Allegany County, New York Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Allegany County, New York ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

This page describes sources of genealogical data about Allegany County, New York Genealogy families, including links to smaller localities at the bottom of this page. New York, United States Genealogy-related pages show useful statewide sources. United States Genealogy pages explain the terminology and contents of genealogical records.


Allegany County, New York
Map
Map of New York highlighting Allegany County
Location in the state of New York, United States Genealogy
Map of the U.S. highlighting New York
Location of New York in the U.S.
Facts
Founded March 7, 1806
County Seat Belmont
Courthouse
New York, Allegany County Courthouse.png
Address 7 Court Street, Rm 3
Belmont, NY 14813
Allegany County Website


Allegany County New York Historical Facts[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County is located in the southwest area of the state. [1]

Allegany County, New York Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[2]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1880 1908 1880 1807 1807 1807 1663
*Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1880. General compliance for births by 1915 and deaths by 1890.

Parent County[edit | edit source]

  • 7 March 1806: Set off from Genesee County.[3]

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

For animated maps illustrating New York County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation New York County Boundary Maps" (1683-1915) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

  • 1683: Allegany County was part of Albany County.
  • 1808: a portion transferred from Steuben County.
  • 1811: a portion transferred to Genesee County.
  • 1812-1816: Cattaraugus County was included in Allegany County. Some of records kept at Belmont.
  • 1822: a portion transferred to Tioga County.
  • 14 May 1841 a portion was set off to create Wyoming County.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[4]

Towns
Villages
Hamlets
Native American communities
Census-designated places


Allegany County New York Genealogy Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

  • 1581–1917 New York, Family Bible Records at Ancestry– ($); Index. Database is a collection of genealogically important records taken from the Bibles of colony and state residents. Reveals the Bible's original owner, brief record of descendants,and a particular event such as birth or marriage as recorded in Bible.

Biography[edit | edit source]

Allegany county and it people : a centennial memorial history of Allegany county, New York published in 1896

History of Allegany County, N. Y. published in 1879

Business Records and Commerce[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Online Grave Transcripts Published Grave Transcripts County Cemetery Directories
Findagrave.com* Family History Library* Findagrave.com*
Interment.net* WorldCat* Tombstone Project*
Cemetery Site* NYGenWeb*
New York Gravestones* Billion Graves*
Names in Stone* Names in Stone*
Billion Graves* FamilySearch Places
Linkpendium*
Ancestry*
Allegany County Historical Society
Painted Hills Genealogy Society
*See the New York Cemeteries page for details about each site.

Cemetery records often reveal birth, death, relationship, military, and religious information.

United States, Cemetery Abstracts, 1949-1969 (in rural areas)

  • Vol. 1
    • page 41 - Kenyon Family Cemetery, near Nile
    • page 52 - Lattice Bridge Cemetery
    • page 65 - Norton Cemetery
    • page 79 - Swift Family Cemetery, near Cuba Lake
    • page 80 - Van Campen Creek Cemetery

Census[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop. %±
1810 1,942 —
1820 9,330 380.4%
1830 26,276 181.6%
1840 40,975 55.9%
1850 37,808 −7.7%
1860 41,881 10.8%
1870 40,814 −2.5%
1880 41,810 2.4%
1890 43,240 3.4%
1900 41,501 −4.0%
1910 41,412 −0.2%
1920 36,842 −11.0%
1930 38,025 3.2%
1940 39,681 4.4%
1950 43,784 10.3%
1960 43,978 0.4%
1970 46,458 5.6%
1980 51,742 11.4%
1990 50,470 −2.5%
2000 49,927 −1.1%
2010 48,946 −2.0%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

For information and tips on using and accessing online census records, see New York Census.

Federal[edit | edit source]

U.S. Census Mortality Schedules for New York, 1850-1880:

  • Available online at Ancestry ($).
  • Deaths are included for the 12 months prior to the census, 1849-50, 1859-60, 1869-70, and 1879-80 beginning 1 June and ending 31 May of the census year.[5]
  • Basic contents of the records include: Name, sex, age, color, marital status, place of birth, month of death, occupation, and cause of death. 1870 also has parents' birthplace. 1880 lists how long a resident of the county.
  • Also on FHL Films 1415128–42.
1890[edit | edit source]

Loss of 1890 Census records. City directories may serve as substitutes.

