Anderson County, South Carolina Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Anderson County, South Carolina ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Anderson
Organized: December 20, 1826[1]
Parent County(s): Pendleton[2]
Neighboring Counties
Abbeville  • Elbert (GA)  • Greenville  • Hart (GA)  • Laurens  • Oconee  • Pickens
See County Maps
Courthouse
South Carolina, Anderson County Courthouse.png
Location Map
Sc-anderson.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for Revolutionary War leader Robert Anderson. The County is located in the northwest area of the state.[3]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Anderson County Courthouse
100 S Main Street
Anderson, SC 29624
Telephone: 864-260-4000
Anderson County Website

County Pronunciation
Hear it spoken.[4]

Anderson County, South Carolina Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[5]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1915 1911 1915 1826 1788 1826 1790
*Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1915. General compliance by 1918.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Anderson County, South Carolina online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See South Carolina Cemeteries for more information.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For all existing and online Federal population schedules of South Carolina, see South Carolina Census. See also USGenWeb Census Project, South Carolina, including links to transcribed files.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1830 17,169
1840 18,493 7.7%
1850 21,475 16.1%
1860 22,873 6.5%
1870 24,049 5.1%
1880 33,612 39.8%
1890 43,696 30.0%
1900 55,728 27.5%
1910 69,568 24.8%
1920 76,349 9.7%
1930 80,949 6.0%
1940 88,712 9.6%
1950 90,664 2.2%
1960 98,478 8.6%
1970 105,474 7.1%
1980 133,235 26.3%
1990 145,196 9.0%
2000 165,740 14.1%
2010 187,126 12.9%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

1800
The book, 1800 Census of Pendleton District, SC by William Stewart is an excellent book. It covers present day Anderson County, Pickens County and Oconee County. The author provides many annotations of people and families listed in this census, especially migration information before 1800 from Maryland, Virginia, and North Carolina and after 1800 to Georgia, Alabama, Mississippi, and Texas. FHL Book 975.72 X2s 1800

1810

  • Sheriff, G. Anne Campbell and Lavinia Moore. Pendleton District, South Carolina 1810 Census Present Day Anderson, Oconee and Pickens Counties. Central, S.C.: G.A. Sheriff, 1994. FHL Book 975.72 X2s 1810

1820 Manufactures
The original manufactures schedules for South Carolina are kept at the NARA, Washington, D.C. FHL copies: FHL microfilms 1024517 - 1024518.

1840 Revolutionary War Pensioners

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. Washington, D.C.: Blair and Rives, 1841. FHL Book 973 X2pc 1840; film 2321; digital version at Google Books. See South Carolina, Anderson District on page 143.

1890
For 1890, see: United States Census 1890.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Anderson County Churches identifies dozens of churches in the area, courtesy: South Carolina Genealogical Society.

Baptist

  • Mountain Creek - minutes and historical sketch (1798-1981) available on microfilm at the University of NC Davis Library (Serial 1-1271 1798-1956).

Ward and Branch Records of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

  • Anderson

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African Americans

Known plantations South Carolina Plantations:

  • Altamont
  • Ashtabula - Pendleton
  • Centerville
  • Farmers Hall
  • Friendville
  • Generosity
  • Glen
  • Harrisburg - submerged under Lake Hartwell
  • Montpelier - Pendleton - also called Maverick
  • Oaklawn - Pendleton
  • Portman Shoals
  • Rivoli
  • Rock Cell
  • Silver Glade
  • Six and Twenty
  • Woodburn - Pendleton

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

General
As of August 2010, a query for persons born in Anderson, South Carolina at World Connect, results in more than 45,000 entries. Persons born in Pendleton, South Carolina produces 25,000 additional results. Surname indexes to Leonardo Andrea's Files | Folders | Resources are available online, courtesy: The Andrea Files: South Carolina Genealogical Research. Gotoarrow.png Learn more.

