Amelia County, Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Amelia County, Virginia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Amelia
Organized: March 25, 1735
Parent County(s): Brunswick, Prince George
Neighboring Counties
Chesterfield  • Cumberland  • Dinwiddie  • Nottoway  • Powhatan  • Prince Edward
See County Maps
Courthouse
VirginiaAmeliaCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Location of Amelia County, Virginia.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Amelia County is located in the central region of the Commonwealth of Virginia just west of the state capital, Richmond. It was named in honor of Princess Amelia, daughter of King George II.[1]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Amelia County Courthouse
16441 Court Street / P.O. Box 237
Amelia, VA 23002
Phone: 804-561-2128
Amelia County Website

Clerk Circuit Court has marriage, divorce, land probate, military and court records from 1734[2]

Amelia County, Virginia Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[3]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate Census
1853 1734 1853 1734 1734 1734 1810
* Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1912.
General compliance year is unknown.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]

Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

The first county courthouse was located near Pridesville and was in operation until it was destroyed by fire in 1766. A later courthouse was built at Dennisville. The present location was chosen in 1849. This is on a two-acre square in the center of what is known as the village of Amelia Court House, Virginia, also known simply as the Village. The currently used courthouse building was built in 1924.

The county was named after Amelia Sophia Eleanora, Princess Amelia of Great Britain (1711-1786), daughter of King George II of Great Britain and Ireland (1683-1760).[8]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

For databases and indexes, see Virginia Bible Records.

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Amelia County, Virginia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Virginia Cemeteries for more information.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For databases, indexes, and information online, see Virginia Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop. %±
1790 18,097 —
1800 9,432 −47.9%
1810 10,594 12.3%
1820 11,104 4.8%
1830 11,036 −0.6%
1840 10,320 −6.5%
1850 9,770 −5.3%
1860 10,741 9.9%
1870 9,878 −8.0%
1880 10,377 5.1%
1890 9,068 −12.6%
1900 9,037 −0.3%
1910 8,720 −3.5%
1920 9,800 12.4%
1930 8,799 −10.2%
1940 8,495 −3.5%
1950 7,908 −6.9%
1960 7,815 −1.2%
1970 7,592 −2.9%
1980 8,405 10.7%
1990 8,787 4.5%
2000 11,400 29.7%
2010 12,690 11.3%
Source: [https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Amelia_County,_Virginia#Demographics "Wikipedia.org".

1782 Enumeration

1785 Enumeration

1810 Census

1850 Census

1860 Census

1890 Veterans

Church Records[edit | edit source]

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Baptist
Early Baptist churches (with years constituted):

  1. Nottawa (by 1769).[9] Edwards published a membership list dated 1769 in Materials Towards a History of the Baptists... (1772), 68-69.
  2. Sandy Creek[10]
  • 1776 Petition of Baptists (10,000 names!) and sympathizers from all over Virginia, dated 16 October 1776, asking for an end to persecution of Baptists by the established church. After locating your ancestor, view the digital copies.
    – Digital copies at Library of Congress; also at Library of Virginia using the code word "000606093"
    – Hall, Jean Pickett. "Legislative Petitions: the 10,000 name petition" transcription in the Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vols. 35-38, with annotations in Vol. 39, (Richmond, Virginia: Virginia Genealogical Society, 1983-) online at Ancestry ($) and in book form at various libraries.
  • Petition of Amelia County Baptists, 27 October 1768. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 6, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1962):74. FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 B2vg; CD available at: American Ancestors ($).

Amelia County fell within the bounds of the Appomattox Association.

Church of England
Gotoarrow.png See also Nottoway Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also Raleigh Parish Meade's 1861 history of parishes in Amelia County is available online.[11]

  • Meade's 1861 history of parishes in Amelia County is available online.[12]

Quaker

  • Amelia Monthly Meeting (1721-1793) aka Pattison's Meeting aka Appomattox[13]
  • 1739-1793 Quaker Records of Cedar Creek Monthly Meeting, Virginia, 1739-1793 by Mary Marshall Brewer. Colonial Roots, Lewes, DE., 2002. FHL Book 975.5462 K2b. 

