoenix Arizona 1915-1916
- Ancestry.com ($) has Arizona directories available online in its U.S. City Directories collection.
Resources for Arizona Directories[edit | edit source]
Libraries and Archives[edit | edit source]
Directories Online[edit | edit source]
Arizona Online Historical Directories - listed by county
Ancestry.com ($) has Arizona directories available online in its U.S. City Directories collection.
Family History Library[edit | edit source]
The Family History Library has city directories for various years from throughout the state of Arizona including:
Phoenix
| 1903, 1912, 1913, 1915-1921, 1923, 1925, 1928, 1929-32, 1935 |
Family History Library films 1843284-89 |
1964, 1969, etc. |
Family History Library book 979.173/P1 E4p |
Tucson
| 1881 |
Family History Library film 1299604 |
|
1965, 1969, 1976, 1902, 1912-1914, 1917-1924, |
Family History Library films 1843290-93 |
To find directories, consult the Place Search of the FamilySearch Catalog under:
- ARIZONA, [COUNTY] — DIRECTORIES
- ARIZONA, [COUNTY], [TOWN] — DIRECTORIES
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Arizona GenWeb
- Arizona Online Historical Directories
- US City Directories This web site identifies printed, microfilmed, and online directories and their repositories.
History[edit | edit source]
Directories have been published for various Arizona cities and counties since the late 1800s, though they may not exist for every year. Some directories focus on the businesses or occupations of an area, while others include heads of households, landowners, and voters.
City and county directories are similar to present-day telephone books and are useful records for locating people. They were often published annually, listing heads of households, employed household members, and their occupations and addresses. They can be used with census records or as substitutes for them.
Directories are particularly helpful for research in large cities where a high percentage of the people were renters, new arrivals, or temporary residents. In fact, a directory may be the only source that lists a person if he was not registered to vote and did not own property. Most households were included because the directories were created for salesmen, merchants, and others interested in contacting residents of an area.
Directories have other clues that may require careful study to discover. For example, people in similar or related occupations were often relatives, in-laws, or friends. A year-by-year study of directories may reveal the movements of ancestors and relatives within the city and sometimes to or from other cities.Examples of directories that may be found in an archive are: city directories, telephone directories, church directories, occupational directories, farmers directories, or rosters of society members.
| ||||