Bibliography

  • Acker - Acker, George H. Descendants of Peter Acker and Wife Jane Sutherland, Settlers of 1787 in the Pendleton District of South Carolina. Cleveland, Ohio: G.H. Acker, 1966. FHL 858653 Item 4
  • Adams Baldwin, Emma Grace. An Adams-Goolsby Genealogy: Some Descendants of Robert Adams of Virginia, Georgia, and Texas, 1624- 1982 ; and a Shirley Genealogy: Some Descendants of Thomas Shirley of Virginia, South Carolina, Georgia, and Texas, 1612-1982. Tenaha, Texas: E.G. Baldwin, 1983. FHL 929.273 Ad17be
  • Barnett Parker, Suzanne Jameson. "Are These the Sons-in-Law & Grandson of William Jameson Sr. & His Wife Margaret of Pendleton District South Carolina?" The South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Vol. 37, No. 1 (Winter 2009):3-11. FHL Book 975.7 B2sc v. 37
  • Corbin - Whitten, William C. Peter Corbin of Pendleton S.C. District and Descendants. Clemson, S.C.: W.C. Whitten, 1988. FHL 929.273 C811w
  • Davis Mentzel, Laura W. Davis Families of the Savannah River Valley: Containing a Record of the Descendants of Van and Harmon Davis from 1725-1978, Covering the Counties of Newberry, Anderson, Pickens, Oconee Counties of South Carolina; Habersham, Franklin, Hart, Stephens, Polk, Paulding, Gwinnett Counties of Georgia. Salt Lake City, Utah: Hobby Press, 1978. FHL 929.273 D29mL
  • Jameson - Parker, Suzanne Jameson. "Are These the Sons-in-Law & Grandson of William Jameson Sr. & His Wife Margaret of Pendleton District South Carolina?" The South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Vol. 37, No. 1 (Winter 2009):3-11. FHL Book 975.7 B2sc v. 37
  • Langston - Parker, Suzanne Jameson. "Are These the Sons-in-Law & Grandson of William Jameson Sr. & His Wife Margaret of Pendleton District South Carolina?" The South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Vol. 37, No. 1 (Winter 2009):3-11. FHL Book 975.7 B2sc v. 37
  • Liverett Tucker, Charlotte Green. "Thomas Liverett, 2nd Lieut. In Capt. Blackwell's Company Lunenburg County, Virginia, 1777. Using Collateral Lines to Document the Descendants of a Revolutionary War Soldier," The South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Vol. 33, No. 3 (Summer 2005):133-137. FHL Book 975.7 B2sc v. 33
  • McElroy - Parker, Suzanne Jameson. "Are These the Sons-in-Law & Grandson of William Jameson Sr. & His Wife Margaret of Pendleton District South Carolina?" The South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Vol. 37, No. 1 (Winter 2009):3-11. FHL Book 975.7 B2sc v. 37
  • Sartor - Sartor, A.F. A Sartor-Shults Family History. Pearland, Texas: A. Sartor, 1989. FHL Collection 929.273 Sa77sa
  • Turner - Lennon, Rachael Mills. "The Wives of Jonathan Turner: Identification of Women in Pre-Twentieth-Century South Carolina," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 92, No. 4 (December 2004):245-255. FHL Collection 973 B2ng v. 92 (2004)
  • Turner - Lennon, Rachal Mills. "Jonathan Turner-More than a Name: A Carolina Case Study in Dissecting Records," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 97, No. 1 (Mar. 2009):17-28. FHL 973 B2ng v. 97
  • Wright Kay, William D. Robert Norris Wright, Esquire: 1812-1885, His Life and Four Generations of His Family, Anderson County South Carolina. Mt. Pleasant, S.C.: W.D. Kay, 2005. FHL 929.273 W935k