State[edit | edit source]
Source 1825 1835 1845 1855 1865 1875 1892 1905 1915 1925
Ancestry.com - - - Yes - Yes Yes - Yes Yes
Family History Library film - - - Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
FamilySearch index and images - - - Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
New York State Library film - - - Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes

New York State 1865 and 1875 Census Marriage, Mortality; and 1865 Soldier Mortality records:

  • Images available online at New York State Census, 1865 and New York State Census, 1875. Click on the link to go to the page, then click on the ‘Browse through images’ link and select your county, then select an ancestor's town and browse to the end of the population schedule until you find the Marriage, Mortality, and 1865 soldier mortality schedules.
  • Includes marriages and deaths for the 12 months prior to the census, ending 1 June of the census year.
  • Marriage entry content: Husband's name, wife's name, ages and previous marital status, month and day and place of marriage, and church or civil ceremony.
  • Death entry content: Name, age, sex, color, marital status, month and day of death, native state or country, occupation and cause of death.
  • 1865 deaths of officers and enlisted men entry content: Name, age, marital status, citizenship status, enlistment date, original regiment, original rank, regiment at death, rank at death, promotions, death date and place, manner of death, surviving associates, and burial place.
  • Also on microfilm. See the Family History Library line in the above State Census Chart.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records are good substitutes for birth, marriage, and death information and are most often found on a local city/town or county level.  Published and manuscript church records can be found at public, university, and private libraries.

For a brief general history of denominations and a guide to finding various New York denomination's records, see New York Church Records Wiki page.

List of Churches and Church Parishes

General[edit | edit source]
  • The Church Records section for Allegany County at the New York GenWeb website has membership data, histories, and other helpful information on Baptist, Congregational, Episcopal, and Seventh Day Baptist Congregations
Episcopal[edit | edit source]
Catholic[edit | edit source]

Additional Church Records

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Allegany County, New York Genealogy Church Records  in online catalogs like:

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Ancestors may have also been involved in municipal, state, or federal court cases. See also New York Court Records and United States Court Records.

USGen Web has A Digital Library on line of indexes ot Allegany County, New York Court Records, including Guardianship Orders 1852-1864, Indexes Guardianship 1829-1895, Declarations of Intent 1866-1929; and Petitions 1907-1930.

Crime and Criminals[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Steinheim Museum Building, Alfred University.
Steinheim Museum Building, Alfred University.
NY Allegany map.png

Allegany County, New York City, County, and Rural Directories (Source: Online Historical Directories)

  • 1875 - Gazetteer and Business Directory of Allegany County, NY for 1875. Digital versions at Don's List - free; Internet Archive - free.

Emigration and Immmigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political or Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

  • Rootsweb message board for Allegany County, New York Genealogy has many information threads about families that resided in that county. There is a search engine that allows you to search by surname and topic.

History[edit | edit source]

The southern part of the county lies within the oil field where the petroleum was first discovered in the USA at Titusville, Pennsylvania. As the oil industry grew, towns such as Petrolia were founded with oil-based names. Oil played out but the natural gas is still an important resource.

Additional Resources:

Allegany County, New York History

Genealogical Resources: History of Allegany County towns and various historical events.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Wyoming CountyLivingston CountyCattaraugus CountySteuben CountyMcKean CountyPotter CountyNY ALLEGANY.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Land and Property[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See New York Land and Property for more details, especially about the papers generated in New York State by large speculative land companies.

Original land records in Allegany County, New York Genealogy began in [?dateyear?]. These records are housed at the [?repository?] in [?town?].

Online

Microforms

Books

Additional land records can sometimes be found using these catalogs:

Additional resources

Additional resources for Allegany County, New York Genealogy land records may be found in the Allegany County, New York Genealogy – Land Records topic page of the FamilySearch Catalog . Copies of records on FHL microfilm and microfiche may be available for viewing at various Family History Centers. Copies of books found in the FamilySearch Catalog may be found in WorldCat catalog and ordered from your local library through interlibrary loan. Explore how to search the FamilySearch Catalog and the WorldCat Online Catalog.

Maps[edit | edit source]

Migration[edit | edit source]

Catskill Turnpike.png

Migration routes for early European settlers to and from Allegany County, New York Genealogy included:[6]

Military[edit | edit source]

Civil War[edit | edit source]

Town registers. The New York town clerks kept a bound register of all soldiers from their town serving in the Civil War 1861-1865. Registers are arranged by county, and town. Some town registers are missing. The registers include an index at the start of each town.

Content. Many register entries include full name, residence, date and place of birth, parents names, marital status, date of enlistment and muster and rank, discharges, death, or promotion.

