Appling County, Georgia Genealogy
Guide to Appling County, Georgia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named for Daniel Appling and is located in the southeast area of the state.[2]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Appling County Courthouse
83 South Oak Street
Baxley, GA 31513-2097
Phone: 912-367-8100
Appling County Website
Probate Court has birth, marriage, death and burial records.
Clerk of Superior Court has divorce, probate and court records.[3]
Appling County, Georgia Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1919 | 1869 | 1919 | 1879 | 1879 | 1879 | 1820 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
1876 The courthouse at Baxter burned 7 September 1876. Most county records were lost. Some deed books survived.[5] For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:
|
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website. |
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]
| Cities | ||
| Towns | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
|
|
|
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
- Appling County Bible Records Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project
Biographies[edit | edit source]
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
- 1949-1969 United States, Cemetery Abstracts, 1949-1969(*) at FamilySearch
US Vol. 5 page 74
Census Records[edit | edit source]
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1820 | 1,264 | — |
| 1830 | 1,468 | 16.1% |
| 1840 | 2,052 | 39.8% |
| 1850 | 2,949 | 43.7% |
| 1860 | 4,190 | 42.1% |
| 1870 | 5,086 | 21.4% |
| 1880 | 5,276 | 3.7% |
| 1890 | 8,676 | 64.4% |
| 1900 | 12,336 | 42.2% |
| 1910 | 12,318 | −0.1% |
| 1920 | 10,594 | −14.0% |
| 1930 | 13,314 | 25.7% |
| 1940 | 14,497 | 8.9% |
| 1950 | 14,003 | −3.4% |
| 1960 | 13,246 | −5.4% |
| 1970 | 12,726 | −3.9% |
| 1980 | 15,565 | 22.3% |
| 1990 | 15,744 | 1.2% |
| 2000 | 17,419 | 10.6% |
| 2010 | 18,236 | 4.7% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
- 1856-1934 Physicians' Register, 1856-1934, 1882-1899 (Appling County, Georgia)(*); Superior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1868-1922 Minutes, 1868-1922(*); Superior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1874-1882 Miscellaneous Records: Estate Records, Oaths of Notary Public, Bonds, Letters, Marriage Contracts, etc., 1874-1882 (Appling County, Georgia)(*); Court of Ordinary at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1874-1897 Court of Ordinary, and Commissioner Court Records, 1874-1897 [Appling County, Georgia](*); Court of Ordinary at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1879-1958 Minutes, 1879-1958(*); Court of Ordinary at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1881-1922 Writs, 1881-1922(*); Superior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1890-1959 Business Charter Records, 1890-1959(*); Superior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1894-1900 Minutes 1894-1900, Appling County, Georgia(*); County Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1897-1953 Twelve Months' Support (from Estates being Administered in the Court of Ordinary) 1897-1953, Appling County, Georgia(*); Court of Ordinary at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1898-1916 County Officer Bonds 1898-1916, Appling County, Georgia(*); Court of Ordinary at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1898-1921 Writs, 1898-1921(*); City Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1899-1928 Sale Bills of Property 1899-1928, Appling County, Georgia(*); Court of Ordinary at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1900-1926 Minutes, 1900-1926(*); City Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1904-1957 Jury Register of Petit and Grand Jurors Drawn 1904-1957, Appling County, Georgia(*); Superior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — images
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
African Americans
African American research page on the Coastal Georgia History & Genealogy site. Biographies, burial index, cemeteries, census, court, death records, enslavement records, family files, history, links & websites, marriages, name changes, newspapers, plantations and schools.