In the 1700s and 1800s, Friends from Amelia County, Virginia Genealogy also attended the Cedar Creek Meeting House in Hanover County, Virginia.[14]


Court Records[edit | edit source]

Online Court Indexes and Records

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

For databases and immigrant groups, see Virginia Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African American
In 1790, Amelia County had the largest slave population in the state (11,307 slaves).[15]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Compiled Genealogies by Surname

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Compiled Genealogies for Multiple Familes

  • Hardesty, H.H. et al. Amherst County Families and History: Compiled from Henry Hardesty's Historical and Geographical Encyclopaedia. Wytheville, Va.: J. Presgraves, 1995. FHL Book 975.5496 D2h.
  • Heinegg, Paul. Free African Americans of Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Maryland and Delaware. 2005-present. - free online book. Ashby, Blake, Brannum, Byrd, Chandler, Chavis, Church, Faggott, Flood, Freeman, Gallimore, Gibson, Harris, Howell, Jackson, Kenney, Lawrence, Moss, Pettiford, Pierce, Richardson, Rowe, Silva, Silver, Toney, and Valentine families of pre-1820 Amelia County, Virginia.
  • Pritchett, John W. Southside Virginia Genealogies. CD-ROM. Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2007. Free online index, courtesy: Virginians - The Family History of John W. Pritchett. [Pritchett's book contains compiled genealogies of multiple Amelia County families. Includes a great deal of information about residents of Amelia County; see discussion of cited sources.] FHL US/CAN CD-ROM no. 3887.
  • Rice, Horace R. The Buffalo Ridge Cherokee: A Remnant of a Great Nation Divided. Bowie, Md.: Heritage Books, c1995. FHL Book 970.3 C424rh.
  • Seaman, Catherine Hawes Coleman. Tuckahoes and Cohees: The Settlers and Cultures of Amherst and Nelson counties 1607-1807. Sweet Brier, Va.: Sweet Briar College Printing Press, c1992. FHL Book 975.549 H2sc.

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

For land indexes, records, and databases, see Virginia Land and Property, including Colonial and State Land Grants.

Deeds
Online Land Indexes and Records

Grants and Patents
Land patents (pre-1779), land grants (after 1779) and surveys are available online at the Library of Virginia website. For step-by-step instructions on retrieving these records, read the Virginia Land and Property article.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]


Historic Residences
The histories of the following old houses, including identification of some owners, are available at the website of the Amelia Historical Society:

  • The Glebe
  • Haw Branch
  • Hardaway House
  • Edgewood
  • Dykeland
  • Hotel Amelia

Other Amelia County house histories include:

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

County and state maps, historical and more current, are valuable research tools. For map collections, online and in libraries, see Virginia Maps.

Prince Edward CountyCumberland CountyPowhatan CountyChesterfield CountyNottoway CountyDinwiddie CountyVA AMELIA.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

  • Emigration to Other States from Southside Virginia. 1966. By Katherine B. Elliott. South Hill, Virginia : K.B. Elliott. Online at: New Books in Politics, Journalist Esdebout, eBook for Scaricare; At various libraries (WorldCat). Includes individuals who migrated out of Amelia County to other parts of the country.
  • Handle with Care: From Our County Loose Papers, Amelia County, Virginia, List of Insolvents (1749-50). Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 35, No. 4 (Fall 1997):309-313. Available at FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 B2vs.
  • Removals from Amelia County Insolvents Lists, 1750. 1983. By Robert Y. Clay. The Southside Virginian, Vol. 1, No. 3 (Apr. 1983):126. Available at FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 D25s.
  • Removals from Insolvent Lists of Amelia County (1763-1812). The Southside Virginian, Vol. 1, No. 2 (Jan. 1983):76-77. Available at FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 D25s.
  • Some Delinquent Taxpayers 1787-1790. 1975. By Robert Y. Clay. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 19, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1975):190-194. Available at FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 B2vg; CD available New England Ancestors ($). [These records often identify migrants who left the county and their intended destinations. Amelia County's 1788 Delinquent List appears on 19:193-194.]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

French and Indian War

  • Amelia County, Virginia, Military - French & Indian War: Providers of Provisions for Militia (USGenWeb Archives)
  • Gleanings of Virginia History: An Historical and Genealogical Collection, Largely from Original Sources. By William F. Boogher. 2007. Baltimore : Genealogical Pub. Co. Online at: Google Books; At various libraries (WorldCat). Includes a chapter titled "Legislative Enactments connecting the preceding historic sketch [French and Indian War, Lord Dunmore's War] with the adjudication of the resulting accounts that follow; with the list of officers, soldiers and civilians entitled to compensation for military and other services rendered." For Amelia County, see pp. 28-30.
  • 1651-1776 Crozier, William Armstrong. Virginia Colonial Militia 1651-1776. Baltimore: Southern Book Co., 1954. Available at FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 M2c; digital book at Ancestry ($). Identifies some County militia officers and soldiers; see place name index.
  • Virginia's Colonial Soldiers. By Lloyd DeWitt Bockstruck. 1988. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co. Available at FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 M2bL.