Access. The original registers are at the New York State Archives in Albany, New York. Microfilm copies are found at the Family History Library (FHL Film 1993401-37). They are also indexed and available at Ancestry.com ($).

Available towns. Registers are available for: Alfred · Allen · Alma · Almond · Amity · Andover · Angelica · Belfast · Birdsall · Bolivar · Burns · Caneadea · Centerville · Clarksville · Cuba · Genesee · Granger · Grove · Hume · Independence · Rushford · Scio · Ward · Wellsville · West Almond · Willing · Wirt .

Regiments. Service men in Allegany County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were formed in Allegany County.[17] [18]

- 2nd Regiment, New York Mounted Rifles, Companies B and H.
- 6th Independent Battery, New York Light Artillery, Company I.
- 6th Regiment, New York Cavalry, Company I.
- 12th Regiment, New York Cavalry, Company B.
- 15th Regiment, New York Cavalry, Company L.
- 21st Regiment, New York Infantry
- 22nd Regiment, New York Cavalry, Company D.
- 23rd Regiment, New York Infantry, Company B.
- 27th Regiment, New York Infantry, Company I.
- 64th Regiment, New York Infantry, Companies D and G.
- 67th Regiment, New York Infantry, Company C.
- 76th Regiment, New York Infantry, Companies A, B, C, D, E, F and G.
- 85th Regiment, New York Infantry, Companies C, D, E, F, H and I.
- 104th Regiment, New York Infantry, Companies C and E.
- 130th Regiment, New York Infantry, Companies C, E, F, G, H and I.
- 136th Regiment, New York Infantry, Companies B and K.
- 160th Regiment, New York Infantry, Companies G, H and I.
- 179th Regiment, New York Infantry, Company C.
- 189th Regiment, New York Infantry, Company B and I.
- 193rd Regiment, New York Infantry, Company G.
- 194th Regiment, New York Infantry, Companies C, E and F.


Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Allegany County Historical Society Online obituaries (small collections); others available via email contact; Volunteers offer help as time allows.

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Probate records including original estates and wills for New York are held in the office of the county Surrogate Court beginning in 1787, or when the county was formed. Prior to 1787, most are housed at the New York State Archives. See New York Probate Records for more information about using probate records.
Content:  Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types:  Wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distribution.

Probate Petitions

In 1830, state law required the Surrogate Court clerk to issue a probate petition for a deceased individual with property. This petition, unique to New York, usually lists the deceased's death date. It also lists the heirs, their relationship to the deceased, and their residence. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 479. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004. Henry B. Hoff, "Navigating New York Probate," American Ancestors 12 (Fall 2011): 54.


These petitions are often found in the estate files and can be obtained from the county Surrogate Court.



The petitions for Allegany County, New York Genealogy are also available on microfilm at the Family History Library and its centers:

Online Probate Indexes


Online Probate Records

Original county-by-county New York, Probate Records, 1629-1971 are available free online at FamilySearch. To access these records, click Historical Records below, then click "Browse through 1,630,900 images". Then select the county name, and then the probate records and time of interest.

  • Historical Records - Allegany County: Administration bonds, 1890-1900; Administration orders, 1869-1902; Decrees, Minutes, Orders, 1807-1903; Final settlements, 1852-1904; Guardianship bonds, 1890-1920; Guardianship orders, 1852-1905; Guardianship records, 1829-1907; Index, 1807-1952; Journals, 1818-1884; Letters of administration, 1852-1901; Letters testamentary, 1852-1901; Orders, 1842-1907; Proceedings, 1812-1829; Publication orders, 1892-1916; Real estate records, 1843-1899; Wills, 1831-1906

Probate Records on Microfilm

The probate records described above also may be among those on microfilm including:

Additional Probate Indexes and Abstracts

Additional probate indexes or abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Allegany County, New York Genealogy probate wills in online catalogs like:

Repositories[edit | edit source]

Cornell University, Guide to Historical Resources in Allegany County, New York Repositories. ([Ithaca, New York]: New York Historical Resources Center, Olin Library, Cornell University, 1980). At various libraries; FHL Book 974.784 A3g. Includes index. Includes references to some family histories and genealogies.