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
- C.M. Brown Funeral Home in Baxley
- Nobles Funeral Home and Crematory in Baxley
- Peoples Community Funeral Home in Baxley
- Swain Funeral Home in Baxley
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
- 1735-1866Georgian Colonial and Headright Plat Index, 1735-1866 at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault - alpha index
- 1783-1909 Headright and Bounty Plats, 1783-1909 at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault - images with alpha index
- 1805-1833 District Plats of Survey at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault - images organized by county and district
- 1856-1879 Appling Homestead Applications (Digital Images) at Georgia Pioneers ($)
- Colonial Plats and Warrants at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault - images with alpha index
- Appling County Exemptions (Digital Images) at Georgia Pioneers ($)
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Appling County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
for more resources
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
- 1740s-? Historic Map File at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault - images
- 1866 - 1935 County Map File at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault - images
- Maps of Georgia (1758-1932)
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
- Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project
Civil War
Online Records
- 1861-1865 Georgia Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index — How to Use this Collection
- 1861-1865 Georgia Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index — How to Use this Collection
- 1861-1865 U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861-1865 U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry— index (free)
- 1861-1865 - Confederate Enlistment Oaths and Discharges at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault- images and alphabetical index
- 1861-1865 Confederate Muster Rolls at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault- images; filter by commanding officer, service branch and regiment
- 1861-1865 Confederate Pension Application Supplements - images and alphabetical index; filter by county
- 1864 - Militia Enrollment Lists, 1864 - images; filter by county
- 1867-1868 Georgia, Reconstruction Registration Oath Books, 1867-1868 at FamilySearch — index — How to Use this Collection
- 1879-1920 Georgia, Confederate Pension Rolls, 1879-1920 at FamilySearch — index — How to Use this Collection
- 1879-1960 Confederate Pension Applications - images and alphabetical index; filter by county
Regiments. Service men in Appling County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Appling County:
- - 11th Battalion, Georgia Infantry (State Guards) (Confederate), Company F
- - 27th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company I
- - 28th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company I
- - 47th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company F
- - 54th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies B and K
Spanish-American War
- 1898 Spanish-American War Service Summary Cards - images and alphabetical index; filter by residence, muster location and unit
World War I
- 1914-1918 World War I Casualties Scrapbooks - images and alphabetical index
- 1920-1929 Georgia, World War I, Statement of Service Cards, 1920-1929 at FamilySearch — index and images — How to Use this Collection
World War II
- 1940-1942 Georgia World War II Draft Registration Cards 1940-1942 at findmypast - index ($))
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- 1800s-1999 U.S., Newspapers.com Marriage Index, 1800s-1999 at Ancestry - index ($)
- Georgia Historic Newspapers at Digital Library of Georgia
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Voting Records
- 1867-1868 Georgia, Reconstruction Registration Oath Books, 1867-1868 at FamilySearch — index — How to Use this Collection
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Colonial courts kept some early probate records. From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records. The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.
Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1733-1753 Colonial Wills at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault - images with alpha index
- 1742-1990 Georgia Probate Records, 1742-1990(*) at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index & images
- 1742-1992 Georgia Wills and Probate Records 1742-1992 at Ancestry — index and images ($)
- 1754-1776 Colonial Will Books at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault - images with alpha index
- 1856-1879 Appling County, Georgia Estates, Guardianships, Vouchers, etc. at Georgia Pioneers ($)
- 1856-1860,1876-1891 Guardianship vouchers on estates, etc., 1856-1860,1876-1891(*); Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Appling County) at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1866-1879 Index of Appling County, Georgia Miscellaneous Estates at Georgia Pioneers ($)
- 1873-1878 Index of Appling County, Georgia Annual Returns at Georgia Pioneers ($)
- 1877-1888 Index of Appling County, Georgia Annual Returns at Georgia Pioneers ($)
- 1877-1900 Digital Images of Appling County, Georgia Wills. See names of testators. Georgia Pioneers ($)
- 1877-1937 Appling County Georgia list of will book testators SAMPUBCO - Browsable index of testators of wills.
- 1877-1937 Index of Appling County, Georgia Wills at Georgia Pioneers ($)
- 1877-1937 Wills, 1877-1937(*); Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Appling County) at FamilySearch Catalog — index and images
- 1877-1940 Miscellaneous estate records, 1877-1940(*); Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Appling County) at FamilySearch Catalog — partial index and images
- 1879-1958 Minutes, 1879-1958(*); Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Appling County) at FamilySearch Catalog — index and images
- 1883-1899 Journal of letters of dismission, administrators, guardianship and bonds, 1883-1899 (Appling County, Georgia)(*); Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Appling County) at FamilySearch Catalog — index and images
- 1887-1949 Administrator bonds and oaths 1887-1949, Appling County, Georgia(*); Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Appling County) at FamilySearch Catalog — images & index
- 1889-1908 Letters of administration, guardianships, and tax records, 1889-1908 (Appling County, Georgia)(*); Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Appling County) at FamilySearch Catalog — index and images
- 1897-1945 Inventories and appraisements of estates 1897-1945, Appling County, Georgia(*); Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Appling County) at FamilySearch Catalog — index and images
- 1897-1953 Twelve months' support (from estates being administered in the Court of Ordinary) 1897-1953, Appling County, Georgia(*); Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Appling County) at FamilySearch Catalog — indexes and images
- 1897-1956 Estate petitions and orders, 1897-1956(*); Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Appling County) at FamilySearch Catalog — index and images
- 1901-1938 Wills, letters, and probate of wills [Appling County, Georgia 1901-1938](*); Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Appling County) at FamilySearch Catalog — index and images
- 1911-1949 Letters of administration 1911-1949, Appling County, Georgia(*); Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Appling County) at FamilySearch Catalog — index and images
- Docket and general index to proceedings of estates, Appling County, Georgia(*); Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Appling County) at FamilySearch Catalog — images
School Records[edit | edit source]
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information — How to Use this Collection.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and all slaves up to age 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.