Revolutionary War

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. 1841. Washington : Blair and Rives. Online at: Internet Archive, Google Books; At various libraries (WorldCat).
  • Amelia County Militia, 1758 (USGenWeb Archives)
  • Amelia County Revolutionary War pension records (USGenWeb Archives)
  • Index to Revolutionary Pension and Bounty-Land Documents at the Library of Virginia. 2012. Compiled by C. Leon Harris. Online at: Library of Virginia.
  • Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." FHL Book 973 M24ur; digital version at Ancestry ($). Includes veterans. Virginia section begins on page 238.
  • Revolutionary Soldiers of Amelia County. 1935. By W.S. Morton. The William and Mary Quarterly, Second Series, Vol. 15, No. 4 (Oct., 1935), pp. 397-402. Online at: JSTOR.
  • Some Revolutionary Soldiers as Shown by the Order Book of Amelia County, Virginia. 1928. By W. Mac Jones. The William and Mary Quarterly, Second Series, Vol. 8, No. 2 (Apr., 1928), pp. 111-115. Online at: JSTOR.
  • Virginia Militia in the Revolutionary War: McAllister's Data. By J. T. McAllister. c1913. Hot Springs, Virginia : McAllister Pub. Co. Online at: Hathitrust, Internet Archive, Google Books; At various libraries (WorldCat).

Service men in Amelia County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Amelia County supplied soldiers for the:

- 11th Virginia Regiment

War of 1812
Amelia County men served in the 1st Virginia Regiment.[16]

  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... 1883. Washington, D.C : Government Printing Office. Online at: Internet Archive, Google Books.
  • Roster of War of 1812, Southside, Virginia. By James L. Douthat. 2007. Signal Mountain, Tenn : Mountain Press. Mountain Press provides online surname list. At various libraries (WorldCat).

Civil War

The following Civil War battle was fought in Amelia County.

Maps of Civil War battles in Virginia: 1861, 1862, 1863, 1864, 1865

Civil War service men in Amelia County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed here:

- 1st Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate).
- 14th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company A (Paineville Rifles).[20]
- 23rd Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company B (Jetersville Grays) and Company C (Amelia Rifles).[21]
- 44th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company H (Amelia Minute Men) and Company I (Mossingford Rifles).[22]

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

For online newspaper resources, see the Virginia Newspapers page.

  • Virginia Gazette: Indexed images of the Virginia Gazette (1736-1780) are available online through the Colonial Williamsburg website. In addition, Professor Tom Costa and The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia have created a database of all runaway advertisements for slaves, indentured servants, transported convicts, and ship deserters listed in this source and other Virginia newspapers (1736-1803), see: The Geography of Slavery in Virginia. These newspapers are valuable resources for all regions of Virginia.

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Petitions

  • Virginia State Library: A Calendar of Legislative Petitions Arranged by Counties Accomac - Bedford. 1908. By H.J. Eckenrode. Richmond, Virginia: Davis Bottom, Superintendent of Public Printing. Online at: Google Books.

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

For probate records, indexes, and databases, see Virginia Probate Records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

Local Court
SamPubCo has created a free online resource that serves as a good starting place to search for Amelia County wills:

Other Amelia County probate resources include:

