Alleghany County, Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Alleghany County, Virginia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Covington
Organized: January 5, 1822[1]
Parent County(s): Bath, Botetourt, Monroe (WV)[2]
Neighboring Counties
Bath  • Botetourt  • Clifton Forge (Independent City)  • Covington (Independent City)  • Craig  • Greenbrier (WV)  • Monroe (WV)  • Rockbridge
See County Maps
Courthouse
VirginiaAlleghanyCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Location of Alleghany County, Virginia.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Alleghany County is located on the far western edge of the Commonwealth of Virginia, sharing a boundary line with West Virginia. Alleghany took its name from the mountain range on which it borders.[3]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Alleghany County Courthouse
266 West Main Street / P.O.Box 670
Covington, VA 24426-0670
Phone 540-965-1730
Alleghany County Website

Clerk Circuit Court has marriage records from 1845, Divorce, Probate, Court and land record from 1822[4]

Alleghany County, Virginia Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[5]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate Census
1853 1822 1853 1822 1822 1822 1810
* Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1912.
General compliance year is unknown.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[9]

Towns
Unincorporated communities


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

The county was named after the Alleghany Mountains.[10]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

For databases and indexes, see Virginia Bible Records.

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Alleghany County, Virginia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Virginia Cemeteries for more information.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For databases, indexes, and information online, see Virginia Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1830 2,816
1840 2,749 −2.4%
1850 3,515 27.9%
1860 6,765 92.5%
1870 3,674 −45.7%
1880 5,586 52.0%
1890 9,283 66.2%
1900 16,330 75.9%
1910 14,173 −13.2%
1920 15,332 8.2%
1930 20,188 31.7%
1940 22,688 12.4%
1950 23,139 2.0%
1960 12,128 −47.6%
1970 12,461 2.7%
1980 14,333 15.0%
1990 13,176 −8.1%
2000 12,926 −1.9%
2010 16,250 25.7%
Source: [https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Alleghany_County,_Virginia#Demographics

To access census records online, see Virginia Census.

1785

  • Botetourt County, Va., 1785 Enumeration. 1972. By Charles T. Burton. Troutville, Virginia : C.T. Burton. Online at: FamilySearch.

1840

  • 1840 Alleghany County, Virginia Census. By James L. Douthat. Signal Mountain, Tenn : Mountain Press. Free online surname index and purchase details at Mountain Press ($).

1860

  • 1860 Alleghany County, Virginia Census. By Louise M. Perkins. Signal Mountain, Tenn : Mountain Press. Free online surname index and purchase details at Mountain Press ($).

1890 Union Veterans

Church Records[edit | edit source]

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

For databases and immigrant groups, see Virginia Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African Americans

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Compiled Genealogies by Surname

Compiled Genealogies for Multiple Families

  • Alleghany County Heritage Book Committee. Alleghany County Heritage. Summersville, W.Va.: Shirley Grose & Associates, c1997. FHL Book 975.581 H2a v. 1.
  • Morton, Oren Frederic. A Centennial History of Alleghany County, Virginia. Dayton, Va.: J.K. Ruebush Co., 1923. Digital version at Ancestry ($); FHL Book 975.581 H2m.
  • Turk, David Scott. The Memorialists: An Antebellum History of Alleghany, Craig and Monroe counties of West Virginia, 1812-60. Bowie, Md.: Heritage Books, c1997. FHL Book 975.5 H2td.

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

For land indexes, records, and databases, see Virginia Land and Property, including Colonial and State Land Grants.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

County and state maps, historical and more current, are valuable research tools. For map collections, online and in libraries, see Virginia Maps.

Bath CountyRockbridge CountyBotetourt CountyCraig CountyMonroe CountyGreenbrier CountyVA ALLEGHANY.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Revolutionary War

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Online at: U.S. Census Bureau and Google Books et. al. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. [See Virginia, Western District, Allegany County on page 133.]
  • Index to Revolutionary Pension and Bounty-Land Documents at the Library of Virginia. 2012. Compiled by C. Leon Harris. Online at: Library of Virginia.

War of 1812

  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Governnment Printing Office. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5. Online at: Google Books, Internet Archive. See Vol. 5, Virginia, Alleghany County, p. 60.

Civil War

Civil War service men from Alleghany County served in various regiments. Within a regiment, companies were often comprised of men who lived in a smaller geographical area within the county parameters. Listed below are regiments with whom men from Alleghany County served. Because Confederate units often reorganized, this list might not be complete.