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Because South Carolina was an agricultural state, many residents owned land. For earliest records, search 1) Charleston District, 2) your ancestor’s residential district, 3) neighboring districts, 4) the residential county, 5) neighboring counties. Not all districts and counties kept records. See also South Carolina Land and Property.
Conveyance Books
Some of the original Anderson County Conveyance Books have been microfilmed (1789-1901): FHL Collection. Early records have been published:

  • 1790-1806 Willie, Betty. Pendleton District, S.C. Deeds, 1790-1806. Easley, S.C.: Southern Historical Press, 1982. FHL Book 975.72 R2w
  • 1807-1812 Pruitt, A.B. Abstracts of Deeds: Pendleton District, SC, Books IJ, K, and L (1807-1812). n.p.: A.B. Pruitt, 2006-2007. FHL Book 975.72 R28p
  • 1818-1822 Pruitt, A.B. Abstracts of Deeds: Pendleton District, SC, Books O and P (1818-1822). n.p.: A.B. Pruitt, 2007. FHL Book 975.7 R2pa
  • 1822-1830 Pruitt, A.B. Abstracts of Deeds Pendleton District and Anderson District, SC: Books Q, R, and S (1822-1830). n.p.: A.B. Pruitt, 2009. FHL Book 975.72 R2p
  • 1830-1836 Pruitt, A.B. Abstracts of Deeds Anderson District SC: Books T and U (1830-1836). n.p.: A.B. Pruitt, 2010. FHL Book 975.725 R2p

Land Ownership Maps
The Library of Congress created an 1877 land ownership map for Anderson County and the state created a 1897 land ownership map.

  • Plats For State Land Grants 1784-1868 For information about the State Land Grants, see State Land Grants

Clayton's M.A. Thesis analyzes some of these records:

  • Clayton, Frederick Van. The Settlement of Pendleton District, 1777-1800. M.A. Thesis, University of South Carolina, 1930. Reprint: Easley, S.C.: Southern Historical Press, 1988. FHL Book 975.72 W2c

Online Land Indexes and Records
The following chart shows where you may best expect to find land records.Conveyance Books Some of the original Anderson County Conveyance Books have been microfilmed (1789-1901): FHL Collection. Early records have been published:

Tracing Land Currently in Anderson County with Parent Counties and Districts [8]
Date Government Office
1868-present Anderson County
1826-1868 Anderson District
1800-1826 Pendleton District
1795-1800 Pendleton County in Washington District
1789-1795 Pendleton County in Ninety-Six District
1769-1789 Ninety-Six District
1719-1769 Charleston District
1710-1719 Proprietary Land Grants
  • Anderson County deeds include the records of former Pendelton District/County

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

  • Carlisle, H. Arnett. The History of Lowndesville, S.C. (Danielsville, Georgia Heritage Papers, c1987), 414 pages. Includes biographies, military history, cemeteries and the following census information: 1840, 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, and 1910. Book found at FHL 975.735/L1 H2c, and WorldCat 18557351.
  • Carlisle, H. Arnett. History of Old Pendleton District with a Genealogy of the Leading Families of the District (Danielsville, Georgia: Heritage Papers, c1987), 414 pages. In 1868 the area known as Pendleton District became the counties of Anderson, Pickens and Oconee. FHL 975.72 H2s 1978a.
  • Vandiver, Louise Ayer. Traditions and History of Anderson County. Atlanta, Ga.: Ruralist Press, 1928. Digital versions at Ancestry ($) and World Vital Records ($).
  • Via, Eva Ann Wilson. Piercetown Cousins: History of Piercetown, Anderson County, South Carolina, 1835-1993, including Wilson, Owen and 28 allied families (Baltimore, Maryland: Gateway Press, c1993), 617 pages. Includes Wilson, Owen, Martin and allied families. Book at FHL 929.273 W691v

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Oconee CountyPickens CountyGreenville CountyLaurens CountyAbbeville CountyHart CountyElbert CountySC ANDERSON.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Early migration routes to and from Anderson County for European settlers included:[9]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Revolutionary War