  • Amelia County, Virginia, Will Book 1 with Inventories and Accounts, 1734-1761. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 15, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1971):83-90; Vol. 15, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1971):183-190; Vol. 15, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1971):265-272; Vol. 16, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1972):50-62; Vol. 16, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1972):109-118; Vol. 16, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1972):292-300; Vol. 17, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1973):53-62; Vol. 17, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1973):139-148; Vol. 17, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1973):175-180; Vol. 17, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1973):304-309; Vol. 18, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1974):17-22; Vol. 18, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1974):105-119. FHL Collection 975.5 B2vg; CD available at: New England Ancestors ($).
  • Amelia County, Virginia Will Book 3: 1780 to 1786. By Ben Wise. Signal Mountain, Tenn : Mountain Press. Mountain Press provides online surname list. Includes wills, appraisals, and inventories and also includes additional deaths and heirs from Order Books 15 and 17.
  • Amelia County, Virginia Will Book 4: 1786 to 1792. By Ben Wise. Signal Mountain, Tenn : Mountain Press. Mountain Press provides [http://www.mountainpress.com/books/va/details/AmeliaWills4.html online surname list. Includes wills, appraisals, and inventories and also includes additional deaths and heirs from Order Books 18 and 19.
  • Amelia County, Virginia Will Book 5: 1792 to 1799. By Ben Wise. Signal Mountain, Tenn : Mountain Press. Mountain Press provides online surname list. Includes wills, appraisals, and inventories and also includes additional deaths and heirs from Order Books 20, 21, 22.
  • Amelia County Wills - USGenWeb Archives

London Courts

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

For additional online collections and the value and use of Virginia's tax lists in your research, see Virginia Taxation.

Online Tax Indexes and Records

  • The original Amelia County, Virginia Lists of Tithables, 1736-1782 [missing years 1772-1777], and Miscellaneous Documents, ca. 1740-1795 are kept at the Amelia County Courthouse, Amelia, Va. Microfilm copies: FHL 1902616 - FHL 1902617
  • Amelia County Census and Tax Records (USGenWeb Archives)

The following Amelia tax lists have been abstracted:

