Androscoggin County, Maine Genealogy
Jump to navigation
Jump to search
Guide to Androscoggin County, Maine ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
Adroscoggin County was named for the Androscoggin tribe. The county is located in the southwestern area of the state.[3]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Androscoggin County Courthouse
2 Turner St
Auburn, ME 04210
Phone: 207-330-7500
Androscoggin County Website
Clerk Superior Court has divorce and court records from 1854, City Clerk has birth, marriage, divorce and burial records. Register of Probate has probate records.
Androscoggin County, Maine Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1892 | 1851 | 1892 | 1854 | 1854 | 1854 | 1790 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county. |
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
|
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this census area:[7]
| Cities | ||
| Towns | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
| Census-designated places | ||
| Ghost towns | ||
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Biographies[edit | edit source]
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
- 1620-2014 Maine, Tombstone Inscriptions, Surname Index, 1620-2014 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index/images
- 1676-1918 Maine, Veterans Cemetery Records, 1676-1918 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index/images
- 1718-2014 Maine, U.S., Tombstone Inscriptions, Surname Index, 1718-2014 at Ancestry - index ($)
- 1780-1990 Maine, U.S., Faylene Hutton Cemetery Collection, 1780-1990 at Ancestry - index and images ($)
- ca. 1780-1990 Maine, Faylene Hutton Cemetery Collection, ca. 1780-1990 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index/images
- ca. 1780-1999 Maine, J. Gary Nichols Cemetery Collection, ca. 1780-1999 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index/images
Census Records[edit | edit source]
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1860 | 29,726 | — |
| 1870 | 35,866 | 20.7% |
| 1880 | 45,042 | 25.6% |
| 1890 | 48,968 | 8.7% |
| 1900 | 54,242 | 10.8% |
| 1910 | 59,822 | 10.3% |
| 1920 | 65,796 | 10.0% |
| 1930 | 71,214 | 8.2% |
| 1940 | 76,679 | 7.7% |
| 1950 | 83,594 | 9.0% |
| 1960 | 86,312 | 3.3% |
| 1970 | 91,279 | 5.8% |
| 1980 | 99,657 | 9.2% |
| 1990 | 105,259 | 5.6% |
| 2000 | 103,793 | −1.4% |
| 2010 | 107,702 | 3.8% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
- 1790 1790 United States Federal Census, at Ancestry.com ($)
- 1790 United States Census, 1790 Description at FamilySearch.org - How to Use This Collection
- 1800 1800 United States Federal Census, at Ancestry.com ($)
- 1800 United States Census, 1800 at FamilySearch.org - How to Use This Collection
- 1800-1890 All Maine, Compiled Census and Census Substitutes Index, 1800-1890 Results at Ancestry ($)
- 1810 1810 United States Federal Census, at Ancestry.com ($)
- 1810 United States Census, 1810 at FamilySearch.org - How to Use This Collection
- 1820 1820 United States Federal Census, at Ancestry.com ($)
- 1820 United States Census, 1820 at FamilySearch.org - How to Use This Collection
- 1830 1830 United States Federal Census, at Ancestry.com ($)
- 1830 United States Census, 1830 at FamilySearch.org - How to Use This Collection
- 1840 1840 United States Federal Census, at Ancestry.com ($)
- 1840 United States Census, 1840 at FamilySearch.org - How to Use This Collection
- 1850 1850 United States Federal Census at Ancestry ($)
- 1850 United States Census, 1850 at FamilySearch.org - How to Use This Collection
- 1850 United States Census (Mortality Schedule), 1850 at FamilySearch.org - How to Use This Collection
- 1860 1860 United States Federal Census at Ancestry ($)
- 1860 United States Census, 1860 at FamilySearch.org - How to Use This Collection
- 1870 1870 United States Federal Census at Ancestry ($)
- 1870 United States Census, 1870 at FamilySearch.org - How to Use This Collection
- 1880 1880 United States Federal Census at Ancestry ($)
- 1880 United States Census, 1880 at FamilySearch.org - How to Use This Collection
- 1890 1890 Veterans Schedules, at Ancestry.com ($)
- 1890 United States Census of Union Veterans and Widows of the Civil War, 1890 at FamilySearch.org - How to Use This Collection
- 1900 1900 United States Federal Census at Ancestry ($)
- 1900 United States Census, 1900 at FamilySearch.org - How to Use This Collection
- 1910 1910 United States Federal Census at Ancestry ($)
- 1910 United States Census, 1910 at FamilySearch.org - How to Use This Collection
- 1920 1920 United States Federal Census at Ancestry ($)
- 1920 United States Census, 1920 at FamilySearch.org - How to Use This Collection
- 1930 1930 United States Federal Census at Ancestry ($)
- 1930 United States Census, 1930 at FamilySearch.org - How to Use This Collection
- 1930 United States Census of Merchant Seamen, 1930 at FamilySearch.org - How to Use This Collection
- 1940 1940 United States Federal Census at Ancestry ($)
- 1940 United States Census, 1940 at FamilySearch.org - How to Use This Collection
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Maine denominations, view the Maine Church Records wiki page.