Archives, Libraries and Museums[edit | edit source]

Libraries

Belfast Public Library
P.O. Box 455 75 South Main Street
Belfast, NY 14711
Phone 1-585-365-2072
Website: http://WWW.STLS.ORG/BELFAST

Dansville Public Library
200 Main Street
Dansville, NY 14437
Phone: 1-585-335-6720
Website: http://WWW.DANSVILLE.LIB.NY.US

Hornell Public Library
64 Genesee St
Hornell, NY 14843
Phone: 1-607-324-1210
Website: http://WWW.STLS.ORG/HORNELL

David A. Howe Public Library
155 North Main Street
Wellsville, NY 14895
Phone: 1-585-593-3410
Website: http://WWW.DAVIDAHOWELIBRARY.ORG

Howard Public Library
3607 County Route 70A
Hornell, NY 14843
Phone: 1- 607-566-2412

Whitesville Public Library
500 Main Street
Witesville, NY 14897
Phone: 1-607-356-3645
Website: http://WWW.STLS.ORG/WHITESVILLE

County Historian's Office[edit | edit source]

Historian Allegany County Department of History[19]
Craig Braack, Historian
Courthouse
7 Court Street
Belmont, NY 14813
Phone: 585-268-9293
E-mail: braackc@alleganyco.com

The County Historian may provide access to obituaries, vital records, church records, maps, and family files or journals. Some historians provide search services for their office records and others may refer you to local genealogists who research in the area.

Courthouses[edit | edit source]

The County Clerk's office has marriage records from 1908- 1935, land records from 1807, divorce and court records. The Surrogate's court has probate records. For further information about where the records for Allegany County are held, see the Allegany County Courthouses page.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Societies[edit | edit source]

Allegany County Historical Society
11 E Greenwood St
PO Box 252
Andover, NY 14806
607-478-5390
Facebook


Painted Hills Genealogy Society
Mary E. Bryant: Founder and President
E-mail: paint@paintedhills.org
Facebook


Central New York Genealogical Society<ref>Central New York Genealogical Society at http://www.cnygs.org/

Member queries; surname research list; online resources; six meetings/year; publication: Tree Talks (At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974.7 B2t) quarterly with annual index.
Counties served: Albany, Allegany, Broome, Cattaraugus, Cayuga, Chautauqua, Chemung, Chenango, Clinton, Columbia, Cortland, Delaware, Erie, Essex, Franklin, Fulton, Genesee, Greene, Hamilton, Herkimer, Jefferson, Lewis, Livingston, Madison, Monroe, Montgomery, Niagara, Oneida, Onondaga, Ontario, Orange, Oreleans, Oswego, Otsego, Rensselaer, St. Lawrence, Saratoga, Schenectady, Schoharie, Schuyler, Seneca, Steuben, Tioga, Tompkins, Washington, Wayne, Warren, Wyoming, and Yates.

Western New York Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 338
Hamburg, New York 14075-0338
Email: info@wnygs.org
Directory

Focus is on eight Western New York counties - Erie, Niagara, Genesee, Wyoming, Orleans, Chautauqua, Cattaraugus and Allegany - which comprise the area of the original Holland Land Company purchase.

Social Groups Online[edit | edit source]

Taxation[edit | edit source]

Town Records[edit source]

Town records in New York may include early births, marriages, deaths, divorces, local histories, selected military records, and town meeting minutes. Vital records from 1880/1882 are kept by town and village clerks, although some (Kent’s and Putnam Valley’s) are available in the County Historian’s Office. For further details, try the links to individual town Wiki pages found in Places. See also:

  • Gordon L. Remington, New York Towns, Villages, and Cities: A Guide to Genealogical Sources (Boston: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2002). NEHGS online edition; At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974.7 D27r. Alphabetical list including date founded, if a town history exists, church and cemetery sources, and if a Civil War register (TCR) exists.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital records of birth, marriage or death were first recorded at the local level in the village clerk, town clerk, or city clerk’s ledger book. If you know where a birth, marriage or death took place, a copy of the certificate or record may be obtained by writing to the town, village or city clerk. See also How to order New York Vital Records or order electronically online.

See the heading Places on this wiki page for links to local community wiki pages and their available records. See New York Vital Records for a discussion about beginning dates and availability of vital records in New York.

Use substitute records for birth, marriage, and death information. These substitute records include Bible Records, Cemeteries, Church Records, Newspapers, and Probate Records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Early births were recorded on the town level and the years vary by town. (List of towns) The New York State Department of Health (state level) began recording births in 1881. Births were not recorded on the county level.