  • 1736 A List of all the Titheables Below Deep Creek in 1736. By Steve Light. Online at: VAGenWeb Project.
  • 1736 Amelia County, Virginia Tithables, 1736. By Joanne Lovelace Nance. Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 36, No. 1 (Winter 1998):74-84. Online at: Genealogy Trails.
  • 1736 1736 Tax Lists and Tithables. Online at: Genealogy Trails.
  • 1736-1764 Amelia County, Virginia Tax Lists 1736-1764: An Every-Name Index. 1993. T.L.C. Genealogy. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library.
  • 1736-1782 -Amelia County Tithe Lists 1736-1782 (images). CD available at: Tax List Club Binns Genealogy ($).
  • 1736-1813 Amelia County Miscellaneous Lists 1736-1813 (images). CD available at: Tax List Club at Binns Genealogy ($).
  • 1737 Southside Virginia Genealogies. 2007. By John W. Pritchett. Baltimore, MD : Genealogical Publishing Co. Online at: Virginians - The Family History of John W. Pritchett, CD available at: FHL CD-ROM no. 3887.
  • 1737 Amelia County, Virginia Tithables, 1737. By Robert Young Clay. Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 34, No. 4 (Fall 1996):345-354. Online at: Ancestry ($), FHL 975.5 B2vs.
  • 1737 Amelia County Tithable List for 1737. By J.C. Kolbe. The Southside Virginian, Vol. 1, No. 1 (Oct. 1982):15-22. Online at: Internet Archive, FHL 975.5 D25s.
  • 1737 Amelia County Tithable List for 1737. Online at: Genealogy Trails.
  • 1738 Amelia County, Virginia Tithables, 1738. By Robert Young Clay. Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 35, No. 1 (Winter 1997):66-74. Online at: Ancestry ($), FHL 975.5 B2vs.
  • 1738 Amelia County Tithable List for 1738. Online at: Genealogy Trails.
  • 1739 Amelia County, Virginia Tithables, 1739. By Joanne Lovelace Nance. Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 35, No. 2 (Spring 1997):125-133. Online at: Ancestry ($), FHL 975.5 B2vs.
  • 1740 Amelia County Tithables 1740. By J.C. Kolbe. The Southside Virginian, Vol. 8, No. 1 (Jan. 1990):17-22; Vol. 8, No. 2 (Apr. 1990):71-74; Vol. 8, No. 3 (Jul. 1990):103-104. Online at: Internet Archive, FHL 975.5 D25s.
  • 1741 Amelia County, Virginia Tithables, 1741. By Joanne Lovelace Nance. Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 36, No. 3 (Summer 1998):203-211. FHL 975.5 B2vs.
  • 1742 Amelia County Tithables, 1742. By Dennis Ray Hudgins. Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 38, No. 2 (May 2000):98-104. FHL 975.5 B2vs.
  • 1743 Amelia County Tithables, 1743. By Dennis Ray Hudgins. Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 38, No. 3 (Aug. 2000); Vol. 38, No. 4 (Nov. 2000):241-252. FHL 975.5 B2vs.
  • 1744 Amelia County Tithables, 1744. By Dennis Ray Hudgins. Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 39, No. 4 (Nov. 2001):292-306. FHL 975.5 B2vs.
  • 1745 Amelia County Tithables, 1745. By Dennis Ray Hudgins. Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 40, No. 3 (Aug. 2002):235-238. FHL 975.5 B2vs.
  • 1746 Amelia County Tithables, 1746. By Dennis Ray Hudgins. Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 41, No. 1 (Feb. 2003):69-85. FHL 975.5 B2vs.
  • 1747 Amelia County Tithables, 1747. By Dennis Ray Hudgins. [Omitted Pages] Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 43, No. 1 (Feb. 2005):15-17. FHL 975.5 B2vs.
  • 1747 Amelia County Tithables, 1747. By Dennis Ray Hudgins. Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 42, No. 4 (Nov. 2004):319-332. FHL 975.5 B2vs.
  • 1748 Amelia County Tithables, 1748. By Dennis Ray Hudgins. Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 43, No. 1 (Feb. 2005):18-36. FHL 975.5 B2vs.
  • 1748 Amelia County Tobacco Lists, 1748. Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 43, No. 1 (Feb. 2005):37-40. FHL 975.5 B2vs.
