Appanoose County, Iowa Genealogy
Guide to Appanoose County, Iowa ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
Appanoose County was named for Chief Appanoose and is located in southeastern Iowa.[3]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Appanoose County Courthouse
201 North 12th Street
Centerville, IA 52544
Phone: 641-437-7178
Appanoose County Website
Appanoose County, Iowa Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1880 | 1846 | 1880 | 1847 | 1850 | 1847 | 1847 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county. |
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
|
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[8]
| Cities | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
|
|
|
| Townships | ||
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
- Established in 1843, Appanoose County was named for a chief of the Sac and the Fox Indian tribes that lead the peace party during the Black Hawk War. Appanoose means "A Chief When a Child." [9]
- During the first part of the 20th century, mining was a major factor in Appanoose.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Listed below are resources for Bible records specific to Appanoose County. To find more resources, go to the Iowa Bible Records page.
- Appanoose County Bible Records at USGenWeb Iowa Archives
Biographies[edit | edit source]
- Appanoose County, Iowa Biographies Project at RootsWeb
- Biographical and Genealogical History of Appanoose and Monroe Counties, Iowa. 1903. By S Thompson Lewis. Chicago, IL: Lewis Publishing Company. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, Internet Archive; Ancestry — index and images ($)
- Biographical and Historical Record of Wayne and Appanoose Counties, Iowa. 1886. Chicago, IL: Inter-State Publishing Company. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, HathiTrust, Internet Archive, Google Books.
- Iowa Labor History Oral Project Online at: Iowa Digital Library.
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
- Iowa State Planning Board, Committee on Business and Industry. The Industrial History of Appanoose County, Iowa. Des Moines, IA, 1935 Online at: Wikipedia
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Iowa recorded not only federal, but state censuses for several in-between years as well. For more information, see the very informative Iowa Census article.
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1850 | 3,131 | — |
| 1860 | 11,931 | 281.1% |
| 1870 | 16,456 | 37.9% |
| 1880 | 16,636 | 1.1% |
| 1890 | 18,961 | 14.0% |
| 1900 | 25,927 | 36.7% |
| 1910 | 28,701 | 10.7% |
| 1920 | 30,535 | 6.4% |
| 1930 | 24,835 | −18.7% |
| 1940 | 24,245 | −2.4% |
| 1950 | 19,683 | −18.8% |
| 1960 | 16,015 | −18.6% |
| 1970 | 15,007 | −6.3% |
| 1980 | 15,511 | 3.4% |
| 1990 | 13,743 | −11.4% |
| 2000 | 13,721 | −0.2% |
| 2010 | 12,884 | −6.1% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
State Census
- 1885 Iowa State Census, 1885 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1895 Iowa State Census, 1895 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1905 Iowa State Census, 1905 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images (individual cards, not family context)
- 1915 Iowa State Census, 1915 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1925 Iowa State Census, 1925 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Most church records are held by individual churches. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Iowa Church Records.
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Lutheran
- 1781-1969 U.S., Evangelical Lutheran Church in America Church Records, 1781-1969 at Ancestry ($)
United Methodist Church
- Iowa churches : a file at the Iowa Wesleyan College in Mt. Pleasant, Iowa(*) at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- Ministerial Biographies: A File in the Iowa Wesleyan College in Mt. Pleasant, Iowa(*) at FamilySearch Catalog — images
Ward and Branch Records of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
- Camp of Israel at The Joseph Smith Papers — later referred to as Zion's Camp.
Court Records[edit | edit source]
- 1851-1859 County Court Record, v. 1, 1851-1859(*); County Court at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1852-1910 District Court Records, 1852-1910(*); District Court at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1869-1886 Circuit Court Records, 1869-1886(*); Circuit Court at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1881-1926 Justice Dockets, 1881-1926(*); Justice of the Peace at FamilySearch Catalog — images
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
- Lange Funeral Home & Crematory in Centerville
- Lange Funeral Home & Crematory in Moravia
- Thomas Funeral Home-Centerville in Centerville
- Thomas Funeral Home-Moulton in Moulton
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, S. Thompson. Biographical and Genealogical History of Appanoose and Monroe Counties, Iowa. The Lewis Publishing Company, Chicago, IL, 1903. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library; Internet Archive; Ancestry — index and images ($)
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. They include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Iowa Land and Property for information about early Iowa land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, transactions were usually recorded and housed at the county courthouse.
Online Land Indexes and Records
- 1847-1903 Town Lot Deeds, 1847-1903(*) at FamilySearch Catalog - images
- 1850-1907 Deeds, 1850-1907(*) at FamilySearch Catalog - images
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Appanoose County, which may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see Iowa Local Histories.