  • "Selected final pension vouchers index, 1818-1864," Old Pendleton District Newsletter, March 2006, Volume 20, Issue 3. Old Pendleton District Chapter, South Carolina Genealogical Society: Easley, South Carolina.
  • "Veterans Bio. buried in Pickens cemetery," Carolina Herald and Newsletter, August 2001, Volume 29, Issue 3. South Carolina Genealogical Society Greenville, SC. FHL Book 975.7 B2c.
  • "Siege of the town of Ninety Six, 1775," St. Lucie River Whig, Winter 2001, Volume 10, Issue 1. St. Lucie River Chapter Lucie, Florida.
  • "Pensioners in 1840 census," Pendleton District Newsletter, April 1994, Volume 8, Issue 4. Old Pendleton District Chapter, South Carolina Genealogical Society Easley, SC.
  • "Land grants, 1777-1800, Pendleton District," Jacksonville Genealogical Society Quarterly, December 1984, Volume 12, Issue 4. Jacksonville Genealogical Society: Jacksonville, FL.

War of 1812

  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Book 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. See Vol. 5, South Carolina, Anderson County, p. 181. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.
  • "Major Gen. John Floyd's Army," Anderson Record, September 1993, Volume 6, Issue 3. Anderson County Chapter, South Carolina Genealogical Society: Anderson, SC.

Civil War

Regiments. Civil War service men from Anderson County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed of men from Anderson County:

- 1st Regiment, South Carolina Infantry (Butler's) (1st Regulars), Company B (also called Company E) and Company I
- 1st Regiment, South Carolina State Troops Junior Reserves (State Militia), Company B, Company H, and Company K
- 1st Battalion, South Carolina Reserves, Company B
- 1st Battalion, South Carolina Rifles, Company D and Company F
- 1st Battalion, South Carolina Sharpshooters, Company A (also known the Union Light Infantry and German Fusiliers) and Company B (also known as the Sumter Guards)
- 1st Regiment, South Carolina Artillery, Company A (also known as Calhoun's Battery; Sumter Light Artillery, Sumter Battery, Preston's Battery, Blake's Battery and other name variations) and Company K
- 1st Regiment, South Carolina Rifles (Orr's), Company A (also known as Kowee Riflemen), Company D (also known as Orr's Rifles), Company K (also known as Marshall Guards), and Company L (also known as Calhoun Guards)
- 1st Regiment, South Carolina State Troops, Company A and Company C
- 2nd Battalion, South Carolina Reserves, Company B
- 2nd Battalion, South Carolina Reserves, Company E
- 2nd Battalion, South Carolina Reserves, Captain WR Jones' Company
- 2nd Battalion, South Carolina Reserves, Company G
- 2nd Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry, Company F (also known as the Easley's Cavalry)
- 2nd Regiment, South Carolina Infantry (2nd Palmetto Regiment), Company F (also known as Secession Guard)
- 2nd Regiment, South Carolina Rifles,Company D, Company E, Company F, Company G, Company K, and Company L
- 3rd Battalion, South Carolina Light Artillery (Palmetto Battalion), Company F (also known as the Chestnut Light Artillery)
- 3rd Regiment, South Carolina Reserves (90 days 1862-63), Company B and Company C
- 6th Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry (Aiken's Partisan Rangers) (1st Partisan Rangers), Company A
- 6th Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry (Aiken's Partisan Rangers) (1st Partisan Rangers), Company C
- 6th Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry (Aiken's Partisan Rangers) (1st Partisan Rangers), Company I
- 3rd Battalion, South Carolina Cavalry, Company A (possibly called Captain Easley's Company)
- 3rd Battalion, South Carolina Infantry (Lauren's) (James'), Company C
- 3rd Regiment, South Carolina Infantry, Company A
- 4th Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry (Rutledge's), Company C
- 4th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry, Company I
- 4th Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry (Rutledge's), Company C
- 4th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry, Company B (also known as Palmetto Riflemen), Company C (also known as Dean Company), Company D (also known as Piercetown Guards), Company J (also known as The Confederate Guards), and Company K (sometimes listed as Company I) (also known as Fort Hill Guards)
- 9th Battalion, South Carolina Infantry (Smith's) (Pee Dee Legion), Company D
- 9th Battalion, South Carolina infantry (Smith's) (Pee Dee Legion), Company D
- 5th Battalion, South Carolina Rifles, Company D and Company F
- 7th Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry, Company G
- 10th Battalion, South Carolina Cavalry, Company B
- 11th Batatlion, South Carolina Infantry, Yeadon Light Infantry
- 13th Battalion, South Carolina Infantry (4th) (Mattison's), Company A and Company E
- 16th Battalion, South Carolina Cavalry, Company A
- 16th Battalion, South Carolina Cavalry, Company C
- 18th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry, Company D
- 19th Battalion, South Carolina Cavalry, Company B
- 19th Battalion, South Carolina Cavalry, Company E
- 19th Battalion, South Carolina Cavalry, Captain AC Earle's Company
- 20th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry, Company M
- 20th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry, Company D, Reorganized Company A, and Reorganized Company M
- 22nd Regiment, South Carolina Infantry, Company G
- 24th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry, Company F
- Jeter's Company, South Carolina Light Artillery
- Palmetto Sharpshooters Regiment, South Carolina (Jenkins') (1st Palmetto), Company B
- Palmetto Sharpshooters Regiment, South Carolina (Jenkins') (1st Palmetto), Company C
- Palmetto Sharpshooters Regiment, South Carolina (Jenkins') (1st Palmetto), Company I
- Palmetto Sharpshooters Regiment, South Carolina (Jenkins') (1st Palmetto), Company L
- South Carolina State Troop Regiments Seed Corn Units, Junior Reserves, 1st Regiment South Carolina State Troops Junior Reserves (State Militia) and 4th Regiment, South Carolina State Troops Junior Reserves (State Militia)