  • 1749 Amelia County, 1749 Tobacco List. Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 43, No. 2 (May 2005):125-127. FHL 975.5 B2vs.
  • 1749 Amelia County Tithables, 1749. By Dennis Ray Hudgins. Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 43, No. 2 (May 2005):103-124. FHL 975.5 B2vs.
  • 1749-1750 Handle with Care: From Our County Loose Papers, Amelia County, Virginia, List of Insolvants [1749-50]. By Joanne Lovelace Nance. Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 35, No. 4 (Fall 1997):309-313. FHL 975.5 B2vs.
  • 1750 Amelia County Tithables, 17450 By Dennis Ray Hudgins. Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 43, No. 4 (Nov. 2005):291-308. FHL 975.5 B2vs.
  • 1750 Removals from Amelia County Insolvent Lists, 1750. By Robert Y. Clay. The Southside Virginian, Vol. 1, No. 3 (Apr. 1983):126. Online at: Internet Archive, FHL 975.5 D25s.
  • 1763-1812 Removals from Amelia County Insolvent Lists [1763-1812]. By J.C. Kolbe. The Southside Virginian, Vol. 1, No. 2 (Jan. 1983):76-77. Online at: Internet Archive, FHL 975.5 D25s.
  • 1765 1765 Personal Property Tax Lists. By Reiley Kidd. Online at: VAGenWeb Project.
  • 1766 1766 Personal Property Tax Lists. By Reiley Kidd. Online at: VAGenWeb Project.
  • 1768 Poll of Amelia County, Va, 1768. 1983. By S.O. Southall. Baltimore, MD : Genealogical Publishing Co. Tyler's Quarterly Historical and Genealogical Magazine, Vol. 33 (1951):54-69. FHL 975.5 R4v, reprinted in Virginia Tax Records {{FHL: FHL 973 B2t 1967.
  • 1769 1769 Personal Property Tax Lists. By Reiley Kidd. Online at: VAGenWeb Project.
  • 1770 1770 Personal Property Tax Lists. By Reiley Kidd. Online at: VAGenWeb Project.
  • 1771 1771 Personal Property Tax Lists. By Reiley Kidd. Online at: VAGenWeb Project.
  • 1778 1778 Personal Property Tax Lists. By Reiley Kidd. Online at: VAGenWeb Project.
  • 1778-1782 Amelia County - 1778-1782 Tithable Lists; 1736-1813 Misc Accounts, Lists, Tithables. Online at: Amelia County - the Colonial Lists, CD available at: Binns Genealogy.
  • 1782 1782 tax lists. Online at: USGenWeb Archives.
  • 1782-1786 1790 Amelia County, Virginia Census. By James L. Douthat. Signal Mountain, Tenn : Mountain Press. Mountain Press provides online surname list.
  • 1783 Virginia 1783 Personal Property Tax and 1783 Land Tax List. Online at: Revolutionary War Service.
  • 1787 The 1787 Census of Virginia: An Accounting of the Name of Every White Male Tithable Over 21 Years, the Number of White Males Between 16 & 21 Years, the Number of Slaves over 16 & Those Under 16 Years, Together with a Listing of Their Horses, Cattle & Carriages, and Also the Names of All Persons to Whom Ordinary Licenses and Physician's Licenses Were Issued. By Netti Schreiner-Yantis and Florene Speakman Love. c1987. Springfield, Virginia : Genealogical Books in Print. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  • 1787 Some Delinquent Taxpayers 1787-1790. By Robert Y. Clay. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 19, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1975):190-194. FHL 975.5 B2vg; CD digital version at New England Ancestors ($). These records often identify migrants who left the county and their intended destinations. Albemarle County's 1787 Delinquent Lists appear on 19:190-192.
  • 1790, 1800 1790 and 1800 Personal Property Tax Lists of Amelia County, Virginia Index. Online at: Binns Genealogy.
  • 1791, 1800 1791 and 1800 Tax Lists of Amelia County, Virginia Index. Online at: Binns Genealogy.
  • 1800 Amelia County, Virginia 1800 Tax List. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 5, No. 1 (Jan. 1961):18-27. Online at: American Ancestors ($), FHL 975.5 B2vg.
  • 1815 1815 Directory of Virginia Landowners (and Gazetteer). By Roger D. Ward. c1997. Athens, Georgia: Iberian Pub. Co. FHL 975 E4w. At various libraries (WorldCat).