Birth Substitutes

  • See Town Clerks' Registers of Men who Served in the Civil War in the Civil War section of Military for birth information.
Marriage[edit | edit source]

Early marriages were sometimes recorded on the town level and the years vary by town. In 1880, town clerks were to record the marriage and a copy was sent to the New York State Department of Health (state level). Town clerks continue to record marriages. The marriages in this county were recorded by the county clerk from 1908 until 1935.[20]

Marriage Substitutes

  • 1800–1855 New York Marriage Notices at Ancestry– ($); Index. This database is a collection of marriage notices published in newspapers around the state. Contains name of bride and groom, marriage date, marriage location, residence, and newspaper found in.
  • 1864-5, 1874-5 See Marriage Schedule information in the State Census section of Census for marriage information for 1864-5, and 1874-5.
Divorce[edit | edit source]

Pre–1787

All divorces were granted by the governor or legislature and were very rare.

1787–1847

All divorces were granted by the court of chancery. These records are found in the New York State Archives or for the New York City area at the New York County Clerk's office.These divorces were granted only on the grounds of adultery.

1847–present

All divorces are handled by the county Supreme Court where the divorce was granted. Divorce files in New York are sealed for 100 years. Contact the County Clerk for information about divorce records.

Divorce judgment papers often include date and place of the marriage and the names and birthdates of any children. Local newspapers may publish notices of divorce actions.


Death[edit | edit source]

Early deaths were recorded on the town level and the years vary by town. (List of towns) The New York State Department of Health (state level) began recording deaths in 1881. Deaths were not recorded on the county level.

Death Indexes

Death Substitutes

  • See Town Clerks' Registers of Men Who Served in the Civil War in the Civil War section of Military for death information.>
  • 1849-50, 1859-60, 1869-70, 1879-80 See Mortality Schedule information in the Federal Census section of Census for death information.
  • 1864-5, 1874-5 See Mortality Schedule information in the State Census section of Census for death information for 1864-5, and 1874-5.

Additional Resources

Additional resources for Allegany County births, marriages and deaths may be found in the New York, Allegany– Vital Records topic page of the FamilySearch Catalog . Copies of books found in the FamilySearch Catalog may be found in WorldCat catalog and ordered from your local library through interlibrary loan. Explore how to search the FamilySearch Catalog and the WorldCat Online Catalog.

Voting Registers[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Allegany County. For state-wide facilities, see New York Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Allegany County New York Genealogy Websites[edit | edit source]

Allegany County New York Genealogy References[edit | edit source]

  1. ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Allegany, New York" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Allegany_County,_New_York accessed 19 Nov 2018
  2. ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Allegany County, New York. Page 488-493 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 490-492.
  3. ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 488. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Allegany County, New York," in "Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Allegany_County%2C_New_York, accessed 4 November 2019
  5. ↑ Arlene Eakle, and Johni Cerni, The Source: A Guidebook of American Genealogy (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1984), 103. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27ts.
  6. ↑ Handybook, 847-61.
  7. ↑ List of turnpikes in New York in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia (accessed 6 November 2014).
  8. ↑ Ancram Turnpike in Routes in the Northeastern United States: Historic Trails, Roads and Migration Routes (accessed 6 November 2014). The Ancram Turnpike went from Springield, MA to Catskill, NY; and was called the Catskill Road.
  9. ↑ 9.0 9.1 Almira E Morgan, The Catskill Turnpike: A Wilderness Path (Ithaca, N.Y.: DeWitt Historical Society of Thompkins County, 1971), 5. Online digital copy.
  10. ↑ Catskill Turnpike in Routes in the Northeastern United States: Historic Trails, Roads and Migration Routes (accessed 6 November 2014). The Catskill Turnpike went west from Catskill, NY to Bath, NY; the east part was called the Susquehanna Turnpike.
  11. ↑ Huntting, 97-99.
  12. ↑ List of turnpikes in New York in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia (accessed 1 November 2014).
  13. ↑ Anastassia Zinke, The Susquehanna Turnpike and America's Frontier History in Catskill Mountain Foundation (accessed 1 November 2014).
  14. ↑ Joan Odess, The Susquehanna Turnpike (pdf accessed 1 November 2014).
  15. ↑ Paul A. W. Wallace, Indian Paths of Pennsylvania (Harrisburg, Pa.: PA Historical and Museum Commission, 1971), 46-48. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974.8 H2wp.
  16. ↑ Handybook, 850-51.
  17. ↑ Frederick Phisterer, New York in the War of the Rebellion, 3rd ed. (Albany, N.Y.: J. B. Lyon Company, 1912). Internet Archive digital copy; At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Film 1486494-96; Fiche 6083559-64; Book 974.7 M2p.
  18. ↑ Frederick Henry Dyer, A Compendium of the War of the Rebellion, (Des Moines, Iowa: Dyer Publishing Co., 1908), as cited at Civil War Soldiers and Sailors System (database on-line) at https://www.nps.gov/civilwar/soldiers-and-sailors-database.htm (accessed 2010).
  19. ↑ Elizabeth Petty Bentley, Genealogist's Address Book: State and Local Resources, with Special Resources Including Ethnic and Religious Organizations, 6th ed. (Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Pub., 2009), 371. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D24ben 2009.
  20. ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 488-493. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.