- 1787-1900 Georgia, Tax Digests, 1787-1900 at FamilySearch — How to use this collection, index and images
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.
For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia.
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1870-1960 Georgia, County Delayed Birth and Death Records, 1870-1960 at FamilySearch — index, and some images — How to Use this Collection
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1560-1993 Georgia, United States Marriages at Findmypast — index ($)
- 1699-1944 Georgia Marriages 1699-1944 at Ancestry— index ($)
- 1754-1960 Georgia Church Marriages, 1754-1960 at FamilySearch — index and images — How to Use this Collection
- 1785-1950 Georgia County Marriages 1785-1950 at FamilySearch — index and images — How to Use this Collection
- 1787-1962 Georgia, Church Marriages, 1787-1962 at FamilySearch — index — How to Use this Collection
- 1808-1967 Georgia Marriages 1808-1967 at FamilySearch — index — How to Use this Collection
- 1869-1879 Marriages at Georgia Pioneers ($)
- 1869-1889 Appling County Marriage Index 1869-1889. Batch M712021 at FamilySearch.[8]
- 1869-1889 Appling County Marriage Index 1869-1889. Batch M002544 at FamilySearch
- 1889-1891 Appling County Marriage Index 1889-1891. Batch M712022 at FamilySearch
- 1889-1907 Appling County Marriage Index 1889-1907. Batch M002543 at FamilySearch
- 1907-1921 Appling County Marriage Index 1907-1921. Batch M002540 at FamilySearch
- 1918-1935 Appling County Marriage Index 1918-1935. Batch M002538 at FamilySearch
- 1918-1952 Appling County Marriage Index 1918-1952. Batch M002539 at FamilySearch
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1870-1960 Georgia, County Delayed Birth and Death Records, 1870-1960 at FamilySearch — index, and some images — How to Use this Collection
- 1914-1927 Georgia Deaths 1914-1927 at FamilySearch — index and images — How to Use this Collection
- 1919-1998 Georgia Deaths 1919-1998 at Ancestry — index ($)
- 1919-1930 Georgia Death Certificates at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault - index and images
- 1928-1942 Georgia Deaths, 1928-1942 at FamilySearch — index and images — How to Use this Collection
- 1928-1930 Georgia Non-Indexed Death Certificates at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault - images
- 1933-1998 Georgia Death Index 1933-1998 at FamilySearch — index — How to Use this Collection
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Appling County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Georgia Archives and Libraries.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Appling County. For state-wide library facilities, see Georgia Archives and Libraries.
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Appling County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Georgia Societies.
Appling County Heritage Center
209 Thomas St. Baxley GA 31513
Phone: 912-367-8133
Appling County Heritage Center
Appling County Historical Society
P O Box 1063
Baxley 31513-7063
Appling County Historical Society
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Coastal Georgia Genealogy & History (GlynnGen.com)
- Georgia Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- USGenWeb Appling County, Georgia project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county.
- GAGenWeb Archives
- Appling County, Georgia Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Georgia Pioneers ($)
- FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Appling, Mississippi," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Appling_County,_Georgia." accessed 31 Oct 2018
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Appling County, Georgia. Page 151-163 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 155-160.
- ↑ Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 11. At various libraries (WorldCat).
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Appling County, Georgia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Appling_County%2C_Georgia, accessed 25 January 2019.
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/0/09/Igigeorgiaad.pdf.
