Allen Parish, Louisiana Genealogy
Guide to Allen Parish, Louisiana ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.
|Allen Parish, Louisiana|
Location in the state of Louisiana, United States Genealogy
Location of Louisiana in the U.S.
|Founded||June 12, 1912|
|Address||P.O. Box 248|
Oberlin, La. 70655
Allen Parish Courthouse Website
Parish Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named for Henry Watkins Allen. The County has Oberlin as its seat and the County was created 1912. The County is located in the central area of the state.
Allen Parish, Louisiana Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Parish Courthouse[edit | edit source]
History[edit | edit source]
Allen Parish is named for former Confederate States Army general and Governor of Louisiana Henry Watkins Allen.
Allen Parish was part of the Opelousas County after the Louisiana Territory was established in 1803. In 1807, the territory was divided into parishes and Allen was part of St. Landry Parish. Allen remained part of St. Landry Parish until 1840 when Calcasieu Parish was carved from the very large St. Landry Parish. In 1870, Cameron Parish was carved from Calcasieu Parish and also gained a piece of Vermillion Parish. Calcasieu remained the same until 1912 when it was divided into four parishes, including Allen Parish.
For more information:
- History of Allen Parish by John Berton Gremillion
Parent Parish[edit | edit source]
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating Louisiana Parish boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Louisiana Parish Boundary Maps" (1805-1990) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places / Localities[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
Resources[edit | edit source]
African American[edit | edit source]
- Louisiana African American Griots Project
- Afrigeneas - African Ancestored Genealogy
- African American Cemeteries, listing by county
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
The following web sites may have additional information on Allen Parish cemeteries.
Census[edit | edit source]
- Index to Allen Parish, Louisiana Census Images (USGenWeb Archives)
Church[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Louisiana denominations, view the Louisiana Church Records wiki page.
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court[edit | edit source]
Land[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Louisiana Land and Property for additional information about early Louisiana land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse where records are also currently housed.
Libraries[edit | edit source]
- Allen Parish Libraries. You can access local records at the library or through Heritage Quest which is linked between all libraries.
- Three locations:
- 320 S. 6th Street
Oberlin, LA 70655
- 405 E. 6th Avenue
Oakdale, LA 71463
- 833 4th Avenue
Kinder, LA 70648
- 320 S. 6th Street
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Allen Parish, Louisiana Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Louisiana Local Histories. Louisiana Museums
- From Whence They Came, by J. Erwin Kelmsley (includes Irwin, Beckham, Goodbee, Rogers, and Smith families)
- Early Allen Parish, Louisiana marriage records, 1889-1942 : computer indexed marriage records
- Inventory of the parish archives of Louisiana : no. 2, Allen Parish (Oberlin)
- Family maps of Allen Parish, Louisiana : with homesteads, roads, waterways, towns, cemeteries, railroads, and more
Maps[edit | edit source]
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this parish - How to Use FS Places
- Maps of Louisiana (1805-1990)
- Family Maps of Allen Parish, Louisiana (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
- USGW Digital Map Collection (USGenWeb Project)
- Allen Parish Zip Code Map
Military[edit | edit source]
Civil War[edit | edit source]
- 1861-1865 Louisiana Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1861-1865 Louisiana Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection
- 1898-1950 Louisiana Confederate Pensions, 1898-1950 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection
World War I[edit | edit source]
- 1917-1918 Louisiana World War I Service Records, 1917-1920 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection
World War II[edit | edit source]
- 1940-1945 Louisiana First Registration Draft Cards, compiled 1940-1945 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection
- Allen Parish, Louisiana World War II Casualties Army and Air Force
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Allen Parish, Louisiana Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
- Allen Parish Obituaries and Death Notices (Genealogy Trails)
- Index to Louisiana Obituaries of Allen Parish (USGenWeb Archives)
Probate[edit | edit source]
Probate records before 1845 were kept in probate courts. Since 1845, they have been kept by the Allen Parish, Louisiana Genealogy clerk of the district court. Many of the probate records are included in the notarial records with the deeds and mortgages. In some parishes they are known as “succession” records.
See the Wiki page Louisiana Probate Records for more information about probate records in Louisiana.
Content: Probate records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.
Online Probate Indexes and Records
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Louisiana tax records can be used in place of missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Louisiana Taxation.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Louisiana statewide registration of birth and death records began in 1911. Births and deaths are kept by the Louisiana Vital Records Registry. Marriages were recorded by each parish, and the records are at the parish clerk of court office. See also How to order Louisiana Vital Records or order electronically online.
See Louisiana Vital Records for more information on getting Louisiana records.
- Louisiana Records and Statistics Information - where and how to order information.
Birth[edit | edit source]
- Allen County Birth Records (Genealogy Trails)
Marriage[edit | edit source]
Death[edit | edit source]
- Allen Parish Death Records (USGenWeb Archives)
- 1850-1875, 1894-1960 Louisiana Deaths, 1850-1875, 1894-1960 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection
Societies[edit | edit source]
- Allen Genealogical & Historical Society
833 4th Street
PO Box 789
Kinder, LA 70648-0789
- Central Louisiana Genealogical Society
PO Box 12206
Alexandria, LA 71315-2206
- Louisiana Historical Society
428 Hector Ave
Metairie, La. 70005-4412
- Louisiana Historical Association
101 LSU Student Union
LSU Box 25435
Baton Rouge, LA 70803
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Louisiana Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- Allen Parish Tourist Commission This site includes Allen Parish history as well as a Ward Map. Many of the Louisiana census records were recorded as wards.
- Allen Parish Genealogy
- Allen Parish (USGenWeb Archives)
- Allen Parish on Facebook
- Lousiana Genealogy on Facebook
- Allen Parish on Louisiana.gov
- Louisiana Archives (USGenWeb Archives)
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Allen Parish, Louisiana Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Genealogy Trails: Allen Parish, Louisiana
- Allen Parish LA Genealogy (ldsgenealogy.com)
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Allen, Louisiana," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Allen_Parish,_Louisiana."
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Allen Parish, Louisiana. Page 289-293 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 267-268.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed., Allen Parish, Louisiana p 289 (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Wikipedia contributors, "Allen Parish, Louisiana," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Allen_Parish,_Louisiana#Communities, accessed 29 December 2019.