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

For additional indexes, databases, and details, see Virginia Vital Records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Green check.png
The usage of "Mormon" and "LDS" on this page is approved according to current policy.


Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Amelia County. For state-wide facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Amelia County. For state-wide library facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Amelia County. For state-wide genealogical and historical societies, see Virginia Societies.

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. ↑ https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Amelia_County,_Virginia
  2. ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. ↑ Virginia: Individual County and Independent City Chronologies; Copyright The Newberry Library 2003; Accessed (September 23, 2021)
  5. ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Virginia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. ↑ Virginia: Individual County and Independent City Chronologies; Copyright The Newberry Library 2003; Accessed (September 23, 2021)
  7. ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Amelia _ County,_Virginia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Amelia_County,_Virginia#Communities accessed 7 November 2019.
  8. ↑ Wikipedia Contributors, "Amelia County, Virginia," in Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Amelia_County,_Virginia, accessed 13 January 2012.
  9. ↑ Morgan Edwards, Materials Towards a History of the Baptists in the Provinces of Maryland Virginia North Carolina South Carolina Georgia (1772). Digitized by SCDL Collections - free.
  10. ↑ Robert Baylor Semple and George William Beale, A History of the Rise and Progress of the Baptists in Virginia (Pitt and Dickinson, 1894), 272. Digital version at Google Books.
  11. ↑ William Meade, Old Churches, Ministers and Families of Virginia, 2 vols. (Philadelphia: J.B. Lippincott and Co., 1861). Digital versions at Internet Archive: Vol. I and Vol. II.
  12. ↑ William Meade, Old Churches, Ministers and Families of Virginia, 2 vols. (Philadelphia: J.B. Lippincott and Co., 1861). Digital versions at Internet Archive: Vol. I and Vol. II.
  13. ↑ Jay Worrall, The Friendly Virginians: America's First Quakers (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Publishing Company, 1994), 537-539. FHL Book 975.5 K2wj.
  14. ↑ Mary Marshall Brewer, Quaker Records of Cedar Creek Monthly Meeting, Virginia, 1739-1793 (Lewes, De.: Colonial Roots, 2002), Introduction. FHL Book 975.5462 K2b.
  15. ↑ Ninth Census of the United States: Statistics of Population, Tables I to VIII Inclusive (Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1872), 70. Digital version at Internet Archive; FHL Book 973 X2pcu.
  16. ↑ Stuart Lee Butler, A Guide to Virginia Militia Units in the War of 1812 (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1988), 46. FHL Book 975.5 M2bs.
  17. ↑ Heritage Preservation Services,Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 2 August 2012)
  18. ↑ Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 2 August 2012).
  19. ↑ Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 7 August 2012).
  20. ↑ Edward R. Crews and Timothy A. Parish, 14th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1995). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 117.
  21. ↑ Thomas M. Rankin, 23rd Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1985). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 14.
  22. ↑ Kevin C. Ruffner, 44th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1987). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 39.
v • d • e
Links to Virginia-related articles   (see also West Virginia-related articles)
Topics
Counties
Accomack • Albemarle • Alleghany • Amelia • Amherst • Appomattox • Arlington • Augusta • Bath • Bedford • Bland • Botetourt • Brunswick • Buchanan • Buckingham • Campbell • Caroline • Carroll • Charles City • Charlotte • Chesterfield • Clarke • Craig • Culpeper • Cumberland • Dickenson • Dinwiddie • Essex • Fairfax • Fauquier • Floyd • Fluvanna • Franklin • Frederick • Giles • Gloucester • Goochland • Grayson • Greene • Greensville • Halifax • Hanover • Henrico • Henry • Highland • Isle of Wight • James City • King and Queen • King George • King William • Lancaster • Lee • Loudoun • Louisa • Lunenburg • Madison • Mathews • Mecklenburg • Middlesex • Montgomery • Nelson • New Kent • Northampton • Northumberland • Nottoway • Orange • Page • Patrick • Pittsylvania • Powhatan • Prince Edward • Prince George • Prince William • Pulaski • Rappahannock (New) • Richmond • Roanoke • Rockbridge • Rockingham • Russell • Scott • Shenandoah • Smyth • Southampton • Spotsylvania • Stafford • Surry • Sussex • Tazewell • Warren • Washington • Westmoreland • Wise • Wythe • York
Independent
Cities
Extinct Counties/Cities
Counties
gone to KY
Bourbon • Fayette • Jefferson • Kentucky (extinct) • Lincoln • Madison • Mason • Mercer • Nelson • Woodford
Counties
gone to WV
Barbour • Berkeley • Boone • Braxton • Brooke • Cabell • Calhoun • Clay • Doddridge • Fayette • Gilmer • Greenbrier • Hampshire • Hancock • Hardy • Harrison • Jackson • Jefferson • Kanawha • Lewis • Logan • Marion • Marshall • Mason • McDowell • Mercer • Monongalia • Monroe • Morgan • Nicholas • Ohio • Pendleton • Pleasants • Pocahontas • Preston • Putnam • Raleigh • Randolph • Ritchie • Roane • Taylor • Tucker • Tyler • Upshur • Wayne • Webster • Wetzel • Wirt • Wood • Wyoming