Allegany County New York Places[edit | edit source]

v • d • e
Municipalities and communities of
Allegany County, New York
County seat: Belmont
Towns

Alfred · Allen · Alma · Almond · Amity · Andover · Angelica · Belfast · Birdsall · Bolivar · Burns · Caneadea · Centerville · Clarksville · Cuba · Friendship · Genesee · Granger · Grove · Hume · Independence · New Hudson · Rushford · Scio · Ward · Wellsville · West Almond · Willing · Wirt

Villages
Communities

Alfred Station · Allen Center · Allentown · Alma · Aristotle · Balcom Beach · Belfast · Bellville · Belvidere · Bennetts · Birdsall · Bishopville · Black Creek · Bowler · Burns · Caneadea · Centerville · Ceres · Elm Valley · Fairview · Fillmore Friendship · Fulmer Valley · Garwoods · Gas Spring · Germantown · Granger · Grove · Hallsport · Hardy Corners · Higgins · Hillcrest · Hiltonville · Hoben · Houghton · Hume · Inavale · Independence · Karrdale · Knight Creek · Kossuth · Little Genesee · Lyons Corners · Mapes · Marshall · McGrawville · Nile · North Almond · North Cuba · Norton Summit · Obi · Oramel · Paynesville · Petrolia · Phillips Creek · Pikeville · Rawson · Rockville · Rossburg · Rushford · Sanford · Sawyer · Scholes · Scio · Shongo · Short Tract · South Bolivar · South Cuba · Spring Mills · Stannards · Swain · Tinkertown · Tip Top · Vosburg · West Allen  · West Almond  · West Clarksville · West Notch · Whitesville · Wirt · Wiscoy · Withey

Historical
Communities

Dyke · Irish Settlement

Indian
Reservation
v • d • e
Links to New York-related articles
Topics
Counties
and City
Albany · Allegany · Bronx · Broome · Cattaraugus · Cayuga · Chautauqua · Chemung · Chenango · Clinton · Columbia · Cortland · Delaware · Dutchess · Erie · Essex · Franklin · Fulton · Genesee · Greene · Hamilton · Herkimer · Jefferson · Kings (Brooklyn) · Lewis · Livingston · Madison · Monroe · Montgomery · Nassau · New York (Manhattan) · Niagara · Oneida · Onondaga · Ontario · Orange · Orleans · Oswego · Otsego · Putnam · Queens · Rensselaer · Richmond (Staten Island) · Rockland · Saint Lawrence · Saratoga · Schenectady · Schoharie · Schuyler · Seneca · Steuben · Suffolk · Sullivan · Tioga · Tompkins · Ulster · Warren · Washington · Wayne · Westchester · Wyoming · Yates · New York City Research
Extinct Co.
Major
Repositories
Ackman & Ziff Family Genealogy Institute · Albany Institute of History and Art · Bronx County Historical Society · Brooklyn Historical Society · Buffalo and Erie County Public Library · Children's Aid Society · Cornell University Library · Historic Hudson Valley Library · Holland Society of New York · Huguenot Society of America · Leo Baeck Institute · Montgomery County Department of History and Archives · National Archives at New York City · New England Historic Genealogical Society (Boston MA) · New York City Department of Records · New York City Municipal Reference and Research Center · New York Foundling Hospital · New York Genealogical and Biographical Society · New-York Historical Society · New York Public Library · New York State Archives · New York State Council of Genealogical Organizations · New York State Department of Health · New York State Historical Association · New York State Library · Onondaga Historical Association · Queens Historical Society · Stadsarchief Amsterdam (Netherlands) · SUNY Fredonia Reed Library · Staten Island Historical Society · Steele Memorial Library · Western Reserve Historical Society (Cleveland, OH)
Migration
Routes



This website requires a paid subscription for full access.

FamilySearch affiliate libraries may have access to center-only databases, but do not always have all services normally provided by a family history center.

Retrieved from "https://www.familysearch.org/en/wiki/index.php?title=Allegany_County,_New_York_Genealogy&oldid=4813885"