Online Local Histories and indexes
- 1986 Appanoose County History Book Index. 1990. Centerville, IA: Appanoose County Genealogical Society. Online at: Open Library ($).
- Abandoned Towns, Villages and Post Offices of Iowa. The Annals of Iowa, Volume XVII, Nos. 6, 7 and 8, and Volume XVIII, Nos. 1, 2 and 3. 1930-1932. David C. Mott. State Historical Society of Iowa. Online at: Iowa State Library — PDF format
- Biographical and Historical Record of Wayne and Appanoose Counties, Iowa. 1886. Chicago, IL: Inter-State Publishing Company. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library; Internet Archive; Ancestry — index and images ($).
- The History of Appanoose County, Iowa, Containing a history of the County, its Cities, Towns, &c., a Biographical Directory of Citizens. 1878. Chicago, IL: Western Historical Company. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library; Google Books; and Internet Archive.
- Past and Present of Appanoose County, Iowa. 1913. L.L. Taylor, Ed. Chicago, IL: The S.J. Clarke Publishing Company. Vol I Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, Google Books; Internet Archive; Vol II Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library and Internet Archive.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
County and state maps, historical and more current, are valuable research tools. For online maps and collections in libraries and societies, see Iowa Maps. Historical maps may be especially useful.
for more resources
- 1860-1918 U.S., Indexed County Land Ownership Maps, 1860-1918, Appanoose County at Ancestry ($) - index.
- 1875-2007 Appanoose County 1875-2007 at Historic Map Works - may include names of land-owners.
- 1883-1916 Fire Insurance Maps for Appanoose County, Iowa at Library of Congress - various years between 1883 and 1916.
- 1896 Outline Map of Appanoose County, Iowa, 1896; at FamilySearch Digital Library.
- 1915 Atlas of Appanoose County, Iowa, 1915(*); at FamilySearch Catalog — images.
- Appanoose County at IAGenWeb
- Appanoose County at Iowa Digital Library.
- Appanoose County Historical Atlas; Centerville, IA, (Appanoose County Sesquicentennial Commission, 1996), by Heusinkveld, W.M., reprinted by the Appanoose County Historical and Coal Mining Museum in 2010; — Online at AppanooseCounty.Iowa.gov
- County Atlas, Appanoose County, Iowa(*); at FamilySearch Catalog — images.
- Official Map of Appanoose County, Iowa at FamilySearch Digital Library.
- The Iowa Heritage Digital Collections, Appanoose County at State Library of Iowa.
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places.
Migration[edit | edit source]
Early migration routes to and from Appanoose County for European settlers included:
- 1846 Mormon Trail, 1846 from Nauvoo, Illinois to Salt Lake City, Utah.
|
Military Records[edit | edit source]
Multiple Wars
- 1835-1998 Iowa, Armed Forces Grave Registrations, ca. 1835-1998 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index only
- 1862-1910 Iowa, Records of Persons Subject to Military Duty, 1862-1910 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
Civil War
- 1861-1949 Iowa, Grand Army of the Republic Membership Records, 1861-1949 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
Civil War service men in Appanoose County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed here:
- - 3rd Regiment, Iowa Cavalry , Company I
- - 6th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Companies D and F
- - 7th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company F
- - 8th Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Companies F and H
- - 17th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company F
- - 18th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company F
- - 36th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Companies C, F, G and I
- - 47th Regiment, Iowa Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company B
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Please see the Iowa Naturalization and Citizenship page for state-wide information.
Online Naturalization Indexes and Records
- 1859-1990 United States, Iowa Naturalization Records, 1859-1990 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1866-1929 Naturalization Records, 1866-1929(*); District Court at FamilySearch Catalog — images
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- 1870-1872 The Weekly Citizen (Centerville, Iowa) at Ancestry — index and images, ($)
- 1872-1873, 1881 The Centerville Citizen (Centerville, Iowa) at Ancestry — index and images, ($)
- 1881-1882 The Appanoose Times (Centerville, Iowa) at Ancestry — index and images, ($)
- 1881-1882 Centerville Times (Centerville, Iowa) at Ancestry — index and images, ($)
- The Newspaper Directory on the Library of Congress' Chronicling America lists newspapers which have been published in Appanoose County, Iowa.
- NewspaperArchive.com ($) has a large collection of digitized Iowa newspapers online. This database is sometimes free at libraries.