Colonial
Parishes
Abingdon • Accomac • Accomack • Albemarle • Amherst • Antrim • Appomattox • Argall's Gift • Augusta • Bath • Beckford • Berkeley • Blisland • Blount Point • Botetourt • Boutracy • Bristol • Bromfield • Brunswick • Bruton • Camden • Cameron • Charles City • Charles • Charles River • Chickacoan • Chickahominy • Chippokes • Chiskiack • Chotank • Christ Church (Lancaster Co.) • Christ Church (Middlesex Co.) • Chuckatuck • Cople • Cornwall • Cumberland • Dale • Denbigh • Dettingen • Drysdale • East • Elizabeth City • Elizabeth River • Fairfax • Fairfield • Farnham • Flowerdew Hundred • Fluvanna • Frederick • Fredericksville • Hamilton • Hampton • Hanover • Harrop • Henrico • Hog Island • Hungars • James City • Jordan's Journey • Kecoughtan • Kingston • King William • Lancaster • Lawnes Creek • Lee • Leeds • Lexington • Littleton • Lower (Elizabeth City Co.) • Lower (Isle of Wight Co.)  • Lower (Lancaster Co.)  • Lower (Nansemond Co.) • Lower (Northampton Co.) • Lower (Stafford Co.) • Lower (Upper Norfolk Co.) • Lower Suffolk • Lunenburg • Lynnhaven • Machodick • Manchester • Marston • Martin's Brandon • Martin's Hundred • Meherrin • Middle Plantation • Middletowne • Montgomery • Mulberry Island • New Poquoson • Newport • Nomini • Norborne • Northampton • North Farnham • Nottoway (Prince Edward Co.) • Nottoway (Southampton Co.) • Nutmeg Quarter • Occohannock • Overwharton • Patrick • Petsworth • Piankatank • Piscataway • Poropotank • Portsmouth • Potomac • Raleigh • Richmond • Rockbridge • Rockingham • Russell • St. Andrew's • St. Anne's (Albemarle Co.) • St. Anne's (Essex and Caroline Cos.) • St. Asaph's • St. Brides • St. David's • St. George's (Accomack Co.)  • St. George's (Spotsylvania Co.) • St. James Northam • St. James Southam • St. James's (Goochland Co.) • St. James's (Mecklenburg Co.) • St. John's • St. Luke's • St. Margaret's • St. Mark's • St. Martin's • St. Mary's • St. Mary's Whitechapel • St. Patrick's • St. Paul's (Hanover Co.) • St. Paul's (King George Co.) • St. Peter's • St. Stephen's (King and Queen Co.) • St. Stephen's (Northumberland Co.) • St. Thomas • Shelburne • Sittenburne • Smith's Hundred • South • Southampton • South Farnham • Southwark • Stafford • Stanley Hundred • Stratton Major • Suffolk • Tillotson • Trinity (Lancaster Co.) • Trinity (Louisa Co.) • Truro • Upper (Elizabeth City Co.) • Upper (Isle of Wight Co.) • Upper (Lancaster Co.) • Upper (Nansemond Co.) • Upper (Northampton Co.) • Upper (Stafford Co.) • Upper Suffolk • Varina • Wallingford • Ware • Warrosquyoake • Warwick • Washington (Westmoreland Co.) • Washington (Washington Co.) • Waters Creek • West • West and Shirley • Westbury • Westover • Weyanoke • Wicomico • Wilmington • York • Yorkhampton
Major
Repositories
Bristol Public Library · Germanna Foundation Library · Handley Regional Library · Historical Society of Pennsylvania (Philadelphia, PA) · Historical Society of Washington, D.C. · John D. Rockefeller Jr. Library at Colonial Williamsburg · Jones Memorial Library · Library of Congress (Washington, DC) · Library of Virginia · Mary Ball Washington Museum and Library · Maryland State Archives (Annapolis, MD) · National Archives I (Washington, DC) · National Archives II (College Park, MD) · National Archives at Philadelphia (PA) · National Genealogical Society · New York Public Library (New York City, NY) · Pennsylvania State Archives (Harrisburg, PA) · Portsmouth Public Library · Roanoke County Public Library · Salisbury University Edward H. Nabb Research Center for Delmarva History and Culture (Salisbury, MD) · Santa Cruz Public Library Downtown (Santa Cruz, CA) · University of Virginia Library · Virginia Department of Health · Virginia Historical Society · Virginia Theological Seminary · Washington National Records Center (Suitland, MD) · William and Mary College Swem Library
Migration
Routes
Routes:  Chesapeake Bay • James River • Potomac River • Rappahannock River • York River • Chesapeake and Ohio Canal • Chesapeake and Ohio Railroad • Fall Line Road (or Fall Line Road) • Great Indian Warpath • Great Trading Path • Great Valley Road • Kanawha Trail • King's Highway • National Road (Cumberland Road) • New River and Southern Trail • Occaneechi Path • Old Cherokee Path • Old Northwestern Turnpike • Pamunkey-New River Trail • Pioneer Road • Richmond Road • Richmond-Williamsburg Road • Saura-Saponi Trail • Secondary Coast Road • Upper Road • Wilderness Road • Wilmington, Highpoint, and Northern Trail •   Ports:  Atlantic Coast Ports • Accomack  • Alexandria  • Belvoir Plantation  • Bermuda Hundred  • Dumfries  • Falmouth  • Fredericksburg  • Hampton  • Jamestown  • Leedstown  • Norfolk  • Port Royal  • Portsmouth  • South Quay  • Suffolk  • Tappahannock (aka Hobb's Hole)  • Urbanna  • Williamsburg  • Yorktown



This website requires a paid subscription for full access.

FamilySearch affiliate libraries may have access to center-only databases, but do not always have all services normally provided by a family history center.

Retrieved from "https://www.familysearch.org/en/wiki/index.php?title=Amelia_County,_Virginia_Genealogy&oldid=4783525"