Other Resources

  • Keys, Thomas Bland. "The Federal Pillage of Anderson, South Carolina: Brown's Raid," The South Carolina Historical Magazine, Vol. 76, No. 2 (Apr. 1975):80-86. Digital version at JSTOR (($)).
  • Carlisle, H. Arnett, The History of Lowndesville, S.C. (Danielsville, Georgia: Heritage Papers, c1987), 414 pages. Includes biographies, military history, cemeteries and the following census information: 1840, 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, and 1910. Book found at FHL 975.735/L1 H2c FHL 975.775 H2t, and WorldCat 18557351 Civil War page 137.
  • South Carolina. Confederate Pension Board.Confederate Veterans and Widows Applications for Pensions, 1916-1956. ( Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1956). Microfilm copy at FHL 22888
  • Anderson County Courthouse.Enrollment Book of Confederate Soldiers, Anderson County, South Carolina. (Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1956). Alphabetically arranged. Micsrofilm copy at FHL 22887

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Historic
The Library of Congress has identified the following historic newspapers for Anderson County, South Carolina on their Chronicling America website. For publication details, including dates of publication, frequency, preceding and succeeding titles, and to find out which libraries have holdings, click on the newspaper title.

University of South Carolina Library Catalog

Current

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Tap into the minds of local experts. Editors of genealogical periodicals publish unique sources that researchers new to their area may not encounter. Periodicals at various levels (county, region, and state) may carry articles useful to research in this area. For more information and links, see South Carolina Periodicals.

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Various types of records are created throughout the probate process of settling estates and property, usually after death. These may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information see probate records in South Carolina Probate Records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records
The South Carolina Department of Archives and History has microfilms or typescripts of wills, inventories, bills of sale, power of attorneys, bonds, notes, administrations, judgments, and sales records. They have placed Will Transcriptions for 1782 to 1855 online. Index searchable by name and the image is available. The Wills from Pendleton District were transcribed as Anderson County.