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
- Book of obituaries, Appanoose County, Iowa(*); at FamilySearch Catalog — images
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
In most counties in Iowa, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1758-1997 Iowa, U.S., Wills and Probate Records, 1758-1997 at Ancestry — index & images ($)
- 1846-1976 Probate Index, 1846-1976(*) District Court at FamilySearch Catalog - index & images
- 1847-1873 General Index to Probate Court, v. 1, ca. 1847-1873(*) Probate Court at FamilySearch Catalog - index & images
- 1847-1927 Appanoose County, Iowa, Probate Records, 1847-1927(*) Clerk of the District Court at FamilySearch Catalog - images
- 1848-1930 Probate Records, 1848-1930(*) District Court at FamilySearch Catalog - images
- 1852-1910 District Court Records, 1852-1910(*) District Court at FamilySearch Catalog - images
- 1854-1933 Wills, 1854-1933(*) District Court at FamilySearch Catalog - images
- 1899-1909 Newspaper Clippings and Obituaries from the Semi-Weekly Iowegian, 1899-1909(*) at FamilySearch Catalog - index & images
- 1941-1980 Collateral Inheritance Tax and Lien, 1941-1980(*) County Treasurer at FamilySearch Catalog - images
School Records[edit | edit source]
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch — How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry — index and images, ($)
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Iowa tax records complement land records and can supplement the years between censuses. Iowa's unique Old Age Assistance tax gives names, addresses and birth years. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Iowa Taxation.
Online Tax Indexes and Records
- 1934-1958 Iowa, Old Age Tax Assistance Records, 1934-1958 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital Records consist of births, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded by civil officials on registers, certificates, and other documents. Copies or extracts may be purchased from the Iowa Department of Public Health or the County Clerk's office. See also Iowa Vital Records.
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1850-1939 Iowa, Delayed Birth Records, 1850-1939 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1880-1935 Iowa, County Births, 1880-1935 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection, index
- 1921-1942 Iowa, Birth Records, 1921-1942 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1518-1996 Iowa, United States Marriages at Findmypast — index ($)
- 1809-1992 Iowa, Marriages, 1809-1992 at MyHeritage — index ($)
- 1836-1926 Iowa, Marriages, 1836 - 1926 at MyHeritage — index ($)
- 1838-1934 Iowa, County Marriages, 1838-1934 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1880-1951 Iowa, U.S., Marriage Records, 1880-1951 at Ancestry — index and images ($)
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1850-1990 Iowa Deaths and Burials, 1850-1990 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and some images; Also at: MyHeritage($)
- 1880-1992 Iowa, County Death Records, 1880-1992 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1900-1939 Iowa Death Index, 1900-1939 at MyHeritage — index ($)
- 1904-1951 Iowa, Death Records, 1904-1951 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1920-1967 Iowa, U.S., Death Records, 1920-1967 at Ancestry — index and images ($)
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Appanoose County. For state-wide library facilities, see Iowa Archives and Libraries.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Appanoose County. For state-wide library facilities, see Iowa Archives and Libraries.
Drake Public Library
115 Drake Ave
Centerville, IA 52544
641-856-6676
Email: drake@centerville.lib.ia.us
Website
Garrett Memorial Library
123 S Main St
Moulton, IA 52572
641-642-3664
Email: Chelsey.wentz@moulton.lib.ia.us
Website
Museums[edit | edit source]
The Appanoose County Historical & Coal Mining Museum
100 W Maple
Centerville, IA 52544
641-856-8040
Email: appanoosehistory@yahoo.com
Website
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Appanoose County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Iowa Societies.
Appanoose County Genealogical Society
PO Box 684
Centerville, IA 52544-0684
Email: acgs2005@hotmail.com
Website
The Appanoose County Historical Society
100 W Maple
Centerville, IA 52544
641-856-8040
Email: appanoosehistory@yahoo.com
Website
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Appanoose County at Cyndi's List - a comprehensive, categorized & cross-referenced list of links that point you to genealogical research sites online
- Appanoose County at Genealogy Trails - volunteer transcriptions of genealogical and historical data
- Appanoose County at Iowa USGenWeb - free online resources for genealogical research
- Appanoose County at Iowa USGenWeb Archives - free online data for genealogical research
- State Historical Society of Iowa — select from research collection topics
- State Library of Iowa — electronic depository of documents intended for the general public produced by Iowa agencies
- The Iowa Heritage Digital Collection — digital images from a variety of Iowa cultural institutions
- FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Iowa Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed on 11 April 2021.
- ↑ Iowa Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed on 11 April 2021.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Appanoose, Iowa," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Appanoose_County,_Iowa.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Iowa Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed on 11 April 2021.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ https://digital.newberry.org/ahcb/documents/IA_Individual_County_Chronologies.htm#Individual_County_Chronologies Iowa Historical Boundary Changes] - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed on 11 April 2021.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Appanoose County, Iowa," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Appanoose_County,_Iowa, accessed 22 November 2018.
- ↑ Appanoose County, accessed 19 April 2021.