- 1787-1922 New England, Select United Methodist Church Records, 1787-1922 at Ancestry ($)
- 1800-1947 U.S., Evangelical Lutheran Church in America, Swedish American Church Records, 1800-1947 at Ancestry ($)
- 1841-1893 Records of marriages 1841-1893 by Rev. William R. French at FamilySearch Catalog — images
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Online Court Indexes and Records
- 1718-1957 Maine, State Archive Collections, 1718-1957 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index/images
Directories[edit | edit source]
- 1860 Lewiston & Auburn, Androscoggin County, Maine, 1860 Directory at Ancestry.com ($)
- 1864 The Lewiston and Auburn directory at Ancestry.com ($)
- 1905 The town register, Wayne, Wales, Monmouth, Leeds, Greene : 1905 at Ancestry.com ($)
- 1908 Lewiston, Androscoggin County, Maine, Directory, 1908 at Ancestry.com ($)
- 1909 The town register, East Livermore, Livermore, Jay, 1909 at Ancestry.com ($)
- 1909 The Webster, West Gardiner, Litchfield, and Monmouth register, 1909 at Ancestry.com ($)
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
- 1873-1965 Maine & Massachusetts, Case Files of Deceased and Deserted Seamen, 1873-1965 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; image only
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
- 1840-1893 Funerals 1840-1893 at FamilySearch Catalog — images
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents. See Maine Land and Property for databases, early land grants to individuals, and more information.
Online Land Indexes and Records
- 1718-1957 Maine, State Archive Collections, 1718-1957 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index/images
- 1835-1838 Maine Revolutionary War Bounty Land Applications, 1835-1838 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index/images
- 1854-1909 Indexes to land records, 1854-1909 at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1854-1923 Land records, 1854-1923 at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1858 Androscoggin County, Maine land ownership map, 1858 at FamilySearch Catalog — images
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Androscoggin County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information, see Maine Local Histories.
- Atlas and History of Androscoggin County, Maine. 1873. Philadelphia, Pennsylvania : Sanford Everts & Co. Online at:FamilySearch Digital Library, Internet Archive.
- History of Androscoggin County, Maine. 1891. Edited by Georgia Drew Merrill. Boston, Mass. : W.A. Fergusson. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, Hathitrust, Internet Archive, Ancestry ($); At various libraries (WorldCat).
- Maine Indexes at EveryNameIndex.com — Select the county.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Click a neighboring county
for more resources
for more resources
- 1858 A topographical map of Androscoggin County, Maine; showing landowners.
- Map of Androscoggin County, ME, ME HomeTownLocator
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
- 1676-1918 Maine, Veterans Cemetery Records, 1676-1918 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index/images
- 1718-1957 Maine, State Archive Collections, 1718-1957 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index/images
Revolutionary War
- 1835-1838 Maine Revolutionary War Bounty Land Applications, 1835-1838 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index/images
Civil War
- 1862-1865 Maine, Civil War Enlistment Papers, 1862-1865 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index/images
Regiments. Civil War service men in Androscoggin County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (part of a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in this county:
- - 1st Regiment, Maine Infantry, Companies F, H and K.
- - 1st Regiment, Maine Volunteer Infantry, Companies F, H and K.
- - 5th Regiment, Maine Infantry, Companies E and K.