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Tax-related records are kept by the offices of the county Assessor, Auditor, Sheriff, and Treasurer. Taxes were levied on real and personal property and can help establish ages, residences, and relationships. See South Carolina Taxation for online resources and suggestions.

Online Tax Indexes and Records

  • South Carolina Department of Archives and History tax lists for Anderson County.

Anderson District tax returns, 1835-1861 (gaps), are kept at the South Carolina Department of Archives and History. Copies: FHL Film 1025498 1835 returns have been abstracted:

  • 1835 Property Return Abstracts, 1835, Upper South Carolina Genealogy and History, Vol. 7, No. 4 (Dec. 1990).

The USGenWeb Archives includes an abstract of the following:

To see how the Civil War financially impacted residents of Anderson County, South Carolina, compare values of real and personal estates on the 1860 Census with 1866-1867 tax records:

  • 1866-1867 Rich, Peggy Burton and Margarette Gibbs Ogle. Pickens District, South Carolina 1866 Tax List, January 1, 1866- January 1, 1867. n.p.: South Carolina Genealogical Society. Old Pendleton Chapter, 1991. FHL Book 975.72 R4r

Original tax duplicate records for the years 1871, 1873-1875, 1885, and 1890 are kept at the South Carolina Department of Archives and History. Copies: FHL Films 1025490-1025495 1872 tax duplicates are also there. Copies: FHL Film 1025496 1872 tax delinquents have been published:

  • 1872 Delinquent Tax Notice, 1872, Upper South Carolina Genealogy and History, Vol. 3, No. 3 (Jul. 1985).

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriage, and death records were not recorded by South Carolina until the 1900s, thus leaving a lack of vital records created by Civil authorities. See South Carolina Vital Records for online resources and suggestions.

Birth[edit | edit source]

State-wide birth registration did not begin until 1915. For records after 1915, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.

Marriage[edit | edit source]

In South Carolina, Probate Courts issued and still keep marriage licenses from 1 July 1911 to the present. Licenses were not required before 1911. In the 1700s, the Church of England parish churches were required to record all marriages - even if the couple were not members of the denomination. Statewide registration of marriages started in July, 1950. See South Carolina Vital Records for indexes and more information.

Online Marriage Records and Indexes

Death[edit | edit source]

State-wide death registration began in 1915. For information and online records, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.

Online Death Records and Indexes

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Anderson County. For state-wide library facilities, see South Carolina Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Anderson County. For state-wide library facilities, see South Carolina Archives and Libraries.

Libraries
The Anderson County Library
Address:
300 N. McDuffie Street
Anderson, S.C. 29621.
Telephone: 864 260-4500
For current hours, either telephone or check the Library
Website as they have seasonal hours .
The South Carolina room is dedicated for genealogical research. It contains many local and family histories. The collection is primarily for research though some items may be checked out. Copy machines are available.

Staff will respond to postal mail, email, and telephone inquiries, that require checking indexes for a name. Charges for copies apply. Address requests to:
Anderson County Library,
PO Box 4047
Anderson, SC 29622 To obtain copies of obituaries send your request plus ($)1.25 per obituary and a self-addressed stamped envelope with sufficient postage to cover mailing your request. Send to the address listed above. Due to staffing limitations we will not copy more than ten(10) obituaries per mail request. Please, do not send a second request while you have a pending request. Allow two to three weeks for a reply. The genealogy collection of the Library is housed in the Anderson County Library South Carolina room. It is open during regular library hours. The collections include South Carolina Death Indexes 1815-1950, census records, various Confederate and Union military records land records, wills, and newspapers. Unique collections include the Joseph & Jane Harris Major collection by Betty Daniel Robinson, the Peggy Burton Rich collection by Dr. Linville Rich, and the Holocaust Collection by Elizabeth Marvin. A list of genealogical researchers in our area who perform fee-based research is available upon request. Please, send a self-addressed stamped envelope to the address listed above and the library will mail you a copy of the list, Subscriptions to Ancestry Library Edition and Heritage Quest Online are available.