The following Regiments are mentioned in A Centennial History of Alleghany County, Virginia. 1923. By Oren Frederic Morton. Dayton, Virginia : J.K. Ruebush Co. Online at: Hathitrust, Google Books, Ancestry ($); At various libraries (WorldCat).

- 2nd Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate), A Centennial History of Alleghany County, Virginia, only lists the names of five men who were from Alleghany County.
- 10th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company I (Riverton Invincibles).[11]
- 11th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company K (Valley Regulators).[12]
- 22nd Regiment, Virginia Infantry (1st Kanawha Regiment). Company G (Rocky Point Grays).[13]
- 27th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate) . Company A Light Infantry (Alleghany Roughs), Company B (Virginia Hibernians), and Company C (Alleghany Rifles).[14]
- 59th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company G1 (Alleghany Rifles).[15]
- 60th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (3rd Regiment, Wise Legion) (Confederate). Company D (The Allegheny Rifles).[16]

However, A Centennial History of Alleghany County, Virginia. 1923. By Oren Frederic Morton. Dayton, Virginia : J.K. Ruebush Co. Online at: Hathitrust, Google Books, Ancestry ($); At various libraries (WorldCat) also lists additional names of Alleghany Companies such as the Alleghany Rough Artillery (Capt. John C. Carpenter's Co.), Alleghany Light Infantry (Co. A, 27th Regiment) afterwards called Alleghany Artillery, Alleghany Reserves (Co. C, 10th Battalion, Virginia Reserves), Alleghany Rifles (Co. C, 27th Regiment).

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

For online newspaper resources, see the Virginia Newspapers page.

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Petitions

  • Virginia State Library: A Calendar of Legislative Petitions Arranged by Counties Accomac - Bedford. 1908. By H.J. Eckenrode. Richmond, Virginia: Davis Bottom, Superintendent of Public Printing. Online at: Google Books. Alleghany County petitions (1820-1861) are described on pp. 87-95.

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

For probate records, indexes, and databases, see Virginia Probate Records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

For additional online collections and the value and use of Virginia's tax lists in your research, see Virginia Taxation.

Online Tax Indexes and Records

Online Alleghany County, Virginia Tax Lists
Type Index Images
Free FHC Fee Free FHC Fee
Personal Property - 1822-1855 -
  • 1774 Tithables, 1774, Alleghany Highlands Genealogical Society Newsletter, Vol. 7, No. 2 (Apr. 1998).

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

For additional indexes, databases, and details, see Virginia Vital Records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Alleghany County. For state-wide facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Alleghany County. For state-wide library facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Alleghany County. For state-wide genealogical and historical societies, see Virginia Societies.

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Virginia: Individual County and Independent City Chronologies; Copyright The Newberry Library 2003; Accessed (September 23, 2021)
  2. Virginia: Individual County and Independent City Chronologies; Copyright The Newberry Library 2003; Accessed (September 23, 2021)
  3. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Alleghany_County,_Virginia
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Virginia: Individual County and Independent City Chronologies; Copyright The Newberry Library 2003; Accessed (September 23, 2021)
  7. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Virginia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  8. Virginia: Individual County and Independent City Chronologies; Copyright The Newberry Library 2003; Accessed (September 23, 2021)
  9. Wikipedia contributors, "Alleghany _ County,_Virginia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Alleghany_County,_Virginia#Communities accessed 3 November 2019.
  10. Wikipedia Contributors, "Allegheny Mountains," in Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia, accessed 13 January 2012
  11. Terrence V. Murphy, 10th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1989). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 55.
  12. Oren Frederic Morton, A Centennial History of Alleghany County, Virginia. 1923. By Oren Frederic Morton. Dayton, Virginia : J.K. Ruebush Co. Online at: Hathitrust, Google Books, Ancestry ($); At various libraries (WorldCat).
  13. Terry D. Lowry, 22nd Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1988). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 44.
  14. Lowell Reidenbaugh, 27th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1993). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 90.
  15. G.L. Sherwood and Jeffrey C. Weaver, 59th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1994). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 107.
  16. J.L. Scott, 60th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1997). FHL book 975.5 M2vr v. 130.
  17. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Online at: https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/3/37/Igivirginia.pdf.