World War I
- 1914-1950 Maine, State Archives, World War I (WWI) Grave Cards, 1914-1950 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index/images
- 1917-1919 Maine, World War I Draft Registration Index, 1917-1919 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index/images
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Online Naturalization Indexes and Records
- 1718-1957 Maine, State Archive Collections, 1718-1957 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index/images
- 1800-1990 Maine, County Naturalization Records, 1800-1990 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index/images
- 1918-1991 Maine, United States Naturalization Records, 1918-1991 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index/images
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- 1785-1950 Maine Newspaper Archive. Indexes Free; Digital Page Images $ (GenealogyBank $) Twenty-two early Maine 18th and 19th century newspapers, 1785-1898 online. Indexes (free); digital images ($). These newspapers are from Augusta, Bangor, Belfast, Brunswick, Castine, Eastport, Falmouth, Hallowell, Kennebunk, Portland, Saco and Wiscasset.
- 1800s-1999 Newspapers.com Marriage Index, 1800s-1999 at Ancestry ($)
- Maine Newspaper Project at DigitalMaine Repository
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1584-1999 Maine Wills and Probate Records 1584-1999 at Ancestry.com ($)
- 1760-1979 Maine, County Probate Records, 1760-1979 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; image only
- 1854-1892 Probate of wills, v. 1-2, 1854-1892 at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1854-1892 Maine, Androscoggin County, Probate Estate Files, 1854-1918 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; image only
- 1854-1918 Probate docket records (Androscoggin County, Maine), 1854-1918 at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1854-1919 Probate records, 1854-1919 at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1854-1979 Administrators, executors and guardians records, 1854-1979 at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1870-2005 Maine, Androscoggin County, probate records, 1870-2005 at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1854-1918 Maine, Androscoggin County, Probate Estate Files, 1854-1918 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; image only
School Records[edit | edit source]
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch — How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Maine tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records. For databases and more information, see Maine Taxation
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
In Maine, vital records are kept by town clerks or selectmen. Although some towns have existed since the 1650s, most vital records date from about 1700. The vital statistics are often arranged by family. For more information, see the Wiki page for the town and the Wiki page, Maine Vital Records.
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1670-1921 Maine Vital Records, 1670-1921 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index/images
- 1715-1922 Maine, Birth Records, 1715-1922 at Ancestry ($)
- 1739-1900 Maine Births and Christenings, 1739-1900 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1589-1966 Maine, United States Marriages at at Findmypast — index, ($) — index $
- 1670-1921 Maine Vital Records, 1670-1921 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index/images
- 1670-1921 Maine, Marriage Index, 1670-1921, at Ancestry.com ($)
- 1713-1922 Maine, Marriage Records, 1713-1922, at Ancestry.com ($)
- 1771-1907 Maine Marriages, 1771-1907 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index
- 1827-1881 Returns of marriages, Androscoggin County, Maine, 1827-1881 at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1892-1966; 1977-1996 Maine, Marriage Index, 1892-1966, 1977-1996 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index/images
- 1892-1996 Maine, Marriage Index, 1892-1996, at Ancestry.com ($)
- 1892-1966 Maine Marriages, 1892 - 1966 at MyHeritage - index ($)
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1670-1921 Maine Vital Records, 1670-1921 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index/images
- 1761-1922 Maine, Death Records, 1761-1922, at Ancestry.com ($)
- 1841-1910 Maine Deaths and Burials, 1841-1910 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index
- 1960-1996 Maine Death Index, 1960-1996 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index
- 1960-1997 Maine, Death Index, 1960-1997, at Ancestry.com ($)
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
- Farmington Maine Family History Center
- Oxford Maine Family History Center
- Randolph New Hampshire Family History Center
- Rockland Maine Family History Center
- Waterville Maine Family History Center
- Camden Public Library - an affiliate library
- Maine State Library - an affiliate library
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Edmund S. Muskie Archives and Special Collections Library
70 Campus Avenue
Lewiston, Maine 04240
Phone: 207-786-6342
Email: muskie@bates.edu
Website
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Androscoggin Historical Society
2 Turner St., #8, (County Bldg)
Auburn, ME 04210
Phone: 207-784-0586 or 207-786-2129
Email: info@androhist.org
Website
Facebook
Websites[edit | edit source]
- The Androscoggin County MEGenWeb Project, an member of The MEGenWeb Project, an affiliate of The USGenWeb Project.
- The USGenWeb Archives Project for Androscoggin County
- Androscoggin County, Maine History and Genealogy (Genealogy Trails)
- FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002).
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002).
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Androscoggin, Maine" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Androscoggin_County,_Maine."
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Androscoggin County, Maine. Page 304-305 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 275.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002).
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Maine.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Androscoggin_County, Maine," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Androscoggin_County,_Maine, accessed 27 February 2019.