Museums[edit | edit source]

  • The Anderson County Museum
    Contact Us:
    Address:
    202 E. Greenville St.
    Anderson, SC 29624
    Telephone: 864-260-4737
    Fax: 864-332-5320
    The museum's 12,000 square foot Fred Whitten Gallery contains 13 permanent exhibits, a temporary exhibit gallery, and multiple changing exhibits. Exhibits range from textiles to military history to religious history. The Anderson County Museum is on Facebook and Twitter.

The Anderson County Museum (ACM) boasts over 20,000 diverse artifacts in its archives. The Reading and Research Room contains 1,600 volumes and 2,000 historic photographs for public study.

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Anderson County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see South Carolina Societies.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. https://digital.newberry.org/ahcb/documents/SC_Individual_County_Chronologies.htm#ANDERSON
  2. https://digital.newberry.org/ahcb/documents/SC_Individual_County_Chronologies.htm#ANDERSON
  3. Wikipedia contributors, Anderson County, South Carolina in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Anderson_County,_South_Carolina." accessed on the 3/27/2019
  4. Voice of Phillip Stalvey, resident of Myrtle Beach, S.C. (2011).
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Anderson County, South Carolina. Page 611-615 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 607-608.
  6. https://digital.newberry.org/ahcb/documents/SC_Individual_County_Chronologies.htm#ANDERSON
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Anderson County, South Carolina," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Anderson_County%2C_South_Carolina, accessed 20 December 2019.
  8. Schweitzer, George K. , South Carolina Genealogical Research (Knoxville, Tennessee: s.p. 1985), 39-42, FHL book 975.7 D27s
  9. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 847-61. (FHL Book 973 D27e 2002) ▲ WorldCat 50140092, and William E. Myer, Indian Trails of the Southeast. (Nashville, Tenn.: Blue and Gray Press, 1971), 12-14, and the book's pocket map "The Trail System of the Southeastern United States in the early Colonial Period" (1923). (FHL Book 970.1 M992i)▲ WorldCat 1523234.
  10. William E. Myer, Indian Trails of the Southeast. (Nashville, Tenn.: Blue and Gray Press, 1971). (FHL Book 970.1 M992i) ▲ WorldCat 1523234.
  11. Revill, Janie, Abstract of Marriages and Deaths from the Pendleton messenger, 1826-1848, the Keowee Courier, 1857-1871, n.p.: n.d.
  12. Wilkinson, Tom C., Early Anderson County, South Carolina: Newspapers, Marriages, and Obituaries, 1841-1882, Easley, South Carolina: southern Historical Press, c1978.
  13. Harper, James E., The Anderson Intelligencer: Births, Deaths, Marriages and Genealogical Miscellany Specifically for Anderson County, but Includes other South Carolina Counties and Adjoining States; Includes Anyone Mentioned, Including for the First Time Afro-Americans, Townville, SC: J.E. Harper, 200?.
  14. Revill, Janie, Abstract of Marriages and Deaths from the Pendleton messenger, 1826-1848, the Keowee Courier, 1857-1871, n.p.: n.d.
  15. Wilkinson, Tom C., Early Anderson County, South Carolina: Newspapers, Marriages, and Obituaries, 1841-1882, Easley, South Carolina: southern Historical Press, c1978.
  16. Harper, James E., The Anderson Intelligencer: Births, Deaths, Marriages and Genealogical Miscellany Specifically for Anderson County, but Includes other South Carolina Counties and Adjoining States; Includes Anyone Mentioned, Including for the First Time Afro-Americans, Townville, SC: J.E. Harper, 200?.