Alnwick, Northumberland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Alnwick, Northumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Alnwick, Northumberland
St Michael Church Alnwick.JPG
St Michael Church Alnwick
Type England Jurisdictions
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Coquetdale
County Northumberland, England Genealogy
Poor Law Union Alnwick
Registration District Alnwick
Records begin
Parish registers: 1645
Bishop's Transcripts: 1777
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Alnwick
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Northumberland Archives

Parish History[edit | edit source]

ALNWICK (St. Mary and St. Michael), a market town and parish, and the head of a union, in the E.division of Coquetdale ward, N. division of Northumberland, of which it is the county town, 33 miles (N.by W.) from Newcastle, and306 (N. by W.) from London; comprising the townships of Alnwick, Southside, Shieldykes, AbbeyLands, Canongate, Denwick, and Hulne Park. There are places of worship for Independents, a United Secession Relief congregation, Presbyterians, Wesleyans, New Connexion of Methodists, Unitarians and a Roman Catholic chapel. [1]

Additional information:

Alnwick St Michael is an ancient parish and other places in the parish include: Abbey Lands, Alnwick South Side, Broomhouse, Canledge Park, Canongate, Cauledge Park, Denwick, Friars Buildings, Greensfield, Grumwells Park, Gumwell's Park, Heckley, Heckley Farm, Heckley Grange, Hobberlaw, Hulme Park, Hulne Abbey, Hulne Park, Park-Farm, Rugley, Shieldykes, Snipe House, and Whitehouse.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Find Neighboring Parishes[edit | edit source]

Use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map

  • Type the name of the parish in the search bar
  • Click on the location pin on the map
  • Choose Options from the pop up box
  • Click "List Contiguous Parishes" to find the neighboring parishes

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

The Church of England (Anglican) became the official state religion in 1534, with the reigning monarch as its Supreme Governor.
Non-Conformist refers to all other religious denominations that are not the official state religion.

Church of England[edit | edit source]

Due to the increasing access of online records:

  • Individual parish coverage for databases in this table are inconsistent and should be verified
  • Dates in the following table are approximate

Hover over the collection's title for more information

Alnwick Online Parish Records
Collections
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
FamilySearch Collections-Northumberland
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
FamilySearch Parish Registers-Northumberland
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Bishop's Transcripts - FamilySearch Catalog
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
FreeREG
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
Find My Past-Northumberland ($)
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1600s-1800s
-
Ancestry-England Select Birth, Christening, Marriage, Death and Burials-Northumberland ($)
-
1800s-1900s
-
1800s-1900s
-
1800s-1900s
Databases with Known Incomplete Parish Coverage
Boyd's Marriage Indexes-FMP (Free)
-
-
-
1500s-1800s
-
-
National Burial Index-FMP (Free)
-
-
-
-
-
1800s-1900s

Other Websites
These databases have incomplete parish coverage.

Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Alnwick Poor Law Union, Northumberland Genealogy

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed: 31 July 2013.

Add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.